nut

The richo decision is making us look like a bunch of sooks and losers.

Under the rules it was a free kick. And the rule is shyte but it's been the rule for almost half a season.

Under the rules it was a 50 meter penalty. And this rule is not in the spirit of the game but the 50 was there.

Lets forget it and move on PLEASE.

agree. i had my rant on saturday night, was still fuming yesterday (although i stopped posting about it) and now its old news. get over it if you are not. the afl doesnt give a crap so what is the point with going on about it.

I've moved on. Under the well advertised 2007 rule interpretations it was technically a free kick. As much as we hate it, that is fact.

But what has really pissed me off is the arrogance of the AFL through Adrian Anderson who has come out and said that it was a clearly a free kick, not only this year, but would have also been paid in previous years.

Too arrogant to admit that the new rule interpretation is the cause of the controversy. In past years it would have to been a blatant pushing motion to cop a free kick. This year you just have to touch the player on the back and its a free kick.

A bunch of tossers.

I've moved on. Under the well advertised 2007 rule interpretations it was technically a free kick. As much as we hate it, that is fact.

But what has really pissed me off is the arrogance of the AFL through Adrian Anderson who has come out and said that it was a clearly a free kick, not only this year, but would have also been paid in previous years.

Too arrogant to admit that the new rule interpretation is the cause of the controversy. In past years it would have to been a blatant pushing motion to cop a free kick. This year you just have to touch the player on the back and its a free kick.

A bunch of tossers.

yeah i read that too big punt. in their fanatical protecting of the umpires to try and encourage more people to take up umpiring they are alienating the fans and the potential recruits from the game. if allowed to go on the afl could be in crisis within a matter of a few years. all i hear from people is how disillusioned they are with the game.

Agree with nut.
We may be bitter and twisted fools after 2½ decades of mediocrity, but at least we can pretend we're not.
Fact: we were three goals up with all the momentum with seven minutes on the clock and we couldn't win. We panicked and they sensed it and pounced. Game over.
The rules and the interpretation of them? Well put it this way. I've been following footy for 30 years now. I love my club and will continue to love it until the day I die. But I am rapidly falling out of love with the game.

i havent posted about it since the night it happened - but who bloody cares if people still want to vent some anger and post about it - Post away!!

its less than 48hours since the incident happened, its monday arvo FFS not friday arvo -its probably the most talked about football issue on monday morning because it was so controversial - for a change, most of the neutral footy fans actually agree we were hard done by and it was a decision which A) shows how AFL is losing its "spirit of the game" b)cost us the game.

Let us vent some trash on here - for some its the only place they can (atleast their not ringing the radio, thats far worse) and who cares if other people think we are sooks - they already think that already - so, oh well:rolleyes:

we are 0-9 - we are gonna cop it no matter what from other supporters

i was never involved in the debate, but a lot of others here were!! It is so embarrasing!!

For gods sake man grow up. What an absolute waste of your time to post that. What is embarrasing is supporters like you. Question for you -What is embarrasing about supporters coming on here and venting their frustration at an umpires decision that probably decided the game? How childish to let us know you weren't part of the debate. Are you really a Richmond supporter?

Agree with nut.
We may be bitter and twisted fools after 2½ decades of mediocrity, but at least we can pretend we're not.
Fact: we were three goals up with all the momentum with seven minutes on the clock and we couldn't win. We panicked and they sensed it and pounced. Game over.
The rules and the interpretation of them? Well put it this way. I've been following footy for 30 years now. I love my club and will continue to love it until the day I die. But I am rapidly falling out of love with the game.

Absolutley agree...
we should of been good enough to kill the game and bury essendon when we had the chance, irregardless whether it was a free kick or 50 meters shouldnt matter b/c we should of had the game won by then, hopefully the boys will learn from this, and next time in that same posistion we will be good enough to control the game and get the 4 points

I support entirely ALL of the comments in this, and other threads, all over the net, about Tigers' supporters rights to vent their ire for as LONGGGGGGGGGGGG as they like!
Not only at Richo's mark, but at Richo's 50 and those two absurd 50's Saturday night for grabbing the guy who played on! AND for the 7 different versions given in the game on 'holding the ball'
AND I'd like to add to Richo's statement about playing the game at the highest level for 15 years. (NEVER forget comments like his you 'lawmakers')
I played at a reasonable level for more years than Richo, and then coached and umpired for more years than I played; I would HATE to be doing any of those three today.
I wouldn't know if I was Arthur or Martha!

i havent posted about it since the night it happened - but who bloody cares if people still want to vent some anger and post about it - Post away!!

its less than 48hours since the incident happened, its monday arvo FFS not friday arvo -its probably the most talked about football issue on monday morning because it was so controversial - for a change, most of the neutral footy fans actually agree we were hard done by and it was a decision which A) shows how AFL is losing its "spirit of the game" b)cost us the game.

Let us vent some trash on here - for some its the only place they can (atleast their not ringing the radio, thats far worse) and who cares if other people think we are sooks - they already think that already - so, oh well:rolleyes:

we are 0-9 - we are gonna cop it no matter what from other supporters.

We weren't hard done by because the free KICK WAS THERE. How can you say it wasn't there.
Why weren't we talking about the spirit of the game before the incident???????????? oh thats right because it bit us on the asre and now we ARE sooking about it. You cant make the rules to suit your self. The rules are rules and Richo broke the rule. He doesn't like the rule and niether do I. But it is THE RULE.
The 50 was blantly NOT in the spirit of the game, but the 50 was there under the rules, so Again I ask why the F#@K are still soooking like 5 year old kids.
Firts Richo and now the president has came and sooked.

LETS soak in the dissapointment, take a deep breath and came out firing against the bears. Show the football world we dont want there sympathy and instead go about trying to win our first game.

I FEEL LIKE I"M BARACKING for a team full of kittens not tigers.

TOUGEN THE F@#KUP.

For gods sake man grow up. What an absolute waste of your time to post that. What is embarrasing is supporters like you. Question for you -What is embarrasing about supporters coming on here and venting their frustration at an umpires decision that probably decided the game? How childish to let us know you weren't part of the debate. Are you really a Richmond supporter?

We should have WON THE GAME REGARDLESS. At that point the game was tied, was it not?????????? WHO LET THAT HAPPEN?????????? maybe we can find someone or something else to blame. Hay lets blame the umpires and the rules for the last 25 f%$king years. And you calling him childish, keep sooking if it makes you feel better.
I'll focus my energy supporting the team on something we may beable to help with, like next weeks game.

I support entirely ALL of the comments in this, and other threads, all over the net, about Tigers' supporters rights to vent their ire for as LONGGGGGGGGGGGG as they like!
Not only at Richo's mark, but at Richo's 50 and those two absurd 50's Saturday night for grabbing the guy who played on! AND for the 7 different versions given in the game on 'holding the ball'
AND I'd like to add to Richo's statement about playing the game at the highest level for 15 years. (NEVER forget comments like his you 'lawmakers')
I played at a reasonable level for more years than Richo, and then coached and umpired for more years than I played; I would HATE to be doing any of those three today.
I wouldn't know if I was Arthur or Martha!

how many 50's did we "give" away all up? 4 or five?

you just reminded me of that 50, i had blanked that one out from my mind - the one where the essendon bloke played on and the tiger player tackled him - and never crossed the mark! bam! 50metres. man, i was fummmming at that one!!!!

might start a thread about it....:p

Instead of saying we were robbed, let's focus on the facts.
When the game was there to be won, our players stood around and waited for Essendon to get themselves back into the contest. It was like they expected it.
Good sides, really good sides would have kicked another two or three goals in the last seven minutes and won by six goals while rubbing the opposition's nose in it. Like a kitten catches a mouse, plays around with it for a while, lets it escape for a few seconds and hauls it back in again for a chew, repeats the dose a few times, until finally saing 'Enough' and ends the charade.
Until the real leaders-in-waiting (Lids, Polo, Foley...Polak) can stand up on their own two feet and announce that "I am not going to let this happen anymore", we will continue to lose games we should win.
We are rudderless on the field. Until that changes, and I don't think it will take very long to change (a young man who wears No 3 convinced me on Sat night that he's just about ready to put his hand up and assume the mantle), expect more of the same.

We weren't hard done by because the free KICK WAS THERE. How can you say it wasn't there.
Why weren't we talking about the spirit of the game before the incident???????????? oh thats right because it bit us on the asre and now we ARE sooking about it. You cant make the rules to suit your self. The rules are rules and Richo broke the rule. He doesn't like the rule and niether do I. But it is THE RULE.
The 50 was blantly NOT in the spirit of the game, but the 50 was there under the rules, so Again I ask why the F#@K are still soooking like 5 year old kids.
Firts Richo and now the president has came and sooked.

LETS soak in the dissapointment, take a deep breath and came out firing against the bears. Show the football world we dont want there sympathy and instead go about trying to win our first game.

I FEEL LIKE I"M BARACKING for a team full of kittens not tigers.

TOUGEN THE F@#KUP.

We should have WON THE GAME REGARDLESS. At that point the game was tied, was it not?????????? WHO LET THAT HAPPEN?????????? maybe we can find someone or something else to blame. Hay lets blame the umpires and the rules for the last 25 f%$king years. And you calling him childish, keep sooking if it makes you feel better.
I'll focus my energy supporting the team on something we may beable to help with, like next weeks game.

what sensational posts. Fantastic spirit and attitude. I feel for the way you guys lost, but you're dead right. You should never have put yourself in a position where the umpire can be the difference. You should have romped home. You need to remember how to win.

You guys are playing with tremendous spirit, and Richo's leadership in getting out there and playing was just awesome. I'll put my hand up - I wanted him to play because I thought he'd be useless. Well, he sure showed me.

You guys are due, and I reckon Brisbane should be concerned :thumbsu:

A bunch of tossers.

It takes a man to stand up and admit you were wrong.

AFL is cared of being sued maybe?

Wait for the end of season twist and spin and a new interpretation get born

dont know if you guys noticed but i was sitting on the wing, and at about 20 mins on the game clock when were we still 2 up raines centred it to pettifer. pettifer simply could have kicked it back to him because there was no one with 50 of him. we could have killed the game then. Instead Kayne kicked long to a 1 on 1 in the pocket between patto(kind of leading) and david hille (on fire). This just shows our inexpierience and inablity to finish games these days

I never actually got a chance to complain about it really.

I went to the game on Saturday Night, and didnt get home till late. Sunday i played footy, so i was out most of the day too.

><

It was there though fair enough :thumbsu:

wI feel for the way you guys lost, but you're dead right. You should never have put yourself in a position where the umpire can be the difference.

Dead right - good sides win regardless.

But having said that, perversely, most seasons if a side has a handful of these close games in a season it can be the only difference between 6-12th on the ladder - 2-3 games.

We shouldn't care about being 6th or 12th - top-4 and serious premiership campaigns should be our only objectives at the end of a long dark tunnel.

The rest is just filler.