Bogan Neighbour Problem

Sep 9, 2000
Glenelg, Redbacks, Lakers
Let me start by saying that we live in a decent area so how we got stuck next to a bogan couple really baffles me as she doesnt work so you tell me how they can afford the place!!

Firstly, some previous problems -

Firstly, we had the music problem. On a weekly basis this bogan would have his mates around to drink,yell, swear while listening to thump thump music. This would occur during the middle of the week!! They would be out in his little bogan cave which is their outside garage.

Next it was the tree removal. He went on a mad spree cutting down trees,bushes on their property, many of which provided some sort of privacy for us. So now it is as bare as anything. I would understand if he was cutting stuff down to replace it with either home extensions or other trees but its been a year and nothings been done!

Then came the kids stoning our roof and also coming onto our property for no reason. Also the kids are always just throwing empty junk food wrappers on the ground which blow into our property.

Then it was the dog problem. You know the usual type of aggressive dogs that bogans own. One in particular was a ferocious thing that would bare its teeth at you and growl when you were in your own yard! They never walk the dogs that I have ever seen.

Then it was the junk pile problem. They have times where they accumulate this massive pile of junk. It sits and grows over a few months before they finally get a skip in to take it away. This is just a horrible look and really degrades such a nice area.

Anyway they are the previous problems now heres the next thing to come up.

Firstly, we do share a driveway which leads into both properties. We have our carport on their side so it is next to their entrance gate. This morning I have noticed that she has parked their big people mover thing in our carport!!!! Yes the carport is empty most days and she obviously assumes we are both at work and doesnt realise I am home on leave but still, I couldnt believe it!!! The carport is private property!!! So what would you do????

Its one thing after the other and nothing would surprise me anymore with the ferals. No wonder the kids are like they are when they have these disrespectful idiots as parents.

Move. :p

Seriously tho- sounds terrible. I'd be really pissed if they were coming onto my porperty. I guess try to talk to them if you can (in bogan world, maybe taking a 6-pack of beer over too might help smooth things over)- if you cant contact the council (over the noise issues anyway), failing all that, then call the ****ing cops on them.

as shell said you could move,but l guess you have a nice house and are happy where you are.you will have to do it the law way ring the council when there yard becomes tip,ring the cops when there linseed the noise barrier.maybe talk to you fellow neighbors and they can complain as well.maybe in time they will get shitty at all you's and move away.if it just be come you V them it could become messy.document everything when you called cops etc good luck.

Just move.

If it was only one or two of the issues you mentioned then perhaps you could hold out some small hope that it could all be worked through with some common sense and good discussion. But seriously, all of the examples highlighted added together kinda paint the picture (to me anyway) that this is beyond being worked through. It is clear that your neighboiurs do not posses the requisit 'common sense' in the first place.

Bite the bullet and get out.

Just move.

If it was only one or two of the issues you mentioned then perhaps you could hold out some small hope that it could all be worked through with some common sense and good discussion. But seriously, all of the examples highlighted added together kinda paint the picture (to me anyway) that this is beyond being worked through. It is clear that your neighboiurs do not posses the requisit 'common sense' in the first place.

Bite the bullet and get out.

We were here first which makes me want to stand my ground. We like the area and houses here are so hard to buy now. We are just hoping that they will have to move due to financial reasons. Back when we used to chat to them before we knew what they were like I remember he made comments about not having much money.

Got some Bogans that back onto us.
2 weeks ago they were using drills and hammers at 11.30PM on a Wednesday night. Had people over in their back yard laughing and talking very loudly last night. One more strike and I'll be on the blower to th cops. I'm a man who needs his sleep.

I know what its like. Our lot have an obsession with power tools and using them at weird hours. One night we called the police on them as they were chainsawing at 7:30pm right next to the end of our house. Thats something I forgot to add in my first post. The police called us after they went to speak to him and said that he told them they got free firewood and needed to get it chopped up before the rain came! Moron.

you seriously called the police because someone was using a power-tool at 7:30 pm?

it is standard for tradesmen to start using these tools at 7am, when people are more likely to be asleep than at 7:30pm.

i think u just need to toughen up and realise that sometimes (especially in a house where u share common assets such as a driveway, which u would have known you would be doing when u bought/leased the house) people are going to do things which might not suit you.

s

you seriously called the police because someone was using a power-tool at 7:30 pm?

it is standard for tradesmen to start using these tools at 7am, when people are more likely to be asleep than at 7:30pm.

i think u just need to toughen up and realise that sometimes (especially in a house where u share common assets such as a driveway, which u would have known you would be doing when u bought/leased the house) people are going to do things which might not suit you.

s
You're that bogan using that power tool, aren't you?

It's all about respect and consideration, in that people need to understand the impact of their actions on others around them. In years gone by I would have said it's common sense, but unfortunately these days it's not too common.

Haha no I've never used a powertool in my life. I'm just used to the builders across my back fence firing them up every morning for the last couple months around 7-7:30am.

To me, using a powertool at 7:30pm is not a big deal, providing it's only for an hour or so and not happening every night.

However viewing these events in the context of everything else OP mentioned I can understand the frustration OP is feeling, the litter dumping and rock-roofing in particular.

s

Ordinarily yes I probably would have let it slide if it was any other person but this came after all of the other incidents and there comes a snapping point.
Some people have to work reasonably long hours unlike these bogans, one of whom is a stay at home bludger housewife and the other is home by 3pm every day. After waking at 5:30am each day I think I am entitled to some peace when I do get home and to have to put up with a chainsaw of all power tools at 7:30pm 2-3 metres from the walls of our house just because they were their typical stingy selves by going for free firewood, well thats not on.

Oh and what has using a power tool got to do with a shared driveway?
The only incident which resulted from the shared driveway was her parking their ugly hunk of junk truckster in our PRIVATE carport. Surely you can't condone that.

You need to de-bogan the bogans. Buy them some sessions at a etiquette school, teach the children about kindness and courtesy (and the adults), refer them to a stylish hair dresser, that kind of thing.

:rolleyes:
Was it keeping you awake? At 7.30pm?

Your other complaints seem legit, but the fact you called the cops for that shows me that you're probably not the best neighbour yourself.

Let the tyres down when they park in your driveway but beware the wounded bogan, they always have dirty tricks up their sleeves, best advice I can give about neighbours is a good neighbour is good insurance, never start a war with them, you'll lose.
Its xmas time buy him a beer for doing something nice to you, even if you make it up.

:rolleyes:
Was it keeping you awake? At 7.30pm?

Your other complaints seem legit, but the fact you called the cops for that shows me that you're probably not the best neighbour yourself.

No it wasnt keeping us awake but I'm sick to death of dimwitted inconsiderate people. That tattooed yobbo pig is home so often that he could have chosen another time. I wouldnt have the nerve to do it to my neighbours. They just don't think.

I'm probably not the best neighbour???? That couldn't be further from the truth. We were only talking the other night about how the bogans would not be able to come up with a single bad thing about us. This is proven by the neighbours on the others side who are great and they'd say the same about us. In fact they have when we've discussed these dropkicks on the other side. We respect others, these pigs don't.

Let the tyres down when they park in your driveway but beware the wounded bogan, they always have dirty tricks up their sleeves, best advice I can give about neighbours is a good neighbour is good insurance, never start a war with them, you'll lose.

True. That's the frustrating thing. The good guy never wins. That's the world we live in. You can't go over and punch him in the nose these days unfortunately and you can't just ignore them as it just grates and irritates at you.

You need to de-bogan the bogans. Buy them some sessions at a etiquette school, teach the children about kindness and courtesy (and the adults), refer them to a stylish hair dresser, that kind of thing.

Good Idea.
The only thing is that somehow bogans have an in-built resistance to etiquette.

No it wasnt keeping us awake but I'm sick to death of dimwitted inconsiderate people. That tattooed yobbo pig is home so often that he could have chosen another time. I wouldnt have the nerve to do it to my neighbours. They just don't think.

I'm probably not the best neighbour???? That couldn't be further from the truth. We were only talking the other night about how the bogans would not be able to come up with a single bad thing about us. This is proven by the neighbours on the others side who are great and they'd say the same about us. In fact they have when we've discussed these dropkicks on the other side. We respect others, these pigs don't.

Fair enough, I was probably a bit harsh. I understand there are other issues, but you lose a lot of credibility with the cops when you call them over frivolous stuff. In my opinion, calling the cops is a last resort, and you maybe should have gone over there first and had a frank exchange of views (you've probably already done this though!). Obviously this is harder when you're dealing with bogan trash, but most people are open to it, as long as you're reasonable about it. That way they can't claim ignorance over the issues you have.

Oh and what has using a power tool got to do with a shared driveway?
The only incident which resulted from the shared driveway was her parking their ugly hunk of junk truckster in our PRIVATE carport. Surely you can't condone that.

My point re: the shared driveway was that when you bought/leased the house it should have been in the back of your mind, gee if I get some weird neighbors, there could be some issues here. This sort of crap happens all the time today tonight/ACA.

A lot of these centrelink draining bogans have been in the system long enough to know that the cops can't touch them, and if you start ringing the cops etc and letting the bogans know it is annoying you, they are likely to continue to do it for fun.

Not that you don't have an extremely legitimate complaint, but from the way you refer to them there also seems to be a healthy dose of elitism mixed in here.

The elitism is warranted in my opinion.

This is one of the reasons people move to higher socioeconomic areas - to not have to associated with bogans on a regular basis in one's private life.

My point re: the shared driveway was that when you bought/leased the house it should have been in the back of your mind, gee if I get some weird neighbors, there could be some issues here. This sort of crap happens all the time today tonight/ACA.

But none of the problems are associated with the shared driveway. We would be suffering the same problems if there was no shared driveway there.

Bogan Neighbour Problem