Best first year player?

What do you want from your "Best First Year Player"?

• Role-player - consistent, not dazzling (Batchelor)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • A bit erratic with exciting bursts (Conca)

Votes: 0 0.0%

Tiger Titus

Conca has had a pretty decent debut year, but I reckon Batch was robbed as our best first year player.

It makes me wonder - what would we prefer to see from our youngsters in their formative years?

Do we want to see a player settle into a role and perform it well week in week out? (Batch) Or is it more pleasing to see a first year that's a bit more all over the place, but shows the occasional glimpse of special talent? (Conca)

Obviously it's great when you get both in one player (Dusty last year) but if we'd decided the recipient of best first year player this year who would it have been?

Think about it, Newman's been a pretty consistent player yet hasn't got a B&F. Newman would be a Batchelor. And Conca would be a Martin as he is exciting but isn't as consistent. But then obviously Martin is a quite consistent. I'm just using him as he is pretty damn beast.

I'm very happy with both of these guys and Helbig - can see all three having successful careers with us.

Conca averaged something like 15-16 touches a game which is nothing to sneeze at for a first year player - will be a valuable member of our growing midfield going forward.

Just throwing this out there but do you think maybe they gave the award to Conca since he was a bit of a left field pick (came out of nowhere really and was picked early than most thought he would go) and also because we chose him over Heppell who just won the rising star?

(Don't get me wrong, I love Conca and am very happy with him but some fans/media people might view this as a stuff up given we could have got Heppell instead - for what its worth, if we had the draft again, I wouldn't change Conca over Heppell). :thumbsu:

I'm not trying to rag Conca here. In hindsight a "pretty decent debut year" was a bit of an understatement, I just want to see who the big footy tiger fans thought was more valuable. Both kids look the goods.

I'm very happy with both of these guys and Helbig - can see all three having successful careers with us.

:thumbsu:

EXPECT the Crows to make a play - if not this year, but next year - for Helbig. They're keen!

FWIW, Batchelor was robbed. Better year than Conca, hands-down!

EXPECT the Crows to make a play - if not this year, but next year - for Helbig. They're keen!

FWIW, Batchelor was robbed. Better year than Conca, hands-down!

Serious? Where'd you hear that mate? Would hate to see Helbig go, I can see him being our number 1 tagger in a few seasons - has got that real hardness/competitiveness to him.

Though, if the crows are serious about their interest, I suppose Dangerfield and their Davis compo pick (round 1 selection) might help ease the pain a bit. I heard the crows are a generous mob like that :D

Serious? Where'd you hear that mate? Would hate to see Helbig go, I can see him being our number 1 tagger in a few seasons - has got that real hardness/competitiveness to him.

Though, if the crows are serious about their interest, I suppose Dangerfield and their Davis compo pick (round 1 selection) might help ease the pain a bit. I heard the crows are a generous mob like that :D

I spend a bit of time in SA and dealing with SA people and my mail is the Crows are dead keen.
Hoping he stays too ... will be a fantastic player in years to come with his hardness at it!
His few games this year will benefit him no end in the long run!

The game is evolving away from designated taggers nowadays, the role of the tagger is moving back to moderately defensive minded onballers that still attack.

Wellingham & Ling come to mind as the ideal typecast for this - they go forward and kick goals and are dangerous to their opposition.

Helbig did show at times that he could go forward, but if he is to step up in that role, he'll need to go forward fairly consistently.

Jackson doesn't do it enough for mine and when he does go forward, he's 50 - 50 whether he kicks it anyway. I hope for his sake he was injured this year.

I spend a bit of time in SA and dealing with SA people and my mail is the Crows are dead keen.
Hoping he stays too ... will be a fantastic player in years to come with his hardness at it!
His few games this year will benefit him no end in the long run!

Cheers for the info mate, do you know if he was on then radar last year? Did they ever consider drafting him?

I think I read somewhere that there is talk that the Crows might look at drafting more local SA players as their strategy. If that's the case, Helbig and Edwards might be subject of some interest like you say.

The game is evolving away from designated taggers nowadays, the role of the tagger is moving back to moderately defensive minded onballers that still attack.

Wellingham & Ling come to mind as the ideal typecast for this - they go forward and kick goals and are dangerous to their opposition.

Helbig did show at times that he could go forward, but if he is to step up in that role, he'll need to go forward fairly consistently.

Jackson doesn't do it enough for mine and when he does go forward, he's 50 - 50 whether he kicks it anyway. I hope for his sake he was injured this year.

Yeah, you could be right there Shight. I think Helbig has a big kick on him and even scored a few goals in the games he played this year so with more games and development might become a dangerous half forward who can rotate through the middle. His competitiveness might even help him eventually take King's spot as a small forward who can apply great pressure and tackles.

I definitely agree with the Jackson part, he's a terrible set shot and has no value when played up front. Has come to the point that when he has a shot, I basically accept he has kicked a behind before he even starts his run up.

Conca definitely had the better year as far as showing off his talent went (6 games in a row of 20+ disposals) but Batch showed better "value for money" with where he was picked

I thought Batch was better just on consistency, however I have no doubt Conca is going to be a superb player. The period of 6 games once he got the pace of AFL were exceptional. Unfortunately he hit a wall somewhat and we need him to have that full pre-season.