Carlton v Hawthorn Vent Thread.

Enjoyed some nice surf and s**t weather up at Byron this week. Did Carton play agaisnt anyone? Did I miss anything?

Judging by performance on field since Eendon debacle - I woud hazard a gues that

1. One of our more talented players would have been bashed and no Carlton player did anything. Another of our bettr players didn't pay and another tall defender got injured.
2. We probbaly lots by more than 6 goals - and game was over by mid 3rd quarter.
3. Carrazzo, Robinson and Judd were our best and Watson showed enormous composure - but had no one to kick to. Armfield Ellard and Joseph tried their best ad did an ok job playing on blokes twice their size. Bootsma got rag dolled about 50 times.
4. McLean looked busy but slower than slow trying to justify his extravagantly ridiculous pay check. Gibbs was wasted (again) in defense and didnt cop a tackle himself all game - as he cleverly worked out how to ditch off the ball to someone - anyone - anytime - usually sidewards or back
5. Walker was played in midfield because we don't need someone who can mark and kick a goal. Gartlett missed three sitters and was generally looking like skinny weedy useless but very very fast joke. Yarran looked good and did nothing.
6. Hampson took no more than one mark - Megan G looked absorbingly stunning. Kruezer kept confirming he can no longer run or jump. Wartnock played with pea heart no brain and delivered beautiful taps to the opposition.
7. Ratten looked like a rabbit in spotlights and said that CFC were improving all the time.

Have I missed anything ??- apart from the usual every day posters seething at any criticism of anything and anyone who dare suggest that CFC is being run by a bunch of second rate coaches and assistant staff - making notes and getting their sharp verbal swords ready for during the week paybacks?

This CFC weekly drama is a tragedy of epic proportions and epic fail after epic fail - week in week out- and y it can and will get worse from here.

Enjoyed some nice surf and s**t weather up at Byron this week. Did Carton play agaisnt anyone? Did I miss anything?

Judging by performance on field since Eendon debacle - I woud hazard a gues that

1. One of our more talented players would have been bashed and no Carlton player did anything. Another of our bettr players didn't pay and another tall defender got injured.
2. We probbaly lots by more than 6 goals - and game was over by mid 3rd quarter.
3. Carrazzo, Robinson and Judd were our best and Watson showed enormous composure - but had no one to kick to. Armfield Ellard and Joseph tried their best ad did an ok job playing on blokes twice their size. Bootsma got rag dolled about 50 times.
4. McLean looked busy but slower than slow trying to justify his extravagantly ridiculous pay check. Gibbs was wasted (again) in defense and didnt cop a tackle himself all game - as he cleverly worked out how to ditch off the ball to someone - anyone - anytime - usually sidewards or back
5. Walker was played in midfield because we don't need someone who can mark and kick a goal. Gartlett missed three sitters and was generally looking like skinny weedy useless but very very fast joke. Yarran looked good and did nothing.
6. Hampson took no more than one mark - Megan G looked absorbingly stunning. Kruezer kept confirming he can no longer run or jump. Wartnock played with pea heart no brain and delivered beautiful taps to the opposition.
7. Ratten looked like a rabbit in spotlights and said that CFC were improving all the time.

Have I missed anything ??- apart from the usual every day posters seething at any criticism of anything and anyone who dare suggest that CFC is being run by a bunch of second rate coaches and assistant staff - making notes and getting their sharp verbal swords ready for during the week paybacks?

This CFC weekly drama is a tragedy of epic proportions and epic fail after epic fail - week in week out- and y it can and will get worse from here.
Jamo hurt again

hey guys, not here to cause any probs, all clubs have gone through their bad patches and i know how hard it is to be a passionate fan when alot is expected of your team (hawks 02, 03, 09, 10)
one thing i have noticed the last few weeks, and it was brought up on radio after the game on friday night was mitch robinson. not one of my faves, but i love the way he plays the game. his attack on the ball is reckless, it is ferocious, its all or nothing.
but do you believe he stands out at carlton cause he is the only one that does it?? he thrives on the collision of bodies and winning the impossible ball. if you look at hawks, cats, pies i would say their are minimum 5-6 players in each of these sides that play like that. as a hawks man myself, mitchell, lewis, shiels, gibson, sewell, hodge, guerra all pop into my mind straight away when thinking of that all or nothing, body on the line attack on the footy and the man with the footy.
at carlton, judd definitely does, robinson does.....but are there any others? i might be completely wrong, but i cant think of any. dont misunderstand this as a question of courage or anything like that, this is an inbuilt way players attack the footy. some jog along, some wait for the footy, some tread water, and some just hit it at full pace and dont care whats in their way, like robinson. for me, this is a major area the blues need to look at.

hey guys, not here to cause any probs, all clubs have gone through their bad patches and i know how hard it is to be a passionate fan when alot is expected of your team (hawks 02, 03, 09, 10)
one thing i have noticed the last few weeks, and it was brought up on radio after the game on friday night was mitch robinson. not one of my faves, but i love the way he plays the game. his attack on the ball is reckless, it is ferocious, its all or nothing.
but do you believe he stands out at carlton cause he is the only one that does it?? he thrives on the collision of bodies and winning the impossible ball. if you look at hawks, cats, pies i would say their are minimum 5-6 players in each of these sides that play like that. as a hawks man myself, mitchell, lewis, shiels, gibson, sewell, hodge, guerra all pop into my mind straight away when thinking of that all or nothing, body on the line attack on the footy and the man with the footy.
at carlton, judd definitely does, robinson does.....but are there any others? i might be completely wrong, but i cant think of any. dont misunderstand this as a question of courage or anything like that, this is an inbuilt way players attack the footy. some jog along, some wait for the footy, some tread water, and some just hit it at full pace and dont care whats in their way, like robinson. for me, this is a major area the blues need to look at.
you listen and steal your stuff from the radio/tv too much

not at all. an observation myself and a mate made watching blues vs west coast. robinson didnt have a great game, but his attack was the same as usual. i think my mate pretty much said 'is he the only hard player they have??'
of course he isnt, but no other player at the blues attacks the ball like he does. as a hawks man, and my mate as a cats fan, we have a pretty good examples of that attack on the ball week in week out, and it stood out to us that at carlton, its not the same.

not at all. an observation myself and a mate made watching blues vs west coast. robinson didnt have a great game, but his attack was the same as usual. i think my mate pretty much said 'is he the only hard player they have??'
of course he isnt, but no other player at the blues attacks the ball like he does. as a hawks man, and my mate as a cats fan, we have a pretty good examples of that attack on the ball week in week out, and it stood out to us that at carlton, its not the same.
weird that I heard a commentator say what you posted almost verbatim. Hmm Ellard got a few hits v Haw. Army never flinches. Duigs-replay those contested marks. Was Yaz carrying a bandage around his head? Bleeding from what a mozi bite?
Robbo is brave. Some players should be braver. But Robbo is NOT the only one. Go away now!

How many Carlton players have played well every week?

I reckon Heath Scotland has been pretty good most weeks if not every week. Hendo had been pretty good each week before he got injured and I would probably throw simmo in there as well.

Apart from those 3 blokes the rest are either horribly out of form, too inconsistent or too busy worrying about their hair (see gibbs).

Whilst you can blame the players for some of our past performances this year, this argument is being revealed as flawed as the season progresses.
What I saw on the field on Friday was for the most part, everyone giving it their all. The team never went into their shell despite being 500 points down. They gave everything until the end. It wasn't just Simpson, Judd and Robinson coming off the ground absolutely spent, it was most of the team. This is good to see.

Unfortunately, they can only play to a gameplan as directed and they can only kick the ball to players who are in front of them in the position they are being told to play.
Watching Hawthorn move the ball by foot was a mixed emotion of beauty and frustration.

Hawthorn, hitting a target end to end on a kickout is not sheer skill and amazing class (it has some elements of it), it's mostly structures. Yet, we can't seem to be able to find a loose man coming out of defence to save ourselves. Why on earth did we start the game playing with the brilliant 'press the entire team into the third tier of the MCC' strategy when our backline consisted of Jamieson + the Yarrawonga Under12 reserves team.

I like the idea of Garlett off the bench. At least if you only get 3 possessions a game you may as well just get them in half a game, rather than a full game.

Whilst alot of problems don't solely come from Ratten, the buck still stops with him. Happy to see a fresh approach start soon. Get a bunch of new brains/eyes to see our club from a different perspective. It doesn't take 10 years like people seem to think.

Very average teams like Adelaide and Essendon just debunked the whole 'rebuilding process' taking huge amounts of time to occur. If you have staff that are good enough and you recruit the right people, you get shit done.

I thought Garlett was alright on Friday. He had 4 shots on goal in a half of football. Yes he hit the post and missed an easy one, but he could of easily had 4 goals to his name. If he gets a bit of luck and polishes up on his shots on goal I feel he is not far away from turning his form around.

Unfortunately that is what he is most consistent at from the late part of 2011 and this year.... not taking his chances, misses too many regulation goals.

Yeah he has been wasting alot of chances, but for some reason I just get a feeling its going to 'click' for him. Don't have much to base that on except for a gut feel.

When him and Betts are on our forward line is so much more dangerous. Our forward structure has just fallen to bits this year. Last year we played most of the year without a tall forward so I don't think we can blame not having a tall forward this year for our problems.

he could of easily had 4 goals to his name. If he gets a bit of luck and polishes up on his shots on goal I feel he is not far away from turning his form around.

The club keep saying this every week that his form will turn around. It hasn't. I'd send him back to the 2s to learn that senior footy isn't about getting in the highlights reel each week for a sublime goal.

He's far too casual when kicking for goal. Even that one that Mitch helped on its way was a 'cute' dribble along the grass. I haven't checked the stats but he would probably hit the post more than any other player - that's not bad luck but rather not playing the percentages. Did you see that one he looped from 30m out, turned to celebrate and then looked aggrieved that a Hawthorn player had rushed it through? Cut out the lazy rubbish and kick the ball so it sails above the goal umpire's hat!

Jeff deserves to be in our best 22 but we can't keep playing him in the hopes that this will be the week his 'magic' finally clicks. Let him accumulate 25 possessions on a wing for a couple of weeks at Preston and dominate the opposition through his renewed tenacity at the contest. He has the potential to be far more damaging than 6-14 cameos a week on a HFF.

Where are our talls?

See Franklin, roughhead, Gunston, Breust out there tonight providing a structure.

Where are our talls guys?

Oh thats right, we have a plethora of mid sized half back flankers, so mannnnny it defies belief.

But hey, you guys all know about trading and structure dont you.

How does it go, we need mids, more half back flankers, and hell, while we are at it, why dont we use a number 1 pick as a tagger and pay him 500k per year.

We also have our 1st 2nd 3rd and 4th choice forward all injured, We should sack someone for not being able to make a player out a clay. Thank Christ people like this poster have nothing to do with the club.

So, adapt the ****ing gameplan then. You still have the same amount of people on the field. They all have legs, they can all run and for the most part they can all kick and mark a ball. If you go through each season just hoping that player x will play position x for the entire season, its never going to get you anywhere.

Look at Collingwood. Some pretty ordinary footballers playing for a purpose.

At present we would have more luck playing all of our short-quick forwards in the 50 and grubbering the ball into either a stoppage or open space. Playing average ruckmen as very average forwards time after time will get you very average results.

We should sack someone for not being able to make a player out a clay.

Tommy Hafey managed it.

Dick%20Clay%20lge.jpg

Walker needs to be playing as a permanent fwd. He had his best season at the club at FF, so needs to stay there. Get Thornton in the fwd line as well and we might be able to kick a few goals.

Carlton v Hawthorn Vent Thread.