Bring Ablett in or wait ?

• Thread starter Thread starter Roy boys

He's must-have in Supercoach. Best player in best team, etc, etc.

At the risk of being unpopular, and getting mauled by Geelong fans, does anyone think he's playing somewhat self-centred football? Whilst he got all the points last night, I thought there were plenty of players better... but he gets SO many 1-2 HBs, that are all clean, he piles up the point. Didn't see him at the base of any packs like Selwood and Boyd. Didn't think he influenced the game like S and B Johnson at each end.

Coupled with his unwillingess to attend his team's games whilst out hurt, then way he keeps the hammer down in junktime rather than resting... I think GAJ is playing for individual awards this year.

GREAT news for Supercoaches, though. Makes him all the more important. But I think were he in a lesser team there'd be some rumblings amongst the unified proclaimation that the sun shines out of his rear.

He will only drop for the next 2 weeks, and that will be down to maximum 660k. After that, it's straight back to slowly increasing.

If you want him...in 2 weeks is your best bet

Depending on his score next week it will most likely be best to get him after round 10. He might fall another 10-15k after round 11 (if he gets <130 this week).
It will be up to each coach whether or not they are willing to wait another week for 15k.

Well GAJ comes into my team next week but who for
huh.gif

Option 1: Hodge to Grima/Broughton?, Dangerfield/Otten? to GAJ
Option 2: Hill to Grima/Broughton?, Gibbs to GAJ
Option 3: Danger to Anthony/Muston?, Gibbs to GAJ
Option 4: Suggestions?

There are so many ways to do it I need advice, option 1 gives me all premium mid but 2 rooks on the park back. Option 2 & 3 requires Otten to be a keeper and Hodge rotting on the pine but I think Otten is more of a keeper than Hill, it may depend on if Hurley comes in or the fitness of Gilbee to. Is Gibbs the right premium to flick?

my team:
Adcock, Chornes, Gilbert, Goddard, Gilbee, Hill, Grimes (Hodge, Hurley)

Bartell, Judd, Swan, J Selwood, Gibbs, Otten (Sidebum, Danger)

Kruezer, Tippet (white, jacobs)

Pav, S Johnson, Buddy, Porp, Lids, Higgins, Warren (Macaffer, skippy)

8 trades left $47,000 in the bank
modify_inline.gif

Well GAJ comes into my team next week but who for
huh.gif

Option 1: Hodge to Grima/Broughton?, Dangerfield/Otten? to GAJ
Option 2: Hill to Grima/Broughton?, Gibbs to GAJ
Option 3: Danger to Anthony/Muston?, Gibbs to GAJ
Option 4: Suggestions?

my team:
Adcock, Chornes, Gilbert, Goddard, Gilbee, Hill, Grimes (Hodge, Hurley)

Bartell, Judd, Swan, J Selwood, Gibbs, Otten (Sidebum, Danger)

Kruezer, Tippet (white, jacobs)

Pav, S Johnson, Buddy, Porp, Lids, Higgins, Warren (Macaffer, skippy)

8 trades left $47,000 in the bank

Hi Tony .... yes, it's the same Hondo from fanfooty

You are low on trades but have a good side in the works. I think you have to try to keep Ablett to 2 trades which only leaves you 2 to limp through to the finals with 4 left ideally.

I think you should keep Gibbs and I don't like Grima as a SC scorer. Also, don't trade in Anthony. If you want a rookie mid then go Muston. So I think Broughton is your answer even though his job security is suspect.

Either: Hodge-Broughton / Danger-Ablett OR Hill-Broughton / Otten-Ablett

If you downgrade in your defence to Broughton it becomes weak with Hurley now injured again. So keeping Hodge and taking a punt he'll come back 100% is prob worth it. So I think sacrifice Otten and Hill.

Hold firm this week however and do it next week. You'll have a better idea on Hodge then and Ablett will be cheaper. Then your mids are set with Danger your 7th forward then try to hold on trading for a while so you aren't exposed in your finals.

That's my thoughts anyway ....

will wait 2 weeks i think and krak or higgins from fwds will become money to change ziebel or higgins into ablett.

a lot can happen in 2 weeks though. cmon gary, pull a 70:thumbsu:

I worked out an option that I like, only issue is I have 8 trades left.

My midfield is: Sewell, Judd, Cooney, Boak, Rich, Moss (Beams, Swift) - not great I know.
But I can downgrade Hill and Moss to two rookies (defender, Muston), frees up $472,600. Then upgrade Rich and Beams to Ablett and NDS.

Opinions?

Bring Ablett in or Waite? Due to Waite's injury I'd say you'd have to go Ablett for sure on this one.:thumbsu:

A lot of people are looking to do a Rich --> Ablett upgrade, like myself. Playing to their averages you are set to save $30k if you wait a week and trade ablett in round 11. So the question is, Is $30k worth Abletts score (x2) against the bombers this week?

I think im leaning towards taking the score over the money

Anyone esle?

A lot of people are looking to do a Rich --> Ablett upgrade, like myself. Playing to their averages you are set to save $30k if you wait a week and trade ablett in round 11. So the question is, Is $30k worth Abletts score (x2) against the bombers this week?

I think im leaning towards taking the score over the money

Anyone esle?

I'm going to hold off for a week. Partly for the price drop, but also because Muston might be the downgrade that gets me Ablett so I want to see his second game before committing.

Hey Hondo,
What about this:

Higgins to Wright
Otten to GAJ

I was considering Hig to Gia sideways but that will burn 3 trades, the above two trades kills two problems for me.

This will effectively require Skippy (maybe this week with bomber injuries)and Hill to be a keeper at least until finals.

I cant win my league without GAJ and he has to come in next week. If I get GAJ I will be happy to cop a few donuts if Higgins poses a problem so Hill might still be the best option.

Hodge is a keeper for me now

Yea fair call he would also be scoring about 50 less a week in any other side. The amount of times he gets the footy given to him when he shouldn't is amazing. His a gun don't get me wrong but Judd is still a better footballer he doesn't not get it handed to him on a silver pladder as often.

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

Those figures mean anything to you?

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

Those figures mean anything to you?

Can I try?
Is it the amount of times Gazza has cried since the last Brownlow medal count?
No, oops I know, it's the amount of times the statisticians blew their load in the last game over Gaz.

Can I try?
Is it the amount of times Gazza has cried since the last Brownlow medal count?
No, oops I know, it's the amount of times the statisticians blew their load in the last game over Gaz.

Not sure. I'ts possible it's the amount of times he has cried since he lost a GF. I tried to collate a figure on Pav but there isn't a base to work from.

Come on mate, you know what it is.

One is Judds contested possession count and one is GAJ.

The guy works twice as hard as Judd, gets it twice as many times, gets twice the amount of contested ball. Gun. Wish I had him in my team

Hey Hondo,
What about this:

Higgins to Wright
Otten to GAJ

I was considering Hig to Gia sideways but that will burn 3 trades, the above two trades kills two problems for me.

This will effectively require Skippy (maybe this week with bomber injuries)and Hill to be a keeper at least until finals.

I cant win my league without GAJ and he has to come in next week. If I get GAJ I will be happy to cop a few donuts if Higgins poses a problem so Hill might still be the best option.

Hodge is a keeper for me now

It depends what you think about Higgins. in the injured players thread someone said it's not OP so, if that's the case, i will be holding him for now.

also depends on Wright and what you think about his prospects. I don't know anything about him. can you make the trade if you use Skipworth instead of Higgins?

Can make the trade for Skippy if GAJ dropped to 655k which I very much doubt.

Skippy still has cash to make I recon BE 44

So I'm still very much undecided and alot can still happen after this week but just wanted to get a feel for others opinions.

I still recon the best trade is Hill out for maybe Broughton if he comes in (which there is talk of). I kinda need either Higgins or Skippy to be a keeper until finals as with Hodge.

That would leave me with all premiun Mid, Grimes No. 7 Back when Hodge comes in and Higgins or Skippy no.7 forward after one more premium upgrade.

Does that sound like a plan?

*sigh* Silly of me to set my midfield first with Kornes, Cooney, Judd, Dal Santo, Goodes, Selwood.

Barring LTI's to any of them - No ablett for me. :p

Can make the trade for Skippy if GAJ dropped to 655k which I very much doubt.

Skippy still has cash to make I recon BE 44

So I'm still very much undecided and alot can still happen after this week but just wanted to get a feel for others opinions.

I still recon the best trade is Hill out for maybe Broughton if he comes in (which there is talk of). I kinda need either Higgins or Skippy to be a keeper until finals as with Hodge.

That would leave me with all premiun Mid, Grimes No. 7 Back when Hodge comes in and Higgins or Skippy no.7 forward after one more premium upgrade.

Does that sound like a plan?

I reckon that's your best bet but it's up to you. You obviously need to move on Broughton this week if he's named.

With the low trades keep the faith with Hodge, Skipworth and Higgins. Not sure you have much of a choice but to keep them really.