Brett Geeves Retires

Hardly surprising really, is a regular out on the town of a Friday night. :p

Could never get over his injuries unfortunately. :(

He has his TV gig for TSL ABC Footy and his weekly column in the Mercury and I would presume ABC Cricket coming up, so I'm sure that would have helped with his decision.

2 One day internationals - 3 Wickets
9 20/20 internationals - 13 Wickets

He'll always be remembered as the guy who made 99 not out twice without making a First Class ton.

I suspect he'll end up with a gig on FoxSports covering the Ryobi Cup/BigBash League. I hope so anyway.

Between Geeves and Griffith Tasmania have had horrible luck with injuries and fast bowlers.

Wright and Denton on top of that too had problems during their Tassie careers as well.

Sad to see him retire. He was still batting in the top 3 in club cricket, considering how shit some of our one day batting has been I am surprised he didn't try getting picked as a batsman.

He'll always be remembered as the guy who made 99 not out twice without making a First Class ton.

I suspect he'll end up with a gig on FoxSports covering the Ryobi Cup/BigBash League. I hope so anyway.

One of his blog entries about missing the second ton had me howling with laughter. And I always think of Hilfy as the 'biggest bogan in Australia' because of Geeves.

I hope he keeps writing.

Wright and Denton on top of that too had problems during their Tassie careers as well.

True but they were imports and since Tassie hasn't exactly produced many FC quality quicks it's unfortunate we only really got half a career out of both Geeves and Griffith. I think Geeves holds the record for the most ODD wickets for Tasmania actually, X will probably go on to break it again now.