Food, Drink & Dining Out Boycotting Coopers

Silent Alarm

sack Lyon
10k Posts
Honestly who gives a ****? Their beer is alright for a low price, and so what if they're a bunch of conservative hicks and they don't spend their time prioritising gay marriage over serious social and world issues.

I don't like Christians really at all. I don't like the Liberal Party. But I don't give two shits. I hate the way Apple work, I reckon Steve Jobs was nothing but a hard-arse, money-driven egotistical campaigner but I still use his products. So ****ing what? I won't change the world.

Alcohol is a scourge... no one selling this addictive shit is a good guy.

This reminds me of the CUB thing a little while ago. People would come in to the bottle shop I worked at and really loudly make a point they were now drinking the heavy, mid-strength swill that is Furphy because it wasn't ripping people off. Now I disagree with the way they treated their workers, and this sort of shit is so common in modern workplaces. The worker is no longer rewarded outside of pay, and even that is a little too much to ask... but the grand irony is people stopped drinking their shit irony beers yet continued to support other corporations who employ slave labour or generally are happy to buy their piss from Coles and Woolies: companies who do not fix unsafe work spaces, who put staff in danger, who moderate prices at their own will, and who are everything ****ing bad with the world.

FFS is this the lamest thing ever?

I enjoyed walking in to the bottle shop today and grabbing a six pack of their pale ales. Feels good.

tldr; the Coopers Brewery put up a video 'celebrating' the 200th anniversary of some cult bible association and I think they're making beers for the 'occasion' too. They put up a video of two people debating the rationale behind allowing homosexuals to marry and some people found this offensive, even though they're both discussing pros and cons.

And the Coopers family donate a heap of money to the Liberals every year.

AKA they're a bunch of conservative flogs who love Johnny Howard, Tony Abbott, Christopher Pyne, and being in the God squad. I don't really give a shit but lots of young trendies who think allowing gays to vote is more important than fixing the climate or inequality are now not buying their beers. But in the process they're telling everyone about it. A bunch of bars mostly in Melbourne are getting them off tap too.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-03-13/coopers-facing-consumer-boycott-over-bible-society/8349408

The beers aren't even that good. But they're one of the few six packs always under $20 and who still sell cartons for less than 50 bucks – a rarity now. They're a decent value beer that's better than a lot of other shit out there and it's at a good price, and yet people who buy drugs from nefarious dealers at day raves are now upset as to where their legal, taxed alcohol comes from.

tldr; the Coopers Brewery put up a video 'celebrating' the 200th anniversary of some cult bible association and I think they're making beers for the 'occasion' too. They put up a video of two people debating the rationale behind allowing homosexuals to marry and some people found this offensive, even though they're both discussing pros and cons.

And the Coopers family donate a heap of money to the Liberals every year.

AKA they're a bunch of conservative flogs who love Johnny Howard, Tony Abbott, Christopher Pyne, and being in the God squad. I don't really give a shit but lots of young trendies who think allowing gays to vote is more important than fixing the climate or inequality are now not buying their beers. But in the process they're telling everyone about it. A bunch of bars mostly in Melbourne are getting them off tap too.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-03-13/coopers-facing-consumer-boycott-over-bible-society/8349408

The beers aren't even that good. But they're one of the few six packs always under $20 and who still sell cartons for less than 50 bucks – a rarity now. They're a decent value beer that's better than a lot of other shit out there and it's at a good price, and yet people who buy drugs from nefarious dealers at day raves are now upset as to where their legal, taxed alcohol comes from.

A minor detail, but an important one I think; it was actually the Bible Society that put out the video, not Coopers.

Seems like an overreaction. Are people going to stop buying Weet Bix and So Good? At least Cooper's is privately owned and appropriately taxed.

Cooper's have always been in bed with The Bible Society (and what an awful group/place/thing that sounds like). Most people (like me) didn't know this until today, and have chosen to either ignore or make a big deal out of it in the hope of getting some PR on social media.

But they're one of the few six packs always under $20 and who still sell cartons for less than 50 bucks – a rarity now.

You're going to the wrong bottleshops mate. My local does the standard stuff like VB from $14 and better quality like Stella and Fat Yak for $17.

The beers aren't even that good.

Woah there cowboy! This stuff is up there with the fancy Belgian stuff. Cheers!

upload_2017-3-13_22-33-20.png

Heard about it today. Always found it hilarious when people get on their high horse about this sort of thing. A lot of it is fake outrage anyway I think. A lot of knobs just finding the latest thing to get outraged about, with barely any of them probably even drinking the beer.

Unless a company supports paedophilia or something ****ed up like that, you seriously are wasting your time getting upset about this sort of thing.

They're supporting religious causes. So ****ing what?

This isn't Henry Ford supporting Nazis.

This is one of the worst things about the internet. A legitimate business now has morons trying to ruin them over the fact that they don't support the same sorts of organisations that the morons do.

Go through your house, cupboard, whatever... shit you like is inevitably going to be owned or associated with something you dislike, don't feel aligned to, or who are generally just a shithouse bunch of people exploiting and damaging others. It's capitalism and the modern world.

We'd all be boycotting AFL games if people stuck to that criteria.

Coopers partners with a mob that does stuff. Mostly good stuff but some disagreeable stuff. None of it Earth shattering. This isn't the Cooper family coming out and stating a cause, it's a third party. They may silently support... they also may not. Either way drawing a direct connection back to beer on this one is a bit much to me. It's just people looking for a face of this movement. Coopers is a big face in this country so it's the easiest target.

and yet people who buy drugs from nefarious dealers at day raves are now upset as to where their legal, taxed alcohol comes from.

kAQQsy5ln1zAsxSaklgP6bAjlnwcRpGb2CMTgqHS_lCQQA1sRmPZrgUZtxq3rdM8uYcF4d2BzaK6CTwT-YM_O3A=w357-h296-nc

Haven't touched alcohol for over a decade but very tempted to buy a six pack of Cooper's Stout to drink whilst listening to something by that animal cruelty promoting band Hunters & Collectors.
While playing Pokemon (PETA complaints also over perceived animal cruelty).