VFL Carlton Reserves 2025

I hope he turns it around because he absolutely has the talent. But I, along with others were saying this all through his draft year.

He's the biggest tease going around. I'd give him another year to try and prove himself but I don't see it coming together in 12 months.

That's what I see too. A whole bag of tricks but just not enough of the meat and potatoes you need to make it.

Lots of kids have it the other way around. I think Ollie Hollands is an all you can eat buffet of meat and potatoes and he's only now learning some tricks. But you can't make it work the other way (playing guys with tricks but no substance)..

In basketball you'd see guys like Moir and they'd become street legends - highlight reels that blow your mind. In footy they're just guys who weren't good enough despite all the tricks.

I really hope McInnes and co can work it out and he puts in the insane work load that it'll take to make it work.

That's what I see too. A whole bag of tricks but just not enough of the meat and potatoes you need to make it.

Lots of kids have it the other way around. I think Ollie Hollands is an all you can eat buffet of meat and potatoes and he's only now learning some tricks. But you can't make it work the other way (playing guys with tricks but no substance)..

In basketball you'd see guys like Moir and they'd become street legends - highlight reels that blow your mind. In footy they're just guys who weren't good enough despite all the tricks.

I really hope McInnes and co can work it out and he puts in the insane work load that it'll take to make it work.
Needs a friendly arm wrapped around his shoulders.

“Mate, you are a great guy, we love having you around. We are in awe of what you can do on the track, skills off the charts”
Then tightening grip with significant thumb pressure “if you don’t get your finger out, we won’t have you around much longer. You have a contract for another season and a half, if you can’t impact for a full game, you won’t be here beyond that contract. If you play to your potential, the club is screaming for an x-factor forward, make a spot your own and you will be negotiating a sizeable contract. If you keep cruising, you will be back in the SANFL trying to earn enough to get by and eyeing off a day job. The ball is in your court. You can’t flip a switch in one off season, you have to start building, NOW.”

I still don't believe that half back is his best position. Even at U18 level, he blossomed once he was played in the midfield, winning the Rays B&F ahead of their other mids DeMattia and Simpson.

His frame still looks slight to currently play the midfield role at AFL level, but I'm hoping he gets the opportunity to play in the position we drafted him in the first place.
I think he's a quality winger waiting to happen, but I think the club were personally enamoured with the impact he had as part of Dandenong's centre square setup.

I don't think he's an outright on-baller, merely someone who can burst through if someone else puts on a block or puts him into space.

“Mate, you are a great guy, we love having you around. We are in awe of what you can do on the track, skills off the charts”
Then tightening grip with significant thumb pressure “if you don’t get your finger out, we won’t have you around much longer. You have a contract for another season and a half, if you can’t impact for a full game, you won’t be here beyond that contract. If you play to your potential, the club is screaming for an x-factor forward, make a spot your own and you will be negotiating a sizeable contract. If you keep cruising, you will be back in the SANFL trying to earn enough to get by and eyeing off a day job. The ball is in your court. You can’t flip a switch in one off season, you have to start building, NOW.”
I am probably misquoting Soapy V here. But a few weeks go he said something along the lines of attitude and work ethic not being a problem. Maybe Moir simply doesn’t have the capability to build a tank?

Maybe have a chat with Troy Menzel how it all pans out, when the AFL career isn’t fulfilled off your given ability (he also had a 2nd chance, you are unlikely to receive).

Troy Menzel was the ultimate example of leading a horse to water but not being able to force it to drink.

Both Carlton and Adelaide threw everything at him to make it work, but it just never came together.

If Moir’s problem isn’t about his attitude or work ethic, as some reckon, then the recruiters need to cop a good, hard look in the mirror about how they’re sizing up talent.

IMO, a decent endurance base should be non-negotiable for any AFL draft prospect. If a player’s nowhere near having the tank, they shouldn’t even be in the conversation for a national draft pick. Save it for a rookie pick.

But that's just my 2c.

Troy Menzel was the ultimate example of leading a horse to water but not being able to force it to drink.

Both Carlton and Adelaide threw everything at him to make it work, but it just never came together.

If Moir’s problem isn’t about his attitude or work ethic, as some reckon, then the recruiters need to cop a good, hard look in the mirror about how they’re sizing up talent.

IMO, a decent endurance base should be non-negotiable for any AFL draft prospect. If a player’s nowhere near having the tank, they shouldn’t even be in the conversation for a national draft pick. Save it for a rookie pick.

But that's just my 2c.
Provided there's no clear - and correctable - medical reason, sure.

A kid could have broken his leg twice in 18 months and lack a gallop, but could be worth a rookie pick.

Surely Motlop has made it down from Marvel for the game. He did nothing in the seniors. He would be fresh as a daisy. Binns should be playing too. Wasted as the sub
Rowston was the GWS sub and he played for their reserves so why didn’t Binns play for us? Is this yet another sign of us being behind the game in terms of player development?

Provided there's no clear - and correctable - medical reason, sure.

A kid could have broken his leg twice in 18 months and lack a gallop, but could be worth a rookie pick.

I don't mind if it's a rookie pick. That's where you can take gambles. If it doesn't pan out then it's more of a nothing ventured nothing gained scenario. Not the national draft - certainly your top selection - where your club is depending on you to improve the list.

Rowston was the GWS sub and he played for their reserves so why didn’t Binns play for us? Is this yet another sign of us being behind the game in terms of player development?

We played VFL at 4:05pm on Saturday. AFL game finished at or around a little after 3pm, team cooldown and talks, etc. means he probably wouldn't have gotten to Ikon Park until after the game had started.

GWS played their VFL game today.

A bit unfair.

i reckon Ashton Moir been showing some classy aspects to his game last 3 or 4 weeks, i was considering whether he would get a call up to seniors soon...
Maybe we play him in a full forward role and play Harry and Charlie higher? Connection is our weakness, so... Perhaps getting our better players up the ground covers this up to the point where we win a few more games.

A good idea. I've been thinking that Charlie could be played at CHB ala Kouta in 1997.

Both Curnow and McKay could be played in defence and be elite players. McKay should be the best forward/ruck in the game...

Either or both would be amazing in a side that has been built well.

Neither are anywere near what is wrong with out side.

Put McKay and Curnow in Collingwood's team and they would not lose a game this year.

But that's just my 2c.

This has been my concern since day one. Can't question his training, attitude or efforts to improve. Not about that

As I said when he was drafted. A couple of top recruiters/managers said he doesn't have it to play AFL. Many said rookie at best. Austin rated him Top 5.

This has been my concern since day one. Can't question his training, attitude or efforts to improve. Not about that

As I said when he was drafted. A couple of top recruiters/managers said he doesn't have it to play AFL. Many said rookie at best. Austin rated him Top 5.
this isn't the thread for it please but allow me the last word - he was pick 29, risk/reward territory

But that's just my 2c.
well. Yes. It's also how we got Cripps though.... 'fatty doesn't have the tank'

Both Curnow and McKay could be played in defence and be elite players. McKay should be the best forward/ruck in the game...

Either or both would be amazing in a side that has been built well.

Neither are anywere near what is wrong with out side.

Put McKay and Curnow in Collingwood's team and they would not lose a game this year.
Curnow doesn’t chase or apply pressure, add the multiple knee injuries & management, that doesn’t stack up for playing as a defender…

Sure he looks good when sent down as a spare man for the last handful of minutes to protect a lead, players of his quality as a forwad should be kept there for their ability to dominate or win a game off their own boot…

Wow top 5 that’s insane, absolutely nowhere near it, imo was lucky to be taken where he was..

What’s our actual recruiting team doing as far as identifying not only the talent but all the other traits and non negotiables that should be part of the overall equation…

DVR II.

We're in love with the idea of what Ashton Moir could be. The reality just isn't there.

Given I liked your post I obviously agree but I would give him next year (this is only his second) to see what he can do with it. Just turned 21 and the HP staff will have enough data to know if fitness is improving well enough year on year.

However if he hasn't stepped it up measurably and isn't getting games next season then it's time to move on.

Given I liked your post I obviously agree but I would give him next year (this is only his second) to see what he can do with it. Just turned 21 and the HP staff will have enough data to know if fitness is improving well enough year on year.

However if he hasn't stepped it up measurably and isn't getting games next season then it's time to move on.

what if the data says he hasn't improved this year? Would you keep him for another year?

I am probably misquoting Soapy V here. But a few weeks go he said something along the lines of attitude and work ethic not being a problem. Maybe Moir simply doesn’t have the capability to build a tank?

It's a fair point, some people just can't build meaningful running endurance. You can hide in junior sport and get away with pure talent but you will always be found out when transitioning into the adult equivalent.

It would be great to see him make it as he has that natural goal sense that virtually no one else in our squad has but time should be running out for him and the club needs to ensure it doesn't cling to what might be for too long.

VFL Carlton Reserves 2025