Big Picture More Important

BIG G PIEMAN

I know this absolutely blows about Bucks and Presti and also that Clement isn't going to play on Monday but I think we have to look at the big picture.

As much as I would love to see the Pies have a fair dinkum tilt at a flag in 07 (and I'm in no way writing us off), this presents MM with the opportunity of blooding some more kids and preparing for life after Bucks, Clement, Presti and Burns. We're talking about Clarke, Stanley, more time for Goldsac, Wellingham, N Brown, Cox.

I's love to have everyone available but we have to look at the upside. The kids are coming through......and FAST!!! and more will come with these injuries happenning.

Right now im happy with how we are playing, but injuries may well just derail it and im seriously not looking forward to that fact. Just as the others get themselves right more fall down, hopefully we can still cover it.

I'm not a big believer in this big picture-small picture stuff - we need our best players out on the park every week. All teams do, and invariably the team that wins the flag is the team that has the most luck with injuries.

But yes, we are developing the next generation and we do seem capable of providing depth to cover for a few injured players. As well as some young first and second players coming through, we also have a bit of experience in the VFL and on the recovery trail from injury - Wakelin and Licuria in particular, also Bryan and to a lesser extent Davies, who has also been around a couple of years as well.

The next few weeks are crucial for our success this year.
We were derailed last year the same way when we lost 4-5 key players,we were exposed with our lack of depth.This is why I was saying don't get rid of Jason cloke.He would have been very handy now with clement,heater and presti missing.
Jasn cloke,and wakelin and maxwell plus the younger players like o'brien would have been a good mixture.
However now we have to rely on maxwell,wakelin ,o'brien maybe throw in cox,and nathan brown who lack experience.
who will take Neitz this week?
If we can win the next few without presti,heater,clement,buckley....we will make top 4 and from there dreams do come true.
Oh the premiership could be a cakewalk for the good old collingwood .
In fact let Buckley take his time,we want him back just before the finals just in time to hopefully lead the side to GLORRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRY !!!

If presti doesn't come up Wakelin will come in and take Neitz
If Clement doesn't come up Harry will take Robbo

Yze is the bloke that bobs up and kicks 5 against us, can maxwell do a job on him?? Yze has lost his burst speed, so perhaps maxwell can get him

even with

Heater, Clem, and Presti out we still have some very solid options down back, at least the equal of the dees with Carrol and Holland

Worst comes to worst put Bryan at FB! I reckon he could match Neizt, body and speed, and is a reliable boot but that is worst case and Presti isn't out yet (expected to be available). Wakelin may be OK at FB too, but not Maxwell on Yze, way too fast even if he has lost speed. R Shaw is the man for that job and yep Harry on Robbo would be a good match up. What about Davey, is he playing? Always dangerous up forward.

I strongly believe this year is our best opportunity until the kids have settled into a rythym and begin to show consistency in 2009 and 2010. We can beat West Coast (in Melbourne), Sydney and Adelaide. Fremantle and St Kilda have fallen out of contention - the former have to appoint a new coach, the latter have off-field problems. I've seen Tom Hafey get worse sides into Grand Finals. The belief has to be there, no doubt it is, and the team have been very professional about their business.

Nathan Buckley will be back towards the end of the season, so he can still play in a premiership side - that's if we make it that far.

Wakelin to start FB Harry on Robertson. If the midfield can keep going like they have been then we sure be alright. Neitz worries me Wakelin may be to slow and Maxwell no good on the last line of defence. Harry is a great match up for Robbo so Wakelin needs to play a ripper for us to win.

If all else fails put Leon there he can do no wrong.