oxx

())(())(())(())(())(())((
Where'd he finish in the Jack Dyer medal count ?

Last i checked,he didn't make the top ten:rolleyes:

Champion my arse.

Champion my ars.

OXXy!!
Day release and internet access.
I love our penal system.
:D

No, some people here think Bowden is a Champ cause 'tempo footy' actually worked once this year and Bowden instigated it.
Bowden is Mr.Positive Football remember?

i dont mind Bowden at all just hate the way he plays the game. ALWAYS looking for the easy option. The easy road. The ol' one-two. Uncontested Mark + Return Kick = +2 Easy Ass Possessions.

and what sh!ts me even more is how people carry on about how many "possesions" he gets a game.

Bowdens "39 Possession" game against Port supposedly won the game for the Tigers, ohh and his "AMAZING" uncontested mark near the end of the game.

Tuck played four quarters of some of THE best in and under footy BUT NO...BOWDEN this, BOWDEN that!!!

remided me of Randy "Macho Man" Savage and the way he used to always get his tag team partner to take the heat and beating then he'd jump in at the end and do the pin and get all the glory! Thats Bowden all over for me.

Sadly i now see our kids sometimes looking backwards as soon as they get the ball and that stupid "hold the ball up in the air" like its the premiership trophy ARGGHHH!!!

i dont mind Bowden at all just hate the way he plays the game. ALWAYS looking for the easy option. The easy road. The ol' one-two. Uncontested Mark + Return Kick = +2 Easy Ass Possessions.

and what sh!ts me even more is how people carry on about how many "possesions" he gets a game.

Bowdens "39 Possession" game against Port supposedly won the game for the Tigers, ohh and his "AMAZING" uncontested mark near the end of the game.

Tuck played four quarters of some of THE best in and under footy BUT NO...BOWDEN this, BOWDEN that!!!

remided me of Randy "Macho Man" Savage and the way he used to always get his tag team partner to take the heat and beating then he'd jump in at the end and do the pin and get all the glory! Thats Bowden all over for me.

Sadly i now see our kids sometimes looking backwards as soon as they get the ball and that stupid "hold the ball up in the air" like its the premiership trophy ARGGHHH!!!

ROFL...

Pay that for a "bump"! :D

Wrong on so many levels.

Notice how when Bowden gets the ball, the chances of a Richmond player getting the next possession are so much higher? He uses it exquisitely.

Notice how whenever any Richmond player anywhere outside our own 50 gets into panic mode, Bowden becomes a target? They know that there is a far better than fair chance he'll retain possession for us?

How about the fact that we don't really want defenders leading the league in "contested marks"? Unless you're Tom Harley and have the full support of some great backline colleagues like Scarlett, Mackie, Egan and Milburn, taking contested marks in defence generally implies that they are trying to outmark an opposition forward when they should be punching the freaking thing?

The main reason blokes like Deledio, Tuck, Richo etc are high on the B&F placings, apart from the fact that they each had a consistently great season, is that they played EVERY game. That's what a club B&F rewards.

It's like the old "Sunscore" format. Missing a chunk of games will knock a player way down the list, even if he complimented it with some excellent performances. Hence JB's low placing.

Despite their dominance, there is little chance that Brownlow favorite Gary Ablett will win the Geelong B&F, Alan Didak at Collingwood, or Luke Hodge at Hawthorn for the same reason.

But, then again, you are a wrestling fan.

Wrong on so many levels.

Notice how when Bowden gets the ball, the chances of a Richmond player getting the next possession are so much higher? He uses it exquisitely.

Notice how whenever any Richmond player anywhere outside our own 50 gets into panic mode, Bowden becomes a target? They know that there is a far better than fair chance he'll retain possession for us?

How about the fact that we don't really want defenders leading the league in "contested marks"? Unless you're Tom Harley and have the full support of some great backline colleagues like Scarlett, Mackie, Egan and Milburn, taking contested marks in defence generally implies that they are trying to outmark an opposition forward when they should be punching the freaking thing?

The main reason blokes like Deledio, Tuck, Richo etc are high on the B&F placings, apart from the fact that they each had a consistently great season, is that they played EVERY game. That's what a club B&F rewards.

It's like the old "Sunscore" format. Missing a chunk of games will knock a player way down the list, even if he complimented it with some excellent performances. Hence JB's low placing.

Despite their dominance, there is little chance that Brownlow favorite Gary Ablett will win the Geelong B&F, Alan Didak at Collingwood, or Luke Hodge at Hawthorn for the same reason.

Great post.

Bowden saved our ass in a few matches this year. Cant question him this time.

There have been 120+ instances this year when ive wished Bowden had the ball instead of McMuffin/Turnover/Stupid. Hes ten times the player that spud will be. :thumbsu:

Wrong on so many levels.

Must have taken a lot for the coach to drop him this season. He's never even dropped Kane Johnston FFS. Must have been something going wrong in his game that warranted the demotion.

He has his good points as you've outlined but he darn sure has some very lazy aspects to his game as well. Maybe he's not lazy, but he sure gives a pretty good impression that he is sometimes. And it's that that people hate I reckon.

he missed a month of footy - and i would love to know how he polled in the 2nd half of the season (i.e when we won all our games).

Unfortunately they don't put much info about about the final count and the "round by round":(

Champion my ars.

You got alzheimers mate? I think we've been here before.

You hate him, some agree, some don't.
Get over yourself, no-one's reading your musings and going, "hey, that oxx was right, I've been wrong all this time!"

When he's good, you'll refute it...when he's bad, you'll go on the rant. That's assumed.

Sorry for "playing the man" but you started it.

MOVE ON.

lol.

nice to be Bach !

Champion my arse.

It was July 27, 1996 at Princes Park. A cold winters day. A young skinny wingman named Joel Bowden from Darwin was playing his first AFL game.
He was 18 years and 36 days old.
The Tiges beat Hawthorn that day by 41 points. Their 21 year old Forward named Matthew Richardson kicked 7.3 and for the record, Craig Treleven managed 1.2.
Bowden was played sparingly as a teenager and then blossomed. He terrorised West Coast at the "G" and starred in other games, being nominated for a Rising Star.
4 years later at the age of 22 he finished 3rd in the Jack Dyer Medal.
Short down back, he was moved to defence and won back to back Jack Dyer Medals in 2004 and 2005. He was All-Australian in 2005 and 2006 blanketing the likes of Matthew Pavlich, Jonathon Brown and Nick Riewoldt.
It's now 2008 and Bowden has averaged 21 games a year over the past 11 years. He won and saved games for a young Tigers Team helping them go from 3.5 wins in '07 to 11.5 in '08 - a game and a half off the double chance. (Just think, if he had've played against the Dogs when they drew or in other close games, the Tiges might have made it to September.)
He's played 253 AFL Games - The 11th Most at Richmond - 144th Highest in the history of the VFL/AFL. Michael Tuck, Craig Bradley and Robert Harvey played to their late 30's, Bowden turned 30 3 months ago.
In Richmonds best year in a while when Joel missed a month of senior football he was slagged off by an Oxx. The Oxx doesn't rate him but then again, the Oxx never played on Barry Hall!

hes been a pretty handy father son selection, smartest and most composed player under pressure and when given roles proves that hes cetainly more then a zone off player

It was July 27, 1996 at Princes Park. A cold winters day. A young skinny wingman named Joel Bowden from Darwin was playing his first AFL game.
He was 18 years and 36 days old.
The Tiges beat Hawthorn that day by 41 points. Their 21 year old Forward named Matthew Richardson kicked 7.3 and for the record, Craig Treleven managed 1.2.
Bowden was played sparingly as a teenager and then blossomed. He terrorised West Coast at the "G" and starred in other games, being nominated for a Rising Star.
4 years later at the age of 22 he finished 3rd in the Jack Dyer Medal.
Short down back, he was moved to defence and won back to back Jack Dyer Medals in 2004 and 2005. He was All-Australian in 2005 and 2006 blanketing the likes of Matthew Pavlich, Jonathon Brown and Nick Riewoldt.
It's now 2008 and Bowden has averaged 21 games a year over the past 11 years. He won and saved games for a young Tigers Team helping them go from 3.5 wins in '07 to 11.5 in '08 - a game and a half off the double chance. (Just think, if he had've played against the Dogs when they drew or in other close games, the Tiges might have made it to September.)
He's played 253 AFL Games - The 11th Most at Richmond - 144th Highest in the history of the VFL/AFL. Michael Tuck, Craig Bradley and Robert Harvey played to their late 30's, Bowden turned 30 3 months ago.
In Richmonds best year in a while when Joel missed a month of senior football he was slagged off by an Oxx. The Oxx doesn't rate him but then again, the Oxx never played on Barry Hall!

great post

Remeber when Bowden did his shoulder several times as a young kid - we knew he was something special, but he couldn't get his shoulder right.

I went to a night game at the MCG, and Bowden was making one of his shoulder-related comebacks in the twos. By the last quarter he was dominating - baulking, kicking goals from 60, the full package. God, we were excited for the future. Then with about 30 secs to go in the game (we were up by about 10 goals), he goes for a huge speccy in the goalsquare - crash, down on the shoulder. Four more weeks. Can't remember the main game, but I remember that.

I'm happy for you to like the bloke,just cease with the word champion.

Someone who is as good as he thinks SHOULD finish top 5-10.

Fact is he aint as important to our team as some melancholy supporters say.

We will actually be a far better outfit without him.

I also hope he can play a real season before he is retired,seriously but for the last 4-5 years he has been no more than an inconsistent,tempo inducing,slow,directionless old boy.

Have a good weekend.:thumbsu: