Buddy

How good is he, fair dinkum.

Probably an unfair comparison to draw, but the more I see of Buddy, the more I think we have to take the risk with Naitanui.

If we took Watts, and Naitanui ended up being even half the player Buddy is, I'd break down and cry. :(

I don't think the comparison is too far off, they are both huge, spectacular below their feet for big men and get around the ground majestically. NikNat is behind Buddy in terms of football know-how but give him a couple of years and he could be anything.

Lets not go the safe option for once please, whether it pays off or not we will be laughing ourselves all the way to the Bank, I have a good feeling he'll offer us a hell of a lot more than just the kids pulling on Melbourne jumpers.

And frankly, Juice is starting to bore me, I want a new cult hero and a Fijian with dreadlocks and the leap of a gazelle fits the bill.

Re: Buddy.

As a Hawks fan, I definitely reckon Naitanui needs to be picked up by Melbourne.

Sure - it's a massive risk. He could end up a 198cm wingman like Keplar Bradley who struggles to influence himself on matches - or he could end up like Buddy.

Watts on the other hand could end up like Roughead - a fantastically talented young forward, but a workhorse - not the type that gets bums on seats and attracts sponsors/members.

I just reckon NickNat has got the X-Factor to really invigorate the entire Melbourne Football Club. A face that the club can be re-built around.

But hey, I don't work in recruiting ... :o

While i think you need some Key forwards ASAP, i wouldnt pass on Naitanui, We've been in the same position, and a bloke with the Ability of Naitanui is a marketing dream.

It's always a cop out when you pick players over marketability over actuall talent, but its just what Melbourne Need, Someone to sell memberships and gets asses to the ground

And trust me, after watching Naitanui for the past 2 years, you really cant do much better then him,

On the other hand fellas, seeing as you sound keen, you can have Pick 1 / Naitanui and we'll take Buddy off your hands, the loose cannon that he is?

I agree with u BC, he doesn't have to play in the ruck, he could be the next buddy franklin and we will be spewing that we didnt pick him up, if he does turn into a buddy franklin type player.

I rather pick a bloke who can actually kick with the #1 pick. Watts is a out and out proven gun Forward, whereas Natanui is a ruckman, who basically just rucks and for **** sake one player won't attract sponsors and fans. Look at Adelaide or Freo, 50,000 members, with no 198cm Buddy-like player or a Fijian giant kicking goals out of their asses.

This is probably our last chance to help save ourselves through the draft, and we can't go throwing away the #1 pick on a marketing prospect.

If we choose Natanui, it would be like ending up with Ryan Leaf rather than Peyton Manning

I rather pick a bloke who can actually kick with the #1 pick. Watts is a out and out proven gun Forward, whereas Natanui is a ruckman, who basically just rucks and for **** sake one player won't attract sponsors and fans. Look at Adelaide or Freo, 50,000 members, with no 198cm Buddy-like player or a Fijian giant kicking goals out of their asses.

This is probably our last chance to help save ourselves through the draft, and we can't go throwing away the #1 pick on a marketing prospect.

If we choose Natanui, it would be like ending up with Ryan Leaf rather than Peyton Manning
Few points
1.West coast/freo have basically a whole state of 4million to themselfs, 1/3 of the country, While Victoria has about 8m but 10 football teams, same deal with Adelaide.

2.Look how much attention he has brought upon himself in two years, from Pantsing the No.1 Pick in Kruezer, to taking great marks in the WAFL and being constantly named in the best

3.Naitanui isnt ranked top 3 for nothing, apart from what your rant leads on, Naitanui can DEFINATLY play

Nicnat seems like a shy kid, and I think being away from his family will kill him. You want a player that you know will stay at the club for years to come.

Look at Judd for example

Nicnat seems like a shy kid, and I think being away from his family will kill him. You want a player that you know will stay at the club for years to come.

Look at Judd for example
Another good point, i think we moved Franklins family over East once he got drafted

Naitanui can play forward .. why do people limit him as a ruckman..
He can play as a full forward for us// just a suggestion.. thoughts?

Naitanui can play forward .. why do people limit him as a ruckman..
He can play as a full forward for us// just a suggestion.. thoughts?
Could be anything he puts his mind to, Athletic freak, But probably best suited as a midfielder, who could beat most ruckman in tapouts and the quality of taps as well, Also his footy smarts isnt the greatest, so i wouldnt groom him into a KPP

Soo many rumours and false infomation going around him, Not the greatest skill set (been playing only for about 6 years) but his second efforts are brilliant, works hard,

Few points
1.West coast/freo have basically a whole state of 4million to themselfs, 1/3 of the country, While Victoria has about 8m but 10 football teams, same deal with Adelaide.

2.Look how much attention he has brought upon himself in two years, from Pantsing the No.1 Pick in Kruezer, to taking great marks in the WAFL and being constantly named in the best

3.Naitanui isnt ranked top 3 for nothing, apart from what your rant leads on, Naitanui can DEFINATLY play

Only 2 million in WA. 1.5 million in the city, but yer per club theres is many times more people.
But anyway Melbourne should defiantly go Watts if they want their side to improve on-field, however if they wish to increase their cash flow NicNat is the go plus he could be a superstar.

How good is Buddy?...well he is one of the reasons I call myself " AFL IS Number 1" . I've been watching footy for 40 years , and he is in the top 5 for sure. Ablett Snr, Flower, Hudson are some of the others I have enjoyed over the years...but Buddy is something else.

Now that would be an interesting post amongst all Big Footy Members:
Would love to see the feedback.

" Name your Top 5 players over the years you have been watching AFL / VFL"

As a Dees supporter, watching last nights game, just makes me realise , unfortunately, how far behind the top of the class my team is. However, its great to watch footy as it should be played by teams such as The Hawks & The Cats. Can't wait for that last day in Sept...hope that Buddy gets the Norm Smith. And I can't wait for the Dees to get right back....might take us a few years, but we'll be back for sure.

Look at Judd for example
If NikNat comes over and manages to win a brownlow and captain a premiership side, I don't think I'd give a rats if he then said he wanted to go back to mummy.

Nick Nat is a gamble selection. If he improves his skills and footy smarts he could possibly rival Franklin as a player. If he doesn't improve his skills and footy smarts then you could have a player that could rival JON instead.

Stick with Watts. He is more of a certainty of becoming a good player. Though if Nick Nat does improve his skills then he would be a better player, but do you really want to gamble a #1 pick and the player who does not work out?

Look at Judd for example

You do not draft with this in mind. You pick the best available player, or the player who best suits your needs, depending on the approach you decide to take. If you draft with that sort of thing in mind it compromises the selection you make.

How good is Buddy?...well he is one of the reasons I call myself " AFL IS Number 1" . I've been watching footy for 40 years , and he is in the top 5 for sure. Ablett Snr, Flower, Hudson are some of the others I have enjoyed over the years...but Buddy is something else.

Yes, Buddy is a star, but let's not compare him to Ablett Snr JUST yet.

Ablett Snr remains the most talented footballer I have ever seen play the game.

Buddy is a classic example of a risk that has paid off with a freak.

Think of all the freaks, who didn't work out. There are more screws then buddys. Its a massive risk, there are many reasons why he didn't go 1. To be pretty honest, I could see Buddy failing in a few years once "bad" buddy persona takes over his ability.

Buddy is a classic example of a risk that has paid off with a freak.

Think of all the freaks, who didn't work out. There are more screws then buddys. Its a massive risk, there are many reasons why he didn't go 1. To be pretty honest, I could see Buddy failing in a few years once "bad" buddy persona takes over his ability.
Name all these "freaks" who didn't work out please.

Buddy is just about the most agile big man thats ever graced the competition, and he has torn it apart. Naitanui would be the closest anyone has ever gotten to that kind of agility, we can't be willing to pass that up.

Name all these "freaks" who didn't work out please.

Buddy is just about the most agile big man thats ever graced the competition, and he has torn it apart. Naitanui would be the closest anyone has ever gotten to that kind of agility, we can't be willing to pass that up.

We wouldn't pass on Buddy, just Naitanui.

If we had the #1 pick the year Buddy went, we wouldn't have picked him. In fact, I don't think any team would have.

Melbourne doesn't take enough risks from my perspective, that is why we've reverted back to Schwab instead of giving someone with a more colourful vision a chance (McNamee).

Naitanui is just what Melbourne needs if you can get past the go home factor with him, no use having him for a couple of years and then he wants to go home.

But Melbourne could really do with a player that people just want to go and see him play. Would boost membership and attendances to games, if his potential is reached.

I would think the risk would be worth it.

And no you can't have Buddy, it took a couple of years to get him where he is now, he started with patches of brilliance but then would go missing, would probably be the same with Naitanui.