Campo

shmardin

Oct 12, 2002
How has his pre-season been...and do u think he is primed for a return to form and a big 2003???

Hasn't been a model of consistency so far by most accounts. Will benefit from having Hulme and Ratten around to get the hard ball but at this stage he may be closer to 2002 form than his best form.

Well I'm prepared to put the cat amongst the pigeons here. I actually think this will be Campo's last year at Princes Park and there is a fewreasons for me saying so.

Firstly, he is reportedly on $600K pa which is a huge amount for a small midfielder. Granted he is a terrific player but there is not a lot of 600K players in the competition and we have three of them. The club may want to relieve some cap salary cap pressure & trade him elsewhere.

Secondly, seeing as the Blues have been stripped of their own first & second draft choices, they may opt to trade Campo for another club's low draft pick. The main thought here is that he turns 28 this season and there is not a lot of actual trade value after that age normally. Plus, in 2-3 years time, Campo will be in the twilight of his career but a new highly rated draftee will be playing his 50th senior game if not more.

Don't get me wrong, I reckon he is terrific player and one of my faves. But I do get the feeling there may be some smart manouvering by the club in an attempt to circumvent the savage draft penalties & Campo may be a victim of this line of tought.

Sheik, not a bad summary mate. I actually had Campo in his second last year at Carlton. Correct me if i'm wrong, but he still has 2 years to run on his contract.

I'm not sure Carlton would want to put themselves in the same position Melbourne did with Wowoedin. At the end of the 2004 season, this was my 3 way swap

Campo + 1 other player (not necessarily a Carlton player) to Port Adelaide

Steve Salopek to St.Kilda.

Brendon Goddard to Carlton.

With regards to the original question, with Ratten and Hulme back into the team, plus French and Allan into the ruck, you would hope his form is close to 2001, but realistically, somewhere between 2001-2001 would be good.

Originally posted by HugeBluesFan

That's not a bad trade deal there 'HBF', all three clubs would be happy with that you'd have to say.

The heartache for us is that we should have got Goddard for free though !!

HugeBluesFan, Campo would want to put in a mighty year for that trade to eventuate. He is a classy player, but there is no way we'd get Goddard in a trade unless he did a Hamil on the Saints and forced himself onto the market, or the Saints got into some Carltonesque salary cap/TPP trouble and were forced to let go of him. I don't think you'd get much argument from Blues supporters in terms of letting Campo go, but the real strength we have with Goddard coming to Princes Park is the fact that he and his family are genetically inclined towards the baggers. It would be fantastic if he stiffed the Saints, but I suppose Aaron's sook and Judas episode was a fair indication of his shallow personality, and I'd rather see Brendan come to the Blues with his charcter intact.

Further on the Campo issue; we're in the barbed wire canoe school of midfielders at present. It would have to be a very measured call to see him traded.

Orangewhip, thats a fair enough call, however, I know someone in the inner sanctum at St.Kilda and they would have taken Salopek had Carlton not lost there first 2 picks.

Therefore, St.Kilda would be swapping a no. 1 pick for a no. 3 pick. Everyone knows that Goddard wanted to come to Carlton (and may still want to).

Another situation that may happen is that when Goodards contract comes up (I think its a 2 year deal), he might just walk away from the saints and asked to be traded to Carlton. All other clubs know he's a Carlton boy through and through and possibly won't go after him e.g. Des Headland. Food for thought..

The quality of opponent that Campo is getting beaten by these days is declining markedly. Dare I ask it? Has Campo lost his heart? Has Houlihan found it?

Stay tuned ......

Originally posted by HugeBluesFan
I'm not sure Carlton would want to put themselves in the same position Melbourne did with Wowoedin. At the end of the 2004 season, this was my 3 way swap

No offense, but at the 2004 season, that'll be about the last kind of deal Port would look at. We'll be pushing 100% salary cap and trying to offload expensive flankers, not pick more up at the expense of young gun midfielders that could replenish our aging midfield.

Not to mention the reluctance St Kilda would probably have as regards Goddard.

It does seem that Carlton's future would be best served by trading off non-essential senior players, though the market right now isn't really primed for them. I think it'll just need to be the long wait for improvement.

Originally posted by The Old Dark Navy's
Dare I ask it? Has Campo lost his heart? Has Houlihan found it?

Oh my GAWD !!!!!!!

I don't think I could ever bring myself to use the words 'Houlihan' & 'heart' in the same sentence.

This is one chap who had better start to show something or he may find he is in a new as well next year !!

Package deal - Campo & The Blouse for a couple of early draft picks ?? Any takers ????

Originally posted by Porthos

It does seem that Carlton's future would be best served by trading off non-essential senior players, though the market right now isn't really primed for them.

We just need to trade, and then trade some more. We still have some deadwood on the list and they have to go - end of story !!

Trying to get something better than what you had each time you do a deal is the only way to improve.

Originally posted by TheSheik
Oh my GAWD !!!!!!!

I don't think I could ever bring myself to use the words 'Houlihan' & 'heart' in the same sentence.
Which is why they are not in the same sentence. ;)

I cant believe this crap being written about Campo.

OK he had an ordinary year last year and 2001 was a downer as well. BUT Campo has been on the list for 8 years and last year was the only year he has stuggled. If youre going to be harsh then I will too and would happily trade/delist these players before even considering Campo

1. Houlihan - no heart
2. Allan - no heart except being paid more money. (I wish Allison had got his wish and got him traded)
3. Lappin - as above
4. Fevola - as above
5. Murphy - as above except no loyalty (how was he allowed to play for the All-Stars and then start a fight with Barnaby French ????)
6. Franchina - as above but no talent. Would struggle to get an SANFL game

I also personally would think about offloading Kouta, if we are serious about creating some salary cap room then there is the perfect opportunity. An overrated, injury-prone hack whose best years are behind him. has been there 9 years, has only delivered in 2 of those 9. Worth 1 million a year I THINK NOT !!!!l

And before you delude me with the "Houlihan, Fevola, Murphy are burning on the training track and trial games" i will leave you with this. How much heart will these guys have in the middle of June when we are getting belted just about every week. They had their opportunity last year to step up with all the injuries and didnt.

Finally I say stick with the young guys. Wiggins, Sporn, Campbell Thornton and McCormack (How he did not get named on the original list I will never know !!!)

Originally posted by EagleBlue

1. Houlihan - no heart
2. Allan - no heart except being paid more money. (I wish Allison had got his wish and got him traded)
3. Lappin - as above
4. Fevola - as above
5. Murphy - as above except no loyalty (how was he allowed to play for the All-Stars and then start a fight with Barnaby French ????)
6. Franchina - as above but no talent. Would struggle to get an SANFL game

You won't get any arguments out of me !!

As I said before, we still have some deadwood on the list that has to go, end of story. It wouldn't worry me dramatically if that lot got traded or delisted at the end of the year.

Time to rebuild from the bottom up. (poor attempt at humour there)

Let's face it, none of the current team are untouchables any more. SOS was untouchable, Sticks was untouchable, Braddles was untouchable. Kouta was an untouchable but the pay cheque and injuries have devalued him a tad. I don't think I will protest too loud whatever Pagan has to do to get the club back on track for onfield success. Desperate times call for desperate measures and we have a couple years worth of sanctions to overcome. More than ever over the past 12 months, I have lost my innocence and begun to understand just how much of a business football really is. Need to strike a balance between the romance of footy and reality.

Sad but true, ODN. Times have changed. The old adage of once a Carlton player always a Carlton player has gone. Like you said the untouchables have gone. Kouta, maybe still remains, but the rest, sadly may become victims of 'Phoenix rising from the ashes'.

Campo