Carlton vs Adelaide

Actually today was the second week in a row we didn't concede 100 points. Sure Melbourne are struggling, but the Collingwood forward line of Rocca, Cloke, Medhurst, Thomas, Davis was apparently going to be too good for our inexperienced defence, but they only managed 88 points, a final score that was inflated by 2 goals in junk time. Our defence is still a work in progress, but they are only going to get better in the coming weeks/months, not worse.

CHF has almost become a non-existant position on the field. Even your own team don't have a true CHF (don't even mention McGregor or Burton). Nowadays teams are more inclined to have one high quality KP forward & then rotate ruckmen & HFFs across the HF line, pushing up towards the wing.

2 games out of 27 congratulations :thumbsu:

CHF, not so much an issue at TD, however, IMO a must at the MCG against quality opposition

The reason we have no CHF at present is because both Gill and Hentchel are either injured or returning from injury

the issue your tram faces without a quality CHF is Bock will run and collect possessions at will, Macca and Johncock will work off Bock all day :)

with Judd and 3 x #1 draft picks in your midfield their is no doubt that your on ball division is stacked with young potential

however

before you can stake such a claim, lets see players like Murphy and Gibbs deliver week in week out at the same level as other elite midfielders over a long journey

you obviously do not rate Hawthorn's midfield with Hodge, Sewell, Mitchell, Crawford, Lewis

If your midfield was ranked #2 tou would be in the top 4 right now
yes hawthorn's is superb 4got about them :)

I am not doubting that, all I am saying, he is yet to play consistently ar a high level over the journey for one reason or another

the way crows fans pump up the likes of van berlo etc. hadley is easily as good. i'd rate him better.

this whole discussion about our team, and our holes at ruck and CHF, ignores the crows deficiencies. Rucks are average, probably a nil all draw there. and your forwards are average. If we stop goodwin we can win. If not.. we'll lose.

2 games out of 27 congratulations :thumbsu:

CHF, not so much an issue at TD, however, IMO a must at the MCG against quality opposition

The reason we have no CHF at present is because both Gill and Hentchel are either injured or returning from injury

the issue your tram faces without a quality CHF is Bock will run and collect possessions at will, Macca and Johncock will work off Bock all day :)

There will be plenty of passengers in your team this weekend so we won't need to worry too much about Blockhead et al.

Blues by 3 goals for me.

really looking forward to this match. should be a good indicator of how much better we've gotten since round 1 (which i think is a fair bit).

Adelaide's defence is great, but with Fev on fire and Fish hopefully lifting his output along with Harts at CHF we should have a crack hopefully.

Our defence has once again got to standup and deliver like the last 2 games.

I think we have the midfield covered - Adelaide's rucks are on par with us if im not mistaken. Stevens and Carrazzo need to lift their game though.

What a joke. Why would it have been to the advantage of the forwards; he was taking a shot on goal. He can kick it 55 metres and that’s where he took the shot from, he had EVERY right to go back and take a shot.

And Fev spewing at him for not passing? Yeah, Fev’s one to talk. :rolleyes:

Wow you're still creaming your pants over Pfieffer and defending him at every opportunity? He's not at Norwood anymore mate - get over it.

FWIW I agree with the Carlton fans it was stupid by Darren.

As for the game .. if we stop Fev, we'll win fairly easily .. if not, it could go either way.

... As for the game .. if we stop Fev, we'll win fairly easily .. if not, it could go either way.

More like if you stop Fev it'll go either way, if not you'll get blown away. I agree Fev has been dominating the goal kicking, but as a FF that's his job. The Crows don't have any KP forward within 3 light years of Fevs talent. The Blues midfield is lot stronger, and our defense has tightened up a lot. The Crows might not have much list talent, but their preparation, and ultra-disciplined gameplan is their strength. Blues by 40-50 points. :)

of course you might be right with the result, although why you cant beat Richmond/Essendon and beat Melbourne by 4 goals but flog us is a little unclear to me.

Goodwin not a true key forward of course but a clearly superior overall player than Fevola I'm sure you'd agree

Not much list talent, really?? Just because we havent had access to 30 top 2 picks doesnt mean we cant find and develop talent. You cannot by the way (Carazzo one exception)

because I think

Mcleod, Goodwin, Edwards, Thompson, Rutten, Bock, Johncock, Bassett, Burton can occ play an ok game

questions

1. If your team is so good why 5 wins from last 28 games? Just foxing?
2. Has Fevola played 4 good games in a row in his career?
3. Do you really think your midfield is stronger than ours? Ours runs a lot deeper. Judd clearly the pick of both sides, but we've got

Thompson, Goodwin, Edwards, Porps, Knights, Van Berlo, Doughty, Vince, Douglas (Reilly injured)

Not all champions but extends to 10 players. Mcleod can pop in there if needed, he goes ok. Nearly the equal of Eddie Betts actually

If your midfield is so good, and your forward line so great, perhaps the last 6 years have just been an aberration? I'm sure the tide is turning at Carlton but.....This quickly? Is everybody that beats the mighty Dees by 28 points automatically a great side, or just very good?

Out Ohailpin,Bentick
In, Hartlett,Gibbs

JR (has been getting better)
Fyfe (has been looking ok)
Grigg (was good against pies,just needs more matches into him)
are all safe

I think we will win this one by 3-4 goals.

questions

3. Do you really think your midfield is stronger than ours? Ours runs a lot deeper. Judd clearly the pick of both sides, but we've got

New team, new coach this year. Last year is irrelevant. IMO ALL of our games this year have been well below our capability, and hence disappointing. We should be 5 wins, 0 losses. But we're improving nicely. Fev played a whole good season in a row and won the Coleman - start watching footy. Your midfield is average. Comparing your midfield to the Blues midfield talent is pointless and a waste of time. The Crows H&A "success" has relied on sport-science techniques and a disciplined, albeit boring gameplan, to offset a lack of list talent. An effective strategy for the H&A, but keeps getting exposed at finals time when only talent matters. :)

*facepalm*

Please, do not use DT points as an indicator of a player's ability. It might interest you to know Fev averaged 4 DT points in his first couple games, and then 45 in the season after that.

Tippett is a very good young forward prospect for the Crows - one of the few good talls they've had in recent memory (apart from Henschtel, who was decent before getting injured).

Beat me to it...

Fev loves the open spaces at the 'G, and is some red hot form. Judd is getting back to his best, and Waite is killing them off half back.

I agree that we need some presence off half back, and would like to see Hartlett bought back into the team for this very reason. Carlos is sadly out of form, and needs some time in the 2's to recapture his touch.

If Carlton can somehow limit Mcleods effectiveness across HB, this will go along way in Carlton collecting the 4 points.

of course you might be right with the result, although why you cant beat Richmond/Essendon and beat Melbourne by 4 goals but flog us is a little unclear to me.

Goodwin not a true key forward of course but a clearly superior overall player than Fevola I'm sure you'd agree

Not much list talent, really?? Just because we havent had access to 30 top 2 picks doesnt mean we cant find and develop talent. You cannot by the way (Carazzo one exception)

because I think

Mcleod, Goodwin, Edwards, Thompson, Rutten, Bock, Johncock, Bassett, Burton can occ play an ok game

questions

Thompson, Goodwin, Edwards, Porps, Knights, Van Berlo, Doughty, Vince, Douglas (Reilly injured)

Not all champions but extends to 10 players. Mcleod can pop in there if needed, he goes ok. Nearly the equal of Eddie Betts actually

If your midfield is so good, and your forward line so great, perhaps the last 6 years have just been an aberration? I'm sure the tide is turning at Carlton but.....This quickly? Is everybody that beats the mighty Dees by 28 points automatically a great side, or just very good?

Dont remember the game at Aami were fev kicked that sealer on the 50 meter line right on the boundy ? we cant beat you;s even with that side we had 2 years ago from memory were a much stronger unit now then than

A winnable game no doubt but we really need to get our backline on top of their forwards from the beginning of the game, and no lapses in concentration.

In: Gibbs, Hartlett
Out: Bentick, O'hAilpin

Gibbs is a no-brainer, and Bentick will make way. Either he's not fit or the club just doesn't think he's up to it at the moment because he played something like 44% of the game yesterday.

Setanta, whilst putting in an improved effort on the weekend, still seems to be a way off his best. Harts dominated in the first half for the Bullants and has been very solid the last few weeks. Will give us a nice, strong option on the half forward line.

Would be extremely disappointing to see Banno out of the team due to injury. He has been very good this season, and is really confident with his game and it would be a huge shame for him to lose that. If he is out, not really sure who would come in to replace him. We could see Jackson brought in to play as a tagger, or we could see the introduction of someone like Browne. If Bannister plays I wouldn't mind him lining up on Goodwin :thumbsu:

There is no need to bring Hampson in to the side. I wouldn't exactly call Adelaide's rucks a strong point of theirs at the moment, so Kreuzer and Cloke should be able to compete with them, and probably beat them. No harm in bringing Hammo back through the Bullants.

Fev loves the open spaces at the 'G, and is some red hot form. Judd is getting back to his best, and Waite is killing them off half back.

That's true. But we can't forget that this week he's coming up against one of, if not the best defensive group in the AFL. Not sure on their previous duals, but Rutten is a great defender and will provide Fev with a lot stronger competition than someone like Harry O'Brien and Nathan Carroll. Having said that, with the form Fev is in at the moment, I guess anything is possible.

I agree that we need some presence off half back, and would like to see Hartlett bought back into the team for this very reason. Carlos is sadly out of form, and needs some time in the 2's to recapture his touch.

I agree that Carlos is out of form and Harts should come in for him, but it would be ridiculous if he was played down back. Harts has been excellent over the last few weeks up forward for the Bullants so if we bring him in it will be to provide us with another option up forward, not to steady us down back.

If Carlton can somehow limit Mcleods effectiveness across HB, this will go along way in Carlton collecting the 4 points.

McLeod is no doubt one of the keys to Adelaide's potency. A brilliant rebounder out of defense, we really need to keep a close eye on him. If Houlihan was fit I would have no hesitation in saying that he would go straight to McLeod, because he has been very effective at times playing as a defensive half forward. After the job that he did on Heath Shaw 2 weeks ago, it wouldn't surprise me if we put Grigg on McLeod. Dangerous, obviously, but it would be interesting to see if Grigga can back up his good performance.

We also need to be very mindful of Johncock who can easily step up a level or two if McLeod is being well held. I'd like to see Carrots go to him from the start of the match.

The key to the blues winning this game will be a defence if it can keep ADE to under 100 points they have done there job.

For the midfield it will be Judd, Murphy, Scotland and i reckon Simpson on the wing.

Fev needs support from Fisher and Betts just simply because fev is playin on a good FB in Rutten, so if Fisher can kick 3-4 and Betts 2-3 the blues should win for my mind

Dont remember the game at Aami were fev kicked that sealer on the 50 meter line right on the boundy ? we cant beat you;s even with that side we had 2 years ago from memory were a much stronger unit now then than

so 1 game 4 years ago sudenly is an example of why you can win? Why not add your 81 GF team to the discussion, they are about equally relevant. Do you think Mike Fitzpatrick will win the ruck? What about the wins we've had over you in 02,03,05X 2, 06 07 then?

By the way that was a great result for us. We were stagnant under Ayres, led to his sacking, come on in Craigy. God bless you Fev, your next beer (probably tomorrow night) is on me

People judging us on our past few seasons, please take into account:

Judd
Stevens
Hadley
Jamison
Bower
Pfeiffer
Gibbs' improvement
Murphy's improvement
Grigg
Kreuzer
Cloke
Waite permanent CHB

This is a totally different team, we are starting from fresh.

We have a totally different game plan, totally different starting 22, as well as factoring in continued development over the preseason from young guns like Murph and Gibbs.

Any team with Chris Judd and Brendan Fevola will be a chance to beat anyone.

Stupid post.

That's just like saying any team with McLeod & Goodwin will be a chance to beat anyone. Or Cornes & Tredrea ... Bell & Pavlich ... Cox & Kerr .. the list goes on.

Fev is a gun but it's only round 5 - this form has only been going a few weeks, and to be honest, even though he kicked 7 goals, don't think he was in Carlton's top 5 players on Sunday.

Carlton vs Adelaide