Review Blues vs. Bombers Draw - Vent and Dissect Here!

• Thread starter Thread starter zeeCFC

No room for Henderson when Kreuzer comes back? How does a ruckman returning from injury force your CHF out of the team??? :confused:

Kreuzer will alternate between deep in the forward line and the ruck along with Warnock. There is no way that Kreuzer has any impact on Henderson's position. The only player Kreuzer will be forcing out of the team is Hampson.

it was a terrible display by a number of what i consider second rate players thats cost us the game. players such as Collins and Laidler that could not get games at previous clubs and carlton picking up the dregs.

Ummm.... Laidler has been great so far this season. He's been asked to play key defensive roles on players who are several inches and many kilograms bigger than him. Last night he spoiled a lot of marks. His punches were Jamison-like. I thought he was very accountable.

When Bower comes back, I'd like to see him take on more of the key defensive roles and let Lailder play as 3rd tall back.

Collins stunk... going to need to take a few baths to get rid of that funky Richmond aroma. And get rid of that disgusting ****ing mullet, will you? Please Ratten, don't let Collins back into the side until his skills have improved and he's had a haircut.

Besides a select few, the players should take a long hard look in the mirror.

Especially the following:
Collins - Some excuse his performance because it was his first game, But let's face it, his played 26 games of AFL before. A lot of players deserve to be on the team before he ever pulls on the jersey again, Ellard, Lucas, Armfield
Betts - Pretty much made the team play with 17 on the field when he was out there
Carrazzo - His turnovers are just hurting the team to much

For those defending them, they are men not little boys, And they play for Carlton, When they step on the field they should want to hunt, kill, destroy the opposition! be hungry for the ball FFS! Show some pride, leave the game with know ifs or buts.

Ratten - I have heard things from recent past players that made me uneasy with him at the wheel, But the fact is he is our coach and we must back him while he is there. I just hope he starts to learn from his mistakes and become more wiser with each game. A lift in his game day coaching is a must for him to become successful, to many times the tactics we have in place just aren't working, but we persist with them for all 4 quarters when obvious adjustments should have been made.

There are only eight players I have consistent faith in:

Judd
Scotland
Jamison
Simpson
Garlett
Curnow
Waite
Warnock

Murph probably deserves to be on that list too, as do David Ellard and Dennis Armfield, but ****, they surely can't get a game... :confused: They play good consistent football. And if 'Carrots' continues to get games, then surely anybody is a chance...

Betts has gone from a respected senior player to a literal disgrace. I am embarrassed that he plays for Carlton at the moment. He is just so anonymous. Walker has to have signed for GWS, and if he hasn't, should do so immediately to keep his career alive. Not his fault today obviously, but surely the horse has bolted with Walks. NEVER impacts games (good few games rebounding off half-back last year excluded). Please stop trying to take mark of the year, your career is slipping away from you...

Gibbs is becoming embarrassing. ****ING LIFT. You are good.

Noofa is underdone, so I haven't minded his performances yet. Duigs and Yaz excellent.

And finally, I would like to give some huge respect to Jarrad Waite. I thought he was enormous today, with literally no help from Hammer or Hendo. He is such an epic talent and deserves a hand occasionally. Please, ANYONE, in our forward line, help THE MUD out for ****'s SAKE

Besides a select few, the players should take a long hard look in the mirror.

Especially the following:
Collins - Some excuse his performance because it was his first game, But let's face it, his played 26 games of AFL before. A lot of players deserve to be on the team before he ever pulls on the jersey again, Ellard, Lucas, Armfield
Betts - Pretty much made the team play with 17 on the field when he was out there
Carrazzo - His turnovers are just hurting the team to much

For those defending them, they are men not little boys, And they play for Carlton, When they step on the field they should want to hunt, kill, destroy the opposition! be hungry for the ball FFS! Show some pride, leave the game with know ifs or buts.

Ratten - I have heard things from recent past players that made me uneasy with him at the wheel, But the fact is he is our coach and we must back him while he is there. I just hope he starts to learn from his mistakes and become more wiser with each game. A lift in his game day coaching is a must for him to become successful, to many times the tactics we have in place just aren't working, but we persist with them for all 4 quarters when obvious adjustments should have been made.

I'm with you when you mention excuses. The easy thing to do when you love a team and its players is to find reasons for why they mess up, but the players really do need to lift in their intensity and basic skills. There are some players who go all out and give it their all, but there are also some that seem to cruise through the game and are just happy to be there. Collins and Hampson have looked shocking so far, and as you mentioned, Betts seems to be doing nothing out there. I'm not as down on Carrazzo as some other people are, as I think he is still valuable for his tagging work, but I would like to see him working on executing some basic skills rather than trying to make the tricky play all the time.

So yeah, those guys should really probably be looking at some time in the VFL, as everything I have heard is that guys like McLean, Armfield, Lucas, etc are playing hard for the Ants and deserve a crack at the senior team.

I disagree with you about Ratten though. I admit that he's not the greatest coach in the AFL, but I don't think we should be calling for his head yet. He seems to have the respect of the players, and he has led this team to the finals in each of the last two years. The main problem that I have with the team right now is that they seem to be playing without the intensity and desire that they need to if they are going to make the top 4 this year, but I am not sure how much of the blame for that falls on Ratten. Maybe he does need to do something to put a rocket under them and fire them up?

I'm with you when you mention excuses. The easy thing to do when you love a team and its players is to find reasons for why they mess up, but the players really do need to lift in their intensity and basic skills. There are some players who go all out and give it their all, but there are also some that seem to cruise through the game and are just happy to be there. Collins and Hampson have looked shocking so far, and as you mentioned, Betts seems to be doing nothing out there. I'm not as down on Carrazzo as some other people are, as I think he is still valuable for his tagging work, but I would like to see him working on executing some basic skills rather than trying to make the tricky play all the time.

So yeah, those guys should really probably be looking at some time in the VFL, as everything I have heard is that guys like McLean, Armfield, Lucas, etc are playing hard for the Ants and deserve a crack at the senior team.

I disagree with you about Ratten though. I admit that he's not the greatest coach in the AFL, but I don't think we should be calling for his head yet. He seems to have the respect of the players, and he has led this team to the finals in each of the last two years. The main problem that I have with the team right now is that they seem to be playing without the intensity and desire that they need to if they are going to make the top 4 this year, but I am not sure how much of the blame for that falls on Ratten. Maybe he does need to do something to put a rocket under them and fire them up?

My point on Ratten may of came out wrong, I wasn't really meant to imply sacking him, But more adjust his coaching method a bit and learn from some of the mistakes he may of made in past games. I agree with you, he has taken us from bottom of the ladder to where we are now, we just need to take the next step, Hopefully he's the coach that can do it.(at the end of the day, Ratten bleeds blue and is a true champion of the club, nothing would make me happier then to see him succeed with the blues)

I also agree with ya point on Carrazzo, He actually is quit a good player when on song, its just his decision making and kicking can sometimes be shocking, i really hope he would just stick to his abilities and not try to do to much with the ball. Cause he is often involved in crucial parts of game play and when he does turn it over it tends to damage either the teams moral or scoreboard.

Cheers for some good points & feedback:thumbsu:

My point on Ratten may of came out wrong, I wasn't really meant to imply sacking him, But more adjust his coaching method a bit and learn from some of the mistakes he may of made in past games. I agree with you, he has taken us from bottom of the ladder to where we are now, we just need to take the next step, Hopefully he's the coach that can do it.(at the end of the day, Ratten bleeds blue and is a true champion of the club, nothing would make me happier then to see him succeed with the blues)

I also agree with ya point on Carrazzo, He actually is quit a good player when on song, its just his decision making and kicking can sometimes be shocking, i really hope he would just stick to his abilities and not try to do to much with the ball. Cause he is often involved in crucial parts of game play and when he does turn it over it tends to damage either the teams moral or scoreboard.

Cheers for some good points & feedback:thumbsu:

No worries mate. I think that what you just said about Ratten is a good point. He does need to learn from his mistakes and be able to adjust things when they're not working. I do think that sometimes we seem to be getting beaten in certain matchups and structures, and Ratten seems to leave things as they are, almost like he just hopes that things will get better. He is a true champion of the club as you said, and I would love to see him win #17 for us as well, but he does need to improve. As I said before, he isn't a terrible coach, but he isn't the best either. If Malthouse or Roos or someone like that comes knocking on the door looking for a job next season, I wouldn't be terribly upset if we told Ratten "thanks for your hard work, good luck in the future".

I was really impressed with the backline - Duigan, Yarran, White, Jamison etc. Very impressive. Steely resolve-fortitude-guts. fantastic!

I don't blame Simo- he gave his all the whole match and at the end of the match your legs are tired. Errors happen with fatigue. Nothing negates his 3 goals.

I am disappointed with the bottom 3 players.... not happy reading articles praising Essendon's courage etc for playing 2 players down - we played two down as there were at least two players that gave us nothing.

Selection committee need their head read.

p.s -You would think by the newspaper articles that the only courageous players were with Essendon. Come on... Carlton had courageous players as well. Tired of the old man river angle with Fletcher as well. We get it..he is "old".

No one has given Essendon a lick of credit today.

They are a decent side.

Heard Blight or Dr Quarters in the last quarter say that Essendon had 10 first round draft picks/fs out there.

They were one down on the bench, one, yet everyone reckons we were going to overrun them by 15 goals, this is after being goalless at qt.

Anyhoo - Sack Ratten, drop 13 players, the MC only exists to piss off the BF people,
blah, blah, blah.

This is right, saying they were two down is not correct, only one down, don;t count the sub, yeh it was two of their runners that went down, but they weren;t two down.

We should have put them away, no goals in the first quarter you have got to be kidding.

We did well to get back in the game, years gone by we would have rolled over, Hampson cannot take a mark to save himself, cost us goals, senior players spraying shots on goal...Eddie not going back to take the shot, OOTF in the dying minutes...stupid football, didn;t realise they had 10 first round picks out there, they are a decent side and so are we with a fit Kreuzer, Lachie when he's back on track, Bower.

Opposition tactics to reduce Eddie;s and Jeffy;s influence seem to go a long way to beating us, we need more marks in the forward 50...

2 points are better than a loss, but had they not lost those two players I believe we were in for a hiding.

I think there is something to all this talk of not attacking the ball hard enough and playing with enough passion and desperation. We have a handful of players who go hard sometimes, but to be honest, a lot of the rest look like they think they're having a kick in the park with their mates on a sunday arvo. You look at a guy like Judd in the midfield, Garlett in the forward line, Curnow in contested situations, etc and you see some guys who go all-out. It would be nice if the rest of the team (and I'm not saying that all of the others don't play hard) put in the same effort and played with the same heart, rather than trying to take Mark of the Year every week (I'm looking in your direction, Waite and Walker) or trying to be an overhead marking target (Betts) when he really should just be busting his ass to get to the fall of the ball around packs and making tackles when the defense gets the ball in our forward line.
Amongst all the chokito floaters I found a post I like.
It is one thing to be told to make sure you hit a marking pack hard but another kettle of fish to fly kamikaze like into them everytime. Knocking over a dozen players like 9 pins usually resulted in our blokes being on the ground and Ess players cleaning up the mess for a fast rebound. Of course the best solution would be better delivery to a leading forward in the open I know.

Bryce Gibbs has escaped the grizzling again but frankly his record in big games and crucial moments where the game is to be won is suspect. I am far more upset with him that Carrazzo cause he should be doing much more.
He is overrated right now, got the talent and potential but doesn't deliver when it's required

This says it all. :thumbsu:

No it doesnt.

That sounds like the opinion of someone who's never played football and been involved in a draw.

You might count it as small victory but I'd bet a penny to a pound if you asked each and every one of the players how they feel and they'd consider it as good as a loss.

No it doesnt.

That sounds like the opinion of someone who's never played football and been involved in a draw.

You might count it as small victory but I'd bet a penny to a pound is you asked each and every one of the players how they feel and they'd consider it as good as a loss.

Fraid so A-Chick. :(

too me it feels like a loss, I am really disappointed we didn;t put them away, it's all about winning .. just my take on it.

Going by the media and post game interviews with Essendon players etc, they seem to be relatively satisfied to grind out a draw, all this spin about being 2 players down...:(

They got the selections wrong, Henderson way under done, Collins not ready, and Walker should have been in, even Thornton would have been a better option his strength is his marking....they got it WRONG

I can;t remember being more peed with not winning as this game

They better win next week, or there will be a supporter melt down

I thought Hampson improved this week. I like him down back, let him spoil contests and disrupt other teams forward lines, rather than ours. I still can't wait for Kreuzer to come back, but I didn't think Hampson was as bad as he has been.

I also liked White moving up front when it was clear that Hendo was out of his depth. Hendo didn't look half bad while he was down back either. Well, at least better than he did up front. It was a slight and subtle improvement to the structure of the team, I thought. Will be interesting to see if Lachie gets another week or if T-Bird comes back in to play up front.

Duigan is a machine, but he worries me when the footy is in his hands. Laidler is very cool calm and collected under pressure. LOVE this kid.

Murphy, Jamison and Yarran. Stars.

Carrazzo needs to make way for Ellard.

Collins should not have been brought in for these last two games. Why he wasn't brought in for a game like next week against the Crows I will never understand. Too much pressure on the kid. You can't expect him to step up and play well in his first two games for the club on the two biggest home and away fixtures of the season.

Ratts did the best with what he was dealt yesterday, leave the poor bloke alone. If Lachie didn't come in, he would have been lynched. Hindsight is always 20/20 people. The only complaint I have is over the selection of Collins over the past two games. The MC should have seen this coming.

No it doesnt.

You might count it as small victory but I'd bet a penny to a pound if you asked each and every one of the players how they feel and they'd consider it as good as a loss.

What a ridiculous thing to say.

Of course I have never played football being of the female gender.:rolleyes:

Did you even read the part of MSR's post that I quoted.

here we are having taken 2 points from a game that for all intents & purposes we were the underdogs for. Yes it would have been nicer to have won, but gee it would have been totally ratshit if we had lost (which we nearly did).

Had Zaharakis kicked a goal instead of a behind, we would have lost!!!!!!!!!
Imagine how the players would have felt had we lost.

Gutted comes to mind.

I am not at all happy with the draw but would take 2 points anyday instead of none.

Carrazzo only misses targets about 10% more than those players, but I see your point. He tries to do the right thing, but his execution is often poor. He may be trying to do things that are beyond him, but so does every player, our own "golden boy" Yarran included.

Accepted, a player (Carrazzo for discussions sake) should be aware of who is under pressure and who isn't, but it's not entirely their fault. If passing to a bloke comes off, the bloke getting the footy gets praised for backing himself and taking the game on. If it doesn't come off, you get derided for putting a teammate under the pump. So what is the correct thing to do? Your teammate shouldn't be calling for it unless he thinks he can get the pill & do something with it. And isn't a big part of football being able to trust your teammates?

My assessment of Ellard is based on what I've observed watching him a few times and playing against him once, which was a few years ago admittedly. You've probably seen Ellard in more games than I have, so you probably have a better understanding of his capabilities.

The name is more related to the vegie, I just thought it would be a nice pun for a carlton board :)

Haha - I did wonder if your name was in fact referring to the orange things!!

Did you play against Ellard in WA? (Would also explain why you haven't seen much of him). Before last year I would have agreed with you about Ellard, I didn't rate him at all in fact, but he was really good once in the senior side last year and would be playing seniors still if it wasn't for his suspension.

And as I type this while watching the replay, Carrazzo goals! And I must admit, his game hasn't looked as bad on replay - still not great - but not horrible.

Good to have a proper footy discussion on BigFooty again - don't get much of that these days, cheers mate :thumbsu:.

How many women do you know who play football?

jack+watts_26+jluy.jpg