Carlton in the Media (articles, podcasts etc) - Part 2 (cont. in Part 3)

What did he say?

Pretty much what we all say.

The anti Carlton media are ok with Lynch going’s to the premiers, but as soon as it looks like Carlton will get something they sook up.

Made the point that we already have enough state league standard players. A state league draft not that helpful.

But expressed it all with great passion!

Sick of the media slaying us for having 13 first round picks playing on the weekend, they need to look a little deeper than just dishing up cheap journalism.
Murphy, Daisy, Lobbe (twilight of careers)
Lamb, Lang (hardly best 22)
H, CC, Dow, Lob, Marchy, SPS, Weits (under developed kids)
Cripps (Gun)

Just because you were a gun junior that doesn’t always translate to being a gun Afl player.
A la Jack Watts, O’rourke, Toumpas, Patton, McCartin the list goes on.

Then you’ll have players who develop later a la Sam Mitchell, Priddis, Swan, Rampe, Laird list goes on.

So once again just because Carlton have a number of first round picks journos assume we should be good, how about do some research!

The anti Carlton media are ok with Lynch going’s to the premiers, but as soon as it looks like Carlton will get something they sook up.

Made the point that we already have enough state league standard players. A state league draft not that helpful.

Is there any way to listen to it again lol

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Sick of the media slaying us for having 13 first round picks playing on the weekend, they need to look a little deeper than just dishing up cheap journalism.
Murphy, Daisy, Lobbe (twilight of careers)
Lamb, Lang (hardly best 22)
H, CC, Dow, Lob, Marchy, SPS, Weits (under developed kids)
Cripps (Gun)

Just because you were a gun junior that doesn’t always translate to being a gun Afl player.
A la Jack Watts, O’rourke, Toumpas, Patton, McCartin the list goes on.

Then you’ll have players who develop later a la Sam Mitchell, Priddis, Swan, Rampe, Laird list goes on.

So once again just because Carlton have a number of first round picks journos assume we should be good, how about do some research!

I wonder when some media guru will bag Hawthorns development for not bringing O’Rourke along?

The whole development argument spun by the media is so simplistic and basically flawed. Its flawed because we dont have a hard football dept salary cap which means all clubs spend the same amount. Bigger clubs spend more on their footy departments and ultimately bring on players at a quicker rate. Its why Eddie two chin Maguire hates it as it reduces one area they can use their financial muscle on.

The media generally is either incompetent or conflicted - I believe its the latter.

It's not breaking news, but Matthew Lloyd continues to have zero clue about anything Carlton related.

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2018-08-21/blues-key-talls-who-are-under-pressure

Speaks about 'stagnating Blues'

The list is SPS, Harry(???), Jack, Matt Kennedy and Weiters.

Weiters the only one who would even go close to being stagnating.

Idiot.

Lloyd/Cornes just make up shit to get attention - I wouldn't waste a second of my time listening to those attention seeking flogs.

That peckerhead Whateley continues to run his agenda , pathetically useing coaches from high placed clubs to do his bidding for him ...

Whateley follows the Cats.

Will we hear him say that Geelong shouldn't get Dahlaus for free??

I'd rather get a 26 year old Dahlhaus for free than a PP around pick 22 - but there you have it.

The hypocrisy is astounding.

The AFL have completely lost control of equalisation.

The Lloyds come from good stock. Dad John played for Carlton...

Maybe John started the 'pinch grass and drop it' routine to work out wind direction. But one time when Matt was a baby, John picked him up instead of grass and dropped him on his head? Just a theory.....but would explain a few things.

Heck of a player though (if you look past the sniping).

I think he's still suffering brain damage from all the times he dived to the ground after taking a mark.

I've posted this before, but again tonight on 3AW, Dwayne Russell, after bagging Carlton all year and going after Mark LoGuidice etc, now when talking about Priority Picks comes out with (paraphrasing) "Gold Coast deserve one because they are a mess but Carlton are kind of OK - they have a lot of good young talent, traditional Melbourne club who people would be happy to play for, and maybe bad this year with a view they will be good in 6 years !!.

Leigh Matthews as always the sensible one basically supports the extra picks saying 'you wouldn't want to be where Carlton are'

TDK's dad talking about Serge - hilarious!!!!

“Now this is a good story,” Terry explained. “My father, who’s passed away sadly, was mad Carlton. He had a trucking company which delivered groceries to Sergio Silvagni’s shop. In the holidays I used to follow Dad around on his runs and I used to love going into Serge’s because he’d always say ‘Go and get yourself a can of drink young fella’ - and Dad used to say to me ‘Serge must have liked you because he was always tight’.”

So we know where SOS got it from.............

I've posted this before, but again tonight on 3AW, Dwayne Russell, after bagging Carlton all year and going after Mark LoGuidice etc, now when talking about Priority Picks comes out with (paraphrasing) "Gold Coast deserve one because they are a mess but Carlton are kind of OK - they have a lot of good young talent, traditional Melbourne club who people would be happy to play for, and maybe bad this year with a view they will be good in 6 years !!.

Leigh Matthews as always the sensible one basically supports the extra picks saying 'you wouldn't want to be where Carlton are'

Dwayne is a fully fledged numbskull. I’ve said it before, if ever I win a massive lotto prize, I’m paying Fox Footy and 3AW not to employ him

So Dwayne has a problem with PP's (because they're free) but is happy for Port to get Motlop/Rockliffe for free and Cats to get Dahlhaus etc free.

Absolute flog!!!

Dwayne Russell trolls for a living.

Got to get this off my chest as was going to lose it on Twitter but thought better of it.

The thing that is frustrating me the most is journos and other clubs complaining about Carlton getting a priority pick because we have caused our own issues and due to bad drafting and development why is that every other clubs fault!?

Well what all these morons don't understand (Whateley, Russell, Scott brothers etc) is the AFL run a business based on making money, the AFL make nothing if Carlton can only get 16k people to a game of footy and are noncompetitive, then other clubs supporters also don't rock up to the footy assuming the game is going to be a fizzer and an easy win.

So to all these genius' who like to have their input on why Carlton shouldn't get a priority pick, its in the AFL's best interest if every club is at least competitive and vying for a top 8 spot so people actually want to go to the footy and broadcasters want to pay big bucks for 9 games a week.

Secondly, IF we are going to be given priority access to the mature age "talent" VFL, WAFL, SANFL etc prior to the draft then these players HAVE to be outside of the standard list, What happens if SOS has already mapped out his 44 players on the list? We should not be forced to take 2 players for the sake of the AFL experiment.

Lastly, all these oxygen thieves who want to have their say are missing the point as the following teams have received priority picks
West Coast x4
Hawks x3
Dees x3
Tigers x3
Saints x2
Dogs x2
Pies
Freo
Crows
Swans

Got to get this off my chest as was going to lose it on Twitter but thought better of it.

The thing that is frustrating me the most is journos and other clubs complaining about Carlton getting a priority pick because we have caused our own issues and due to bad drafting and development why is that every other clubs fault!?

Well what all these morons don't understand (Whateley, Russell, Scott brothers etc) is the AFL run a business based on making money, the AFL make nothing if Carlton can only get 16k people to a game of footy and are noncompetitive, then other clubs supporters also don't rock up to the footy assuming the game is going to be a fizzer and an easy win.

So to all these genius' who like to have their input on why Carlton shouldn't get a priority pick, its in the AFL's best interest if every club is at least competitive and vying for a top 8 spot so people actually want to go to the footy and broadcasters want to pay big bucks for 9 games a week.

Secondly, IF we are going to be given priority access to the mature age "talent" VFL, WAFL, SANFL etc prior to the draft then these players HAVE to be outside of the standard list, What happens if SOS has already mapped out his 44 players on the list? We should not be forced to take 2 players for the sake of the AFL experiment.

Lastly, all these oxygen thieves who want to have their say are missing the point as the following teams have received priority picks
West Coast x4
Hawks x3
Dees x3
Tigers x3
Saints x2
Dogs x2
Pies
Freo
Crows
Swans
Good post and well researched. I don't want one but I respect others that do!