Liverpool, Chicago Bulls.
You seem to be the resident Military man on Bigfooty so i was wondering if you could point me in the right direction for websites that have a detailed account for every day, month, year and battle of WWII.

Anything would be good but im really looking for a detailed history of the war from start to finish. Thanks man, anyone else have any good websites dont be afraid to throw em my way.

My interest has been piqued (thats a word right?) by my recent viewing of Enemy at the Gates starring Jude Law and Ed Harris. Great movie that is set around two men and there personal battle surrounded by the hell that was Stalingrad in 1942.. i think. Couldnt believe some of the things in that movie...like when the russian soldiers were sent forth into the city to fight and they would just get cut down. If they turned and retreated, Russian officers would be waiting and they would shoot them for cowardice .... they had nowhere to go???

Anyways good movie, check it out and any info would be good.

Thanks BSA and anyone else who can help.

Not a bad film at all, good book on Stalingrad by cant think of the name now, pommy politician, died recently, Alan?? rooted round a bit, pretty wealthy chap, he was my MP for a while here!..I'll get back to you on that...try a search engine or directory..yahoo or google (kind of the same thing now), uboat.net is bloody good if you are into that,

this ones ok too http://www.euronet.nl/users/wilfried/ww2/ww2.htm

and there of a ww2 website association, but dont have the url.

My dad worked with a guy who fought for the Germans at Stalingrad...i remember the bloke saying it was so bloody cold that if you wanted a bottle of wine, you smashed the glass off it and put the frozen lump in a cooking pot to melt.

Great movie except for Joseph Feinnes.....way too effusive to be a Russian officer.

hers a couple of beauties to check out jod23

http://www.worldwar1.com/
http://www.pbs.org/greatwar/

enjoy !

Haven't seen Enemy at the Gates yet, but thanks for the recommendation.

Sounds like it at least attempts to recreate what really went on at Stalingrad.

Look out for a BBC documentary series called "War of the Century". It takes a close look at the Battle for Stalingrad and yes, the casualties were absolutely appalling, so bad in fact the Kremlin kept them secret for decades afterwards. Its only now with the collapse of the Soviet Union and much more freedom of information in Russia that we are only beginning to understand the true scale of the slaughter.

It is estimated a truly staggering 800,000 Red Army soldiers were killed in defending the city. Wounded would be twice that number. And thats just defending the city, not including the numbers killed in the counter offensive which took place in the surrounding countryside.

What would you like to know about WW1 ? I'm reasonably knowledgable on the subject, maybe I can answer your questions ?

There will be an article by me on a selected WW1 battle soon - stay tuned.

cheers

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel
hers a couple of beauties to check out jod23

http://www.worldwar1.com/
http://www.pbs.org/greatwar/

enjoy !

Haven't seen Enemy at the Gates yet, but thanks for the recommendation.

Sounds like it at least attempts to recreate what really went on at Stalingrad.

Look out for a BBC documentary series called "War of the Century". It takes a close look at the Battle for Stalingrad and yes, the casualties were absolutely appalling, so bad in fact the Kremlin kept them secret for decades afterwards. Its only now with the collapse of the Soviet Union and much more freedom of information in Russia that we are only beginning to understand the true scale of the slaughter.

It is estimated a truly staggering 800,000 Red Army soldiers were killed in defending the city. Wounded would be twice that number. And thats just defending the city, not including the numbers killed in the counter offensive which took place in the surrounding countryside.

What would you like to know about WW1 ? I'm reasonably knowledgable on the subject, maybe I can answer your questions ?

There will be an article by me on a selected WW1 battle soon - stay tuned.

cheers

Umm BSA...thanks for all your help on WWI but if you go back and read my post im actually after info on World War II :D Im not sure how you missed it but you did :)

Was there a battle in Stalingrad in WWI aswell as WWII?? Anyways if you could give me some info on WWII and some websites to visit that would be great, thanks man.

If you want to find out the history of the USSR in World War II its not nearly as well documented as the western front....it shouldn't be too hard to find some websites on it though. The internet is a great tool for piecing together bits of information from around the world.

Also, being shot for cowardice was bad, but the tragic undersupply was also a notorious cause of red army deaths. A great great uncle of mine went into WWI armed with a pair of bolt cutters (for cutting barbed wire)....somehow he survived, despite getting the crummy jobs for being a `politically unfit' Ukranian.

Two of my great-uncles got taken as prisoners of war by the Russians....one was released back to Germany when the war ended (he'd only been fighting for two days when he'd been captured at Stalingrad), while the other was kept prisoner until 1953. The fact that they were taken POW was the amazing thing, because neither side was keen on that...the Eastern front was a lot less `civilised'.

I think this was well referenced in the film....but I was disappointed with Joseph Feinnes' overly friendly and egalitarian acting as a Russian officer. At that stage, Vassily was just some oik from Ural who was quite good with a rifle...ah well.

Originally posted by Porthos
If you want to find out the history of the USSR in World War II its not nearly as well documented as the western front....it shouldn't be too hard to find some websites on it though. The internet is a great tool for piecing together bits of information from around the world.

Also, being shot for cowardice was bad, but the tragic undersupply was also a notorious cause of red army deaths. A great great uncle of mine went into WWI armed with a pair of bolt cutters (for cutting barbed wire)....somehow he survived, despite getting the crummy jobs for being a `politically unfit' Ukranian.

Two of my great-uncles got taken as prisoners of war by the Russians....one was released back to Germany when the war ended (he'd only been fighting for two days when he'd been captured at Stalingrad), while the other was kept prisoner until 1953. The fact that they were taken POW was the amazing thing, because neither side was keen on that...the Eastern front was a lot less `civilised'.

I think this was well referenced in the film....but I was disappointed with Joseph Feinnes' overly friendly and egalitarian acting as a Russian officer. At that stage, Vassily was just some oik from Ural who was quite good with a rifle...ah well.

Well im not just after the USSR history in world war 2...just everything history, only reason the battle of Stalingrad and the russians was brought up was because i saw that film. Your right though about undersupply though, in the movie when Vasilly is thrust forth into the battle of stalingrad he is given 5 bullets but no rifle...he is told to follow the man in front and when he dies take the rifle....thats just shocking?? Interesting to note though that Vasilly was a real person and his rifle sits in a war museam in Stalingrad and you can go and see it today...that would be interesting.

Ive just never really known a whole lot about the war... i mean i know that Germany invaded Poland and then France...England declared war on Germany and the battle ensued all across Europe. The Germans were unsuccessful in there attempts to invade Russia, mainly due from the cold or so ive heard...then of course Pearl Harbour and America were dragged into the war and eventually the Allies won the war. Thats just general stuff that most people know, of course there are battles that most remember like the Pearl Harbour attack, the battle of Stalingrad and Omaha beach etc etc

But i really want a full on detailed history of the whole war, ive always wanted to know more about it and often i find myself surfing the net with nothing useful to do so i figure, learn about the war. Anyways, im babbling on now....anygood sites that anyone could throw my way would be good.

Cheers..

I'll say a little something as a definite non-expert but avid reader.

My dad had a six volumn WWII history by Churchill on the shelves at home. I think they were highly thought of at the time they came out but I don't know how they are regarded nowadays. Dad put them away 'cause they gave the Pacific battles short shift but I think they had quite a bit about Stalin and those battles.

There seems so be a lot more books in the last ten years from the ordinary German's point of view...."I flew for the Furher" and "Panzer Leader" give rousing first hand battle acounts....Leaders like Erich van Manstien outline thier scary strategy. And of course there's scores of accounts of the mechanations of the Upper eschelon Nazis.

I want to recommend Studs Terkels The Good War which gives first hand accounts ..a terrific read! I read it a year or two ago but to refresh my memory I found this in a review .....One Soviet soldier recounts that, surrounded by the Germans, his comrades tapped the powder from their last cartridges and inserted notes to their families inside the casings; Russian children, Terkel goes on, still turn these up every now and again and deliver the notes to the soldiers' families. ......which might interest you after that movie.

Lastly, Stephen Ambrose's Citizen Soldiers takes you right there at Normandy etc....septic but another good read.

While we are sort of on the topic, can anyone answer this for me?:

I know that Austria become a province of the third reich during the "Anschluss", but what about Switzerland? Hitler wanted the German peoples to be united and that's why he got Austria in on the act (being an Austrian originally himself was no doubt a factor too) but then why weren't the German part of Switzerland (which is most of it) ever thought to be part of it? Was the Swiss mentality of neutrality too strong? Did the Nazi's ever consider it?

I think that part of Switzerland (northern, round Zurich) has a few skeletons in the closet over this. They were, in effect Hitlers bankers, and according to several historians, kept him supplied with cash to continue the war. You can find several books on the subject quite easily.

I can also assure you anti semitism is alive and well in Zurich as well.

An American friend of mine, who is Jewish, but does not have a Jewish name, and has blond hair, had swastikas gouged into his front door, and anonymous threats made. The only way people could have found out he was Jewish was by going through his trash! Scary stuff.

Sorry for the misunderstanding there jod23 - my mistake.

If you want to get past just the basics that everybody knows about and elve a bit deeper into actually what happened where and how (and why ?) then get

The World at War out on video.

Its in 26 x 50 minute episodes, but these days you will often find it packaged as a 12 volume video set.

This doco was made by Thames Television in 1975 to coincide with the 30th anniversary of the end of WW2. It is a straight narrative, no nonsense but at the same time it doesn't dwell on controversay, it just tells it how it happened and tries to be as all-encompassing and complete as possible.

Everything is dealt with here - From Russia to North Africa, from the Gas Chambers to the Burma Railway, from what was said by Churchill to Stalin at the Yalta Conference to what German housewifes had to do if they wanted to listen to the BBC on the radio..

Everything is here, and because it was made in 1975 there is heaps of interviews with the real people involved. Albert Speer, Arthur Harris, Paul Tibbetts, Adolf Galland etc etc

its a great doco series, and if you are interested in the conflict and want ot know more, but don't feel like ploughing through a thick tome of text - then get it.

cheers

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel
Sorry for the misunderstanding there jod23 - my mistake.

If you want to get past just the basics that everybody knows about and elve a bit deeper into actually what happened where and how (and why ?) then get

The World at War out on video.

Its in 26 x 50 minute episodes, but these days you will often find it packaged as a 12 volume video set.

This doco was made by Thames Television in 1975 to coincide with the 30th anniversary of the end of WW2. It is a straight narrative, no nonsense but at the same time it doesn't dwell on controversay, it just tells it how it happened and tries to be as all-encompassing and complete as possible.

Everything is dealt with here - From Russia to North Africa, from the Gas Chambers to the Burma Railway, from what was said by Churchill to Stalin at the Yalta Conference to what German housewifes had to do if they wanted to listen to the BBC on the radio..

Everything is here, and because it was made in 1975 there is heaps of interviews with the real people involved. Albert Speer, Arthur Harris, Paul Tibbetts, Adolf Galland etc etc

its a great doco series, and if you are interested in the conflict and want ot know more, but don't feel like ploughing through a thick tome of text - then get it.

cheers

Thanks Bsa...might set me back a bit and if it was made in 75 is it still available in shops?? Anyways would make a good birthday or christmas present...

Jod, have you been watching a series on SBS on Thursday nights called Hitler's Holocaust?

it is compelling viewing

another series that was on SBS recently was Hitler's Henchmen, too late for that one, but I suggest you look out for stuff like that

http://www.hitler.org/writings/Mein_Kampf/

this is a link to Mein Kampf, it may help you understand the mind of a madman

http://www.awm.gov.au/index_flash.asp

the Australian War Memorial site
BTW, I got the DVD set of "Australians at War", no Aussie should be without this record of our history

http://www.historyplace.com/index.html

one of the best sites giving a chronological listing of what happened where, just browse the site for your areas of interest

http://www.theatlantic.com/unbound/bookauth/battle/fussell.htm

an essay about WW2

http://www.nizkor.org/

the victims of the holocaust, read some of their eyewitness accounts

http://www.chapter-one.com/vc/

the Victoria Cross info site, all + more that you want to know about the Victoria Cross and its winners

Hope these help Jod

oh and one more thing Joddy

If you are on the lookout for a copy of The World at War be very carefull about buying the gift box set at Amazon.com or similar.

I ordered one a couple of years ago but it arrived in the North American VHS format (Secam ? I think) instead of the Asia Pacific format (NTSC ? - or is that vice versa)

So be warned mate - try and get it locally if you can, or cruise your local Video Hire stores - the are still copies around in the Documentary / Special Interest sections.

cheers