Brad Johnson

lachy said:
Firstly, abusing any player with obscene language should be kept to the Richmond board. However, you look at Johnno through rose coloured glasses. A champion does also work on the defensive side of the game. Johnno does refuse to sheppard, kicks as many behinds as goals, and struggles to find targets, another example was in the last quarter where he kicked accross ground to a Geelong player in the centre, resulting in a Geelong goal.

His selfishness in some ways can be put down to the fact he tries so hard, but he needs to remember without his teammates he will not play in winning teams.

Johnno is a very good player and an excellent clubman. You cannot question his committment, and courage, however, a champion he is not.

Agree with you. IMO Johnno should be played as a forward pocket where he can work within a forward framework that consists of a couple of talls. I dont want to see Johnno as the forward line the go to man.
The reason why I say he should be played in the forward pocket is becuase he has a good mark and if he is within 30m his only option is for a shot at goal.
His decsion making up the ground and execution is bad and of liitle value. Too many times he chooses the wrong option and his disposal is a real issue.

Hence, premanent forward pocket and should be paid accordingly.

Sporty Spice said:
Get ********ed.

DO THE TEAM THING FOR ONCE.

Most selfish player i've ever seen in the Red White & Blue.

I have thought for a long time that you were an idiot. You have now convinced me.

Turtleman3 said:
Agree completely. Every game I go off about Johnson and his failure to shepherd, tackle and chase. Great player offensively but not so defensively. Area that needs to be addressed. Team things are what he needs to work on.

yeah it was very evident on the weekend.
Both he smith and west are prime examples of week defensive players.
johno and smith 0 tackles between them. I think west had 3.
didn't see them chase once.

And he's our captain now. :(

lachy said:
Firstly, abusing any player with obscene language should be kept to the Richmond board. However, you look at Johnno through rose coloured glasses. A champion does also work on the defensive side of the game. Johnno does refuse to sheppard, kicks as many behinds as goals, and struggles to find targets, another example was in the last quarter where he kicked accross ground to a Geelong player in the centre, resulting in a Geelong goal.

His selfishness in some ways can be put down to the fact he tries so hard, but he needs to remember without his teammates he will not play in winning teams.

Johnno is a very good player and an excellent clubman. You cannot question his committment, and courage, however, a champion he is not.

You've got my vote for post of the year. :cool:

Jack-Packenham said:
I have thought for a long time that you were an idiot. You have now convinced me.

Can everyone lay off the abuse?

So Sporty made a comment or two that he probably regrets, in frustration. He doesn't deserve to be attacked.

lachy said:

Brad Johnson is not a champion of the game :eek: what constitutes a champion in your eyes. He is by far and away our BEST player, thats right our BEST player, and for all his mistakes he makes it up 10 fold with the brilliance he displays week in week out. If I had a dollar for every time I heard an opposition supporter say, "where would you guys be without Johnno in your side" gotta agree with that. So no it's not rose coloured glasses, find me someone who runs more and presents more often than he does, takes more marks, I THINK NOT!! Oh yes he does chase, he put in a 40 metre chase on Sun in case you missed the commentaters prasing his work ethic and saying what an inspriational leader he is, how all the little pups should look to a CHAMP like Johnno for tips on playing footy.

ffs, give it a rest, dogupya.

You're acting like you're the only one who has any knowledge of the club/game!

A lot of us here watch every game (and I dare say, look quite a bit deeper into them that you might), and are quite capable of forming our own opinions.

Sporty's hit one nail on the head today at least...discussion here is fair out the window. It's all I'm right, no I'm right stuff.

Certanly not productive, and yeah, not even much fun any more. :(

Keep your shirt on sunshine, I was just replying to this guy's qoute of mine. Back to my hole now cause you say so!

With the midfield players we have, we dont need johnson in the midfield except for brief burts. Keep him forward where he is most effective.

he does need to realize that he isnt always the best option. Often he runs to the boundary line to get a kick, and too often we reward him, even with a guy hard on his hammer.

Shemp54 said:
Who would be the person providing the genuine target? They don't seem in great supply......
We wouldn't know because for the best part of 5+ years we haven't even given a player with some ability an extended run in the role. Walsh, Skipper and Bowden have shown some ability and should be given a go. I don't mind if Johnno plays his natural game, provided the whole team doesn't play to his natural game as well.

SonOfScray said:
We wouldn't know because for the best part of 5+ years we haven't even given a player with some ability an extended run in the role. Walsh, Skipper and Bowden have shown some ability and should be given a go. I don't mind if Johnno plays his natural game, provided the whole team doesn't play to his natural game as well.

Johnson has filled so many gaps over the last 5 years he does not have a natural game anymore. He is basically trying to hard and running himself into the ground. It sounds like a stupid thing to say a player is 'trying to hard' but that is what is happening. He can't do it all.

For example yesterday there was one passage of play where he chased the ball around as it was passed between 3 Geelong players. IT was great stuff. But after getting to the contest and running around like a headless chook we need to ask lots of questions...

Q1) Where was the rest of the team while this was going on?
A1) 80 meters away running with their backs to the ball!

Q2) How much juice did Johnson use up in this one action?
A2) Heaps. He was stuffed for the next 10 minutes trying to get back his breath. Then we wonder why he misses simple shots.

Q3) Why does the team play this way?
A3) Johnson, Darcy, West & Smith during the last couple of years have done much more than they should of in trying to win games.

Q4) What can we do about it?
A4) We need to get Johnson out of the game to some extent! Give the guy an easier task. Like play on one opponent/position and stick to it. (Similar to what has happened with Grant and a lesser extent West).

Smith is the biggest problem we have with our senior list. He has done sweet fa since his great game against St Kilda last year. He is almost a liability at the moment. (almost as bad as Bandy). Love the guy and what he has done but again it may be time for him to be given a more restricted role and this would effectively allow others like GIA, Gilbee, Mcmahn to do more.

Agree with you stu, its not the way he goes about it that is my issue. its the fact we reard him for doing it, when really he should be ignored for the better option when it is available.

You have pointed out the fact he is a hard worker, no one would question that, but also is can be detrimental to the team and to his game as well. Therefore we should be dissuading him from doing it by going to the correct option (even if kicking it to a young guy is as safe) instead of constantly honouring his lead when it is to a poor spot.

SonOfScray said:

fair point [tho none of those have shown much so far] - but not Johnno's fault

stefoid said:
he does need to realize that he isnt always the best option. Often he runs to the boundary line to get a kick, and too often we reward him, even with a guy hard on his hammer.

When he is the only movement the guys see in the forward line, of course they are going to go to him. And at less than 6ft he isn't going to take too many marks at the top of the square, of course he's gunna lead out wide. Get a big guy up front, ffs.

stugutz said:
Johnson has filled so many gaps over the last 5 years he does not have a natural game anymore. He is basically trying to hard and running himself into the ground. It sounds like a stupid thing to say a player is 'trying to hard' but that is what is happening. He can't do it all.

For example yesterday there was one passage of play where he chased the ball around as it was passed between 3 Geelong players. IT was great stuff. But after getting to the contest and running around like a headless chook we need to ask lots of questions...

Q1) Where was the rest of the team while this was going on?
A1) 80 meters away running with their backs to the ball!

Q2) How much juice did Johnson use up in this one action?
A2) Heaps. He was stuffed for the next 10 minutes trying to get back his breath. Then we wonder why he misses simple shots.

Q3) Why does the team play this way?
A3) Johnson, Darcy, West & Smith during the last couple of years have done much more than they should of in trying to win games.

Q4) What can we do about it?
A4) We need to get Johnson out of the game to some extent! Give the guy an easier task. Like play on one opponent/position and stick to it. (Similar to what has happened with Grant and a lesser extent West).

Smith is the biggest problem we have with our senior list. He has done sweet fa since his great game against St Kilda last year. He is almost a liability at the moment. (almost as bad as Bandy). Love the guy and what he has done but again it may be time for him to be given a more restricted role and this would effectively allow others like GIA, Gilbee, Mcmahn to do more.

Great call Stugutz... Johnno fills so many gaps for us and does it so well that I suppose i freaked out that our supporters would actually have a go at him. He tries so hard for our side and is put in positions which no player of his size should go, but he does go week in and week out, runs himself raggered and like you said, is it any wonder he stuffs up a possesion or 2. Great post, keep it up :cool:

Dogs 13 said:
When he is the only movement the guys see in the forward line, of they are going to go to him. And at less than 6ft he isn't going to take too many marks at the top of the square, of course he's gunna lead out wide. Get a big guy up front, ffs.

well I suppose leading his oppoennt away from the sqaure is a good thing, but not if we reward him by kicking the ball to him. part of the job of a small forward is to crumb a goal or dive on it and feed out a handpass or just lock it in.

look at chapman. what a game he played. he was a viable lead and mark target but also crumbing and had some hard ball gets that resulted in goals as well.

I just dont think johno has the disposal or evasive skills to say 'Im a 100% receiver'. yet thats what he is. especially if he is playing midfield.

How can you call the guy a receiver when he is our best contested mark?

Johnno is not a receiver, infact he is a courages player. He sometimes does notdo the best thing for the team like sheppard, block, choose the right option, but this is symtomatic of someone trying to hard to do it all himself. Maybe the roles he has been asked to do have created these issues, abnd because of these issues I call him a very good to great player but not a champion.

However, he certainly does not need his commitment or courage questioned and despite the fact I did not support him as captain, I supported Darcy, I will support him as captain now.

stefoid said:
part of the job of a small forward is to crumb a goal or dive on it and feed out a handpass or just lock it in.

look at chapman. what a game he played. he was a viable lead and mark target but also crumbing and had some hard ball gets that resulted in goals as well.

I just dont think johno has the disposal or evasive skills to say 'Im a 100% receiver'. yet thats what he is. especially if he is playing midfield.

Unfortunately Johhno doesn't get to play as a small forward very often, he ends up being the full forward or 3rd "tall" !!

Sporty Spice said:
Get ********ed.

DO THE TEAM THING FOR ONCE.

Most selfish player i've ever seen in the Red White & Blue.

I am bringing this thread up so that Sporty Spice can apologise to all Bulldogs fans for the worst thread in bigfooty history.

Localyokel said this was ok to show.

A non Bulldogs supporter comes here to dredge up a thread from well over a year ago. You must have been the coolest kid at school Jack.

Johnno does play selfishly at times, anyone who doesn't think that doesn't know much about footy imo. Was this thread stupid? Yes, ofcourse it was, Johnno is a champ and deserves much better than the abuse Sporty dished out here. Is there plenty of 'heat of the momen't rubbish posted on bigfooty? Yes, ofcourse there is. Would anyone want to be judged by the worst thing they have said in the heat of the moment during a game? I doubt it.

So, well done for bringing this back to the top Jack. You show only that you have a pathetic little agenda against Sporty, one of the most passionate and committed Bulldogs fans at this site, and that you are someone who could really do with finding some outside interests.

Jack-Packenham said:
I am bringing this thread up so that Sporty Spice can apologise to all Bulldogs fans for the worst thread in bigfooty history.

Localyokel said this was ok to show.

I most certainly did not say that. I said I didnt care about threads from 18 months ago.

Pembleton said:
A non Bulldogs supporter comes here to dredge up a thread from well over a year ago. You must have been the coolest kid at school Jack.

Johnno does play selfishly at times, anyone who doesn't think that doesn't know much about footy imo. Was this thread stupid? Yes, ofcourse it was, Johnno is a champ and deserves much better than the abuse Sporty dished out here. Is there plenty of 'heat of the momen't rubbish posted on bigfooty? Yes, ofcourse there is. Would anyone want to be judged by the worst thing they have said in the heat of the moment during a game? I doubt it.

So, well done for bringing this back to the top Jack. You show only that you have a pathetic little agenda against Sporty, one of the most passionate and committed Bulldogs fans at this site, and that you are someone who could really do with finding some outside interests.

I actually commented on this thread last week after Brad Johnson was named captain of the All-Australian team, just to congratulate him and show that opinions can be short lived and people can turn things around. The moderators of this particular site decided that it was inappropriate for me to highlight this lowlight and deleted the thread.

p.s. I have made some terrible posts in my time, however I am willing to cop the flak for my bad calls and not stand behind a moderator.

Jack-Packenham said:
p.s. I have made some terrible posts in my time, however I am willing to cop the flak for my bad calls and not stand behind a moderator.

Is anybody who doesn't like you sad enough to remember things you have said from well over a year ago though, let alone to drag them back up?

Sporty copped the heat he deserved for this thread at the time he posted it. Let's not pretend the re-emergence of this thread is anything about him, it's all about you and how petty you are.