Best Catholic Vafa Team 1975-2008

• Thread starter Thread starter Jascave

the bible all-stars! classic!

Moses probably unlucky to miss out, knows how to split a pack better than most!

In the spirit of rediculing Jas, please submit your nominations for the "Bible All-Stars". I will compile a squad off 50 and select a team based on the following criteria:

1. Ability to either create or receive miracles
2. Frequency of leprocy infection
3. Ability to "covet" another man's wife
4. Number of times risen from the dead and associated timeframe (i.e 3 days)

B: John the Baptist, The Burning Bush, Lazarus

HB: Cane, Sampson, Abel

C: Matthew, Mark, Luke (apologies to John)

HF: The **** who Crowed 3 Times, Daniel (of lion's den fame), Judas

F: Jesus (one out in the fifty)

Rucks: Father, Son
Rover: Holy Spirit

Coach: Sheedy (God was stiff)

I'm worried about the impact that judas will have on the culture of the club.

I would suggest looking for a trade in the off season.

In the spirit of rediculing Jas, please submit your nominations for the "Bible All-Stars". I will compile a squad off 50 and select a team based on the following criteria:

Throw old Noah in a back pocket if its a wet day

Great thread Jas, one of your best to date. Have not stopped laughing since opening it 5 minutes ago.

You must be very keen for footy to start back up! Might give you something to do rather than analysing the print of the VAFA Annual Reports.

John the Baptist - 100% conversion (often loses his head)

There will be mind-blowing hysteria among some of the Scotch supporters when they learn that theirs is a Catholic school. Huh, I always suspected that their incendiary anti-Rome sectarianism was all about self-loathing!

Ha! They reckon that the great Assumption and other Mick schools used to pray before games. Just trying to imagine Frosty Fuller, Disco Seccull and Rambo Ramsden following suit whilst representing this Catholic team...

The best Catholic side will face a VERY VERY tough assignment-the All Australian side from '75-08. Think of the team they'll be up against-Lockett, Ablett, Ebert, Hird, Dunstall, Madden, Cable, Steve Michael, McIntosh, Grant, Jarman (Darren, not the loudmouth Andrew), McKenna, Silvagni, Buckley etc. If the best catholic side you guys have picked so far think they'll be in for an easy game up against that lot-forget it.

PS If your club's looking for a social events person to arrange your club function(s) for 2008, why not give that 16 year old kid Corey, who organised a party while his parents were away and ended up getting the full police treatment a call? He'll do a good job for you!!

Jason

Can you draw up a Church of England team please - 1975-08? Note that this should not include Presbytarians, Methodists, Baptists or Libertarians - look squarely in the direction of OMs, Caulfield Grammar, Geelong Grammar, Hailleybury (buggered if I know what their religion was), Uni Blues and Blacks.

Something by 5pm would be fine.

Hailleybury (buggered if I know what their religion was),

I believe their religion in 2006 was CASH.

When your finished with Horn's COE side and all the other denominations Jase could you then put together a "Districts" allstar team (limit Hampton to 6 spots) then move onto the VAFA Greek allstars, then Italian, then German.....

End of the week is fine thanks Champ!:thumbsu:

I know this is an off-thread thing here, but would you guys be interested to be invovled in a VAFA tipping competition run by BigFooty, where you just put your selections for that week's game in the selections thread instead of your respective section's thread (regardless of what club you are from). All sections will be covered (A-D4-but not Under 19/Club 18). I'll get in touch with the mods and check if they're willing to run the tipping comp for us.
Let me know if you're interested.

John the Baptist - 100% conversion (often loses his head)

One of the funniest threads l have read for a while.

What about the the 3 wise men, they could sit on selection panel

and why dont we include Mary Magdalene as another trainer along with Eve

Maybe Joseph and his Amazing Technicolour DreamCoat could provide the pre-match entertainment................................

B: John the Baptist, The Burning Bush, Lazarus

HB: Cane, Sampson, Abel

C: Matthew, Mark, Luke (apologies to John)

HF: The **** who Crowed 3 Times, Daniel (of lion's den fame), Judas

F: Jesus (one out in the fifty)

Rucks: Father, Son
Rover: Holy Spirit

Coach: Sheedy (God was stiff)
Haven't times changed over the last 2 millenia (sp?). Back when Moses was playing, if he was caught with two tablets, they'd have the ten commandments written on them :D

As for the sides, why don't we skip forward to the B&F night, as the bloke that carried the cross for Jesus would be a shoe-in for Best Clubman

Haven't times changed over the last 2 millenia (sp?). Back when Moses was playing, if he was caught with two tablets, they'd have the ten commandments written on them :D

As for the sides, why don't we skip forward to the B&F night, as the bloke that carried the cross for Jesus would be a shoe-in for Best Clubman

David & Goliath for an awesome on ball duo.

In all seriousness, why can't we have a tri-series between the Schoolies, Uni Sides and District Teams. Jas could even team-manage the District teams if he wanted. Forget about these interstate carnivals and just have local derby.

Not a bad suggestion there, a tri-series made up of combined sides between the districts clubs, Uni clubs and the schools. Seeing that the VAFA is struggling big time in rep footy, and also some of the players don't adapt from club to rep footy as well as they would've liked, this is another area which the VAFA could look at if-and I do mean the word IF-they want to regain the title as the no.1 comp in Australian Amateur Football, as well as Victorian football. Also this would help the state selectors identify who's ready for representative footy and who's not. After all, if Rugby League can have its City-Country game as a way to help the NSW selectors pick a team to face Queensland in State of Origin rugby league, why can't the VAFA do the same with a tri-series played in May between the combined districts side, a combined team from the Unis and a combined team from the schools before the rep games start?

I've got Over The Post as clubhouse leader - that's a ripper.

Would Methuselah hold the games record for this side?
He must've racked up a few games in his 969 years.

In fact Judas went to the board of directors and told them in no uncertain terms: 'either He goes, or I go, or I'll probably ask Rome AFL to allow me into the pre-season draft. And also, I've also gave away the entire pre-match gameplans to the opposition. So what's it to be?'

You're slaying 'em Jase.

Imagine lining up on Jesus in a vacant forward 50, it would be terrifying as a backman.

He would lead you up the ground, turn you around, and take you into "Ponchus Pilot's Paddock".