Black Diamond AFL Part 2

• Thread starter Thread starter noodles81

the BDAFL set the umpires fees ... the clubs pay them ... wouldn't you think the BDAFL would put the fees up similar to Sydney to secure umpires :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

So what are the official umpies fees for First Grade in the BDAFL? What are they in Sydney? Do any umpires participate for the love of the game and the sense of involvement with a great sport? Is it just a commercial world we live in? How did the universe begin?

well if these umpires are in fact leaving the bdafl what a sad existence that money is all they see rather trying to help and umpire association thats all ready undermaned or do they think umpiring in syd will increase there slim to none chances of umpiring the afl one day?

I like your call edey but I will say this. The attitude you have displayed in your comment is the exact reason this association, which is probably one of the best panels in the STATE, keep losing umpires.

Unfortunately, we live in an area which don't treat the umpires with any respect. Techincally you don't have to be umpiring in Sydney if you are good enough as you only need the state director of umpiring's approval to be trialled for AFL standard. If we had more people interested in umpiring we might get someone in the group who is talented enough to have a SLIM to NONE chance of making the AFL edey. There have been at least five players to make it to the AFL from the BDAFL edey, why can't an umpire?

We are a very loyal group who train hard and do our best just like everyone else. Umpiring has and always will be a paid profession and it isn't going to change now.

In my opinion the league, nor the clubs have done anything in my two years up here to assist or strengthen the umpire's group and it is only due to the hard work of our association that we actually HAVE an association and that you can have umpires who are qualified and have a knowledge of the rules.

FWIW Sydney First and Second Division Umpires, apparently our standard of footy get over $100 per game in the three umpire system we get $66.

I'm sure edey that you would not like to play first grade with no official umpires with knowledge of the rules and regulations of the AFL. I can tell you with the three losses to Sydney that we have already experienced, that we are in bigger trouble than ever.

Just hope a big incident does not occur when there are no official umpires edey because I know club umpires would not know what to do under the same situation.

To be honest with you I do not do umpiring for the money as I love it and have been doing it 15 years now, but I sure as hell don't want to umpire games on my own because we don't have the cattle on the park.

Good luck to all of your teams for the 2009 season and please, all this talk about umpire fees and pays should be left to the board of the league and the NCCUA. Just worry about the footy.

I know these comments might make some people on here upset or irritated with me as an umpire of this group, but such is my passion for umpiring and the future of our umpiring group. We have a HUGE challenge on our hands, hopefully the league and the clubs have enough RESPECT and knowledge of the game to acknowledge that without the umpire, there is no game.

I like your call edey but I will say this. The attitude you have displayed in your comment is the exact reason this association, which is probably one of the best panels in the STATE, keep losing umpires.

Unfortunately, we live in an area which don't treat the umpires with any respect. Techincally you don't have to be umpiring in Sydney if you are good enough as you only need the state director of umpiring's approval to be trialled for AFL standard. If we had more people interested in umpiring we might get someone in the group who is talented enough to have a SLIM to NONE chance of making the AFL edey. There have been at least five players to make it to the AFL from the BDAFL edey, why can't an umpire?

We are a very loyal group who train hard and do our best just like everyone else. Umpiring has and always will be a paid profession and it isn't going to change now.

In my opinion the league, nor the clubs have done anything in my two years up here to assist or strengthen the umpire's group and it is only due to the hard work of our association that we actually HAVE an association and that you can have umpires who are qualified and have a knowledge of the rules.

FWIW Sydney First and Second Division Umpires, apparently our standard of footy get over $100 per game in the three umpire system we get $66.

I'm sure edey that you would not like to play first grade with no official umpires with knowledge of the rules and regulations of the AFL. I can tell you with the three losses to Sydney that we have already experienced, that we are in bigger trouble than ever.

Just hope a big incident does not occur when there are no official umpires edey because I know club umpires would not know what to do under the same situation.

To be honest with you I do not do umpiring for the money as I love it and have been doing it 15 years now, but I sure as hell don't want to umpire games on my own because we don't have the cattle on the park.

Good luck to all of your teams for the 2009 season and please, all this talk about umpire fees and pays should be left to the board of the league and the NCCUA. Just worry about the footy.

Some clubs, after last season's efforts on and off the field have a lot more to worry about than what we are being paid.

I know these comments might make some people on here upset or irritated with me as an umpire of this group, but such is my passion for umpiring and the future of our umpiring group. We have a HUGE challenge on our hands, hopefully the league and the clubs have enough RESPECT and knowledge of the game to acknowledge that without the umpire, there is no game.

Good post Borgy. One thing I will give you is your passion for umpiring and the game itself.

My only issue with your post is that it is really quite important for the clubs to be involved in the negotiation of prices for umpires. The clubs are the ones that actually pay for the service so it would be completely wrong if they weren't at least consulted and invited for comment before prices were increased dramatically.

An example............if you assume nine home games for the season with first grade umpies getting an increase of $40 per game, Under 18's getting an increase of say $20 per game and clubbies getting an increase of $10 per game, then we are looking at an increase in overall umpire costs of $180 per home game. This equates to an extra $1620 per season for the clubs to find in their budget. This might not sound like a lot but when you add it to increased Affiliation fees the BDAFL is likely to slug them with this season, it could mean a struggle to survive for a few more clubs in the competition.

There are many sides to any argument, but I don't think it is fair to say that clubs should be omitted from discussion on the issue of umpire remuneration.

Good luck with your umpiring in 2009.

Good post Borgy. One thing I will give you is your passion for umpiring and the game itself.

My only issue with your post is that it is really quite important for the clubs to be involved in the negotiation of prices for umpires. The clubs are the ones that actually pay for the service so it would be completely wrong if they weren't at least consulted and invited for comment before prices were increased dramatically.

An example............if you assume nine home games for the season with first grade umpies getting an increase of $40 per game, Under 18's getting an increase of say $20 per game and clubbies getting an increase of $10 per game, then we are looking at an increase in overall umpire costs of $180 per home game. This equates to an extra $1620 per season for the clubs to find in their budget. This might not sound like a lot but when you add it to increased Affiliation fees the BDAFL is likely to slug them with this season, it could mean a struggle to survive for a few more clubs in the competition.

There are many sides to any argument, but I don't think it is fair to say that clubs should be omitted from discussion on the issue of umpire remuneration.

Good luck with your umpiring in 2009.

Roomy you are exactly correct about club consultation and I don't wish to be put out of context. However, I don't really wish to get into those sorts of things on here because this shouldn't be for worrying about these matters.
Clubs should worry about these things at a board level and they should be consulted which is occurring as we speak one would guess. It is as you will understand, a lot more complicated than that.

Time will tell I guess and I'll leave it at that.

I thought the Umpire's Association made umpiring appointments for all games including finals.
As Roger is the coach it seems he appointed himself.
I am not saying he shouldn't be there, but your assertion that the independant selection of umpires reflects their quality is flawed if this is the case.
If it is not then I am open to correction.

Mate, all umpire appointments are done by the Umpires Appointments Committee (UAC). This is an independent panel of 3 people made up of 2 representatives appointed by the BDAFL and a nominated person from the NCCUA. This information is in the BDAFL Annual Report

Roger's job is a coaching role only. Hope this clarifies the situation

Hey borgy, what do you mean since November ? Roger would have been out for a training run the day after the Grand Final :-)

Have you guys got a Fitness Guru for this year ? (I would offer my services, but I doubt you guys could keep up)

As regular people would know, I am a member of the same athletics club as Roger. I can tell you he has been training very hard over summer. Often doing 3 track sessions a week plus racing and a number of long runs. He is focusing on his endurance and speed.

He has knocked about 5kg off his body weight and his racing times are equal with what he was doing 5 to 6 years ago.

As regular people would know, I am a member of the same athletics club as Roger. I can tell you he has been training very hard over summer. Often doing 3 track sessions a week plus racing and a number of long runs. He is focusing on his endurance and speed.

He has knocked about 5kg off his body weight and his racing times are equal with what he was doing 5 to 6 years ago.

and we are sposed to care about this crap???

The only thing Roger should focus on are getting his calls right and having less impact on games.

And if you think doing 3 sessions is good hard work, Try running a marathon Tardy? ya gimmick!

what? so roger now weighs 22kg you jack of clubs?? ive got some toilet paper for you so u can wipe up that shit youve been dribbling. this place was rather pleasant until you returned.

Mate, all umpire appointments are done by the Umpires Appointments Committee (UAC). This is an independent panel of 3 people made up of 2 representatives appointed by the BDAFL and a nominated person from the NCCUA. This information is in the BDAFL Annual Report

Roger's job is a coaching role only. Hope this clarifies the situation

Sure does but raises more questions, does it not?

The coach of my team selects the team and who plays where, why not the coach of the umpires?

Does the Umpires Appointments Committee (UAC) attend all trainings and games?

If they do then fine but if they don't then how are they more qualified than Roger to select people for games?

Sure does but raises more questions, does it not?

The coach of my team selects the team and who plays where, why not the coach of the umpires?

Does the Umpires Appointments Committee (UAC) attend all trainings and games?

If they do then fine but if they don't then how are they more qualified than Roger to select people for games?

The UAC is actually made up of the BDAFL Umpires Coach (Roger), a BDAFL appointee and a NCCUA appointee

So any word on these 3 Umpies that have crossed to the dark side?
I honestly think its pretty piss poor on Sydney's part to be approaching people from our area to gloss over their problems.

Umpires

Just one thing regarding umpires i know they rely heavily on clubs to fund and pay umpires in the BDAFL has there been a thought about finding them a major sponsor/s to help cover payments or even give them the increase they need. Not sure if something like this has been looked at as i have only been on the coast for just over a year.

Re: Umpires

Besides talking about our favourite people of intrest does anyone have any other news about the competition??

Kilarney Vale will be looking for another seniors coach now that Dunning has won an AFL Regional Managers job, will be interesting to see who the Bombers committee will put forward as his replacement.

BDAFL rep team to play farrer FL on the june long weekend...

i reckon the league should look at having a mega day for that game, having the annual junior newcastle V Central coast playing on the same day aswel as the BDAFL 18's and maybe have the first grade rep game as a night game or twilight???

BDAFL rep team to play farrer FL on the june long weekend...

i reckon the league should look at having a mega day for that game, having the annual junior newcastle V Central coast playing on the same day aswel as the BDAFL 18's and maybe have the first grade rep game as a night game or twilight???

That would be smart and may actually bring people to the game.

!!! News Flash!!!

BDAFL Apologises for Delayed Fixture

BDAFL general manager Les Honery has apologised to the league community for the delayed release of the season 2009 fixtures citing a number of issues including fitting club requests, technology difficulties and internet procrastination. Speaking from the BDAFL headquarters, Mr Honnery said “Its unfortunate that as of now we have not be able to provide the clubs and the football community with the final fixtures as there have been a lot of input to the fixtures this year from the clubs. For example Warners Bay have requested a bye on the same weekend as the Nimbin Mardi Grass festival whilst we have also found it difficult trying to work both Newcastle City and Cardiff’s request for a bye on the same weekend as the Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras. Also Gosford have requested to have September free so we are again looking at scheduling the finals for this month.”

Mr Honery also spoke of the software issues that occurred whilst he and fellow board member Ian Granland were fine tuning the fixtures at the NSW/ACT AFL headquarters in Sydney. However he was quick to deny the rumours the fixtures were delayed by procrastination of the board members. “I do not think that the delay can be soley attributed to our procrastination. To be honest though, it is difficult to get things done when we have only one computer at the AFL headquarters and Ian kept insisting on googling himself. I also think he also spent at least 2 hours updating a wikipedia page on himself. However I am not without blame as we did spend a fair bit of time watching mpeg’s from the BangBus website. I’ll tell you, if Kristy and Sabrina are willing to do that to any old stranger that stops at their bus stop I’m going to start driving a bus!”

Honery insisted that the day spent in Sydney was not without success as he and Granland were able to provide the draft fixture for Killarney Vale.

Week 1 – Gosford H
Week 2 – Lake Macquarie H
Week 3 – Wyong H
Week 4 – Gosford H
Week 5 – Lake Macquarie H
Week 6 – Wyong H
Week 7 – Gosford H
Week 8 – Lake Macquarie H
Week 9 – Wyong H
Week 10 – Gosford H
Week 11 – Lake Macquarie H
Week 12 – Wyong H