block_100

how would you discribe your bus drivers on your route in your state??
In perth i travel on the 99,98 service.these are some of the things i have experiences.
-rude,miss stops,almost miss a turn off,speeding ,running red lights and the bus almost tipped over.

Back when I was attending TAFE, for a 9am start the bus would get quite full at Oakleigh station. Most of the bus drivers knew we were there for tafe, so they would fill up the bus right up to the door and to the back.
Then there were a few knob bus drivers that couldnt be bothered waiting to fill up the bus, so they said they couldnt take anymore and the next bus is coming soon, which was bullshit.:thumbsd:

That's probably my main issue.

I really don't take notice of the little things bus drivers do, most of them drive the same, and i never try to talk to them anyway.

Thank God I have my own car now. Haven't caught the bus for over a year.:)

My bf has two totally contrasting stories from the past two weeks (caught the bus once a week each, each Monday, the same bus in the morning).

First bus was over 15 minutes late- a "learner" driver was driving it under supervision. He drove so slow, hmmmm I think I remember my bf saying he saw a snail on the footpath outside overtake them. He also drove the wrong way and had to reverse the bus up. Anyway, end of story they arrive at the main train station about 25 minutes late, bf missed train, thus misses connecting train after that.

Today's bus driver was a "prick" apparently- bf arrived at bus stop JUST on time and got on, but another guy was late, running to catch it was a mere 3 metres away and he drove off on him.

So there you go... you never know what you are going to get. Sometimes you get really friendly ones, sometimes mean ones.. and sometimes complete incompetent ones..

Bloke i used to work with was late in to work one day. Said that the bus driver hadn't allowed him on because of his Never Mind the Bollocks, Here's the Sex Pistols tshirt. Apparently it would offend other patrons.

Haven't travelled on a bus for years but always have troubles with bus drivers.

Even today I was driving on a main road and a bus pulled out in front of me and I had to brake quickly. My main issue with bus drivers is that they think they have the right of way on EVERY occassion.

I've found the best drivers were either the Indian drivers because you could do anything on the bus and they wouldn't say a thing; or the middle-aged fat ones. They usually are the only drivers that actually drive at the speed limit. They also don't worry too much about how inline they are with the timetable at low-passenger times. Nothing worse than waiting for the bus to correlate itself with the stop and timetable to find no one gets on in all that time you're waiting. :thumbsd:

Absolute w***ers IMO. Had a fair few not let me off the bus while stopped at a train crossing because the bus stop was on the other side of the tracks. Knowing full well I needed to catch the train that was coming.

The female drivers are a bit better.

Don't really talk to the drivers much and usually just get on with the intention of getting off at the last stop anyway. There was one guy in Darwin who was a total ****wit who wouldn't let us on the public bus, so I ended up catching the bus afterwards. Couldn't stand the service provided to the school and never used it until I had no choice after a move.

I used to catch the same bus everyday in perth and I hated the driver he was an absolute nob from new zealand, so rude and aggressive and always with this look on his face like he thought he was the toughest sob in the world

One day these three grannys got on, as was his custom he floored it as soon as the last one had her foot in the door. The grannys on the way to their seats went flying and one of them landed on her back and her head snapped backwards into the floor. It was a sick sound and blood starting pouring out of her, people were screaming and calling for an ambulance.

The driver turned paler than swedish dude who has never seen the sun and starting sobbing, realising that his nobbish way of life was going to cost him bigtime, it was satisfying to see

I live near a train station and tram stop so I rarely use buses.

The driver turned paler than swedish dude who has never seen the sun and starting sobbing, realising that his nobbish way of life was going to cost him bigtime, it was satisfying to see

Did you see him driving again?

Depends on the driver. Most of the time they're good, but the slow ones are the worst since I usually have to connect to a bus or train, and their intent on doing 15km under the speed limit and taking forever when someone buys a ticket gets in the way of that.

Also I caught the Nightrider a month ago and the driver and a bunch of drunk guys who didn't want to buy tickets had an argument until they finally gave up and got off. Fast forward to last friday night I was on the nightrider again, with the same driver, this time she just let the mandatory two blind drunk guys on without caring. Obviously sometime in the past month her job cause her to die a bit inside...

I deadset reckon I would be a woeful bus driver. Have a lot of respect for people who can do the job well. I consider myself a good car driver (no accidents etc, had the same car for five years, took good care of it) but I wouldn't take up bus driving even if you offered me good coin.

Most bus drivers have seemed fine to me. Plenty of times after a big night out I have just walked on to the Night Rider and they've never bothered me. One time when I had lost my wallet I explained the situation as I walked on and the driver was like 'No worries, mate, grab a seat'. Good bloke.

:thumbsu:

I can recall a good story of a good bus driver. When me and mum used to go to KP for the football on a Saturday, instead of going home to melbourne we would go onto our Holiday house afterwards. Anyway, we'd usually get the same bus driver each time and we'd chat about the footy and stuff.

And because we were always the last ones on the bus, (on the last bus of the night), instead of dropping us off at the bus stop, he would actually drop us right outside our house. :thumbsu:

So there are some nice ones out there.

And I agree with the above poster. What they would have to deal with on a daily basis....

I remember once when I was catching the bus back from uni to the train station. The bus had come to the train station and needed to go around a bend to park when it usually parks. But instead the bus driver decides to stop the bus and talk out his window to another bus driver in his bus and they talked for ages. So I had to wait for ages while they had their little chit chat about pointless stuff. And no the bus driver wouldn't open the door while I he was talking to the other bus driver.