Arsenal, Pacers
Good article in The Age today, here.

Gives his perspective on leaving Carlton. I'm still not sure if i want him but after reading it i'm slightly more in favour...

good luck to him ..he will get the big dollars he is used to and expects..and the dons in return will get an unnacountable reciever for the next year or maybe two . Sheedy will love him ..the bombers fans will hate him .
as for the blues they will free up a lot of money and cap space to fit in a young kid with no pretensions of granduer

Darealrath said:
Good article in The Age today, here.

Gives his perspective on leaving Carlton. I'm still not sure if i want him but after reading it i'm slightly more in favour...
So you are warming to a player that after a couple of years of taking big money, underperforming and providing zero leadership as a vice-captain, decides to leave his club because he is sick of losing?

Wouldn't a reasonable person think that he should take some of the blame for that? Scary stuff, I never thought of Camporeale being a front runner like Justin Murphy before.

No doubt he will have to pull his finger out in 2006 because he will be on thin ice from the outset at Essendon, just a shame he didn't feel the need to pull his finger out at a club where he was held in high esteem.

Blues_Man said:
good luck to him ..he will get the big dollars he is used to and expects..and the dons in return will get an unnacountable reciever for the next year or maybe two . Sheedy will love him ..the bombers fans will hate him .
as for the blues they will free up a lot of money and cap space to fit in a young kid with no pretensions of granduer

discuss it on your own Board...................

cretin.

The Old Dark Navy's said:
So you are warming to a player that after a couple of years of taking big money, underperforming and providing zero leadership as a vice-captain, decides to leave his club because he is sick of losing?

Wouldn't a reasonable person think that he should take some of the blame for that? Scary stuff, I never thought of Camporeale being a front runner like Justin Murphy before.

No doubt he will have to pull his finger out in 2006 because he will be on thin ice from the outset at Essendon, just a shame he didn't feel the need to pull his finger out at a club where he was held in high esteem.

Probably pickup 30 possies in his first game against your pathetic mob.

Nt Bomber said:
Have you drafted him yet? :rolleyes: I guess your response must mean you don't rate Stanton, Dyson, Winderlich, etc. if you think ODN is having a go and impartial.

Why you need a downhill skier like Campo is a mystery and it seems Essendon is becoming the retirement home of Carlton's hasbeens.

Nt Bomber said:
Reasoned conversation is usually encouraged on team boards, feel free to join in.

Campo when he tries can rack up 30 possessions in a game regularly, so I have no doubt he can do well again. That is completely irrelevant to the point I was making however.

For years opposition supporters including Essendon supporters have said that he is overrated and soft and a downhill skier. Now he comes out and says that he is sick of losing when everybody can testify that he was a big part of the losing element at the club.

Campo has 2 years left .... 4 games max against Carlton. He'll do okay in a couple of those I would expect, just as Murphy has done. At the end of the day, he will be a mere speck in the minds of Bomber supporters, will never be truly considered one of them in the pages of history and will also have a black mark next to his name in the Carlton history books. All because he lacks the heart to persevere with the rebuilding at Carlton.

Read the article again, how much of it really rings true from an objective point of view? Upset with the contract negotiations but didn't want a long contract and money was not an issue. What was he upset about then?

Fair dinkum, he's just done an off field sulk this time and decided he was too big a man to have the likes of Pagan calling the shots any longer. True to form. Very, very disappointed.

Blues_Man said:

unnacountable reciever?? unnacountable maybe reciever i have never thought of him as one he will go in and get the hard ball when he has to.

I'm a little surprised at the ill feeling towards Campo. He's given a lot to the club and he's certaintly not the first of the old guard at the blues to have lost a lot of his desire since Pagan took over, if persistent rumours are anything to go by.

I guess we'll find out just how much of a financial motive his move is when he has to nominate a price for the PSD. I genuinely suspect he wants to go as much because he's not enjoying his time at carlton as for financial reasons.

Campo will be fine. The fact that he was able to rack up 20-25 possies for a rabble of a team, when he was obviously unhappy speaks quite well for him, and I have been watching games from last year on Fox Footy, he isn't as soft as everyone makes him out to be, just a bunch of disapointed, disgruntled Blues fans venting their frustration. He will be even better when playing and being motivated by Sheeds

DaSawx said:
Campo will be fine. The fact that he was able to rack up 20-25 possies for a rabble of a team, when he was obviously unhappy speaks quite well for him, and I have been watching games from last year on Fox Footy, he isn't as soft as everyone makes him out to be, just a bunch of disapointed, disgruntled Blues fans venting their frustration. He will be even better when playing and being motivated by Sheeds
Agree that he will be fine. Agree also that we are disgruntled. At first we couldn't understand what the standoff was about. Obviously he shouldn't be offered a 3 year deal and obviously his form was hit and miss while getting paid over the odds for a few years, so a cut was a perfectly reasonable request.

Now we find that the money is not the problem, it's the losing that he can't stomach. A lot of players, especially those with a leadership role, tend to try their guts out to avoid losing if they hate it so much, Campo simply switched off and performed less than his capabilities, deciding it was all too hard and he would bail at the first opportunity.

Go Campo, play well, find whatever it is you are after ..... but two years at Essendon will do nothing to address the character flaws you have just laid bare for all to see.

The cycle goes on, everyone hates Campo and think he is overrated but Blues fans defend him. Goes to Bombers, they defend him and Blues fans are just bitter. We all do it, part of being a supporter I guess.

ODN is on the ball here. Campo has lost respect from all Carlton supporters and he will never gain true respect from Essendon supporters. While he will probably play a few decent games for us, I dont think we'll be able to see him as one of our own.

On the other hand I can see where Campo is coming from - while loyalty is a great thing, you do have to look out for yourself, and if he thought he couldn't continue playing footy if he stayed at Carlton, he's done the right thing for himself.

Has Sheeds talked to his best friend Brian Donohue about this ?
I'm sure he would not want Campo at Essendon. It is just that Campo gives away costly silly free kicks. The oppositon have him worked out to a tee so he is not as effective as he was. They need only to needle him, get him to retaliate with a soft push or punch, and the ball is yours .
He is a bit soft, and his long kicks for goal are a thing of the past really. What can he truly offer the Bombers ?

pauld said:
It is just that Campo gives away costly silly free kicks.

19 Frees against in 21 games. I don't think that is any grave concern.

pauld said:
The oppositon have him worked out to a tee so he is not as effective as he was. They need only to needle him, get him to retaliate with a soft push or punch, and the ball is yours .

Now, I know we don't have a great midfield. But I'd hazard a guess that Campo has been the number 1 tagged player at Carlton for the greater part of the last 5 years. I don't think that will happen at Essendon. It may allow him to play with a bit more freedom. But this is only speculation.

pauld said:
He is a bit soft, and his long kicks for goal are a thing of the past really. What can he truly offer the Bombers ?

Experience, quality foot skills and midfield depth. Something we need in large doses. And he comes to the club without compromising our list.

when you look at it, campo usually gets tagged at carlton, so if he plays at essendon one of the player is tagging an essendon player will tag campo which would release that player to do damage, or it might also free campo to do damage as he has decent disposal. you know what i think, essendon supporter only hate hime because he is such a good player and has killed us when we play him

cypher said:
Have you drafted him yet? :rolleyes: I guess your response must mean you don't rate Stanton, Dyson, Winderlich, etc. if you think ODN is having a go and impartial.

Why you need a downhill skier like Campo is a mystery and it seems Essendon is becoming the retirement home of Carlton's hasbeens.

Not as mystery at all.

1. He comes free of charge. We have money in the cap and we aren't losing a player to Carlton for him.

2. Stanton will more than likely come under heavy opposition tagging next year. Having Camporeale in the side takes some pressure off him.

3. He has been tagged basically every game in the last 10 seasons. He may enjoy some freedom next season.

4. He has experience. Our outside midfielders are all very young or have played few games. Players like Stanton, Dyson, Winderlich and Lovett.

Sure he has his flaws but there is nothing to lose and everything to gain by having him in the side. Agreed his deneanour was lacking last year but (and I'm not having a go at Carlton here) there is more leadership at Essendon with players like Hird, Lucas, Lloyd, Johnson and Fletcher. He won't be able to get away with the same behaviour or he'll get pulled up very quickly.

I cannot believe all this crap does anybody on bigfooty have any face at?

All of a sudden Essendon people saying he is now the gun midfielder in the AFL in 05 he was soft and slow,gutless hell the bummer's couldn't say enough bad thing's about him.But now that he has become a Bummer he is a gun funny that and not for money !!! oh no he plays because he loves the Don's and the red and black jumper now.

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
$300k by 2 yrs was enough to buy this man's loyalty.
OMG please people as far as losing the bummer's are as gone as the Blues so there might be another lie.

All i have to say is see ya Campo and i really does break my heart that you are going because he is one of my favourite player of all time.
i wish he was a one club player.

If you called him crap at Carlton at least have the face to call him crap now.BTW he was never crap he may have fallen short last couple of year's but he was never crap.

RoK said:
I cannot believe all this crap does anybody on bigfooty have any face at?

All of a sudden Essendon people saying he is now the gun midfielder in the AFL in 05 he was soft and slow,gutless hell the bummer's couldn't say enough bad thing's about him.But now that he has become a Bummer he is a gun funny that and not for money !!! oh no he plays because he loves the Don's and the red and black jumper now.

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
$300k by 2 yrs was enough to buy this man's loyalty.
OMG please people as far as losing the bummer's are as gone as the Blues so there might be another lie.

All i have to say is see ya Campo and i really does break my heart that you are going because he is one of my favourite player of all time.
i wish he was a one club player.

If you called him crap at Carlton at least have the face to call him crap now.BTW he was never crap he may have fallen short last couple of year's but he was never crap.

Who has called him a gun ?
Who has said he loves the Bombers ?

RoK said:

How about this -
You go through posts on this board and do a little bit of research on the following.

A) Where Essendon supporters have called him soft, slow and gutless, and have said repeated bad things about him at any stage.
B) Where Essendon supporters are claiming him to be a gun.
C) Where Essendon supporters have said he is coming for nothing.*

I reckon you will come up short on all 3.

* Where it has been suggested that he is coming to Essendon for free, is in regards to Essendon not compromising its list to get him. IE We aren't trading for him, we aren't giving away anything for him, we are picking him up in the PSD for nothing. That's a pretty good deal.