News Blues face hurdle in payout for Stevens

• Thread starter Thread starter Alpha1

If calling some a down hill skier, soft, lazy etc is a cheap shot then so be it. For a supposed leader of our great club he should have done more. The truth is difficult to face, and frankly I want to see our club great again and thank God he is retiring, maybe he succeed in everything he does in life from now on.

Not taking cheap shots at him, we owe him for the injury he suffered playing for us his employer and he deserves to get his due.
Yet another cheap shot.
This thread should be about our predicament in paying out his contract, and with almost every post you can't help but to pedal complete garbage.
But he has always been a lazy, selfish footballer and that's the truth of it. Like I have said many times on here I am sure he is a nice guy off the field, but I have seen a lot of him on the field to make my judgement on his on field attitude, hence he is a fat, soft lazy footballer, a down hill skier of the highest order.

Has always been?

Re-writing history now Alpha?

When was he not? At Port? Maybe at Carlton, maybe the first two years, what happened when we were struggling and needed leaders? Quite sure he wasn't around then, that's right he was around taking his fat pay cheque. Well like I said good luck to him in life and hope if has a long successfully life after retirement.

Media reports that Nick Stevens would announce his retirement today due to injury are incorrect, Carlton CEO Greg Swann said this afternoon.

"We have met with Nick and had discussions with the medical team regarding his future and at this stage no decision has been made on his immediate playing future. Nick overcame a serious neck injury in 2007 to return to AFL and he has continued to have regular scans on his neck to ensure he is right to play. Obviously if the medical team has any doubts about Stevens continuing his career, both Nick and the Club will be guided by the recommendations. Nick needs to look at his future while for the Club we have a duty of care to ensure we protect the long term interests of the player," Swann said.

Stevens will have further medical tests and the Club will have further discussions with him and the medical team next week."

http://www.carltonfc.com.au/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/85282/default.aspx

Hopefully the club, Nick Stevens and the AFL can work something out that is beneficial to all parties. It would seem unfair that if a player suffers an injury and is told that they should not play footy again, that they can't do something with their contractual agreement.

I am surprised that nothing has been put in place for a situation like this. Though rare, it is an outcome that you would think would have been given some thought at some point...:confused:

I'm pretty sure it will be fine as this should come under injury payment for players, therefore not coming under our salary cap.

When was he not? At Port? Maybe at Carlton, maybe the first two years, what happened when we were struggling and needed leaders? Quite sure he wasn't around then, that's right he was around taking his fat pay cheque. Well like I said good luck to him in life and hope if has a long successfully life after retirement.
I presume you hold a similar amount of angst for all players at the club who get paid well but don't prepare themselves 100% or produce 100% every time they play?

Media reports that Nick Stevens would announce his retirement today due to injury are incorrect, Carlton CEO Greg Swann said this afternoon.

"We have met with Nick and had discussions with the medical team regarding his future and at this stage no decision has been made on his immediate playing future. Nick overcame a serious neck injury in 2007 to return to AFL and he has continued to have regular scans on his neck to ensure he is right to play. Obviously if the medical team has any doubts about Stevens continuing his career, both Nick and the Club will be guided by the recommendations. Nick needs to look at his future while for the Club we have a duty of care to ensure we protect the long term interests of the player," Swann said.

Stevens will have further medical tests and the Club will have further discussions with him and the medical team next week."

http://www.carltonfc.com.au/newsarti...2/default.aspx
Finally you post something even vaguely related to the topic......but this is old news mate and preceeds the article from your OP. Was on SEN yesterday and in the CFC website yesterday arvo. :confused:

Rational thought is required here.:thumbsu:

There are two seperate issues - whether he gets paid, and whether it comes under the cap.

I hope we pay him all of his money. He hurt himself severely playing for us and deserves every penny

With respect to the second issue, you would hope that the AFL makes some allowance to pay that money outside the cap if a bloke is injured like this and told he risks life threatening injury if he continues

Not taking cheap shots at him, we owe him for the injury he suffered playing for us his employer and he deserves to get his due. But he has always been a lazy, selfish footballer and that's the truth of it. Like I have said many times on here I am sure he is a nice guy off the field, but I have seen a lot of him on the field to make my judgement on his on field attitude, hence he is a fat, soft lazy footballer, a down hill skier of the highest order.

All you ever do is take cheap shots at players you take a dislike too ...stick to sobbing like a little girl in the stands after a loss ...Stevens at least has some balls .