BOOO-ing Goodes

A black person calling a white person a white c*** is just as bad as a white person calling a black person a black c***. I'm not sure how you could see it any differently to be honest.

As individual incidents they are the same. That said, it is likely to be more of a rare incident for people with fairer skin in Western society. So we as the white receiver should be more able to be less bothered by it.

Then they must have been happy we didn't disappoint them. After out showing in the Adelaide match we've squandered any goodwill we might have had.

The respect after the Adelaide game was probably ignored by those with an agenda. People like to have confirmation bias - ignore what doesn't fit their beliefs & jump all over that which confirms it.

Hall for example was saying he hated WCE's crowd whilst totally forgetting to mention his cowards punch.

How very unsurprising it is, that it just has to be WCE as the club where this entire thing blows up.

I boooo Goodes because i don't like racists. He's the most openly racist person i've ever seen, and i'm sick of putting up with it whilst he plays the victim clutching his heart and saying "woe is me" whilst the AFL and various media entities leap to his defense.

Racism isn't a one way street Adam. Go **** yourself.

Hey mate, I'm still waiting for you to explain how Goodes is the most openly racist person you've ever seen. Remembering that racism is defined as, "prejudice, discrimination, or antagonism directed against someone of a different race based on the belief that one's own race is superior." It really shouldn't be hard to do seeing as he is so open about it and so, so racist.

"13yr old girl yelled something at me, crowd keeps booing me... i know what i'll do, i'll throw a spear at the suffering Carlton supporters during a 50pt hiding, that will make everything so much better, they'll understand then..."

Regardless of what side of the fence you're on, it's fair to say Goodes's handling of this situation has been diabolical.

It's cool though, Jetta has also made everything so much better by also throwing a spear. Both he and Goodes are obviously all about unity.
Goodes's handling of the situation has been impeccable. Has maintained almost a complete dignified silence on the issue, breaking it only to say that he finds the constant booing disappointing (and nothing more).

He has done exactly what people say he should do, which is ignore it and play the game, and people still find a way to twist it and claim it's somehow all his fault. Then they boo harder, like some kind of idiot child.

The reverse engineering going on to paint Goodes as some kind of monster is ridiculous.

The respect after the Adelaide game was probably ignored by those with an agenda. People like to have confirmation bias - ignore what doesn't fit their beliefs & jump all over that which confirms it.

Hall for example was saying he hated WCE's crowd whilst totally forgetting to mention his cowards punch.

I'm often mocked for my whiteness.

It cuts real deep.

Not sure if this has been added to the discussion yet but he has taken leave from the Swans

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-07-28/goodes-given-leave-by-the-swans

Quote from Longmire

Mentally I wish Adam the best because the issue as Longmire says is concerning him and something that he is sick of, and fair enough to. Hopefully Goodes is in a positive head space, surrounded by family and positive people and we don't get a hasty retirement out of it or anything.

The abuse and bullying of Goodes needs to stop .

Geee........socialism today really stuffs us all up.
What is racism? I know what unfair racial discrimination was and agreed with that.
The word 'unfair' has been dropped, but we all discriminate naturally or we wouldn't decide what to wear or eat each day.
So the reality is that we have 'unreasonable selective discrimination'.
We live in a silly society where aboriginals are treated differently to all other Australians, even aboriginals of 25% or less blood.
Go back 20 years to player infractions with the crowd in Europe and we see..

Manchester United's Eric Cantona has been fined £20,000 and banned from playing football over his on a fan.

The club has relegated the French star striker to the bench for nine months for lashing out at a fan in the front row during a game against Crystal Palace two days ago.

Cantona has also been stripped of his captaincy of the French national team and he has lost his place in the side.

Cantona claims the fan, Matthew Simmons, shouted racial insults.

In Australia, it appears, the fans can be attacked by players (no matter the extent), unlike anywhere else in the western world.

It is wrong

What?

Did you see what Cantona did?

If you are even trying to compare the Jetta or Goodes "attacks" on supporters to Cantona you have rocks in your head.

Goodes's handling of the situation has been impeccable. Has maintained almost a complete dignified silence on the issue, breaking it only to say that he finds the constant booing disappointing (and nothing more).

He has done exactly what people say he should do, which is ignore it and play the game, and people still find a way to twist it and claim it's somehow all his fault. Then they boo harder, like some kind of idiot child.

The reverse engineering going on to paint Goodes as some kind of monster is ridiculous.

I think people see a weakness when complaints were originally made (I can't remember if it was earlier this year or last year), so they decide that doing it again/more puts him off his game.

He saw this reaction and Sydney and himself actively said nothing. But by this stage the cat was out of the bag. I suspect it would have reduced except for this original mention of it. I think it became a game to some to see if they could provoke another response. The unexpected "release valve" came from Jetta and not Goodes (although I suspect Shaw's goal celebration when the game was well & truly dead was also a response that was missed)

Having 2 days off is hardly going to endanger his team's chances for top 4/finals. If Sydney get back a few players, not play Mitchell as a sub and actually try to win their next game (and not the damage control rubbish from the w/e) - this will effect their chances more.
My mistake, on the move today and only saw the headline, thought he was missing this week's game.

As individual incidents they are the same. That said, it is likely to be more of a rare incident for people with fairer skin in Western society. So we as the white receiver should be more able to be less bothered by it.
Oh please....Do you actually believe that? In addition you should be careful making comments like that as it may be perceived that you think whites handle it better...ie racist comment. Difficult area ain't it

Cant believe the MODS or so called MODS havent shut this thread down yet.

The issue is a some people state those reasons you just did and say it is nothing to do with race...then in the next breath go onto say AOTY was undeserved, he is divisive why can't he just be quiet? He's picked on a little girl and the war dance was so inflammatory and so scary for the poor crowd. Conveniently dismissing the fact he has dedicated a significant portion of his life to aboriginal advancement in the Australian community.
Even people who do good things can be disliked... Just because he is not Caucasian does not make it racist. The definition of racism has been enlarged exponentially of late.

I am not alone in feeling the club's statement was likely forced upon it by the AFL but also a kick in the guts for the same fans who not two weeks ago welcomed the Crows. Memories are indeed short and I feel like we as the fans have been unfairly targeted as infuriating as that is.

Cant believe the MODS or so called MODS havent shut this thread down yet.
Why?

It's all over the newspaper, footy talk shows, talkback radio, workplace lunchroom conversations and everywhere else you can find yet you don't want it talked about here?

Not really sure what else there really is to say on the subject, but there probably isn't any harm in actually discussing it. But I personally might take my leave of the discussion. Time to think of the next game.

He did mention the punch. Said he didn't give a shit if it made us angry and claimed he never apologised to Staker either. Filthy dog.

Why?

It's all over the newspaper, footy talk shows, talkback radio, workplace lunchroom conversations and everywhere else you can find yet you don't want it talked about here?

Its a football discussion board I thought. No football being discussed here. Also seems to be quite a few hints of racism going on this thread. Thought this would a be no go zone anywhere

Even people who do good things can be disliked... Just because he is not Caucasian does not make it racist. The definition of racism has been enlarged exponentially of late.

Obviously people who do good things can be disliked, but how is that even relevant when it is obvious a portion of the booing is racially motivated? Unless you truly believe that none of the booing is racially motivated your point that some may just dislike him for other reasons, while undoubtedly true, is hardly relevant. I don't think the definition of racism has been enlarged at all, what do you even mean by that?

I am not alone in feeling the club's statement was likely forced upon it by the AFL but also a kick in the guts for the same fans who not two weeks ago welcomed the Crows. Memories are indeed short and I feel like we as the fans have been unfairly targeted as infuriating as that is.

If your major concern about all this is that you feel the Eagles fan base has been unfairly critcised I believe you have your priorities all wrong. 99.99% of the media coverage is that it is an AFL wide issue, what is your point? That they should have waited for two weeks against Geelong before speaking up? But then won't the Geelong supporters feel unfairly treated? Seriously, you either believe there is an issue and are happy that it is getting dealt with, or you don't think there is an issue so are sad that the media is picking on us. How does it even matter if the statement was forced upon us by the AFL, and on what possible basis could you have reached that conclusion? Are you not happy that a statement was made? Also, the Eagles fan base received widespread applause for the Adelaide situation, if there was such an unfair biased against the poor Eagles fan base why were they so glowing in their praise?

Its a football discussion board I thought. No football being discussed here. Also seems to be quite a few hints of racism going on this thread. Thought this would a be no go zone anywhere

That's right, football operates in a complete bubble away from the rest of society; issues like drugs, race, etc are not football issues because, well, they're just not. You can essentially do anything on a football field in the knowledge that only the true footballing component is up for discussion.

yep cause thats what I said

It seems like now, we have come to a point that because Goodes is Indigenous, the booing towards him must be racist and even though this hasn't been said in the media specifically, it is definitely implied and that is racist in itself. It has been said so many times in this thread but Goodes being booed has become the flavour of the month and because a few people start booing, everyone starts booing without actually knowing why they are booing. Then of course amongst those are the actual racists who find it an easy opportunity to boo him based purely off his race. However the vast majority of people booing him are doing so because of his on field persona of being a bit of a flog sometimes (playing for free kicks, being a sook) and also because they just don't like him and then the sheep follow suit. I can guarantee that you would struggle to find a person who does not respect Goodes for the work he does for Indigenous Australians and outreach programs (something he has being doing for a long time).