Dippers Donuts

Sluggers
Now, before the do-gooders start up, I am no advocate for violence...

Thought I'd ask the question, what's the best footy stoush you have ever seen?

For mine, two stand out;

1: The infamous Hawthorn v's Geelong game where Leigh Matthews, for reasons only known to him; absolutely poleaxed Neville Bruns. Busted his jaw with an absolute haymaker. The resultant stacks on the mill dust up with all players involved (in particular Mark "wacko" Jackson was throwing them everywhere) was an absolute classic.

2: Big Bad Mal Brown - East Perth vs Carlton; early '70's at one of those long forgotten National Carnivals I think. Only ever seen this one on video, but according to Mal he dropped about 5 Carlton players that day. What a classic!!

Any others from your memory stand out?

well, not really a dust up, but i will never forget the day damien monkhurst of collingwood, stood face to face with lockett, who was at st kilda at the time.

2 of the ugliest mugs you will see.

It was not so much a dust-up or brawl

But, the most memorable recent dust up for me was the match between St. Kilda and Carlton at the MCG, I think it was in 1999.

Nicky Winmar was in a bad mood that day and threatened to hit Anthony Franchina who'd be tagging him all day. There were a few other players invloved and a few niggles all throughout the match but no real big fights occured.

A big dust up was the ongoing fights between Freo and West Coast in 2000 in that infamous Western Derby the Dockers won by a point. There were blues left, right and centre. My favourite part was Dale Kickett cracking a few on Phillip Read! :eek:

The 1987 Battle of Britain between North and Carlton. Don't know how much the guys had been drinking the night before - but that was a sensational brawl. For an exhibition match it was an unbelievable fight, wasn't just wrestling, heaps of full on punches going on.

1985 Grand Final brawl was pretty impressive too.

Originally posted by Dippers Donuts
Now, before the do-gooders start up, I am no advocate for violence...

Thought I'd ask the question, what's the best footy stoush you have ever seen?

The Infamous battle of Subiaco in 1994 starring Daniel Southern;)

Also Saw Chris Lewis and Super McPherson go toe to toe once IN 1992. That was a stoush. Super by TKO!

The Doc - I remember that game! It was when Southerngot Sumich in a headlock, although he forgot to leg go and Suma turned purple, and had to be rushed to Royal Perth Hospital?

Wasn't Dale Kickett a nut that day against the Eagles?

I reckon he thought "well this could be my last game against the Eagles, I hate those bastards, so I'm gonna go down swinging".

Ironically he's saddling up again next year isn't he?

Can't wait for the Eagles game!!

Originally posted by mantis

Yep that is my pick, probably because I was there & it happened right in front of me.:D

Were you with all those Essendon supporters leaning over the fence? On the replay you can see a big group of them all going nuts in the background.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

Were you with all those Essendon supporters leaning over the fence? On the replay you can see a big group of them all going nuts in the background.

Yep, I was upset someone hit poor Simon.:eek:

On tape the best I have seen is the 1985 GF brawl...best thing about that game... :(

In person watching on TV, the Freo/WCE brawl in 2000 was a classic...

The Hitman

The worst brawl on a footy field ive seen would be the 1991 SANFL Grand Final between North and West.
That was simply scary. They named it the bloodbath for good reasons.
Brawls basically all day, all started by that fukwit Stephen Sims.

Under the old scoreboard, a West player was running for a mark...Sims behind him, purposely a right hook to the side of the face...the West player was knocked out before he hit the ground - i cant even remember if he played again the West guy - then it was on for young and old...players came from everywhere to deck Sims.

About 10 minutes later the ball went out of bounds and it was payback time for Sims...another West player came from behind and gave him the biggest whack ive ever seen...on for young and old again...Sims got up with a face full of blood and the biggest black eye ive seen.
From memory Sims got 15 weeks suspension or something massive like that - the guy was a whacka.

There have been too many brawls at SANFL to remember all of them...basically every two weeks!!

One in 1996 - Port v Centrals at my only trip ever to Elizabeth...half time siren went, David Brown and Tim Cook going toe to toe...enter Paul Northeeast and Peter Green....all in brawl, very scary again with mini league children running onto the ground at the same time.

the 1995 Grand Final Fiacchi decked Michael Wakelin behind play which started pretty much an all in brawl in the last quarter

Port and Norwood have had quite a few really good 'DonnyBrooks' in the 90s..Brian Leys knocking out Matthew Primus in 1995...Paul Mccormack rearranging Roger Delaneys facial features in one of the biggest bumps ive seen, Scott Hodges and Lauchlan Bowman going toe to toe. Paul NOrtheast and Chris Prime going at it.

One game in 1995 - Port v Centrals at Alberton - Peter Green knocked out Darryl Poole before the game with a big right hook to the head (probably what made Pooley blind) which started an all in brawl - from memory Port kicked the first 7 goals after that :)

Originally posted by Dan25

Yep, that was a spiteful one; much worse than '85. By all resport '85 was planned by the Hawthorn players, but 1990 just came out of nowhere.

what actually caused that brawl?? Cos you cant tell on television...the siren goes, the ball goes out of play and the next thing you see is 15 players throwing punches!

So what caused that brawl?

I've seen some tremendous stouches at local footy matches, the few that come to mind was a DVFL Division One final between Lalor and North Heidelburg at Epping ages ago, it was right near the crowd and eveyone was in it, there was some real punches thrown there and both the Bloods (Lalor) and the Bulldogs (North Hiedelburg) had some blokes who were amateur boxers and one was gloden gloves for Victoria.

The Central Goulburn Football League grand final between Mansfield and Rumbalara was an infamous one because that started by a lady hitting the head of a Mansfield player with a umbrella, then it was all on, there were players everywhere and even the crowd was in it for a while, it took the cops ages to clear it all up, the even had the police horse there, It was indeed a sad day for local football and Mansfield joined the GVFL not long after that.

Any Mernda and Whittlesea games usually result in an incident, the utter hatred they have for one another goes back to 1904.

And the 1991 reserves grand final in the DVFL Division two with Research and West Preston was infamous, the problems the league had in controlling Research players and supporters was so severe that they kicked them out of the league and they foled not long after that.

But, nowadays violence at local football games is rare and any incidents that to arise from time to time, are delt with severly.

I have seen some frightful dust ups involving the Sunbury Lions Football Club especially involving former Fitzroy player and country footballing legend Dean Lupson.This year there was a fight after the game and the crowd got involved to prompting some Melton South people to write on the club rooms "die sunbury."any way next time the teams met the ground was swarming with cops.The sunbury football club is hated throughout the ballarat league and there are fights at alot of there games so if your looking for a fight come to there games.:cool:

Originally posted by Macca19

what actually caused that brawl?? Cos you cant tell on television...the siren goes, the ball goes out of play and the next thing you see is 15 players throwing punches!

So what caused that brawl?

Not sure Macca. Like most brawls, it probably started with a bit of niggling and developed from there. There were officials involved too. Even the "boundary rider", Bernie Quinlan was involved.

Sheedy was involved too, though it wasn't captured on camera.

In the early '80s at Yarraville footy club we had Robbie McGhies two brothers Warren and Steve playing for us. Steve was like Robbie, tall, tattoed and mean and played at CHB, Warren was a little rover. Anyhoo one day against Brunswick(I think) this guy whacked Warren from behind. The whole crowd turned towards Steve rampaging down the field knocking over teammates and opposition players alike until he reached the perpertator, then reached over picked this guy up by the front of his jumper and cocked his fist. The Umpire yelled "STEVE-NOOOOOO" Steve said "Back off-did you see what he did to my little brother" The umpire said "OK" and backed off, and Steve held him up and just punched him in the face.

Ahhhhhhhhh the old VFA. couldnt beat it.

The VFA, there were some real biff merchants there, Harold Martin (Preton), "Frosty" Miller, Phil Cleary (he was a sniper), Fred Cook (Port Melbourne), and many others.

Preston, Dandenong, Port Melbourne and Coburg got into some huge stouches when the played one another, some of the old tapes I got from the VFA taped from channel 10 , are just unbelieveable

now we're talking ....

The 1989 QAFL grand final between Southport and Windsor-Zillmere was a beauty. The Eagles (W-Z) had already run on and were warming up around the square. The Sharks waited until they came past the chase again, and then charged straight thru the pack. Sensational!!!

No melee ..... no wrestling .... no push and shove .... just 30-odd blokes swinging hell for leather. Slowly, the stink made it's way near the boundary where reserves players from the earlier GF between the two clubs were standing. Needless to say that they, along with officials and spectators joined the fracas.

The umpires sat in the square for about 5 minutes, before walking off. All up, the game was probably delayed by about 20 minutes. And there was plenty of blood and broken noses.

I guess these two clubs have simply never liked each other ....:)