Doc Wieldon

Mar 7, 2006
Brisbane Lions
Chelsea, Canucks
Do you think the Lions can play finals footy this year?

With Brown back, the young kids adopting Voss' exciting game plan, and old heads Black/Ash/Merrett playing some of their best footy could we string a few games together? Or have we given the competition too much of a headstart?

Subjective topic right? Wrong!

Interesting time waster on AFL.com.au - The Bailey Ladder & Finals Predictor...

http://www.afl.com.au/bailey ladder predictor/tabid/13046/default.aspx

Lions to finish 7th a game clear!

Where did you have the Lions finishing?

Could be interesting to follow throughout the remainder of the year, possibly just watching our % likelihood decrease, but you just never know...

Whilst we'll have no impact on the finals, that's the goal every year right? And the experience that comes with playing finals footy, for such a young side, is obviously invaluable for our future attacks on the flag.

Go Lions!

I have us finishing 12th on 8 wins.

And while I think that is a realistic result, it probably is tinged with a touch of Brisbane Lions bias.

Won't play finals this year, but the kids and the coach care, and that's what excites me about the future!

I for one, hope we don't play finals. If we do, then we have over achieved, and it's only going to hurt us come draft time. Whilst i'm not saying we should tank, it would just be good if we don't over achieve and put ourselves back any further than what we are.

1.Collingwood
2.Geelong
3.Carlton
4.Hawthorn
5.West Coast
6.Melbourne
7.Essendon
8.Richmond =O

There is my top 8 best I could get the Lions to is 9th.If we had have won those close games early in the season,we might have been a shot.

Can't blame a man for killing an hour on hump day.. Smashing the swans ain't for another 3 days!

Totally agree we should tank.. give me pick 4 and the compensation pick (and a priority pick?) over getting knocked out by the Dogs, again, any day. ;)

I reckon there's 5 wins in there with Brown playing.

Doc Wheildon was a superstar.. So is this Wieldon.

Go Lions.

In 1993 – The Doc is suspended 4 times – plus cops a fine for shaking the goalpost.

So I’d be guessing with ‘that’ user name [and with our mods – wink] surely you’re skating close to a card for dropping an ‘aitch’…

Oh and whist we’re looking back in time, believe it or not, ten years ago today, comparing then [on June 1st 2001] and now… we are only two wins ‘worse off’ than that legendary 2001 team!

Take 2 wins off our finishing tally of 68pts and bingo-bango, we’re in the eight… hahaha!
Oh and you if you really want to be spooked?

Let’s hope we win by 5 goals 1 this week...

[We played Sydney in round 22 and won by 31pts at the Gabba].;)

Two weeks ago I place $1 on tab.com.au for the Lions to make the 8 @ $81-00.

Now they are $21-00 to make the 8. I really hope the AFL don't launch an investigation into this betting plunge:eek:

BTW, I placed the $1 on us as a mate said I didn't have the guts to do it. If you have spare money and want to put it on us making the 8, save your money, or donate to the Red Cross or something;)

In 1993 – The Doc is suspended 4 times – plus cops a fine for shaking the goalpost.

Didn't he get run over by a taxi at one stage too?? Think he was on Essendon's list by that stage??

Always made me laugh the Doc.

I have us finishing 12th on 8 wins.

And while I think that is a realistic result, it probably is tinged with a touch of Brisbane Lions bias.

Won't play finals this year, but the kids and the coach care, and that's what excites me about the future!

I'd prefer to finish last than 12th

Sorry mate but that is not the way I see it.

Agreed. Even with the positive reinforcement of draft picks for losing teams, I'd rather see my team win itself out of a top 10 pick than do a Melbourne or a Carlton and become a joke.

Indeed. A winning culture is worth more than draft picks in the long run in any case.

Can we play finals in 2011...?