PieLebo87

Hall of Famer
Veteran A Star Wars Fan 10k Posts Cake Connoisseur
So far, so good.

I don't think you need to watch games of footy to see a culture shift within the club. Maybe to see a winning culture, you would, but atmosphere and player attitude can be seen right from the get-go of a pre-season, and the club appears to have turned up for 2014 all rainbows and butterflies.

The last thing I remember from 2013 was Buckley and Maxwell's comments, and it appears, with the player turn-over, things are definitely looking rosy down at the Westpac.

I follow the Magpies on social media when I get a chance, whether its individual players, or a club as a whole, through Instagram, Facebook, and through the websites, and it just 'feels' as though the bickering and segregation of the previous couple of seasons are behind us.

Seeing Dane Swan and Harry L commit early on in the piece is a glowing endorsement for Buckley as anything and as much as it hurts to see the Premiership stars of Didak, Thomas, Jolly and Heater get moved on, it doesn't feel as though its all doom and gloom in this changing of the guard.

Just seeing the quality of character of Taylor Adams, the application of hard work by Jesse White and the hunger for success from the younger boys gives me, as a massive Magpie, confidence in 2014 and the immediate future.

Nathan Buckley, with the help of the club, have been very successful, thus far, in implementing this 'culture-shift' that they made an objective after our finals exit last season. Do you guys agree or disagree?

So far, so good.

I don't think you need to watch games of footy to see a culture shift within the club. Maybe to see a winning culture, you would, but atmosphere and player attitude can be seen right from the get-go of a pre-season, and the club appears to have turned up for 2014 all rainbows and butterflies.

The last thing I remember from 2013 was Buckley and Maxwell's comments, and it appears, with the player turn-over, things are definitely looking rosy down at the Westpac.

I follow the Magpies on social media when I get a chance, whether its individual players, or a club as a whole, through Instagram, Facebook, and through the websites, and it just 'feels' as though the bickering and segregation of the previous couple of seasons are behind us.

Seeing Dane Swan and Harry L commit early on in the piece is a glowing endorsement for Buckley as anything and as much as it hurts to see the Premiership stars of Didak, Thomas, Jolly and Heater get moved on, it doesn't feel as though its all doom and gloom in this changing of the guard.

Just seeing the quality of character of Taylor Adams, the application of hard work by Jesse White and the hunger for success from the younger boys gives me, as a massive Magpie, confidence in 2014 and the immediate future.

Nathan Buckley, with the help of the club, have been very successful, thus far, in implementing this 'culture-shift' that they made an objective after our finals exit last season. Do you guys agree or disagree?
Well Bucks is the public face and the guy that carries the can win, lose or draw so yes it's Buckley's 'culture shift' in a way though I wouldn't for a minute discount Eddie's heavy hand pushing it along as well.

Lets face it in the final years of the previous incumbent head coach certain players were just allowed to run riot outside the club, which saw the club involved in a number of very unsavoury stories and dragged through trial by media a number of times after players had brushes with the law.

The culture had solidified around a very unhealthy attitude and this needed to be changed. The process is well under way now with the removal or defection of unsettling influences and the retirement of others. A new batch of eager and talented young men have stepped through the door and reportedly embraced the new culture with open arms and glad cries.

This would never have happened with the previous incumbent.

Agree Early Signs are Good. No Off-Field problems like last season with Daisy and Heaters Performances on the Field. Have Gone.
Adams and White seemed to put there Bum Up and Head Down and Working Really Hard over the Off-Season

Dale Thomas was offered a contract as far as I know. It's just that Carlton's was so much bigger and Dale is in love with their coach. Didak and others were at the end of their career. I just don't see the departure of players at the end of their careers as a sign of culture shift. I see articles listing the departure of these players as a sign of Buckley imposing himself but they list Ben Johnson..... as far as I'm aware, Buckley loved how Ben Johnson did his work.... he was just too old.

As far as I'm aware, Buckley wants the players to be more professional and less like naughty boys who need to be herded around and told what to to do. He wants them to grow up and act like professional athletes. Sure they want to address the off-field problems issue, but thats just a small part of the culture thing.

We are yet to have any off field incidents reported (fingers crossed). On the surface this would appear to be a good sign. Of course we will know more when the season is underway and we see how the club responds to adversity.

Dale Thomas was offered a contract as far as I know. It's just that Carlton's was so much bigger and Dale is in love with their coach. Didak and others were at the end of their career. I just don't see the departure of players at the end of their careers as a sign of culture shift. I see articles listing the departure of these players as a sign of Buckley imposing himself but they list Ben Johnson..... as far as I'm aware, Buckley loved how Ben Johnson did his work.... he was just too old.

As far as I'm aware, Buckley wants the players to be more professional and less like naughty boys who need to be herded around and told what to to do. He wants them to grow up and act like professional athletes. Sure they want to address the off-field problems issue, but thats just a small part of the culture thing.

Speaking of Dale Thomas it will be interesting to see how the players respond to him in round 7. Whilst I don't expect him to get knocked out, a strong physical reaction to him will be an indication of cultural change.

Do you think that the players he was great mates with and will be forever premiership teammates with will go out to "intimidate" him physically? You don't lose friendships just because you have changed the organisation that pays your bills do you?

To answer your first question, yes I do. Players from opposing clubs put friendship to the side all the time. Providing the physical intimidation is within the rules, I fully expect Thomas to be given a torrid time every time he goes anywhere near the ball. Your second question is too silly to answer.

So you think the players at Collingwood didn't like Dale and blame him for the "poor culture" that was apparently around the club until he left and as such they will take their anger with him into that game. Do you think the players blame Dale and Heath for losing to Port, as going by Eddie and Nathan's speeches at the B&F it was all their fault that the flag went to Hawthorn and not Collingwood in 2013....

Um no.....I think they can get stuck into Daisy on the field AND remain friends with him off it. Not that hard is it?

Definitely seems to me like everyone is on board.

I'll wait to watch some real games to make sure. My constant complaints about effort were based of what I saw on-field, not what I was reading on social media. If I see that same lack of commitment and effort that I saw last year then nothing has changed.

Mind you, I don't mind mistakes, mistakes happen, and we will lose games (probably...he he), but as long as I see them leave it all out on the field, I don't care. But what I saw last year was horrendous. It was borderline Melbourne levels of apathy except with more talent. It was actually horrifying for me. So as long as I don't see that again, I'm good. A game plan is a game plan. No game plan involves not running, chasing or tackling the opposition, it just doesn't work that way.

You could have a horrible game plan but with enough talent and enough desire, still win a game of football. But then you can have the best gameplan and the best players, but if they dont' give two shits, you won't win jack. That's what happened to us last year. The MOMENT I was 100% sure that was the case was that dispicable turnover by Swan in our defensive half against Gold Coast. That was the exact moment I knew Buckley did not have these players on board.

Let's hope it's changed. The signs look ok so far.

So you think the players at Collingwood didn't like Dale and blame him for the "poor culture" that was apparently around the club until he left and as such they will take their anger with him into that game. Do you think the players blame Dale and Heath for losing to Port, as going by Eddie and Nathan's speeches at the B&F it was all their fault that the flag went to Hawthorn and not Collingwood in 2013....

Who said anything about blaming him?

He's a Carlton player now. I'd expect the players to treat him ON-FIELD as they would any other Carlton player. You know our players are friends with heaps of opposition players right? Players they've had "physical contact" with on field?

Plenty of guys at the club are not happy with Thomas.

Players come and go, its part of the game but its the way he went about things that pissed a lot of people at the club off. There are bound to be a couple of guys who will seek to make life hard when they play us.

Do you think that the players he was great mates with and will be forever premiership teammates with will go out to "intimidate" him physically? You don't lose friendships just because you have changed the organisation that pays your bills do you?

Remember Brodie and Heath?

Speaking of Dale Thomas it will be interesting to see how the players respond to him in round 7. Whilst I don't expect him to get knocked out, a strong physical reaction to him will be an indication of cultural change.

My mate sent me this Instagram screenshot today. Daisy trying to do some recruiting on the side.

pJCHv7E.png

I've never gone from from loving a player to hating him so fast.

My mate sent me this Instagram screenshot today. Daisy trying to do some recruiting on the side.

pJCHv7E.png

I've never gone from from loving a player to hating him so fast.

Beams says he used the traitor's locker. I hope he left him a nice big steaming turd as a parting gift...

Lol jmac you birddawg ;)

I am a dirty old man....I long for the days when I was a dirty young man. At least then I was half a chance.

From the outside it looks like it's working. But im still in a "malthouse" style I guess you could put it. I couldn't give a toss about the culture if were winning premierships.

I look at it this way Ketchup if we clean our act up we are more likely to attract hgh status corporate sponsorships whcih help with winning premierships. There was nothing wrong with any of the players given a free ride by Mick, just that they were spoiled by his indulgence. The odds are good that had they been treated in a firmer manner they would have toed the line and still played as well.

I am a dirty old man....I long for the days when I was a dirty young man. At least then I was half a chance.

Haha, as my grandfather once complained to me, "Now it damned well takes me all night, to do what I used to do all night!"

I think Bux has finally put things in place the way he would like to see them, in terms of culture and commitment. The attitude around the place seems just great, hungry, committed to the cause, buying in to the coaches philosophy. Needed to happen and did: now we should start to see what our coach is capable of and get the very best out of the group. We are still pretty young and still might be a couple of seasons away from being top weight contenders but, we could also surprise this year. The attitude seems right, it will depend on injuries (of course) and how well some of the first and second year kids come on this season.

Haha, as my grandfather once complained to me, "Now it damned well takes me all night, to do what I used to do all night!"
Or there is the story of Grandma going out to the backyard and finding little Johnny bent over the garden bed actiing suspiciously. So she sidles up silently beside him and watches what he's doing. First he digs around in the dirt until he grabs a worm, then holding the worm by one end he sprays it with grandma's hair spray until its stiff as a board then he pokes it back into the ground chuckling his little head off.

Gradma chuckles and little Johnno turns around guilty like, but she surprises him by telling him he's a very clever boy and gives him $10 to head down to the local arcade with instructions not to hurry back :D