BombersX2-Cannon fodder
DemonsX2-Cannon fodder
FremantleX2 Cannon fodder

Hawthorn- Very good Win
Carlton-Always good to beat them
West Coast-Cannon fodder
Port Power-Good away win
Brisbane-Good comeback win

I have a worry about 7 of those 11 wins were against ordinary opposition.Do you think we improve that much? or did we just beat the teams that we should have on paper?

Thoughts?

We are ninth, so naturally, most of our wins came against teams below us, and just a few against teams above, plus we ran a few other teams above close.

I wouldn't worry about it.

We would have lost half, if not more, of those games against Melb, Ess, Freo, if we'd had last year's team playing.

It's actually a good sign that there are now a few other teams we can refer to as "shit" compared to us.

BombersX2-Cannon fodder
DemonsX2-Cannon fodder
Hawthorn- Very good Win
West Coast-Cannon fodder
Port Power-Good away win

I have a worry about 7 of those 11 wins were against ordinary opposition.Do you think we improve that much? or did we just beat the teams that we should have on paper?

Thoughts?

Last year we were cannon fodder.
The worm turns...

We beat the teams we should have, (with the exception of the 2nd Carlton game. :mad:)

If we had beaten too many more above us & finished top 4 (from last in 07) it would have been a comeback of the Century.

A significant step up this year IMO but we must improve further to maintain our rank and improve again to step higher.

BombersX2-Cannon fodder
DemonsX2-Cannon fodder

Hawthorn- Very good Win
West Coast-Cannon fodder
Port Power-Good away win

Thoughts?

perform the same analysis to a few of ther sides above us and the answers aint too much different

breaking down the wins means shit.
Breaking down the losses means more in the overall scheme of things. And especially the losses in games that had the "top 8" riding on them.
No can tell me that a "big fish" was the difference in those games can they?. ;)

slightly off topic

we were never as bad as wce and melbourne last season were we? we seemed to be thereabts in a fair few games, they have been non competitive in heaps..

or is that just me being biased? :D

slightly off topic

we were never as bad as wce and melbourne last season were we? we seemed to be thereabts in a fair few games, they have been non competitive in heaps..

or is that just me being biased? :D

and that is why our perfomance this year should not be lauded as TW wants it to be. We had a competitive unit to mix it with the also rans, we also had the non competitive unit to make sure that we didnt get the wins when we were wanting "talent" in the draft. You might want to keep sticking your head in the sand dude...but we havent improved as much as you say we have. All he did more often than not, was to remove the dead wood who he knew couldnt produce the goods to get us over the line. He could have introduced the youngsters he has in the team last year and we would have got pretty much 4 or 5 more wins. The spoon was gained on the back of the same old usual suspects doing what they do best. Kicking a top goal one week, in a game that they made a million errors is, having us going gaga at tht goal and talking them up as must haves in the senior team, because there wasnt anyone to take their spot..;)

we got the spoon because we were forced to play the kids you clown

we played the kids yes. But we also played the hacks you fool. How many games did Tiv play last year? how many did he play this year stupid? So we didnt have a replacement for Tiv last year but we all of a sudden found one this year, correct? simpleton.
The kids we had in the team , particularly in the guts, were head and shoulders above the usual suspects in skill and smarts. That wasnt our problem last year. ;)

we played the kids yes. But we also played the hacks you fool. How many games did Tiv play last year? how many did he play this year stupid? So we didnt have a replacement for Tiv last year but we all of a sudden found one this year, correct? simpleton.
The kids we had in the team , particularly in the guts, were head and shoulders above the usual suspects in skill and smarts. That wasnt our problem last year. ;)

Yeah we should have played Collins instead :o. Terry know what he's doing. Why don't you shuddup and observe the full picture :cool:

yeah he did. He now has Cotchin and the big bonus is that his graph is pointing north. But we havent a FF, we havent a CHF, we are still without a ruckman to take over the reins from Simmo. And now he wants a big fish to push for the "top 8". On the other side of the coin, you have carlton. They just extended Rattens contract, why? i mean, his KPIs are not that much different, but they have a ruckman they have a midlfield lead by de man, they have a FF. You might want to observe the full picture instead of observing the insides of your arse dude.

You might understand why March is vigilante as to what the overall "picture" being painted by TW is. ;)

yeah he did. He now has Cotchin and the big bonus is that his graph is pointing north. But we havent a FF, we havent a CHF, we are still without a ruckman to take over the reins from Simmo. And now he wants a big fish to push for the "top 8". On the other side of the coin, you have carlton. They just extended Rattens contract, why? i mean, his KPIs are not that much different, but they have a ruckman they have a midlfield lead by de man, they have a FF. You might want to observe the full picture instead of observing the insides of your arse dude.

You might understand why March is vigilante as to what the overall "picture" being painted by TW is. ;)

Reiwoldt will be a quality chf. There's still a fair bit of hope with Hughes. We have Graham, Putt and Patto as future ruckman. I'm confident of the future. :thumbsu:

good for you dude. btw, we must be the first side in history, to draft 3 ruckmen that make it to the big time huh? I mean, do we want to go down the historical path , especially when talking prospective tiger ruckmen? Steinfort, Eastaugh, Burton, Smith...so you can see that we now have turned the corner. Whoever we pick now is a future ruckman. Because we have graham, putt and Patto. Get real fool.
I wont even mention that i await the day when Sylvester shows me why they spent a spot on our rookie list for him. That one will be one to savour. ;)

good for you dude. btw, we must be the first side in history, to draft 3 ruckmen that make it to the big time huh? I mean, do we want to go down the historical path , especially when talking prospective tiger ruckmen? Steinfort, Eastaugh, Burton, Smith...so you can see that we now have turned the corner. Whoever we pick now is a future ruckman. Because we have graham, putt and Patto. Get real fool. ;)

yawn :o

Whoever we pick now is a future ruckman. Because we have graham, putt and Patto. Get real fool.
I wont even mention that i await the day when Sylvester shows me why they spent a spot on our rookie list for him. That one will be one to savour. ;)

Just how much have you seen Graham, Putt and Silvester play? On what grounds are you writing them all off already?

BombersX2-Cannon fodder
DemonsX2-Cannon fodder
Hawthorn- Very good Win
West Coast-Cannon fodder
Port Power-Good away win

Thoughts?

Mate. How long do you think it takes to rebuild a team after finishing bottom of the ladder? We won 3 and a half games last year and you're questioning the fact we won 11 and a half games this year? Did you know that the Swans only had one win against the top 8 teams this year in St Kilda? A win's a win. There are still questions to be asked but we did extremely well to finish this high up the ladder. Most pundits had us winning the spoon for a second year in a row. The reason why we played well this year is because we got games into our younger players. Once our players start to get a little more size about them you will notice a big change in the way Richmond goes about its footy. You're reading way too much into things buddy. Roll a nice big scoobie and sit back and think about it over summer. I know you can do it!!!!

we won 3 out of 5 games we played interstate which is a good effort considering we rarely won on the road prior to this year and the win against freo no one gave us a hope in hell in that game

Just how much have you seen Graham, Putt and Silvester play? On what grounds are you writing them all off already?

seen Graham play for 3 minutes in the seniors and Silvester get torn a new one in 1 NAB game. If i could suggest i had seen all of them more, i.e. in the seniors then by my reckoning they would have been able to cut it in the big time. Like i said, i dont look at what they can do at Coburg, i look at what they can do at the tigers against the teams that matter. We havent got a back up ruckman for Simmo and yet a recycled rookie gets elevated to the senior list ahead of our "hand picked" ruckmen? yeah ok...you got it down pat dude. You might wake up as to why we havent seen any of them play more than a whole game in the seniors. I await to see if Putt gets a look in at all next year...because ruckmen that cant cut it, tend to develop their whole careers in the 2s at tigerland, and go on to play 300 games in the 2s;)

Fremantle and West Coast ...cannon fodder ...maybe.
But we ain't Jack s**t in Perth in a long, long, looooooooooooooong time.
Plenty of merit in us winning in the road, which we did in Adelaide too.
Cannon fodder ... perhaps ..... but we won with authority on those two occasions and I rate those wins highly.
Geez, Freo ended within a few points of Geelong over there and arguably should have won.
Don't undervalue those wins, gave us plenty of belief! Was as good football we've played in 15 years!

:thumbsu:And Cogga, agree. Ruck is a definite area for concern. Pattison is always going to be a handy back-up, but back-up he will be.
Graham I can't see making it.
Putt.....here's hoping. I thought he was going to go forward.
Cartledge might be the best option at this point if Simmo were to go down and that would be far from ideal!
I understand the super keen interest in Warnock.
You only have to see who the back-up ruckman was Sunday.... Richo!!!!!!!