yarran13

I was in one yesterday, with my boss driving the car, wasn't too severe but pretty well wrote off the car in front of us (ford territory), the other driver appeared to be ok apart from a bad back/neck due to whiplash. Was my bosses' fault, didn't realise light had turned red ahead and was too late to stop, was going about 40-45 from memory, still quick enough for a lot of damage.

It's pretty amazing how much trust we put on others and their vehicles on the road.

Not a great topic, but have you been in one yourself or seen one?

Been in two crashes. First one was a few years ago when I was a pup and mum was picking my brother and I up from school. There was a T intersection with a fairly popular roundabout to the right which all the kid's parents used. As we left the school and approached the intersection, a 4WD came out of the roundabout to our right and had left it's indicator on to turn left into the road we were coming out. Mum assumed it was turning before it actually did and T-boned the car writing both her little hyundai off and the 4WD. The impact caused the exterior of the 4WD to push against the wheel which made it unmovable. Pretty scary stuff for a little kid.

The next one was a year ago today. Was driving with my cousin in the wet and approached a congested roundabout when some old bag rear ended us, pushing our car into the one in front. Her commodore's boot was all caved in and was written off, but the old bags car and the old bloke's in front of us only had minor dints and broken lights etc. Pissed me off, I still miss that car.

Been in two crashes. First one was a few years ago when I was a pup and mum was picking my brother and I up from school. There was a T intersection with a fairly popular roundabout to the right which all the kid's parents used. As we left the school and approached the intersection, a 4WD came out of the roundabout to our right and had left it's indicator on to turn left into the road we were coming out. Mum assumed it was turning before it actually did and T-boned the car writing both her little hyundai off and the 4WD. The impact caused the exterior of the 4WD to push against the wheel which made it unmovable. Pretty scary stuff for a little kid.
Thanks for the edit, was about to pick you up on that :p
Never been in an accident, never seen an accident happen. Have had some close calls due to people being ****ing shit drivers though

i had a crash between apollo bay and colac on the twisty otway roads. hit a patch of road works that was only a metre long and slid out into a tree. my girlfriend was with me at the time, luckily she walked away from it, but i got pretty messed up.

10zyeco.jpg

deoeb5.jpg

It's pretty amazing how much trust we put on others and their vehicles on the road.

This is so true.

And i think more so when we are pedestrians because you are even more vulnerable.

we will happily cross the road just seconds behind a car that is travelling 40-50km/h simply because the rules of the road state that they will continue going past us.

if you were out in the middle of an open desert and there was a 1 tonne ball of metal moving at 50k's anywhere in our vicinity, you'd be shitting ourselves.

i had a crash between apollo bay and colac on the twisty otway roads. hit a patch of road works that was only a metre long and slid out into a tree. my girlfriend was with me at the time, luckily she walked away from it, but i got pretty messed up.

10zyeco.jpg

deoeb5.jpg

shit your lucky, that looks pretty bad.

I have been in a couple of them, some my fault, others someone elses fault. No write offs but my mum had her car written off, sandwhiched between two cars.

It happens - in one accident that was my fault, I was trying to avoid being sideswiped so I would have been in an accident either way. It is amazing even when you are going slow (40-50 kms) that you can write off a car.

In the end, they are just metal. As long as you walk away with no injuries, it is just a bill. I think I would be more upset if the accident was caused by stupidity - the number of times daily I see people that close to crashing into an innocent victim is too many to count.........

I haven't seen anyone post about an actual accident yet. It might only be small but I'd really like to get that term out of our everyday vernacular.

I've been in 2 car crashes, one the other driver's fault the other was my fault for being in the car with someone driving who was blind drunk. He was driving because I was drunker. Turned an almost brand new dual cab Hilux into the shape of the letter 'S' after doing 3 end to ends and 3 rollovers while travelling at 150km heading to the knockers in Kalgoorlie early one morning. :eek:

Dumb things you do when you're young and pissed.

10zyeco.jpg

deoeb5.jpg

Is that how you came up with your userid?

my ex smashed my VL every single pannel smashed in total write off l have pic's but were on taken on old school film dont have scanner.

l was driving to cricket training in another VL and some woman T boned me in her vovlo wagon.some woman called the cops fire & preetty much everything they all turned up it was silly.it was her fault but had wait ages for the insurance money that was in for vl's there bad luck.

some silly cow smashed into my door of my larry laser after all the bullshower it was her fault and got it fixed for nothing.

haha, nah.

i ended up with a broken sacrum, broken ribs, fractured hip, collapsed lung, 10 staples in the back of my head and problems with my neck. the worst part was having to wear a neck brace for two months and either sleeping flat without a pillow or upright in a chair.

Had my car written off after some dozey bitch plowed into the back of my car as I was giving way at a roundabout. When I got out of the car and asked her what the hell she was doing she said she was checking the time on her clock and didn't see me.:rolleyes:

Got some quite bad whiplash but thankfully didn't suffer any long term problems. Pain in the arse having to buy a new car though.

Had one just yesterday actually. Nothing special, traffic ahead stopped a few cars jammed on the brakes including me and it was just unfortunate that the car behind me didn't catch on quick enough and went into the back of me.

Even for something small, damn it elevates your heart rate!

Had one just yesterday actually. Nothing special, traffic ahead stopped a few cars jammed on the brakes including me and it was just unfortunate that the car behind me didn't catch on quick enough and went into the back of me.

Even for something small, damn it elevates your heart rate!

hmmmm ... my first accident (30+ years ago) and my last one (about 4 years ago) was like that - I was the driver that didnt react quick enough :(

Was needing to change lanes, and clipped the back of a tradies ute tray. My car got a nice beat up but his was fine. I signalled for him to pull over and he gave me the "forget about it" wave :)

Score (Y)

haha, nah.

i ended up with a broken sacrum, broken ribs, fractured hip, collapsed lung, 10 staples in the back of my head and problems with my neck. the worst part was having to wear a neck brace for two months and either sleeping flat without a pillow or upright in a chair.

Stil funny HHH?

I haven't seen anyone post about an actual accident yet. It might only be small but I'd really like to get that term out of our everyday vernacular.

I've been in 2 car crashes, one the other driver's fault the other was my fault for being in the car with someone driving who was blind drunk. He was driving because I was drunker. Turned an almost brand new dual cab Hilux into the shape of the letter 'S' after doing 3 end to ends and 3 rollovers while travelling at 150km heading to the knockers in Kalgoorlie early one morning. :eek:

Dumb things you do when you're young and pissed.

Thank **** it was you and your mate who copped the worst rather than some poor soul who'd not expected a tonne of steele coming at them at the speed of light with two blokes so pissed out of their minds that they'd not have noticed they'd hit anything.

Ahh, youth :rolleyes:

Was in a decent-sized one many years ago. On the highway, car with a trailer coming in the other direction. Trailer wasn't hitched properly, came off, across the road and smashed the car. Luckily no serious injuries but was pretty scary.

Other than that, just a couple of carpark bingles.

Was in a decent-sized one many years ago. On the highway, car with a trailer coming in the other direction. Trailer wasn't hitched properly, came off, across the road and smashed the car. Luckily no serious injuries but was pretty scary.

Other than that, just a couple of carpark bingles.
I had to take my mum's trailer into town one day, she tells me she's hooked it up and it's good to go, I get halfway around a 500m curve with no shoulders and the thing comes off the tow ball, very lucky the chains were attached and no one was coming the other way at 100km as they do along there. ****ing woman.

One of the weirdest things that had happened to me was driving along the highway on an extremely windy day, I go down about a 10-15 degree slope at 100km and huge pocket of wind comes and the bonnet flips off. I couldn't believe it and I look in the mirror and there it is behind me flipping in the air. Turned around and managed to get it off the road before any vehicles came around, hate to think what could've happened if there was a bikie behind me.

Saw one on the way home - a guy went through the front yard on a busy road, destroyed the brick fence. Car looked close to a write off, had to hit it with force. I still can't understand how it happened - maybe he just accelerated instead of braked but I went past thinking 'how did he do that?'.

Saw an odd one a couple of weeks ago.

Driving to get my lunch in 35 degree heat I had my window down as it takes a good 10 minutes for my air con to get going.

I was on a dual lane road, driving in the right line and I had to change lanes as I needed to turn left at an upcoming roundabout.

As I was about to indicate to change lanes I seen a car on the opposite side of the road with its right blinker, it would have easily had time to turn had I been staying in the right line but as I was changing to the left lane things would have been risky. I thought it was about to go but she stayed there even though I was still probably 60-75m away. So she had been at a standstill for probably 5 secs, enough time for me to notice from the other side of the road anyway with her right blinker on.

Anyway as I drive past her, remembering I have my window down I see this car hooning into the back of her and only heard the other driver put the brakes on when he got to about 2-3metres away. It was a very loud bang and both cars got ****ed up but I am amazed at how the car ran into her. Must have been on the phone or something.

I've been in two, and that's enough.

As a kid of about six, I was in the backseat driver's side when we were hit on that side. I was knocked out, and woke up in recovery, broken cheekbone, ribs, and lacerations to my legs...oh, and a shard of glass nearly four cm long was removed from my eye socket. On second thoughts I'm glad I don't remember it.

Driver was drunk, unlicensed, driving an unregistered vehicle, speeding, and ran a stop sign. He ended up going to jail, but because the police report noted he was on the right, the insurance companies deemed mum 50% at fault, so no car payout.

-------
A decade later, and now I'm driving home from work. About 500m short of my turnoff, an oncoming car comes out of a side street with their lights on high-beam. Blinded, I try and aim slightly to the left of their lights.

I didn't feel the first bump, but suddenly realised I was looking at the street lights....I felt the second one though - the car went from 50 to zero in about 4 inches.

I don't remember a great deal of what happened immediately after that, but apparently I climbed out the back door and ran across the road in front of traffic. Once I was on the lawn, I seem to have a crystal clear recollection.

There was a guy behind me in a ute who saw my tail-lights disappear as the car took off, then flip around as the car faceplanted on the next culvert.

The house I crashed outside of were having a bbq, and I remember the dad screaming at me for the keys, as the engine was going to blow, and then his teenage daughter sitting with me (sweet) until the ambulance finally came about an hour later.

By that time there was a fair crowd, a couple of mates had driven past and seen the car, so they told mum (all mums are the same, you know the panicky over-reactive type) who had called the police, the fire brigade - probably the army too.

I was in hospital for a few days due to internal bleeding and some other concerns - it wasn't until much later I realised why the hospital staff were all so nice to me, and kept sending me counselors to 'just chat about stuff' with. (Mum had told everyone I tried to kill myself. She even brought it up that way recently, "Do you remember when you tried to kill yourself"....ah what?)

Dad took a photo of the car, he was extremely impressed I managed to get the front wheels to touch the back ones, and still walk away. He told me later the police report said I was speeding, must have been travelling at least 90kph due to the distance covered in 'flight' and didn't brake before impact. (Note to investigator: Brakes don't work when the wheels aren't touching the ground. Note 2: That car couldn't do 90kph downhill on the highway, let alone in a built-up area).

-----------------------
A girlfriend had a horrible one on her motorbike, straight after a massive argument. I got a call from the manager to go into the staffroom, and he had the tv on. It was the lead article on the local news that night. Talking about an accident involving a semi-trailer and a motorcyclist, with vision from a chopper showing our store, then the vision zoomed in, and I recognised the colour of the bike pieces. My phone rang, and it was mum - "Turn on the news, now". I rang my gf's phone, but no answer. I left work, and walked out to the accident site, where I found her bracelet.

Suddenly my phone rang, it was her. I quickly answered, but it wasn't actually her, it was a nurse at the emergency department. "I think you need to come in urgently".

When I got to hospital, she was still in surgery, so they put me in the room where she'd been brought in. (Keep in mind this is ~3 hours after the accident). The floor was covered in blood, I could see half of her helmet on the floor along with a few strips of her leathers. There was also a whiteboard....

* Motorcycle accident victim
* Impact with rig, thrown clear
* Helmet split, neck brace - spinal fracture?
* Cranial Swelling
* Bleeding from ears
* Brain Haemmorage?
* 40m from impact zone, 25m slide
* Second impact with passing vehicle.
* Leg Femoral Artery?
* 24cm laceration RH leg
* Depressed Lung - 4+ ribs
* LH Elbow Dislocation
* RH Hip Dislocation
* RH Knee Dislocation
* Unconscious at scene
* Non-responsive
* Lots of numbers and letters I now know refer to blood pressure, heartbeat, etc.
* "Inform family"

After two hours of panicked immobility, a nurse finally came in to the room. She informed me that as no family had responded, and I wasn't married I had to wait outside.

After another few hours passed, the nurses wouldn't even tell me if she was still alive. Finally they asked me to help contact family.

I rang her mum (4 hours drive away, no car) - on bus 6am next morning. She told nurses to let me in as family. I rang sister (in America) - she booked flights next day, home in a week. I rang father (worked <5 minutes away) - couldn't be bothered coming in.

I sat in A&E until the next morning when they moved her to ICU, after an 11 hour surgery. A few days passed, the nurses kept changing, and bringing me food/water. Her sister arrived and it had been 4 days, I still hadn't left the hospital. I went home and slept for two days straight, then back to the hospital. I went from work to the hospital, stayed all night, then back to work. Eventually work told me not to come in.

She spent the next three weeks critical in an induced coma in ICU, and another few weeks after that before spending a month on the ward learning to walk again. Thankfully all she got from the accident was a new sense of purpose and outlook on life.

my ex smashed my VL every single pannel smashed in total write off l have pic's but were on taken on old school film dont have scanner.

l was driving to cricket training in another VL and some woman T boned me in her vovlo wagon.some woman called the cops fire & preetty much everything they all turned up it was silly.it was her fault but had wait ages for the insurance money that was in for vl's there bad luck.

some silly cow smashed into my door of my larry laser after all the bullshower it was her fault and got it fixed for nothing.

Would you recommend buying a VL?

simon_nesbit :eek: luckily all parties involved have been able to live to tell the tale.

for me, have only been involved in one. a friend was driving. we were out cruising i think, and we seen a fire truck race past us while we were sitting at lights and my friend at the time thought it would have been a good idea to chase it down to see where it was heading. of course when the lights changed, we had no idea where it went. but we went down some back street and ended up crashing into a small creek.

google link

this is going back 12 years or so, there was no bridge there at the time. and a week earlier some drunk fella smashed through the reflective fence to show the road had ended. so we were driving in pitch black and we had no idea it was a dead end because we could see street lights across the other side of the creek. as soon as my friend at the time had noticed the road had ended it was too late, as soon as the car hit the grass it just slid all the way.

car was a right off and i was laughing in hysterics over it for some reason. not sure why.

Had a head-on with a guy on a main road about 4-5 years ago. It was a winding road, and there was major roadworks going on so they'd marked and remarked the lines a bunch of times... pretty much every day the lanes would change.

When they remark lines they use that black stuff to paint over the old lines, and it gets really shiny under headlights in the wet. It was about 10pm and pissing down, and there were shiny lines everywhere. The guy was on his Ps and apparently had barely ever driven on the road before. He was completely confused and crossed over to the other side of the road, just veered straight into me, doing about 60.

My car spun and took out another car, all three were complete writeoffs. We were bloody lucky to all walk away unhurt.

we have all had little bingles in our life. I used to ride dirt bikes and rode on the back wheel everywhere, ppl used to comment that i would kill myself on my bike, i used to ride around like a real d@ickhead.

What got me tho was a drunk driver, i was a passenger in a datsun 120y and coming home from the local hangout we almost got to a railway crossing and this TOOL in a torana hit the crossing at an estimated 150kms went airbourne and landed on my side of the bonnet, i wore the engine on my legs and was smashed to smithereens. my mate got a broken nose (lucky bast ard).
I was in hospital for 3 months had so much reconstruction surgery on legs hands and face. This was when i was 19, i am now 46 and will never be the same. 2 years ago i had my knee replaced as it fell apart. I wont be a passenger in anyones car if i can help it cos i panic. For this reason i despise ppl who drink and drive and want to stab them in the face. i will suffer forever while he got a big fine. thats my rant over.