Brayden Shaw

Cj's Cats

Rookie
Aug 9, 2004
THIS KID IS A DEAD SET SOON 2 BE SUPERSTAR:
get set fellas we are going to be a real force when this kids playing he is a future star. anybody who has seen how fit he looked at training the other day will realize how good he will be...he has brilliant skills and is a ball magnet. in top 3 fittest players back at pre-season training.

any other stars of teh future

hes nothin special........seen him play before collingwood........know people from his old schooll.........there better young players than him............Anyone see presti at training???

brayden shaw will be very handy and if he stays injury freee will become one of the top 3 leaders at the club sometime throughout his career

Jeez, we've got so many negative supporters at this Club. I s'pose after last year, it's to be expected somewhat, but for God's (aka Nathan Buckley's) sake, lighten up!!

Having seen a bit of Brayd TAC year and this year, I reckon the only thing between him and being a solid AFL player is a bit of fitness and strength, which is basically automatic with age.

He has a great head on his shoulders, knows how to find it and knows how to use it well. He's got a good frame to work on and he is a very smart footballer.

My only real gripe is that I've seen him play a bit forward of the ball at times, but being coached by Malthouse means that this will be rectified quick smart! Him playing forward of the pill is a result of his keenness to kick some goals, which he's also good at!

In 2003, he missed a heap of footy through injury and all U18 kids don't get full pre-seasons. To hear that he's fit and rearing to go is great news!

Superstar, he will never be. But neither's Scotty Burns. I forsee Brayden being a very solid footy player in the Burns mould and one which will command a similar respect.

skills and attitude wise Brayden could be a star, but the problem is he just doesn't string games together because of his injuries

I first saw Brayden play as a half forward in a vic metro trial game. Had about twenty touches, kicked one set up three. The next year year he was captain of vic metro. I spoke to Noel Judkins at a Ranges game (he was there watching Travis) and he said once he gets the body right he will become a very good league footballer. So you are spot on FIGJAM, superstar is a bit rich, I'll be happy good solid contributer.

browny4PM said:
skills and attitude wise Brayden could be a star, but the problem is he just doesn't string games together because of his injuries

You sure? He played every game for Williamstown in 04 I believe.

... and the previous year he had a shoulder reco, an ankle and a groin injury.

Last year was the first time in his entire footballing life he had played close to a full year.

browny4PM said:
... and the previous year he had a shoulder reco, an ankle and a groin injury.

Last year was the first time in his entire footballing life he had played close to a full year.

The shoulder and ankle injuries are hardly wear and tear.

Brayden wasnt too crash hot this season, but it is his transition/development. the VFL is some tough footy, dont anybody have any argument about that. It is a big jump up from TAC to VFL. the TAC is soft, purely athletic and skill driven football and the VFL is hard, fast and the boys are a lot bigger and hit harder and Braydens skill couldnt get him through. Brayden is developing the key to the old game, his dads cheif component, ticker, heart, guts, how ever you want to put it. Brayden will develop in to a good player for the pies i think, bordering on being a star.

Heath is a player. He is tough, fast and has a great heart. He is good at setting up play through the middle, like his work. Far more impressed by Heath's performances this year than Brayden but i truely believe Brayden will be good as gold.

pieman1 said:
I first saw Brayden play as a half forward in a vic metro trial game. Had about twenty touches, kicked one set up three. The next year year he was captain of vic metro. I spoke to Noel Judkins at a Ranges game (he was there watching Travis) and he said once he gets the body right he will become a very good league footballer. So you are spot on FIGJAM, superstar is a bit rich, I'll be happy good solid contributer.
Haha, Judkins says he'll be a gun, I'm sold!

How much has that Danny Roach kid come on, hey? How about Billy MOrrison and Brent Hall, I mean they played in effectively our thirds for a lot of the year but they're gonna be awesomE!!!

L-Nizzy said:
Haha, Judkins says he'll be a gun, I'm sold!

How much has that Danny Roach kid come on, hey? How about Billy MOrrison and Brent Hall, I mean they played in effectively our thirds for a lot of the year but they're gonna be awesomE!!!
EVERY club has its recruiting hits and misses. Just wondering LNIZZY were you happy with Johnson at pick 62 ? How about Richards at 37 ? He's 21 and only just starting to emerge, But people like you would have got rid of him after a year because he didn't take the competition by storm. Brayden and Billy are being developed, do you understand this? I guess you don't or you wouldn't have typed such an ignorant post. Welcome to the chicken little club Lizzy, I'll be laughing at you when these guys become regular contributers in the senior team.

FIGJAM said:
My only real gripe is that I've seen him play a bit forward of the ball at times
We could use some of that.
FIGJAM said:
Superstar, he will never be. But neither's Scotty Burns. I forsee Brayden being a very solid footy player in the Burns mould and one which will command a similar respect.
I pray for that.

I hope Brayden is next years "project player".
I also hope he lines up in Round 1.

And I pray he's half as good as his old man, hopefully with his uncles pace and skill.

pieman1 said:
EVERY club has its recruiting hits and misses. Just wondering LNIZZY were you happy with Johnson at pick 62 ? How about Richards at 37 ? He's 21 and only just starting to emerge, But people like you would have got rid of him after a year because he didn't take the competition by storm. Brayden and Billy are being developed, do you understand this? I guess you don't or you wouldn't have typed such an ignorant post. Welcome to the chicken little club Lizzy, I'll be laughing at you when these guys become regular contributers in the senior team.
More than happy that we've recruited good players later on in the draft. Moreso unhappy that we've not recruited one star, other than Chris Tarrant, with a first round pick in God knows how long. Cole will be good at best, Roach is gone, Fraser has no actual position he can play, Morrison can't get a game for Williamstown - not a good recent track record.

Is it too much to ask for our recruiters to be able to recruit more than one "star" through the draft every five years? The only two since '94 that have come through the draft (without coming from another club, ie Wakelin) that could be classified as genuine stars are Burns and Tarrant, and that isn't good enough.

"Only the best", hey Ed?

Brayden will be fine.

Wonder what all the old farts thought when his old man entered the club? Jeez wish I was there for that one :D

Hopefully our ability to draft bona fides stars improves with a change of Recruiting guru with Judkins departing.

Lockyer24 said:
Brayden will be fine.

Wonder what all the old farts thought when his old man entered the club? Jeez wish I was there for that one :D

Hopefully our ability to draft bona fides stars improves with a change of Recruiting guru with Judkins departing.

Where did you hear that Judkins is going Locks?

pieman1 said:

i agree mate LNIZZY go join the rugby league post bcuz u hav got no idea mate we have got 1 of teh best young list of players who will be coming threw in teh next few years, you'll eb eating ur words

Cj's Cats said:
i agree mate LNIZZY go join the rugby league post bcuz u hav got no idea mate we have got 1 of teh best young list of players who will be coming threw in teh next few years, you'll eb eating ur words
There is no one who hopes that I'm wrong more than I.

I fear I'm not, and we have another dark era coming up.

Our first couple of draft picks languishing away in our thirds doesn't fill me with much hope, unfortunately.

Absolute pick of the Shaw's. Even young Heath has the stuff but Brayden will be a leader at Pieland. He is skilled and a runner, perhaps not blistering in his pace but he reminds me a bit of Wayne Campbell but with a little more heart n how he goes about it.
I have no doubt he will start to significantly influence games at Willy nerxt year and definatley get some senior footy credentials by years end.

L84AD8 said:
Absolute pick of the Shaw's. Even young Heath has the stuff but Brayden will be a leader at Pieland. He is skilled and a runner, perhaps not blistering in his pace but he reminds me a bit of Wayne Campbell but with a little more heart n how he goes about it.
I have no doubt he will start to significantly influence games at Willy nerxt year and definatley get some senior footy credentials by years end.
Jebus...Wayne Campbell??! I think he's far more attacking and is far more capable as an inside midfielder.

He reminds me more of a cross between Travis Johnstone and Scott Burns (sounds weird I know). He pushes forward, and loves to be the hero, so to speak, in setting up or netting goals. He ain't as tough as Scottee, nor as quick and silky as Johnstone, but he gets the job done very effectively (but you wouldn't have a go at his hardness, pace or skills regardless).

It remains to be seen how Malthouse's "Uber-Accountability" policy acts on his natural attacking instinct. They might be quashed, and we might end up with another 6' medium paced defensive mid. Here's hoping MM back the hell off for this kid and lets him do his thang!!

Brayden Shaw