If you are seeing this notice, posts and uploads you make now may be lost when we cut over to the upgraded system. This should only last a few hours.
Post feedback, issues, errors and omissions here. Read the OP first, please.
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Am I missing something?... is Travis Hodgson still coaching Bacchus Marsh? Sunbury just announce on their FB page that he is co-coach of their under 18s? Or is this a different Travis Hodgson?
If investigated, they would put it under the cap.
AFL Vic will be eager to land a big fish breach early, the actual scope of their powers to include things like this is quite broad.
No doubt this could happen. One problem being melton supporter at function,sends email to league,league asks south where did profit go. South replies bought some footballs,beer,sponsorship for juniors, no worries show us some receipts says league or bank statements. League don't have to prove guilt, club has to prove innocence. Don't want to see that happen to any club.would set any club way way back.There are so many ways around the salary cap that its silly to bother.. Fev will no doubt host a sportsman night where he could get 100% of revenue, he pays Brent Thornton & Nick Kommer to speak $10k. So many examples of how clubs will easily get around staying within the salary cap.
Ridiculous and I would think if challenged in court AFL Vic would be quickly overturned.. Even the AFL clubs & AFLPA know that the salary cap is a restraint of trade but there is an unwritten rule that no one will challenge it, however if someone was to challenge it the salary cap would be finished. It would be worse at local level because it severely restricts the players ability to earn. AFL Vic need to change there emblem to a red star..
No doubt this could happen. One problem being melton supporter at function,sends email to league,league asks south where did profit go. South replies bought some footballs,beer,sponsorship for juniors, no worries show us some receipts says league or bank statements. League don't have to prove guilt, club has to prove innocence. Don't want to see that happen to any club.would set any club way way back.
He and his team are coming down here to play Portarlington on 25th March. You'd think he plays that day if he intends to play, unless he's injured.He will play and will kick a ton
So you'd rather let player payments keep spiralling out of control and watch the rich clubs dominate and the poorer clubs die? I wasn't aware that players ability to earn was what country footy was about. I suggest you get a lawyer and test your theory in court
Round one only. No one wants to play, watch, umpire or volunteer at a night game in winter in Ballarat.With the recent announcement by Cricket Victoria that they will fund $500,000 toward installing new lighting at the Eastern Oval (300 lux to the outer field and 500 lux at centre pitch, (which BTW will be slightly brighter than Eureka Stadium's new lights which are presently 300 lux across the field)), is it possible that the Eastern Oval may be used for night BFL football perhaps in 2018? It would generate a wonderful atmosphere, coupled with other developments planned for the Eastern Oval over the next few years.
RE article: http://www.cricketvictoria.com.au/n...ng-for-a-regional-cricket-hub-at-eastern-oval
No worse than going to the harness racing really ;-)Round one only. No one wants to play, watch, umpire or volunteer at a night game in winter in Ballarat.
No one goes to that eitherNo worse than going to the harness racing really ;-)
That's the pot calling the kettle black. Think I would back the bloods to finish above the panthers like the last 10 years anytime.Absolutely, why should you penalise the strong and well run clubs to benefit the poor run ones. Prime example is comparing Sunbury to Melton. 10 years ago they were both similar strong clubs. Sunbury & Melton both have areas with growing demographic with plenty of kids, both compete against similar clubs for talent sunbury with Rupo, Kangaroos, Diggers.. Melton with South, Rockbank, Centrals. Both have massive areas with plenty of businesses to draw on for sponsorship etc.
Yet Sunbury are a well run club both at senior and jnr level so they have a continued pipeline of talent coming through and have enough $ to attract quality recruits every year.. Where Melton are a basketcase and havent played finals in 10 years and are minnow of the competition.
Ha! My mother once made a very accurate and astute observation when she described Ballarat people a being like "snails", the wetter and colder it gets, the more they seem to enjoy coming outside, they're not like other folks who sit inside and rug up against the cold.No one goes to that either
Snail is a good description, the further west you go the slower the people getHa! My mother once made a very accurate and astute observation when she described Ballarat people a being like "snails", the wetter and colder it gets, the more they seem to enjoy coming outside, they're not like other folks who sit inside and rug up against the cold.![]()
That's the pot calling the kettle black. Think I would back the bloods to finish above the panthers like the last 10 years anytime.
Absolutely, why should you penalise the strong and well run clubs to benefit the poor run ones. Prime example is comparing Sunbury to Melton. 10 years ago they were both similar strong clubs. Sunbury & Melton both have areas with growing demographic with plenty of kids, both compete against similar clubs for talent sunbury with Rupo, Kangaroos, Diggers.. Melton with South, Rockbank, Centrals. Both have massive areas with plenty of businesses to draw on for sponsorship etc.
Yet Sunbury are a well run club both at senior and jnr level so they have a continued pipeline of talent coming through and have enough $ to attract quality recruits every year.. Where Melton are a basketcase and havent played finals in 10 years and are minnow of the competition.
Rumours banner has walked on Williamstown and will play for south all year
south will waste their money like darley didIf true, That's 2 vfl clubs his walked out on this summer. Maybe after 8 years playing professional & semi professional footy since he was 18 (afl,sanfl,wafl,vfl) + straight out of tac cup, his just had enough of all the demands. Unfortunately when your a big name dropping down to local footy, the expectations are extremely high. And when you don't put in, or look like your not putting in, you will be crucified.
Hello Alabama only been a few days since you've talked about south welcome backsouth will waste their money like darley did
G'day mate, does that have anything to do with putting a new club in Melton Centrals on a ground adjoining Melton FC. The equivalent would be to build a new oval 50mts away from Sunbury FC.
You will have more info than me but surely this was not good for Melton in where parents had a choice between 2 clubs right next to each other. "Oh dad can I play with that club that wears navy blue as it's a better colour" Lol..
Await your answer buddy.,
Not sure where I was referencing Melton South at all.. FWIW I grew up and played for Melton Bloods and watched every game they played through the 90s and early 00s. Remember fondly great players like Darren Brown, Goofa Overington, Marc Cullen, Terry Love, Dallas Normington, Teddy Sygidus, Robbie Evans and Lucas Alaimo etc which is why it makes me so sad to see what was once a great club become a minnow of the BFL.
Only thing centrals are ruining is the reserve standards of south and bloods as all they do is recruit blokes who play mostly reserves and offer them some coinI dont think it has anything to do with it TBH, Melton Centrals when they first began were purely a senior team and were seen by most in the footy community as a bit of a joke, basically when players were not good enough for Bloods or South they play at Centrals. Also Melton jnrs play out of Richards Road so are in town and now Centrals play in one of the new estates. It might have some merit if Centrals were actually a successful and well run club but they are a complete debacle, have not played finals since joining the RDFL and dont seem to have any ambition to be any better. In terms of pulling away jnr talent, i could be wrong but i doubt that even 1 jnr playing playing at Centrals would have made it onto a Western Jets squad. On top of that the population of Melton would almost have doubled in the past decade so a town as big as Melton approx 140 000 should be able to easily accommodate 3 football clubs.
IMO, both Melton sides are just in a sh*t location for the league they play in. One of the reasons I think both have struggled for good A grade recruits from the city is because blokes from Melbourne just cbf driving 30min to & from training twice a week, then travelling 1hr 30 min every 2nd or 3rd week for Ballarat games.
Melbourne blokes would rather sign for a team up on the Murray river or bush. Road trip up with a couple of mates , play in 10x better weather, probably in front of bigger crowds & stay at the local motel the club pays for. They can train wherever they like in Melbourne during the week (eg- at a mates club, Gosch paddock)
If you lived in the city, Melton & Barooga offered the same amount ...which do you think players would choose.??