Cain Ackland

Port Adelaide
NUFC, Green Bay
This player will never ammount to anything. I have seen him play for Magpies (SANFL) and for the Power. He has done nothing to impress me. He was said to be the next big thing when drafted and every year he is leap frogged by another play first it was French then it was Brogan. I think he will be ok for the Magpies but he does not have the heart to make it at the Big Time. DELIST him, then he can pay his own medical bills as that all he has given to the club

Gee, this is a tough appraisal. Not that it ain't justified, just tough.
He certainly hasn't shone since those 10-odd games at the start of 2001 and disappointingly he really hasn't dominated at SANFL level. If you saw him "braining" them for the Port Magpies, then you would have something to cling onto, but injuries consistently break up his run of form. I have a theory about injuries. Good players do not let themselves breakdown from recurrent soft-tissue injuries. Sure the unlucky knee injury or broken bone, but not the niggling groins or hamstring strains that never seem to go away. Che, Bowen, Bassett - three players who just couldn't take advantage of momentum or good form, because no sooner had they played two good games then they were back in the medical rooms. I reckon Cain's going the same way. Bloody devastating given most of us thought he was the next big thing.

Last year he certainly went backwards in development. He was awful. Played most of the year at Full FOrward and at one stage took maybe 3 marks in 7 weeks. But this year he definately showed signs of marked improvement and I reckon if he at least stays fit for 90% of this year then he will be well on his way to getting a game again.

He wasnt too bad in the Pre Season games, and his SANFL games between injuries saw him in the best players more weeks than not.

I reckon he might be the one to watch next year.

Originally posted by crazy_big_al
This player will never ammount to anything.

How do you know? Are you psychic? What are this weeks lottery numbers?

I have seen him play for Magpies (SANFL) and for the Power. He has done nothing to impress me.

Nothing to impress you? Despite the fact that he's been in the best players nearly every week? Despite the fact that the Magpies ruck stocks would have been a desecrated mess if it weren't for him? Please.

He was said to be the next big thing when drafted and every year he is leap frogged by another play first it was French then it was Brogan.

Cain is 21 years old. A developing player. He's had a horrible run with injuries and is finally on top of them. If it wasn't for the osteitis pubis he suffered this year then you would have seen a lot more of him and he would have impressed you. Guaranteed. Not everyone is expected to make the grade in their first years on an AFL list, let alone fill in as an inexperienced youngster when our rucks were severely depleted. Take Toby Thurstans as an example. He didn't get a start for five years and everyone was writing him off, and then he came on in leaps and bounds this year. He's 22 and will make it, as will Cain.

I think he will be ok for the Magpies but he does not have the heart to make it at the Big Time.

Cain's passion for the game is nothing short of inspirational. He loves the Port Adelaide Football Club and the Port Magpies with all his heart and I'll have you know he was devastated when he was hit with ostetis pubis this year. He was desperate to pull on the black and white guernsey again, such is his love for the club.

DELIST him, then he can pay his own medical bills as that all he has given to the club

If he's delisted then don't come crying to me when Primus and Lade retire and all we've got left is Brogan. Ruckman are incredibly hard to come by in this day and age, and I sure as hell don't want to end up like St. Kilda, desperately searching all corners of the earth for a ruckman.

Its probably not a mature attitude if true, but it seems to me that Cain's form in the SANFL is directly related to the possibility of getting a game in the AFL. When he sees there's no chance due to lack of injures & good form, his own form tends to drop noticeably.

He needs game time, but it could be very hard for him to get it.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
My carton of beer on Cain Ackland not becoming an All-Australian ruckman is looking safe! :cool:
You wish. He's got the leap that the AFL want to see and he's coached by the league's #1 ruck coach - Matthew Primus. Prepare to see dominance.

Originally posted by Porthos
You wish. He's got the leap that the AFL want to see and he's coached by the league's #1 ruck coach - Matthew Primus. Prepare to see dominance.
Happy to bet you a carton too Porthos! ;)

Maybe he will be delisted, but not this year. If one of the draft picks turns out to be a competent ruckman, then if Cain hasn't done anything we must look seriously at letting him go. At the moment we have 3 ruckmen, one of them just coming off an injury-spoilt year and one off 2 broken legs. A 4th backup is an imperative. And Primus may only have 2 or 3 years left in him, a young ruckman to come through will ensure our ruck stocks will stay strong.

Ackland has also shown he could be a good forward. In both the AFL and SANFL I have seen him leading and marking well. He just needs a bit of help with his kicking.

Originally posted by mic59
Maybe he will be delisted, but not this year. If one of the draft picks turns out to be a competent ruckman, then if Cain hasn't done anything we must look seriously at letting him go. At the moment we have 3 ruckmen, one of them just coming off an injury-spoilt year and one off 2 broken legs. A 4th backup is an imperative. And Primus may only have 2 or 3 years left in him, a young ruckman to come through will ensure our ruck stocks will stay strong.

Exactly. But like I keep pointing out, ruckmen are extremely hard to come by in this day and age, so we'd be better off keeping Cain and drafting a ruckman in a year or two. There's no guarantee the aforementioned drafted ruckman will be mature enough to step straight into our best 22, unless things were absolutely dire.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Happy to bet you a carton too Porthos! ;)
Of Australia's Choice cola? No worries :D

I feel really sorry for Ackland, he's had a terrible run of injuries for most of this year and last year. You can tell that he desperately wants to be playing for the Power team.
From what ive seen of him when watching him play for the Port Magpies, he looks quite promising. Its just his kicking that sometimes lets him down.
I don't know how Port will fit him into the side next year though with the tall likes of Brogan, Lade, Primus and Thurstans?

Re: Re: Cain Ackland

Originally posted by Kid Dynamite!
Despite the fact that the Magpies ruck stocks would have been a desecrated mess if it weren't for him? Please.

I wouldnt go that far. He rucked for a total about 4-5 quarters this year. Craig Parry did all the work. If it wasnt for Parry then we would have been a mess, not Ackland.

Re: Re: Re: Cain Ackland

Originally posted by Macca19
I wouldnt go that far. He rucked for a total about 4-5 quarters this year. Craig Parry did all the work. If it wasnt for Parry then we would have been a mess, not Ackland.

Well from what I heard he rucked a lot more than that, but oh well.

Re: Re: Cain Ackland

Cain's passion for the game is nothing short of inspirational. He loves the Port Adelaide Football Club and the Port Magpies with all his heart and I'll have you know he was devastated when he was hit with ostetis pubis this year. He was desperate to pull on the black and white guernsey again, such is his love for the club.

I am sorry but i would have to disagree, Cain is all about Cain thats the way he has been his whole life I am sorry but I just do not think that he will make it. He will give good service to the SANFL Magpies but he does not play with enough heart to make it at the Big time (power), sure he is a talent but he is mentally weak. But if all gets tooo tough for him he will go back to Pt Lincoln and play for Marble Range and play with his brother.

I am sorry but i would have to disagree, Cain is all about Cain thats the way he has been his whole life

Do you know him personally? Otherwise it's pretty harsh to make comments like that.

What I think about Ackland has pretty much already been said. Port obviously should hold onto him because we need the back-up ruckman, and he deserves at least one more year to prove himself. I thought he did remarkably when covering for Lade two years ago, and although his form dropped the year after, you can't really blame him for this year. He obviously has the potential, so let's hope he can get over his injuries and show it.

I am sorry but i would have to disagree, Cain is all about Cain thats the way he has been his whole life I am sorry but I just do not think that he will make it. He will give good service to the SANFL Magpies but he does not play with enough heart to make it at the Big time (power), sure he is a talent but he is mentally weak. But if all gets tooo tough for him he will go back to Pt Lincoln and play for Marble Range and play with his brother.

As Nicski pointed out, do you know him personally? It does seem a fairly harsh judgement if you do know him or even if you don't.

I'd like to pose a question to you: Hypothetically, if you had sustained all the injuries Cain has, and you understand it'll be hard to forge a place in your listed AFL club for some time (barring injury or suspension), would you play with much heart? It would get me pretty low, that's for sure.

I think what Cain needs is a wake-up call, I don't think he knows too many people who believe in him. However I expect him to be given more of a shot next year if Lade and/or Primus start to tire or get injured.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Cain Ackland

Originally posted by Kid Dynamite!
As Nicski pointed out, do you know him personally? It does seem a fairly harsh judgement if you do know him or even if you don't.

I'd like to pose a question to you: Hypothetically, if you had sustained all the injuries Cain has, and you understand it'll be hard to forge a place in your listed AFL club for some time (barring injury or suspension), would you play with much heart? It would get me pretty low, that's for sure.

I think what Cain needs is a wake-up call, I don't think he knows too many people who believe in him. However I expect him to be given more of a shot next year if Lade and/or Primus start to tire or get injured.

I can understand your comments. I grew up in Port Lincoln and have known him for years and I just think he is not as good as what everyone thinks, he has never been a hard worker and got buy on talent which he has and have said before but he just does not have the heart to make it. I would like to be proven wrong and it would be better for the team but i can not see it happening. I guess we will have to wait and see. Otherwise the power will need to look in a different direction.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Cain Ackland

I can understand your comments. I grew up in Port Lincoln and have known him for years and I just think he is not as good as what everyone thinks, he has never been a hard worker and got buy on talent which he has and have said before but he just does not have the heart to make it. I would like to be proven wrong and it would be better for the team but i can not see it happening. I guess we will have to wait and see. Otherwise the power will need to look in a different direction.

Well now I know you know him I'm inclined to take your comments a little more seriously. It's concerning he thinks he can just get by on talent and hopefully he'll get a big wake-up call pretty soon.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Cain Ackland

I tend to agree a little, footy doesn't seem to be the be all and end all for Cain Ackland (not that that is always a bad thing). He probably doesn't work as hard as i'd like, both in games and in general.

Obviously will be around for this year but it is a very important year for him & his AFL career. We wont hold onto him forever. He must stay injury free to have any kind of chance.

He is worth keeping for the future, still only 21 has talent and can kick a goal, his big leap is his best assett, handy at SANFL level, very handy, if given time will prolly make a great CHF for the magpies, if parry stays and rucks..

Attitude is a huge part of whether Ackland is going to make it this year or not. If Cain wants it badly enough, he has to work his guts off, otherwise he will be just another "could-have been".

Also I think someone else mentioned that when the other ruckmen are performing, Ackland drops off his form. In these situations, he just has to keep his head up and make everyone take notice - after all, who would have thought that Brogan would be our first ruckmen this year?

I hope he is ready for preseason training otherwise he will just go down again an be behind the 8ball again

Looks like he is going to fall behind again, he is already on a restricted program which from my understanding he would not know anything else as he is always hurt. I will have to wait until the end of the season to say I told u so :)