Player Watch Brayden Maynard

I've been pretty impressed with Maynard, in both his hunger for the contest and his general capabilities. He does make some odd mistakes here and there, but he continues to be an inexperienced player in a back line under more than a bit of pressure.

People who've been to Collingwood games over the years would notice that we now have a very 'quiet' defence. Brown, Reid and Goldsack have always seemed like a trio of introverts, especially when compared to the direction and remonstrating of types like Maxwell and Shaw. I sometimes wonder if the lack of vocal, on-field direction at crucial moments has been a detriment to younger or more inexperienced players. Only my impression, could be terribly mistaken.

They reckon Dunne is the most vocal player at training.

I'd swap him with Varcoe, move Varcoe back and have Maynard play a free role on the wing. He is worth persisting with, he is a very physical player and I think he has a kick which can be handy if used properly.

They reckon Dunne is the most vocal player at training.

If that's what Dunny brings, then let's play him. Our younger defenders will benefit from the bark of experience in the heat of battle.

Im not sure anyone ever expected or expects him to hit those heights. Not sure what would give you that idea.

I read it somewhere...

You sure you're not confusing yourself with the posts comparing their looks? I do remember a few times people have said he's a dead ringer for Pendles from certain angles.

Possibly, my memory is not what it used to be.

My last word too.
If you are a genuine poster and a genuine supporter you will acknowledge other posters frustration with the OBVIOUS problems we've had for a long time now. You won't continually attack them for expressing this frustration. You would also not; for the last 5 years; agree with and defend every thing the club has done; and NEVER express a view contrary or in disagreement with club decisions and directions as you have done. Supporting failure, and spinning excuses and attacking people who are critical is not being positive... it's damage control; it's head in the sand stuff and it's a big negative!

For me, your posting is emblematic of the self serving excuse making and arrogant rot that has infested our club and made it so inept and mediocre.

angif-hit-the-nail-on-the-head.gif

Can someone direct to the application forms for the role of Club Plant? Seems like a sweet gig.
do you get paid well, if so l could be interested

Yes, heaven forbid a twenty year old make mistakes.

Context.
Johannesson is 25 years old. Anyone ever really heard of him before last season?
All players make mistakes. Even average suburban footballers can keep the ball on the inside of the boundary line when kicking on their preferred foot with no one within five metres of them.
I like Maynard and I think he has a future. I also hate basic skill errors which occur on an all too regular basis from players at our club. Should I just ignore the past six years of ineptitude and smile next time Maynard has a brain fade?

All players make mistakes. Even average suburban footballers can keep the ball on the inside of the boundary line when kicking on their preferred foot with no one within five metres of them.
I like Maynard and I think he has a future. I also hate basic skill errors which occur on an all too regular basis from players at our club. Should I just ignore the past six years of ineptitude and smile next time Maynard has a brain fade?
Yep.
Because.

Crikey we over-rate our own, he'll never be a 'gun' or 'star'.

Maybe an honest 150 gamer at best.

Has the most potential out of all our backs, Sharenberg included.

I think by end of the season we will know whether he is going to be a player or not.

He makes a lot of costly mistakes and there isn't anywhere to hide when they are made on the backline. But, I think he needs to be persisted with this year so that we can form an opinion whether he is up to it.

My concern with him is that he is not a 'smart' player. He seems to lose concentration and finds himself lost. One of the big problems for the team is that our players don't react quickly enough when the ball is with the opposition. He is one of the main culprits.

Just my thoughts. Hopefully he can remain focused and be the player we need.

Still only 20 with around 30 games to his name. Let's see how he's going with 50-100 games under his belt. I doubt he'll ever become a smart footballer, but with experience he'll learn to play within his limitations. That'll at least reduce some of the mistakes he's currently making.

There's a difference between being gifted 30 games and earning them. Much more to be learnt by playing in the two and earning a spot in the seniors.

what?
Not elite at 20?
Delist

what?
Not elite at 20?
Delist
It's not about being elite. It's about being able to do your job in the team. With new kids being recruited each year, unfortunately they don't have 80 games to determine whether they have a role to play.

Age is irrelevant. It's games played. By end of season he would have played 50 games and we should know by then if he is can be a valuable contributor.

I'd like to see Bucks try him in a different role. Maybe a run with player? Anyway, it may well be he is better suited to another role.

I'd like to see him play a little more outside. Atm he's constantly under pressure with his kicks. If he can be used more outside and between half back and centre he can be attacking our F50.

I'm not seeing anything from Maynard that we haven't seen at the beginning of each of his first two seasons. That isn't to say he isn't developing it's just that he starts seasons slowly. I think he's fundamentally flawed as a backman and would benefit greatly by being moved further afield, however it is what it is with him for now and the club will accept it because of their investment in him.

Can someone direct to the application forms for the role of Club Plant? Seems like a sweet gig.

I genuinely couldn't think of anything worse as a supporter than being a mouthpiece for the club (not saying any particular poster on here is). It also doesn't surprise me that it's a role you'd get around, but the freedom to post what my view actually is means something to me...
I think he was being facetious mate...