Bolts & Shaw

• Thread starter Thread starter Punts

Just wondering what u guys think of these 2 going on next year with the like of Everitt finding a new role of the HB and might get pushed out next year if Shaw plays on and the likely hood of AJ back and Lamb and a few others get pushed a side if Jude goes on ?
I thought you wanted Everitt dropped?

Bolton wont play on.

Shaw i havent seen enough this year, i feel like we have the most depth on mid sizes backman, especially with mcveigh back there

But cant lose all our experience at once, will goodes be right for instance in 2014

Is shaw contracted?

If Jude wants to play another year I for one will be laying out the Welcome mat. I thought he was one of our better players last night. The guy's incredible.

Hell yeah, i may be sentimental but goodsey and bolton can play forever if they want, they go on their terms

Think Jude will retire, he'll set himself for these last few weeks, go as hard as he can and leave absolutely nothing out there.
See no reason for Shaw to retire though, this season was the first time he's missed any significant period in his time at the Swans. Even if he doesn't quite recapture his best form this season, reckon he'll be keen to put it behind him and go again next year.

Shaw is still very handy, when he gets fit, he can go back to running half back and macca can enter the forward /mid rotation . I prefer macca playing forward of the centre , purely for his disposal quality

Bolts is one of 4 guys currently playing (Goodesy, LRT & Rok are the others) who I would give 100% control over the decision to call time. I know they will do whatever they think is right because they always tend to put the club first. I don't expect this decision to be any different. If that's before or after what we (or anyone else) may regard as their "best befores" then so be it. They deserve that option without any pressure one way or the other from anyone. It's the least that can be done to repay their contribution to our club IMO.

In saying that, I'm expecting this to be Bolts' last hurrah before hanging them up unfortunately for him & us. Wish he (like Kirky, Kelly & Goodesy) could just somehow play on forever but amazingly, even though they may seem like immortals, end up being human after all. It wouldn't annoy me at all if he wanted to go around again next year but I just can't see it happening. Particularly after all the talk last year if he'd go on this year it just gets more & more unlikely as each year passes and I think he gave the indication when he said he was going around again this year it was a 1 year type situation.

Like Goodes, Shaw has had his first real major injury absence from the club. This doesn't indicate his age is leading him into injury at all. It was one major injury which I don't believe had anything at all to do with his age. I think he's got at the very least a year left in him after this year (if not more) IMO. If he was fit & firing all year I don't think the conversation would come up at all actually.

The one guy I'm very worried about hanging them up is LRT. Poor bastard has not had the best run with injuries (particularly lately) which I feel like are more age related and will get worse as time goes on. Unlike Goodes or Shaw, he's seemingly had consistent niggles and re-injuries which I think his age may have contributed to somewhat more-so than Gooesdy or Shaws injuries. It would just be a real shame for him to not end his career sticking it in the faces of all those critics who said he's too unco/clumsy and not good enough... Maybe by finally winning that Norm Smith :p

If Jude wants to play another year I for one will be laying out the Welcome mat. I thought he was one of our better players last night. The guy's incredible.

I think he's been alright this year. I'd love to see him play on, but i have the fear that sometimes you get players in their twilight that end up falling in the basket of going on 1 season too long after a significant drop in performances when they probably should have called it quits. I'd hate to see Jude fall into that category. He's done extremely well considering a lot of people have said or hinted towards him being cooked and having 1 more year left in him every year for the last 5 or so years if you go by opinions on here.

If he called it a day at the end of the year, it will be sad to see him retire, but at least he'll be going out playing good footy.

Can't see Jude playing on next year, but I also can't see him announcing his retirement until after his final match (Doesn't seem like the type of player who would want to make a fuss about his retirement, would rather just quietly stroll off into the sunset).

As for Shaw... starting to think this may be his final year, with players such as Rampe, Everitt now firmly entrenched in the best 22 and Johnson to come back next year he might start worrying about his position in our best 22.

I'm happy to let these players make their own decisions. They'll get it right for the club. If I were to advise them privately, I'd say to them:

Goodesy - the body's sending you messages mate
LRT - ditto
Bolts - good for one last year in 2014, if remaining injury free
Shaw - play on in 2014, then review
ROK - good as gold, play on in 2014

So we've got to give it everything for the Finals in 2013.

I'm happy to let these players make their own decisions. They'll get it right for the club. If I were to advise them privately, I'd say to them:

Goodesy - the body's sending you messages mate, so it's just somthing to think about over the next few years
LRT - ditto ditto
Bolts - good for one last year in 2014, if remaining injury free could play 5 more though.
Shaw - play on in 2014, then review after a couple fo years.
ROK - good as gold, play on in 2014 for the next 10 years.

So we've got to give it everything for the Finals in 2013.
And with some minor, more positive, spins to them......

Can't see Jude playing on next year, but I also can't see him announcing his retirement until after his final match (Doesn't seem like the type of player who would want to make a fuss about his retirement, would rather just quietly stroll off into the sunset).

As for Shaw... starting to think this may be his final year, with players such as Rampe, Everitt now firmly entrenched in the best 22 and Johnson to come back next year he might start worrying about his position in our best 22.

Havent thought much about it til i read this, id like to know when i am watching judes last game , love to see him get the right send off.

Will be hard to balance with the lap of honour with the cup and all, but fans would like to say farewell

Knee injuries to senior players are a sign of age but knee injuries to young players aren't ? How does that work ? A knee injury is a knee injury. Might as well write off Aj as Goodes.

Also disagree that Everitt & Rampe are entrenched best 22. They're the best we've got at present but will need to continue to play consistently good footy for some time (and through finals) to cement their places.

If Goodes, LRT can prepare themselves well and their bodies feel good both can play on for years (and I hope they do).

Knee injuries to senior players are a sign of age but knee injuries to young players aren't ? How does that work ? A knee injury is a knee injury. Might as well write off Aj as Goodes.

Also disagree that Everitt & Rampe are entrenched best 22. They're the best we've got at present but will need to continue to play consistently good footy for some time (and through finals) to cement their places.

If Goodes, LRT can prepare themselves well and their bodies feel good both can play on for years (and I hope they do).

is anyone ever entrenched? they just have done enough to make it harder to shove them out

True. Hoping we get a swag of players pushing back for selection through the last weeks and finals. Nothing better. Rumours of Reid's return should have Jesse playing out of his skin and Pyke seeing a return to form. Either could be pushed out. Everitt could also see Reid threaten his place if we decide to play Reid as a tall defender. Nervous times. One things for sure, Gaz will hold nothing back this weekend

Depth is probably the most important aspect of any teams overall success IMO. More-so come finals. It makes it much easier to manage energy levels & workloads not to mention better allowing us to better unleash that special gameplan/player/set piece/surprise/etc to add another dimension to our game the opposition wouldn't have been faced with before we had those extra hands on deck come finals.

Looking fwd to seeing how Gazza goes. Hopefully he pulls up ok and nothing negative occurs (ala Bock recently) and he's good to build into finals and give us that pace we're missing with Jetts out.

I'd be very surprised if Jude played on next year. He has gone into a defensive forward role (which he has been very good at almost every week), but I think listing him for 2014 might be a bridge too far. He has been a great servant for the club though and if he desperately wanted to keep playing for another year, I wouldn't be at all upset if the Swans signed him up again.