Hall of Famer
30k Posts 10k Posts
Mar 9, 2001
Away from redneck country
Bombers
Never mind our players poor game today, but I worry more about our supporters, I knew there would be heaps of threads on here bagging our side. That's the reason I hardly poste here, the amount of negative nacies sickens me. :mad:

FFS people, when you have injuries to so many of your top players, you are naturally going to struggle, I mean shit, someone is even having a go at RAMA. :thumbsdown:

II've had my say, I will leave you lot to continure your bagging uninterrupted.:rolleyes:

I'm off to the pub.

Never mind our players poor game today, but I worry more about our supporters, I knew there would be heaps of threads on here bagging our side. That's the reason I hardly poste here, the amount of negative nacies sickens me. :mad:

FFS people, when you have injuries to so many of your top players, you are naturally going to struggle, I mean shit, someone is even having a go at RAMA. :thumbsdown:

II've had my say, I will leave you lot to continure your bagging uninterrupted.:rolleyes:

I'm off to the pub.

Are you saying that currently rama is doing enough to justify his spot in the side?

Simple yes or no please without the blinkers

Well what are we going to say? Johns did something good, lets give him a medal. Everyone knows we have heaps of injuries but we shoudn't have lost by 70 odd points today.

Anyway I'm way more concerned for our shitty cheer squad who doesn't bother to stay for the whole game.

I'm off to the pub.

That's the ANZAC spirit! :thumbsu:

I'm off to the pub.

Yes we are struggling with those injuries and yes I've been blunt but that is because I firmly believe that this side has the potential to match it against most sides.

If so you are very unrealistic.

Merv, how was my comment being unrealistic

I firmly believe that this side has the potential to match it against most sides .

I know we are a long way from full strenght but at the start of the season I would have imaged we would win 8-12 games, further from that it's not the losing that disapoints its the manner in which we lost.

Merv, how was my comment being unrealistic

I firmly believe that this side has the potential to match it against most sides .

I know we are a long way from full strenght but at the start of the season I would have imaged we would win 8-12 games, further from that it's not the losing that disapoints its the manner in which we lost.

Your comment is unrealistic because we are not good enough to match it against most sides.

We are a very average team, with a lot of holes in our list and a lot of lazy and dumb players, as ant has pointed out in other threads.

We have a new coaching staff, lost our champion player and have many young inexperienced kids playing senior footy for the first time.

I don't see how that is a recipe to match it against most sides.

Yes we are struggling with those injuries and yes I've been blunt but that is because I firmly believe that this side has the potential to match it against most sides.

I don't think this side has the potential to match Melbourne.

Your comment is unrealistic because we are not good enough to match it against most sides.

We are a very average team, with a lot of holes in our list and a lot of lazy and dumb players, as ant has pointed out in other threads.

We have a new coaching staff, lost our champion player and have many young inexperienced kids playing senior footy for the first time.

I don't see how that is a recipe to match it against most sides.

I can't disagree, I will admit to wanting to be positive

Doomsday people doomsday.

The fact is that when your best few are out the lesser lights will be exposed.

We are exactly where we should be with a few injuries - bottom 4. There's only two sides in the league with enough depth to cover - Geelong and Hawthorn.

Every other team in the league would be bottom 4 if they had more than 5 of their best 22 out. Look at West Coast with no Judd and Cousins and how exposed the other guys are now.

I'm off to the pub.

So are you accusing Matthew Knights of being a "negative nacie" (whatever that is?) as well?

After all, he said there was "no excuse" and the side's effort was "disappointing", "dismal" and "unacceptable" today.

People are allowed to be critical after a poor performance. The ones who sugar coat everything and are too optimistic are the ones who worry me.

I'm off to the pub.
I am one for restraint after a painful loss but there are times where restraint isnt a plausible option. That insipid showing we all watched today isnt something we should accept. If you are comfortable knowing that our players put in a half assed effort then good for you. Despicable showing by Essendon. Atrocious for the last 3 quarters. Absolutely pathetic. My blood boils with the memories of today. Should have stayed home and mowed the grass then watch our spineless performance:thumbsdown:

We have injury problems and some list concerns and certainly a host of young players learning the big league perhaps a little too quickly for less than confidence in return.

I am wondering if knights can gently remodel his game plan according to the cattle he sends onto the park. It looks wonderful when it works, even for a quarter but it is predicable and deathly when the skills cannot compliment the concept. It may work against these younger players if they are not also getting a grip on acountable football in the future. It is a dimension that has always been in the game.

I don't think this side has the potential to match Melbourne.

Thanks mate for the interesting post on the Collingwood board re 1982.

Interesting to see you Bomber fans react to loses exactly like we Magpies do. Not a good performance today but if you add McVeigh( arguably your best player), Lucas(another player in your top 4 players) and Davey it would have made an enormous difference. All the little breaks in the game seemed to go our way as well. And although no longer playing, the entire Magpie Army was grateful a certain J.Hird was not out there today.

On top of that, your guys looked tired. We continually seemed to have an unmanned player on either wing which put your defence under enormous pressure.Is the extra pace and running that Knights has injected into the side begining to take a toll? I watched the game when you guys played the Bulldogs, who are a very good side, and you guys blitzed them for a quarter but seemed to tire badly, particularly when the soft tissue injuries kicked in.

Has injuries caught up with Matty Lloyd, he's not the same player he was a few years ago????

Moving Fletcher into attack was not a great move as he usually doesnt hurt the opposition on the scoreboard. Surely Ryder would have been the better bet. I will be very surprised if Ryder does not become a superstar within the next 3 years. And the match ups on Medhurst(Monfries at one stage) and on Lockyer were a little odd to say the least.

You are a bit like us in that we both lack a couple of class midfielders.
Anyway, hope you guys have a good year and who knows what the result will be next time we play. The new style of play that Knights has introduced is at least exciting to watch.

Has injuries caught up with Matty Lloyd, he's not the same player he was a few years ago????

Injuries have stopped/started him a bit this year but he didn't play too badly yesterday on a day the midfield got a schlacking.

Quite a few good leads weren't honoured, took a couple of good contested marks and kicked 3 when we only went inside 50 forty times and delivered poorly most of the time.

If we can get some players back from injury who can actually use it better and he can stay injury free for a pro-longed period you will see him play consistently well, he hasn't totally lost it.

We have been saying the same thing for almost 4 years now, players coming back from injuries, young players learning the game, long list of injured players when will these bullshit reasons for losing stop.

Yesterday we just stop, 11 minutes into the 2nd quarter we were 6 points up (AND PLAYING WELL) then it was all down hill, WHY IS THE QUESTION :cool:

Some would argue momentium.

Had Flecter kicked two goals instead of behinds and had Stanton kicked straight we would have had a nice little lead sadly they missed and Collingwood got a run on, we appeared to drop our heads and this is dead in modern footy.

Some would argue momentium.

Had Flecter kicked two goals instead of behinds and had Stanton kicked straight we would have had a nice little lead sadly they missed and Collingwood got a run on, we appeared to drop our heads and this is dead in modern footy.
We did drop our heads & the work rate & effort quickly followed
Team will be no good unitl they start thrashing out games, I'd rather a loss fought out over 4 quarters than a win based on 1 massive quarter & then sitting back

Bloody typical