Food, Drink & Dining Out Boycotting Coopers

It's tokenistic crap.

Since when did Australians this century really give a shit about anyone but themselves?

If you support gay marriage, then write to your MP, lobby others to do the same, etc. Actually try to make something happen.

Just about every product you buy makes some f-wit somewhere a bit richer.

Unfortunately I feel the boycott is more about the fact that it is trendy to hate on the church and religious types; than it is about people wanting to make a difference for their fellow Australians.

FFS is this the lamest thing ever?

I enjoyed walking in to the bottle shop today and grabbing a six pack of their pale ales. Feels good.

Maybe not lamest, but it is up there. It is a classic first world problem, with its epicentre in inner urban pubs and bars frequented by people who are a lot more wealthy and comfortable than they care to realise.

As for you buying a six pack, it will be interesting to see if the old adage "any publicity is good publicity" plays out here.

I drink beer, I generally don't really care what kind of beer im drinking so im not gonna boycott anything but I think the Pubs doing it for a broader message is a good thing. Being a part of a stupid video of two straight liberal MP's "debating" marriage equality was a stupid decision on their part and they are copping the wrath. The pubs are boycotting it to show their support for marriage equality and Coopers made a faux pas by being involved in the video that basically goes "hey you don't have to support gay marriage, that's okay".

Light beer with Tim Wilson, and Andrew Hastie. Way to make your product look attractive.
Au contraire, if you wanted to undermine their cause, associate it with light beer.

Pro gay marriage advocates and people who hate the Liberal party should be applauding Coopers for negatively associating them with shit house beer.
Being a part of a stupid video of two straight liberal MP's "debating" marriage equality was a stupid decision on their part and they are copping the wrath.
Tim Wilson is gay.

Seems like an overreaction. Are people going to stop buying Weet Bix and So Good? At least Cooper's is privately owned and appropriately taxed.
The people I know who are boycotting it are still catching Uber, despite that being the creepiest company on the planet.

What's wrong with not believing in gay marriage? I am totally indifferent to it. There's about 500 more important things we should be pressing our politicians on. It doesn't make you hate gay people. It's a priority thing.

The people I know who are boycotting it are still catching Uber, despite that being the creepiest company on the planet.

Indeed.

Look I might be poo-pooing it a bit, but anything that gets people talking is a good thing. If this leads to similar shenanigans with Uber or Apple or whoever, then I suppose that's a good thing.

*Posted from a device made with dubiously sourced coltan.

What's wrong with not believing in gay marriage? I am totally indifferent to it. There's about 500 more important things we should be pressing our politicians on. It doesn't make you hate gay people. It's a priority thing.

I totally agree that there is many more important things to deal with. By the same token, you can't dismiss an issue just because a bigger one can be found. It still has it place.

If I'm right and Australia's bite of the economic shit sandwich is just around the corner, then all those other issues will gain further prominence. I just wish our government would be decisive and legalise gay marriage (seems to be what most want), as well as push through a few other no-brainers, while things are relatively 'good' for us.

Completely your right to do so but its also consumers choice to boycott your personal brand if you announce that publically... Which is sort of what Coopers have done.

It is their right but I just find it a little... it's a good way to say to everyone 'I used to drink this trendy beer, now I don't.' I remember during the Great CUB Boycott of 2016 people I knew wouldn't drink the $8 Draught pint but two beers into $13 pale ales they'd finally succumb to the lower price... it's a bit like the dreadlocked white boy at the party playing guitar and espousing chill notions who ends up starting a massive argument – all facade and very little substance.

It's just classic internet trend. Do some research yourself if you want to make a difference. Look at the other things you consume if you want to be so outwardly protesting. It would be noble if you researched this yourself and made your own decisions but this is just a little OTT.

It is their right but I just find it a little... it's a good way to say to everyone 'I used to drink this trendy beer, now I don't.' I remember during the Great CUB Boycott of 2016 people I knew wouldn't drink the $8 Draught pint but two beers into $13 pale ales they'd finally succumb to the lower price... it's a bit like the dreadlocked white boy at the party playing guitar and espousing chill notions who ends up starting a massive argument – all facade and very little substance.

It's just classic internet trend. Do some research yourself if you want to make a difference. Look at the other things you consume if you want to be so outwardly protesting. It would be noble if you researched this yourself and made your own decisions but this is just a little OTT.

I don't disagree, it is OTT but its also easy. Im a staunch supporter of marriage equality and I have written to ministers, supported causes, walked, ran, marched and fund and awareness raised constantly to see little to no change in parliament and ongoing diversionary and delay tactics and frankly im sick of seeing no action, if I thought that boycotting a beer would make an iota of difference I would do it in a heartbeat and that's what this is tying into, if people think it might help they'll do it.

The politicians know that they have gay marriage as a fallback issue when everything else turns to shit. They aren't silly. Most of Australia will eat it up when it emerges again as a topic in Canberra, and Nero shall fiddle while Rome burns.

Just like that silly lady I know that didn't want to watch the Mardi Gras because one of their sponsors is Meat and Livestock Australia.

Not in 2017. You either adamantly insist it's the most pressing issue facing the nation or you are Hitler.

Gay marriage support in Australia is about 60% IIRC, and I reckon a decent chunk of that 60% and a decent chunk of the other 40% don't really care. I.e. if it was introduced tomorrow only the vocal minority of Christian weirdos would still care and everyone else would just go back to watching MAFs and MKR. FWIW I think the real shame is that the majority of elected MPs and Senators support it but no one has the balls to vote it in. Huge bipartisan PR opportunity for Turnbull and Shorten lost.

Anyway, it's a terrible ad and associating with a religious group that made it is terrible PR, but Cooper's aren't the devil and people are going way OTT.

The thing that p*ssed me off the most about this video is that clearly only one of them was drinking their beer. The pedo in waiting who was hosting and Tim Wilson were both sitting on their beers like that stingy arse mate who is trying to get out of buying the next round. Pathetic.