Sacramento Kings
PLEASE TELL ME IT ISN'T SO :mad:

Crows sniffing around Cain Ackland and another uncontracted Port player :mad:

I would be seriously ********ed of if we got Ackland. Maybe with a REALLY late pick but even then I would think twice about it :eek:

Ackers is a great player -- what u talkin about -- MAte U can have him!!

Surely ur not that silly tho -- Where doe sit say that ur sniffing around??

Stiffy_18 said:
PLEASE TELL ME IT ISN'T SO :mad:

Crows sniffing around Cain Ackland and another uncontracted Port player :mad:

I would be seriously ********ed of if we got Ackland. Maybe with a REALLY late pick but even then I would think twice about it :eek:

He is improving Stiffy. However, I dunno why you'd be sniffing around him after you picked up Hudson and have Andrews on your RL as well.

Ackland...what can i say about him. This year he improved ten fold. Everyone gave up on using him as a key forward finally and he got played as the no.1 ruckmen at the Magpies and his last 6 weeks he was dominant. Was on the verge of winning a spot in the Power side but got injured. As it happened Brogan got injured the same week and Ackland would have had a spot at the Power but didnt play for about 8 weeks.

He deserves another year on our list and I think he will continue to improve. However, I dont see too much use for the Crows chasing him...and unless they give a good deal then I cant see us giving away our only backup ruckman.

NO way we dont want Ackland not sure what last 6 weeks u saw i saw his last week was killed by O'hara in fact he lost his temper and gave away 2 fifty meters (or 25's cant remeber lol ) in a row had to be dragged of the ground
channel nine news just mentioned we are sniffing around Dew as well

caught the tail end of a port person mick someone (didnt hear his name ) on 5aa dew is happy at Alberton
we will have to keep an eye on dew

PowerKop said:
Dew is in the process of signing a new contract
Correct, but I wasn't really interested in him.

If we get Ackland, I will be majorly cheesed off! :mad:

Stiffy_18 said:
You don't know how happy that makes me ;)

Ackland is average and I would NOT want him especially if it involves us giving up something of value.
Would simply confirm our sucker status in the AFL ;)

mickyj said:
NO way we dont want Ackland not sure what last 6 weeks u saw i saw his last week was killed by O'hara in fact he lost his temper and gave away 2 fifty meters (or 25's cant remeber lol ) in a row had to be dragged of the ground
channel nine news just mentioned we are sniffing around Dew as well

Dunno why he even played that day, he was 1/3 fit and was just a desperate attempt by Knights to get us into the finals.

His last 6 fit weeks were:

Round 9 - 12 disposals, 5 marks, 25 hitouts
Round 10 - 15 disposals, 3 marks, 23 hitouts
Round 12 - 11 disposals, 4 marks, 34 hitouts, best players
Round 13 - 9 disposals, 4 marks, 29 hitouts, best players
Round 14 - 13 disposals, 3 marks, 35 hitouts, best players
Round 15 - 20 disposals, 4 marks, 20 hitouts, best players

Not bad and definately something to work on if he stays fit for us next season.For the first time in his career he may actually push for an AFL spot in his own right and not rely on 3 injuries at a time to get a game.

Macca19 said:
Dunno why he even played that day, he was 1/3 fit and was just a desperate attempt by Knights to get us into the finals.

Round 10 - 15 disposals, 3 marks, 23 hitouts
Round 12 - 11 disposals, 4 marks, 34 hitouts, best players
Round 13 - 9 disposals, 4 marks, 29 hitouts, best players
Round 14 - 13 disposals, 3 marks, 35 hitouts, best players
Round 15 - 20 disposals, 4 marks, 20 hitouts, best players

Not bad and definately something to work on if he stays fit for us next season.For the first time in his career he may actually push for an AFL spot in his own right and not rely on 3 injuries at a time to get a game.
I would still rather give Ben Hudson a go. He would have had better "numbers" than that over the course of the year.

Macca19 said:

I was at that game (Port v Sturt at Adelaide) and I thought he was well beaten by Feast and whoever the other Sturt ruckman was.

Not worth a trade - 22 going on 23 and not yet established. Not what we need going forward.

marvin said:
Not worth a trade - 22 going on 23 and not yet established. Not what we need going forward.

Wait on...

I was told about a month ago (not by you) that Ben Hudson has plenty of time to develop despite the fact he's 25 going on 26 and is not yet established.

We aren't exactly swimming in ruckmen here.

Clarke is on the verge of retirement and is virtually useless outside of the centre square anyway.

Biglands has hit a wall in his development, if not gone backwards.

And Hudson, well, see above.

I'd be prepared to spend a third rounder on him, considering we already have 3 other picks inside 30 and as has been well publicised, this draft is going to be relatively shallow.

dyertribe said:
I'd be prepared to spend a third rounder on him, considering we already have 3 other picks inside 30 and as has been well publicised, this draft is going to be relatively shallow.

Are Port expected to delist him? I think we would be better off putting him through the draft and pick him up with our last pick or even in the PSD.

He is versatile, can pinch hit up forward and I reckon he could be an ok defender (has he ever been tried down back?) but we wouldn't recruit for those attributes. A third round pick? Not sure. He'd be insurance only. A fourth string ruckman with possible added benefits in other positions.

dyertribe said:
Wait on...

I was told about a month ago (not by you) that Ben Hudson has plenty of time to develop despite the fact he's 25 going on 26 and is not yet established.

We aren't exactly swimming in ruckmen here.

Clarke is on the verge of retirement and is virtually useless outside of the centre square anyway.

Biglands has hit a wall in his development, if not gone backwards.

And Hudson, well, see above.

There is a difference. Hudson has only started pllaying footy a couple of years ago while Ackland has come on through the under-age competitions.

For a 3rd rounder I would consider it and big men take longer to come on so 22-23 is NOT old for a ruckman who hasn't established himself as an AFL player.

I know that I would hate it if we traded those picks inside 30. I would be livid.

dyertribe, what did you think of the Stenglein - Thompson trade?

**** said:
Are Port expected to delist him?

I don't think so.

General consensus on the Port board is they expect Chris Hall, Rob Forster-Knight and possibly Wade Champion to get the chop. With Hardwick also retiring and Primus still an unknown entity with his double knee-reco I doubt they'd delist Ackland, who showed some definite improvement in the SANFL this year.

Could we get him for anything less than our third-rounder? I'm not sure. But as far as his potential standing in our squad goes, he'd be our youngest ruckman by a good 3 years and would certainly get more chances with us than at Port.

Stiffy_18 said:
There is a difference. Hudson has only started pllaying footy a couple of years ago while Ackland has come on through the under-age competitions.

For a 3rd rounder I would consider it and big men take longer to come on so 22-23 is NOT old for a ruckman who hasn't established himself as an AFL player.

I acknowledge that ;)

I was making the point that if Hudson isn't old/hasn't established himself on the basis of chances and delayed development, then Ackland is more than qualified to be in the same boat being a few years younger.

Stiffy_18 said:
I know that I would hate it if we traded those picks inside 30. I would be livid.

Same, unless they were for a genuine gun - ie NOT Nathan Thompson, WTF was that trade about?!!

Stiffy_18 said:
dyertribe, what did you think of the Stenglein - Thompson trade?

Happy with it. Not only have we got a youngster with far more potential and ability than Stinger, but a second rounder as well.

My only concern is his injury record.

dyertribe said:
I acknowledge that ;)

Same, unless they were for a genuine gun - ie NOT Nathan Thompson, WTF was that trade about?!!
What a shocker that was. Nathan Thompson is a HUGE risk and is very inconsistent.

I think Hawks got away with daylight robbery having picks 10 and 26 in return.

Stiffy_18 said:
What a shocker that was. Nathan Thompson is a HUGE risk and is very inconsistent.

I think Hawks got away with daylight robbery having picks 10 and 26 in return.

Daylight robbery?

Mate, I know for a fact they built a time machine - sent Dermie back to Glenrowan, Victoria, circa 1879 - who promptly abducted Ned Kelly and returned with him to the present, then slapped a jacket emblazened with "Puma", "MBF" and "Hawthorn FC" on him and gave him a clipboard and busfare to Optus Oval.

NedKelly.jpg

"Oi! Laidley!... Your draft picks or your life. The clock's tickin'"

dyertribe said:
Wait on...

My reasoning is simple.....

Quality, not quantity.

As you say, we've got 3 ruckmen already with major question marks hanging over their longevity or development, plus a raw rookie in Rowan Andrews. If we are going to add a fifth (and we still have Rowan Andrews on the rookie list, do we not?), please let us at least find a teenager with some upside, even if he's rawer than roadkill, rather than someone who, at best, is going to be no better than Biglands.

If Port think he's expendable (given that their ruck stocks are a 26 year old, an injury prone 28 year old and a 30 year old with busted knees) that should give us good reason not to trade for him.

The only way we should take a punt on someone who frankly hasn't cut the mustard at another club is in the PSD, or rookie list a la Hazell.