LA Lakers
Judd must lift his game off the field

Clearly, the club saw a deficiency when it changed its leadership training model and enlisted Ray McLean's Leading Teams - an organisation that ran a training camp for Carlton in Sorrento in early December. Then came the booze cruise and what has followed, it must be said, has been some worrying mixed messages and too much defensive buck-passing.

And just as no one stood up to Fevola on Brownlow night, no one appeared willing or able to intervene on behalf of the intoxicated Levi Casboult on the December boat trip. Nor did any senior player ensure that the likes of Betts was seen safely home. This, despite being a booze cruise designed to teach players to look out for each other.
Judd must lift his game off the field

:thumbsd: Caro

I don't know why, but I find nothing wrong with her Article.
She does make a few good points there. Besides, opinions are like a**holes, everyone is entitled to one.
what I find the best point of her article is what I have highlighted below

One excuse for staging the boat trip was that it had been a regular fixture on the calendar for close to a decade. Another was that young Casboult was not force-fed alcohol and that the senior player handcuffed to him did nothing wrong. Interestingly though, no one is prepared to name that senior player and the man in question has not had the guts to publicly raise his hand.

Why is it that no "senior player" has ever been mentioned?
I could possibly tell you why but I do not know if it is heresay or whatever but I do have good info from a 25year+ member of the carlton football club who actually saw the players board that boad & does know who that "senior player" is.
Me knowing what I have been told, it explains a lot..... but I will not post it on here as It has not been confirmed ....as I said if it is true, deffinitely explains a lot.

Nothing more than a well timed hatchet job from a well known **** wit. The bad news has died down after some good news with the Mars sponsorship and the intra club game and she wasn't having that, not with us playing the Tigers in round one.

What the **** would she know about Judd's leadership, or leadership at all apart from her "Thourtheth" on BigFooty.

MAN!!

just read the article.....

You would think with all the other off season Bullshit that has been going on, that this was well and truly dead and buried.....

What a nothing story.

Wilson continues to mark her name to pieces of rubbish, that have no relevance in todays football.

I suppose she was all up for writing a piece on her beloved Tigers and how well Hardwick was taking to the job, but scrapped that after the first half of last night. I think she figured out that this season is going to be worse than last, and that Hardwick will not have a job at the end of 2011~

Go do something useful with your time you trollop....

What a piece of shit.

34gqyci.jpg

So let me get this straight, Caro finds Levi's piss drinking game more appalling and tarnishing to our great game than rooting someone whilst their asleep without permission, bashing a cabby at hungry jacks, and trafficing drugs.
Wow, she must be a real bogan, and must obviously partake in these aforementioned activities, and believes they are well placed in society.

Well Happy Valentines Day Caro, I hope your man friend gave you one greek style this morning, whilst bashing a cabby and racking up some chalk off your big backside!:thumbsu:

The start of the article says it all; Our misdemeanours are totally of context in comparison v other incidents mentioned. Overblown tripe from someone that gets too much exposure for the garbage that she produces.
Nothing on the intraclub match either, very positive "journalism".

Caro was just waiting for a time when the Tiges were going to be in the spotlight for the wrong reasons (Thumped NAB cup game) and ran to her editor to put this "regurgitated" article in the paper.

As mentioned earlier... is a group of friends/teammates having a drink/celebration in the off-season as bad as purchasing/taking drugs? Is it as bad as rape?

OMG we had some players get intoxicated... hey Caro bet you my life savings if you would have found out where the tigers end of season function was... or Xmas function... a good 25%+ of your beloved tigers would of been off their face too.

I don't condone that our leadership was stupid enough not to ensure all players got privately escorted home after the cruize... but I believe in Judd when he says we don't have a big drinking culture.. in fact we can't hold our grogg for we don't drink it often. I havn't been a big drinker throughout my life and I can tell you.... one glass of wine can knock me out. Although when I was about 22/23 I had a few weekends where I had a few and I trained my system to be able to handle whole bottles of tequila/vodka without being tipsy.

So Fev and a few of our boys f'd up with the grog... What about the Dogs?? do they have drinking problem too?? didn't Yakermanis not show up to the brownlow cos he was off his face after spending the day with other b'dogs players getting off their face (remember not all players attend the brownlow so how many dogs were pissed we don't know about).

I've seen brownlows were Jonathan Brown (captain) looks tipsy/pissed, even the old richmond captain got pissed and pissed on a police station. Do you think North's chickengate incident didn't not eventuate without some use of alcohol? Or Freo's KKK prank? What about the Hawks beer-guts of 2009 from over-celebrating their 2008 premiership? Hey and the footage of Geelong players super-pissed after their Grand final victories when they have players like Stevie J who has done some dumb things after a drink or two?

Oh and Caro how do you think you managed to conceive kids? You think your husband was sober when that happened?

Guys your blinkered defensive stance does nothing but highlight that those that dont recognize a problem exists cannot provide solutions to that problem. (and 2 months after the incident I for one dont for a minute think this issue is over with and fixed). It will take much longer than that for me to be convinced that we are free of this as a problem at our club.

This piece could have been written by anyone and would still have been relevant, so stop looking for solace in the messenger and read the message. It was not a media beat up, it happened pretty much as reported, no-one at the club is denying that, what some have done is question the medias right to report it, question the weight they placed on certain events such as the handcuffing, and questioned the reading of any of it as anything other than harmless fun. Wrong on all counts and on many different levels.

I noted after Hoops interview a week or so back that if you dont know the lines you ought to be saying that will further the cause of the club then say nothing. Clearly Hoops was not chastened other than to say the club makes the rules and I will have to follow them. He clearly demonstrated with that comment that some at the club still dont accept (and it is obvious that many on BF here dont either) that what they did was wrong but are at least (now) willing to follow the rules. It would be better if he and others understood that it was wrong and why, not just follow the rules. But hey, not all of them will be gifted with the intelligence to understand what they are taught or open minded enough to be receptive to the message.

And for those that dont understand how debates work, the article clearly annunciated that whilst a sexual harrasment (or worse) charge is much worse than anything the Carlton players did on an individual level, that action was of a rogue individual act not the result of the collective activity of the entire leadership group and so from a club perspective, should and would be more concerning as an issue.

The article also eluded to the fact that of all issues that ought to have been burning in the minds of our players, it ought to have been alcohol abuse. To draw an analogy, try to imagine how much worse a sexual harassment charge would be if another player at the club was sacked for the same thing a few weeks prior. And what I mean by worse (before all the deniers use this as a reason to pick apart my argument) is that in such cases misunderstanding of mixed messages rather than violent intent are used as a defense, so having the issue fresh in ones mind from the poor actions of other accused ought to heighten ones precautionary mindset, so to ignore such messages accentuates the crime not diminishes it. That our players were involved in drunken escapades weeks after the Fev departure spoke to the general lack of discipline through near all levels of the club.

It is natural to be defensive about our club but if problems exist, blaming everyone else for them (the media, the cruise operators, anyone else but our own players) is not going to lead to improvement.

Fortunately the club dont see it the same way.

Turn to page 23, it gets better.:rolleyes:

Someone has left Carlton to jump on the Saints bandwagon. :eek: Well I guess after 1 premiership in 113 years, they must be due for one. :o

So let me get this straight, Caro finds Levi's piss drinking game more appalling and tarnishing to our great game than rooting someone whilst their asleep without permission, bashing a cabby at hungry jacks, and trafficing drugs.
Wow, she must be a real bogan, and must obviously partake in these aforementioned activities, and believes they are well placed in society.

Well Happy Valentines Day Caro, I hope your man friend gave you one greek style this morning, whilst bashing a cabby and racking up some chalk off your big backside!:thumbsu:

Now that is gold right there :thumbsu: :)

Guys your blinkered defensive stance does nothing but highlight that those that dont recognize a problem exists cannot provide solutions to that problem. (and 2 months after the incident I for one dont for a minute think this issue is over with and fixed). It will take much longer than that for me to be convinced that we are free of this as a problem at our club.

This piece could have been written by anyone and would still have been relevant, so stop looking for solace in the messenger and read the message. It was not a media beat up, it happened pretty much as reported, no-one at the club is denying that, what some have done is question the medias right to report it, question the weight they placed on certain events such as the handcuffing, and questioned the reading of any of it as anything other than harmless fun. Wrong on all counts and on many different levels.

I noted after Hoops interview a week or so back that if you dont know the lines you ought to be saying that will further the cause of the club then say nothing. Clearly Hoops was not chastened other than to say the club makes the rules and I will have to follow them. He clearly demonstrated with that comment that some at the club still dont accept (and it is obvious that many on BF here dont either) that what they did was wrong but are at least (now) willing to follow the rules. It would be better if he and others understood that it was wrong and why, not just follow the rules. But hey, not all of them will be gifted with the intelligence to understand what they are taught or open minded enough to be receptive to the message.

And for those that dont understand how debates work, the article clearly annunciated that whilst a sexual harrasment (or worse) charge is much worse than anything the Carlton players did on an individual level, that action was of a rogue individual act not the result of the collective activity of the entire leadership group and so from a club perspective, should and would be more concerning as an issue.

The article also eluded to the fact that of all issues that ought to have been burning in the minds of our players, it ought to have been alcohol abuse. To draw an analogy, try to imagine how much worse a sexual harassment charge would be if another player at the club was sacked for the same thing a few weeks prior. And what I mean by worse (before all the deniers use this as a reason to pick apart my argument) is that in such cases misunderstanding of mixed messages rather than violent intent are used as a defense, so having the issue fresh in ones mind from the poor actions of other accused ought to heighten ones precautionary mindset, so to ignore such messages accentuates the crime not diminishes it. That our players were involved in drunken escapades weeks after the Fev departure spoke to the general lack of discipline through near all levels of the club.

It is natural to be defensive about our club but if problems exist, blaming everyone else for them (the media, the cruise operators, anyone else but our own players) is not going to lead to improvement.

I hear what you;re saying, but coming from Caro who is a known Carlton agitator gets under some people's skin, had it of been say Connolly etc people may feel slightly different, but each year she likes to have a dig, and she selectively misses points on other more news worthy stories ie the Matthew Stokes drug trafficking, she states

"and no evidence has come to light to indicate that any other Geelong footballer apart from Matthew Stokes has an illegal drug issue"

I know it's not evidence but the Geelong Advertiser has found that STiokes and another Geelong player business dealings a known underworld criminal in Geelong, not hard for her to find that out ...does she have evidence that Casaboult was handcuffed..?

I think there;s far more to the Stokes story and it;s fresher....the Judd and boozey blues is old.

She likes to stir the Carlton pot, big deal who cares, she's nowhere nearly as good as she was...quite junky and boring now, quite sad, she;ll fizzle out.

Through her equine eyes,
getting pissed on a boat,
is worse than 'alleged sexual assault, drunken violence and a drug trafficking charge'

The opening 2 paras could nearly be the stupidest things ever written.

+ 1

She had to attempt to defend the article up front because it was obviously soooooo biased. How predictable. Her hate-on for Carlton must be phenomenal.

It was probably the Tigers whipping that inspired this I imagine.

Turn to page 23, it gets better.:rolleyes:

Someone has left Carlton to jump on the Saints bandwagon. :eek: Well I guess after 1 premiership in 113 years, they must be due for one. :o

Thats the one that really annoyed me. The club has issues, our culture isn't that of perfect role models, so the author decides to desert and head over to a different club. For me it is almost sacrilege, I love the club, was raised cheering for the boys through their worst period, to think of now leaving it because of some stupid drink-up is ridiculous. If there was a rape, a murder, some sort of unforgivable crime the club's current administration tried to clear up I would leave, but not to support another team. If it came down to it, I would go unlisted and just cheer on the underdog.

Concerning the alcohol issue, drinking is a major problem in Australia, it is part of our culture. Drinking to excess is more than acceptable, in fact admirable, and it is so because remarkably the human body can cope. The liver is the most resistant organ in your body, it can filter through next to any substance (comparing the number of poisons in the world to what is fact fatal you'll see) lose up to a third of it's size and still recover to full health. The issue with alcohol is the activities that are engaged in while consuming. For mine handcuffing an inexperienced drinker to a more senior one is unacceptable, as learning to tolerate the grog is paramount. The behavior while drunk is the responsibility of the individual and his mates, which is why I am disappointed in Hoops and Tex the only two to engage in anti-social behavior. Eddie, who does need to pull his head in sometimes and concentrate on footy, did nothing wrong except be drunk. The group as a whole should of used forethought and had a few rules set out. Things like, no-one goes home alone, everyone must have arranged transport, inappropriate behavior (the loud, abusive kind) means you get sent home (possible worse punishment). Levi should never have been in that drinking game, those are for the experienced and willing, and the leadership group messed up when they failed to prevent that, hopefully they learn from the experience.

On a separate note this issue should of been done and dusted by now, the club's inner hierarchy should have dealt with this, and just because we haven't got all the details doesn't mean they haven't. Caro couldn't resist dragging our name through the mud one last time more than a month afterwards. She raises good points but her club culture one stinks of hypocrisy, every club has issues with it's culture and her own is not the same. Troy Taylor's assault charges are akin to the charging of Andrew Lovett in the fact that while the club has only recently take responsibility, it does not eliminate the fact that both these players had a history and both clubs should of of put steps in place to prevent such things. Kane Johnson on the eve of last season demonstrated that Richmond has a drinking culture as well, and how long ago was it that Jay Schulz was caught drink driving and the Tigers lost their own TAC sponsorship.

The players do not drink through the season and celebrate off-season with a few. This year they did not drink responsibly and have been punished for this. The average Australian would drink far more regularly than this and not be overly punished for having a few too many, AFL players are admonished intensely for their behavior because they are treated as role models, and rightly or wrongly they are.

I take it that you mean by this that you are happy with the way the club has been dealing with the issue of alcohol abuse culture in the playing group?

Guys your blinkered defensive stance does nothing but highlight that those that dont recognize a problem exists cannot provide solutions to that problem.
Sorry, mate. If she had written the article with one ounce of consideration she might garner some sympathy. But she has basically said that alleged sexual assault or even rape, the assault of a worker simply asking for his pay, and the alleged trafficking of cocaine are far less important problems to our society than public drunkeness.

Bizzare.

I don't get my back up about Carlton, those boys made my blood boil when all this news surfaced - I was so happy to see Fevola gone because unlike a very few of us on here, the clubs pride means more than the next years success. But when some Richmond supporting moron tries to shove it down my throat that Lovett and Stokes are better proponents of a safe society than Betts and Houlihan... Sheesh...

And Bluesque, I ****ing care. I want to open up a NEWSpaper and read news. Good (preferably), bad or otherwise - I want to read news, the saddest thing is that the opinion columns are as close to news reports as anything else in there. Why can't we read about how Judd has lead our team to the Kinglake area for two years running now to provide a bit of moral support to those that may still need it up there?

I know it won't sell papers. Perhaps they'll try and increase their circulation by garnering some respect and enhancing their writing standards.