Watsonia F.C.
Rumours circulating that we will trade him come seasons end. If so;

1) Do you think we should trade him?

2) Who would be possibly interested in him?

3) Who/What could we get for him? (up for any suggestions e.g. fish + a pick for someone)

Cheers!

There is no doubt that Fisher didn't have a great year, or the kind of year we would've expected him to given the form he has shown in the past in between injuries.
This year he's looked slow and tired and his kicking for goal has bee average at best. That said, history is littered with stories of good players who haven't had great years for one reason or another and I reckon the Hawthorn game pretty much summed his season up; went missing for long periods, didn't kick the goals expected of him as a forward, looked slow when chasing, several tackles didn't stick, but then he took an absolute ripper mark late in the game.

My concern with Fish, is he looks to have some serious question marks over the condition of his knees which have impared his kicking, limited his verticle leap and generally effected his pace and acceleration. It would not surprise me if the 'bone on bone' story pops up pretty soon with him. That said, I would not be too fussed if he were traded or if he remained at the club.

3) Who/What could we get for him? (up for any suggestions e.g. fish + a pick for someone)

Cheers!
Why don't you trade the whole team you fool,there the future of the c.f.c.

Think he is worth trading if we get some decent offers. If not is worth keeping but would not be a walk up start in our best 22 next season I wouldn't think. He looked great potential in his first year but doesn't seem to be heaps better these days than he was then. His kicking and agility seems a concern for mine. Still has good hands but is this enough?

Why don't you trade the whole team you fool,there the future of the c.f.c.

i never actaully said that we should nor did i say that i agreed with the rumours that we will. so next time, read the thread properly before you start pointing the finger... fool

Cheers!

The only rumours circulating in regards to B Fisher are unsubtansiated and ill informed dribble from people like yourself, on sites such as this. Hardly think he will beq going anywhee, only recently signed anew contract and is clearly in our best 22....

i never actaully said that we should nor did i say that i agreed with the rumours that we will. so next time, read the thread properly before you start pointing the finger... fool

You are the fool mate - posting crap - there has been absolute no speculation coming from wtihin the CFC about B Fisher... You starting tis thread hardly constitutes rumours.. Instead it just a rumour (singular) created by a birdbrain like yourself.

The only rumours are from people on Big Footy. There is no way Fisher gets traded (unless someone makes a great offer).

For a bloke who has had a 'bad' year as people keep saying he has, he led the club for Marks and second in goals. Probably should have kicked more goals, but he was hardly terrible.

Hopefully we can pick up another tall to play CHF and fish can go back to being the 3rd option and kicking arse.

And to the bloke who said he wont be a walkup start for next years best 22, clueless!

He has no value this year, may as well hold on to him and hope he turns it around this year.

The way i see it we can do one of two things, we can trade him away for a 4th round pick or hang on to him.
If we trade him for a 4th round pick the odds are that new player will never play a game for Carlton and it was a total waste of time. In the mean time, Fisher could get back to some good form and kick 40 or 50 goals for another club.
If we hang on to him he could get some form back and kick goals for us or he could continue to slide down hill and we delist him at the end of next year.
I'd rather hang on to him and give him a go unless Freo offer us pick 3 for him, which going by past history there is every chance this could happen.

Stupid trading strategy. The idea should be trading players who've just come off an above average year... not a below average one.

Exactly. There aren't any rumours we're trading Fisher but there are rumours we will look at trading Walker. It's for the very reason stated above, people at the club think he might get over-valued by those outside the club.

Cheers!

Fish for Buddy and they can throw in Roughead as a sweetner.

Stuff giving him away for a 4th rounder , keep the fish .. But i still think he needs more weight to throw around , he's always been a bit of a weed.. Austin is 4-5 years younger and already has 6 kgs on him ..

Did anybody want to trade him last year?? The answer is no, why, cause he had a good year, so this year he didn't manage to be as good, but lets look at why....

2007 he was the 3rd forward target, got the 3 backman

2008 he was the 2nd forward option, gets the 2nd key backman, he actually played CHF at stages, and played further up the field.

Plus lets not forget Fev was the target for 80% of forward entries.

So taking all that into account, he has less opportunites, he was further up the ground, and he still managed to;
- lead the team with Marks 151, well ahead of next place Waite (who played loose man in defence and got easier uncontested marks)
- equal 2nd in goals with Betts (again considering Fev was the traget about 80% of the time)
-9th in the insdie 50 with 47 entries (top 6 were onballers)
- 4th in goal assists (top 3, Judd, Murphy, Stevens)
- 2nd in goals contributed with 40 (Fev 1st with 108)
- 11th total disposal count

So for mine, a guy who had a different role in 2008 didn't do that bad, as for his kicking, well if his kicking for goal is bad we should trade Russell, Murphy, Jamison and Thorton while were at it!!

I personally am sick and tired of Fisher missing regulation goals in important times in a lot of our games. If we could get something for him, pref a marking forward which I doubt we would get for him.

We could get a good pick off someone like st.kilda who could use a goal kicking half forwaed who can play above his height, then again in saying that we be mad to get rid of him

OK everyone, let's workshop this.

What is our side's biggest problem? What's that you say - a massive over-reliance on Fevola? Correct!

So what would we need to address that... less forward options? Or MORE forward options?

Brad Fisher, non-superstar that he is, has been our second-best forward for years. He's clearly in the wrong position at CHF, and really is 1-2 slots too high as second forward. But with awful kicking, he's still slotted more goals than anyone on the list not called Fevola or Eddie.

He's not The Problem. OK, he's not The Solution, but he could be part of it!

Don't get rid of him - that leaves us even MORE reliant on Fev and with one-less proven avenue to goal. Plus, he's not worth much. Fisher will prove to be a great 3rd or 4th forward option, if we can get some real help in there for Fev. He's an under-the-radar guy. But I wouldn't be getting rid of him at all.