Bye Bye Nobles

This leaves out several key parts of the narrative, the lack of a commitment to rebuild strategy or going for a flag

2013 a heart break year of almost but it's clear that we are coming (start a plan to top up to win a flag, first with Dal and then Higgins and Waite the year after)

2014 & 15 underperformed in H&A but made prelims and a flag seems possible.

2016 We go 9-0 then collapse and lose the elimination final vs a very good Crows team. Ben Buckley becomes president in October. It seems that someone in the club made a decision that the window is now over and it's time to fundamentally rebuild the list. We famously, ruthlessly delist the five (Boomer, Petrie, Firritto, Dal Santo and trade Wells) - while finding a spot to bring in Nathan Hrovat (grrrr)

2017 season we went a dismal 6-16 but bizarrely, despite delisting the five, all through the season we aggressively went for Dustin Martin and Josh Kelly. We very nearly got their signatures and maybe we would have if we were in finals contention. But what is the club strategy? Are we rebuilding the list or going for a flag? When Martin and Kelly didn't sign, the club seemingly goes back to the 'reset' (that was the language at the time) and we move on Gibson, Thomas, Hansen, Waite and Swallow. Arguably, after all the cutting and slashing of the senior players on the list, the rebuild begins in earnest with selection of LDU who falls to our pick 4.

2018 season we do considerably better than expected and just miss finals with 12-10 (don't forget Shaun Higgins, Ben Brown, Ben Cunnington, Robbie Tarrant and Goldstein were just titans of players). The club again seems to abandons doing a "fundamental rebuild" and we trade our first round draft pick to top up with Jared Polec (and Jasper Pittard) although admittedly we were taking advantage most of having Tarryn Thomas as an academy selection.

2019 season we lose the plot completely. Starting 3-7 there is a clear war over the direction of the club (rebuild or top up) and Brad Scott quits. Shaw does very well and steadies the ship and we finish 10-12 so we just give him the job. The club inexplicably trades away its first round pick (Caleb Serong) for Melbourne's 2020 pick, 26 and 30 just setting the whole thing back. Comben, Mahoney and Perez are our haul that year.

2020 season all the chickens come to roost. The list has been gutted. We go 3-14. Shaw given no support in the bubble and he walks never to talk to Buckley and Amarfio again. Rawlings thinks the best thing to do is aggressively sack players 11 of them and trades out Higgins and Brown.

2021 Noble handed by far the worst team in the comp.

2022 Ben Buckley finishes and Sonja arrives. North the worst team since Fiztroy in 1996. Amarfio goes on TV and says we're one and a half years into a rebuild.

Wow this hurt writing all this. Makes me feel sorry for Noble actually.
In 2018 Jack kicked 40 goals (should have kicked more) Maj found his place as an intercepting backman and Jed Anderson had a break out year.

Then before Christmas Maj had his incident. I think that without that our form in 2018 would have continued and even improved into 2019. I don't think anyone recovered from that until the shock of Scotts sacking snapped them out of it. Possibly that was the only thing that could have snapped them out of it.

The reports are that Walsh is only working for us for a month, and he started one week ago. So finishes up towards the end of this month. No idea how long it’ll take to finalise and action the report though.
OK, let us assume that he finishes his investigations by Monday 25th July and the report is delivered by Friday 29th. The Board takes a few days to digest it, which may include some discussions with Walsh on the possible actions to be taken. We are now into early August i.e. round 21. This will mean we have another 5 thrashings to endure and no time for an interim coach to have any impact.

An interim coach isn’t going to have any impact this year anyway it’s about getting through to the offseason where the replacement takes over. I’d sooner get it right than just some magical quick fix.

I'm of the opinion the club is made of firmer stuff than to completely implode if the current shitness continues for just another month. All year the track watchers have been saying the player morale is fine out on the training track, give the players and staff a bit of credit.

Walsh being able to see, in person, how everyone is acting and reacting to the current pressure cooker is worth a month of onfield madness IMO.

they had some stinkers in that period though like losing to us... by 7 goals...
So they ****ed him off, and with basically the same team, look like a million dollars.

Based on the Carlton Walsh review experience we won’t get the report until late Aug at best, then allow 2-4 weeks for it to be actioned i.e. September. Can we really wait that long?
Short answer is No.

The longer this fiasco goes on for, the more likely players will have made up their mind to move.

It should be done now to give the players a 7 week circuit breaker to see if they can enjoy their footy and hopefully fall back in love with the club.

Noble coaching the year out would be a disaster for player retention.

The reports are that Walsh is only working for us for a month, and he started one week ago. So finishes up towards the end of this month. No idea how long it’ll take to finalise and action the report though.
That timeline virtually means the whole season, which would be a disaster.

They better get a hot shot List Management Team together, because they will be dealing with a few requests from Player Managers to get their player out of our club.

Agree. I think we'll stick the process and it will take a bit of time. I also reckon that Walsh has his reputation to think about so I doubt whether he'll be interested in rushing into making any recommendations.

That timeline virtually means the whole season, which would be a disaster.

They better get a hot shot List Management Team together, because they will be dealing with a few requests from Player Managers to get their player out of our club.
Mate, the season moved into disaster territory months ago.
Playing three more s**t games is not going to change that.
Players will be able to sense change is afoot.
Hopefully an orderly process will give them something to hang on to.

Mate, the season moved into disaster territory months ago.
Playing three more s**t games is not going to change that.
Players will be able to sense change is afoot.
Hopefully an orderly process will give them something to hang on to.
Not sure I agree.

A 7 week circuit breaker would do these players the world of good.

I reckon David Nobles composure has been extraordinary

Don't think there's another coach in the league who could maintain publicly that degree of positivity, resilience and composure in the face of this sort of pressure

It might be coming to a head though, not sure
What you call composure, I call stubborness.

Since when has being composed been the same as trotting out the same load of garbage for months.

He keeps trotting it out, because he has no idea of what the problem is, and that’s most likely because the problem is him.

My opinion is that sooner is better, but that’s all that it is, an opinion. The Club appears to be of the view that they will wait for the report. So be it. The next challenge then is player retention and a new coach. I just can’t see Noble coaching us next year.

Bye Bye Nobles