- Mar 16, 2022
- AFL Club
- Collingwood
I’m hoping things turn around pretty quickly but atm he looks as much a key defender as McMahon does.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Only TradeDraft has written him off in this threadNot even a week into March and he's being written off!
No one is writing him off. We just look at performance to see strengths and weaknesses and try and decide whether we would play him round 1. You can see good and some bad things pretty quickly, but you can’t see whether he will improve on defects. He has good judgment of the flight, strong hands and is a good kick. I as yet see no other attributes. His size looks a clear attribute but he gets buffeted easily in packs like Cox and unlike Roughy and Cameron. He does not look like he has good closing speed or good spring to punch. Then there is the need to learn KPD craft, how to block leads, wrestle with bulls etc. he does not have to come close to beating stars, just hold them up a bit allowing Moore and Howe to come in over the top third man. He may become good at this but currently shows no potential that I can see. Goldy had it in spades but at 193 was just too short for modern KPD. Dean has it but only 2 centimetres taller and unproven at top level and maybe a crock. Kelly has none of dad’s strength and grunt. Nor did McMahon. Even if we mainly zone, until we fix clearances, our KPDs have to also be able to play close when we are smashed at 6 6 6 as we we’re against Blues. Our attacking style will always mean some turnovers where opponents get to kick inside 50 under no pressure. That is our backline biggest weakness. Again I hope he makes it but if I am forced to bet………Only TradeDraft has written him off in this thread
I don't think he's been written off as such, some concern and wonder about what is going to unfold a couple around the place may have but the vast majority haven't as yet that I've seen.Not even a week into March and he's being written off!
I don't think he's been written off as such, some concern and wonder about what is going to unfold a couple around the place may have but the vast majority haven't as yet that I've seen.
Maybe that was the thought process. A cheap fill in player to give Kelly an extra season to develop. If he is anything more thats a bonus.My gut feel is he won't be best 22 without injury.
The Keane vs frampton debate will be interesting
Moore would be incredible on a wing in stints.Maybe that was the thought process. A cheap fill in player to give Kelly an extra season to develop. If he is anything more thats a bonus.
The flip side may be he takes the best forward and may give up four goals but the benefit from Moore roaming free etc makes it worth it. Moore is one of our better kicks from defence and takes the game on. Maybe he will have more licence to do that and drift forward. I would love Fly to get creative with the use of Moore.
Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk
We just saying he has not showed anything to get excited about yet
My gut feel is he won't be best 22 without injury.
The Keane vs frampton debate will be interesting

Still gobsmacked we got rid of McMahon tbh, was making steady improvement late last season.I’m hoping things turn around pretty quickly but atm he looks as much a key defender as McMahon does.
Still gobsmacked we got rid of McMahon tbh, was making steady improvement late last season.
Obviously not strong enough for key post slot I get it, but was def ascending.
I guess if you’re surname is Kelly it has greater clout, even with a balsa anatomy.
Yeah no good. No faith in Chugg, Ruscoe or Begg either.Mcmahon was a spud, i dunno why people are so hung up on him.
No less a spud than balsa wood Kelly.Mcmahon was a spud, i dunno why people are so hung up on him.
No less a spud than balsa wood Kelly.
What’s he done to warrant a ripple of praise tell me oracle
That’s how I’d like to see it.Maybe that was the thought process. A cheap fill in player to give Kelly an extra season to develop. If he is anything more thats a bonus.
Collingwood recruit Billy Frampton received a curly question moments after his final outing as an Adelaide player.
“I spoke to him after the (SANFL) prelim,” Norwood coach Jade Rawlings told News Corp this week.
“I asked him, ‘You going to Collingwood, big fella?’ and he looked at me a bit funny. I said, ‘If you do mate, you’ll love it. The coach (Craig McRae) is one of my great mates, so you’ll have a ball’.
“I’d never met (Frampton) before, and someone after the game said: ‘Did you have a blue with Billy Frampton after the game?’
“I said, ‘No! I was telling him how I reckon he’s too good for the competition’.”
Rawlings coached against Frampton four times last season, including two finals, and he raved about him.
“He was too good for the level,” Rawlings said.
“He became dominant in SANFL. Anyone who can intercept mark at 201cm – and he kicks it well – is always going to be a thorn.
Don't miss out on the headlines from AFL News. Followed categories will be added to My News.
Follow
Collingwood recruit Billy Frampton received a curly question moments after his final outing as an Adelaide player.
“I spoke to him after the (SANFL) prelim,” Norwood coach Jade Rawlings told News Corp this week.
“I asked him, ‘You going to Collingwood, big fella?’ and he looked at me a bit funny. I said, ‘If you do mate, you’ll love it. The coach (Craig McRae) is one of my great mates, so you’ll have a ball’.
“I’d never met (Frampton) before, and someone after the game said: ‘Did you have a blue with Billy Frampton after the game?’
![]()
Billy Frampton training for the Pies. Picture: Michael Klein
“I said, ‘No! I was telling him how I reckon he’s too good for the competition’.”
Rawlings coached against Frampton four times last season, including two finals, and he raved about him.
“He was too good for the level,” Rawlings said.
“He became dominant in SANFL. Anyone who can intercept mark at 201cm – and he kicks it well – is always going to be a thorn.
“I think Collingwood will be proven to have made a great decision with the recruitment of Billy, because he’s got a lot of AFL footy ahead of him.”
As summer wore on some excited murmurings started to creep out of Collingwood. Internally did they think they had a smokey for recruit of the year?
Clubs drool over 200cm key backs and suddenly the Pies have a monster behind the ball who can handle the AFL’s biggest and best goalkickers, evidenced by Frampton walking straight to Carlton’s Harry McKay in a pre-season game.
The potential domino effected delighted the Pies.
That should allow captain Darcy Moore to ramp up his offensive run and free up Jeremy Howe – who might now get the third or fourth-best opposition forward – to fly across more aerial contests as an intercept specialist.
However the Frampton hype hasn’t exactly been howled far and wide. Kane Cornes predicted Frampton would be dropped by round 3 ... and on the eve of round 1 the big fella was training in Collingwood’s ‘B’ team.
That was presumably due to the possibility of opponent Geelong getting little input from spearheads Tom Hawkins and Jeremy Cameron, rather than foreshadowing Frampton’s footing at Collingwood.
But fancy that — from an almost-flawless pre-season to the fringe of round 1 selection. Another one for the little-known but largely-entertaining Frampton files.
Last year the 26-year-old flipped the ‘bird’ to supporters during a SANFL final last – sticking up his middle finger as he turned around to take his kick.
In 2019 Frampton had a striking suspension for the SANFL grand final overturned after arguing the sun was in his eyes as he landed the blow.
In round 8 last year it’s believed Frampton told a teammate: “Well, I’m getting dropped next week” after he was swung forward for the last quarter … and he was right.
Port Adelaide drafted the South Fremantle boy at No.84 in 2014 and got only three games out of him in five seasons.
The Power didn’t want to lose him.
“We have seen significant development from Billy since he was drafted five years ago and it’s difficult to see him depart the club,” football boss Chris Davies said at the time.
But Frampton was traded to Adelaide for a future fourth-round pick in 2019, and then to Collingwood for a future third-round pick in 2022.
In eight seasons he’s played 101 SANFL games and only 24 AFL games, so it is not difficult to understand the doubt so much of the public — and Cornes — harbours.
The best of those AFL games came against the Western Bulldogs in Ballarat last year.
“Each game I play I always feel like I’m on the edge. I always feel I have something to prove every time I play,” Frampton said afterwards.
Frampton was right to feel unsafe — two weeks after playing his best game coach Matthew Nicks dropped him for the final time.
But as Rawlings, the reigning SANFL premiership coach, noted: “He’s quick, he’s rangy, his marking is his weapon and he probably felt he was a bit maligned in Adelaide in the end”.
“People saw what they felt he couldn’t do, rather than what he could. That’s more the supporter base.”
Frampton has been schooled as a ruck and forward without success and it was Nicks who gave life to the full-back experiment that will kick on at Collingwood.
Frampton and his fellow forwards kicked an embarrassing score of 2.9 (21) under the Friday night lights at Marvel Stadium late in 2021.
So at three quarter-time Nicks swung Frampton to defence, with the Crows keen to utilise his fine foot skills exiting the backline.
But by midway through last season it looked like the Crows had stamped Frampton’s card.
“They were happy with (Josh) Worrell and (Nick) Murray and (Jordan) Butts last year, so the opportunity wasn’t there (for Frampton),” Rawlings said.
“But to me when you get to a consistently-dominant level it means you’ve improved your footy.
“He played to a really standard at SANFL last year, and I always respect blokes who can do that on AFL lists.
“It can drop the other way, where blokes find it too hard, but he didn’t drop his standards at all.
“He’s feisty – I’ve seen him have a few debates with the crowd, and you do get some free advice at the SANFL – but I’m a believer.”