Review Cats get home in another RIVALRY thriller by 7 points.

The Hawks have a serious attitude problem and it starts with Sicily. Literally every contest that their captain is in he looks at the umpire with his arms out looking for a free. Their other players follow suit and are constantly complaining to the umpires during the play and it cost them a goal this week as well.

They got a lot from the umps today, and still bitched about it. This kind of attitude will never win a flag. I can't respect them as a tough team like I used to.

Newcombe will be their next skipper, it can't be Sicily with this attitude. Good for us today though.

How far away is Jack Henry

I think the cats had the rub of the green in the first half, but it sure swung to freekickhokthorn in the second half. The throws, dropping the ball and ducks into tackles were astounding. The umpires fall for it every time.
I do wonder if the afl "suggestion" to the umpires was basically " we don't care who wins just make sure it's a cliffhanger. "

And my only concern pre game was that the poos and wees would go the biff as always if it got tight. I guess you don't have to be psychic to predict that.

The Hawks have a serious attitude problem and it starts with Sicily. Literally every contest that their captain is in he looks at the umpire with his arms out looking for a free. Their other players follow suit and are constantly complaining to the umpires during the play and it cost them a goal this week as well.

They got a lot from the umps today, and still bitched about it. This kind of attitude will never win a flag. I can't respect them as a tough team like I used to.

Newcombe will be their next skipper, it can't be Sicily with this attitude. Good for us today though.
Sicily is a pommy winger.

Surprised they turned up to an away game
For some frustrating reason, the Geelong vs Hawthorn MCG where it was Geelong's home game has often been one of Hawthorn's replacement games for them selling matches to Tassie

That's a reason why you'll generally get good crowds even when our home match as their members had access

That was a tough watch for more reasons than one.

-I do sometimes wonder whether Scotty is playing his cards close to his chest and is happy to let the boys continue to dump kick into the forward line, as long as we continue to scrape through.

I would hope they are training differently and once we get to the pointy end of the home and away season we start to see a lowering of the eyes and this is when we will see the likes of Neale breakout.

- Regarding Knevitt. We are in need of a tall, big bodied midfielder and I believe that if we can persist and continue to mould him into the player we want then the return will be worth it. Today was a fast, high pressure game and it’s not surprising that he was a little at sea.

My two cents

When Henry and Kolo are back, moving Stewart to the role Knevitt played in the middle would improve our defence and midfield.
Wonder if you also push COS forward in that scenario, too.

That was a tough watch for more reasons than one.

-I do sometimes wonder whether Scotty is playing his cards close to his chest and is happy to let the boys continue to dump kick into the forward line, as long as we continue to scrape through.

I would hope they are training differently and once we get to the pointy end of the home and away season we start to see a lowering of the eyes and this is when we will see the likes of Neale breakout.

- Regarding Knevitt. We are in need of a tall, big bodied midfielder and I believe that if we can persist and continue to mould him into the player we want then the return will be worth it. Today was a fast, high pressure game and it’s not surprising that he was a little at sea.

My two cents

He wasn't terrible.
Had a few poor moments, had a few good moments.
Has to close that gap.
He's still at least one more pre-season away from playing his best footy imo, but as I heard someone say recently, you can't just skip the steps.
You're spot on; today was a massive learning curve for a player like Knevitt.

Ohenry is a non-entity and should be dropped. Don't give him any more chances. He just doesn't put in. Neale has his moments but is often weak under the ball. He needs to compete even when it doesn't come to his advantage. Mannah was net positive tonight but not by much. He single-handedly killed some great team efforts with his brain freezes.

1. Rhys Stanley - How is he doing this? All logic and common sense suggest he should be thoroughly cooked. But he's moving better than he was last year. Has he discovered the fountain of youth? If so, Hawkins ought to have a quick swig and sneak into the MSD for us. ;) Every game he gives us right now is one more game that Blitz, Neale, and SDK can play in their best positions while one of Pike, Conway, or Edwards emerge.

3. Bailey Smith - Best outside recruit since Jezza. Racks up touches, plays with energy and spirit, and I reckon he's added a touch of inside grunt to his game that wasn't so apparent at the Dogs.

5. Jeremy Cameron - I reckon it was his best game for a while. He came so close to two GOTY contenders and, if not for Mannagh stuffing it up, he might have won goal assist of the year as well. I don't think he's far off exploding and kicking six or seven. Staying inside F50 where he belongs will do that.

7. Shaun Mannagh - Ehhhh... I think he'd want that moment over again in the 3rd quarter when he stuffed up some beautiful play by Jezza and absolutely burnt Dempsey just by being selfish. Still, you can't give him an inch of space, as the filth found out when he snuck off to kick the sealer. Three goals is a worthy return.

9. Max Holmes - Another more than serviceable game. With a million metres gained and a bunch of bounces he cut through Hawforn's zone with class and contemptuous ease. Why you'd go for a snap when you're 35m out on a 20 degree angle... just drop punt it through the middle like a normal person.

10. Mitch Knevitt - I like the bigger body in the packs and the aerial ability in marking contests on the wing, but he needs to get more involved and look more urgent.

12. Jack Bowes - A seemingly quiet game but I liked his play down back. He seems to be doing a lot of positional running that won't show on the stat sheet but would make Chris Scott happy.

14. Connor O'Sullivan - First time we've seen him struggle, and I'm not sure Chol is the right matchup for him. But he'll learn from it and become a better player, and I like that he worked his way into the game after 1/2 time instead of dropping the head.

16. Sam De Koning - I reckon he had a really solid game down back. Playing a zone defense becomes much more comfortable when you've got a behemoth down there who's quicker than he looks and can make up the last metre or two just by stretching out those go-go-Gadget arms.

17. Lawson Humphries - Might have said it before, but when you have a bloke with that beautiful kick on both feet, unflappable demeanour, and astonishing game awareness you sometimes forget he hasn't even played 20 games yet.

18. Tyson Stengle - Another guy who I think is not far from playing a complete blinder. Creative up forward without threatening the goals himself, and that run down on the wing in the last quarter was beautiful. Hitting the Captain on the lead more than once will win him a lot of brownie points too.

28. Ollie Dempsey - A bit scrappy. Two magic goals were matchwinners, but too many dumb or soft moments further up the field. He should concentrate on doing the basics in the midfield and leave the Harlem Globetrotters stuff for F50.

30. Tom Atkins - Another great game. With the possible exception of Danger, he has been our best player over the first six rounds. Another tackling and clearance masterclass.

32. Gryan Miers - The reason we had a lead to hold for most of the match was Miers's disposal. Just absolutely unstoppable bullet passes inside 50, and some creative midfield touches as well. What Nash did to him was repulsive and I hope that filth spends a long time on the sidelines.

33. Shannon Neale - Barely a pass mark. One hideous squib effort in the last quarter was almost made up for by a couple of timely and handy marks around the ground and two hard-as-nails one percenters in the leadup to Mannagh's sealing goal.

35. Patrick Dangerfield - Another matchwinning Captain's game. He's 35 years old and can't pull out those explosive bits of raw power all the time anymore- they have to be carefully managed- but won the hard possessions when they needed winning, and kicked the goals when they needed kicking.

36. Oliver Henry - Time for a stint in the VFL. You can only be patient with a complete lack of involvement for so long. He doesn't go for the hard ball get when it's his turn to go, he doesn't take contested marks and doesn't even try to do our crumbers any favours when he competes for them. I'd drop him and give Clohesy a full game up forward. Ted would at least put in some grunt. Or even Mullin, who's fast enough to worry anyone if he ever went on a lead from the goalsquare.

39. Zach Guthrie - A bit quieter than usual but you can always count on Zuth to pull out a few goal-saving marks inside D50 even on days when he's not as involved as we might like. A pass mark, but I reckon Carlton will suit him better.

40. Ted Clohesy - I thought his hard running and toughness made losing Miers not sting quite as much. Those two awful kicks inside F50 were uncharacteristically panicky. He'll be better for the run.

42. Mark O'Connor - Tagged Moore and kept him very quiet so the fact that he hardly got a touch himself is OK. He's having his best season for nearly five years this year.

44. Tom Stewart - Not a good game. I think he was still suffering the effects of gastro. Getting run down by Mabior Chol, who is good but not "make Tom Stewart look like a putz" good, was not one for the highlight reel.

45. Brad Close - He seems a bit quiet this year. I'm not sure what it is. When he's involved he still makes things happen, but he drifts in and out of games too much these days. When we go into "bomb it long" mode the oppo have worked out to put a tall on him because he struggles to make a contest in the air. Barrass and, later, Jiath gave Hawforn a lot of drive out of D50 just by being six inches taller.

46. Mark Blicavs - After a quiet week last week he was back to near his best today. Rock solid in defense, and that set shot from 40 was going through for a goal the moment he started his runup. I think we won't fully appreciate what a generational player he's been until he retires.

Hawthorn supporter at train station re. a shot Hawks missed at the end "I would have kicked that"

I just laughed and said " yeaaaah mate"
His mates were laughing at him too

Jennifer Lawrence Reaction GIF

And I'm happy to keep saying it - he's 26 games into his senior career, he'll make mistakes, he'll have quiet games & quiet periods within games but we're also seeing he'll have those big moments

He did it in the last quarter against Freo in round 1, and we saw some more big moments in the last tonight

He's a work in progress and as long as we keep seeing these steps he's taking, I'm looking forward to watching his development
I love Shannon 'The Cannon' Neale. Imagine what he'll be when he has 50-100 games under his belt. Oh yeah.

A Hawks supporter (one of about three in our bay) laughed when he got knocked out.

I almost threw my drink on him but it would have been a waste of my CC.
Yep same. Two hawk supporters next to me cheered on the snipe. Then booed smith like he was the dirtiest player ever when he took the free cos he threw a ball at a player. Their supporters love the snipe but cry foul at the tiniest transgressions. They are a joke.

FWIW for those that watched on TV.
Hawthorn fans. Grown adults... Actually go to the footy in Wizards hats.

Loser GIF by Playboy Fragrances
Is the Wizard thing because he makes himself disappear so often? Not sure who’s more overrated, him or Sicily.

Yep same. Two hawk supporters next to me cheered on the snipe. Then booed smith like he was the dirtiest player ever when he took the free cos he throw a ball at a player. Their supporters love the snipe but cry foul at the tiniest transgressions. They are a joke.
Let them sook (or cheer)

We had the last laugh

Review Cats get home in another RIVALRY thriller by 7 points.