Politics Centrelink

• Thread starter Thread starter hamohawk1

As for the "poor" computer systems. They are old, and not many people under their mid-40s are used to being confronted with a green screen. There are definitely legacy issues that make certain things complex, the worst of which were addressed a few years back according to the rumour mill.
But the SAP replacement is, from what I've heard from people on both the SAP and existing M204 systems, not looking any better in terms of accuracy or throughput. The M204 system is actually quite good at its job, though without a modern look and feel.
Of course the new SAP system will have the up to date interface, and probably be easier for new starters. It should prove better for users, though whether it is worth the reported $2b dollars is another matter.

haha, yep!

i had never dealt with centrelink until about 99 when i moved states and wanted my handout to continue studying. as a part-time nerd, i couldn't believe the software on offer when i got my first peek at the dole database. several years later and being heavily involved with a government database rebuild, i did not envy centrelink and whomever were destined to migrate their data to something slightly less shit. not surprised it cost in the realm of $2B!

haha, yep!

i had never dealt with centrelink until about 99 when i moved states and wanted my handout to continue studying. as a part-time nerd, i couldn't believe the software on offer when i got my first peek at the dole database. several years later and being heavily involved with a government database rebuild, i did not envy centrelink and whomever were destined to migrate their data to something slightly less shit. not surprised it cost in the realm of $2B!
We all knew you were a govt shill. BustedWing probably is as well.

lol, you idiot. i've never denied being a government employee. even mentioned it multiple times ever since i started correcting the childish fantasies from you and the other conspiratards. i've just mocked the conceited arrogance of you thinking i've been sent here by The Man to spread "disinfo" because he cares so much about what you think :drunk:

And all while the government is trying to squeeze every drop out of the welfare system, we find out that one of their own claimed expenses to attend his own wedding. There is some sort of twisted disconnect here.

Steve Irons is my local member; career backbencher who will never amount to anything more. Now that's ok if you're a good local member but he's not.

He also claimed to go and watch a golf tournament in Queensland that would have no relevance to his job in WA. There is simply an air of entitlement around being a pollie, which is ironic after Hockey's age of entitlement guff. They think they could earn more in the private sector, that they are somehow sacrificing by only earning a pollie's wage, therefore they deserve any extra entitlements.

a key issue is the savings the government is aiming to make here are truly minimal in the scheme of things. the current government wants to save billions of dollars yet is going after initiatives like these ones that chew up tens of millions of dollars at absolute worst

Centrelink and their associated job agencies are a disgrace. That's as nice as I can put it. Even if you do the right thing, they are still rude, aggressive and hassle you. I've heard the pay at Centrelink is great but the hassle dealing with annoyed but polite customers like me or the nasty and aggressive types just wouldn't be worth it. You'd need weekly psychiatric evaluation to cope. Not the workers fault per se, they just operate according to the system rules they must implement.

But gee, when you give the same paperwork in 3 times, it apparently gets logged each time and you give the same answers to 10 different people that supposedly updated the system, no wonder people get frustrated with it all.

Best one was the Centrelink worker telling me to get a chicken boning job. Anyone who has seen me cutting will attest to my skills with a knife or sharp implement. Special mention to the Centrelink worker who told me to get another call centre job despite my psychologist at the time telling me not to take another battery hen job as the ongoing complaints and inability to help people do my head in. That's another story for call centre / customer service thread though (should name it Customer Dissatisfaction Department). Again it's the system and not the individual consultants in most cases.

Probably the one that takes the cake though was Centrelink encouraging me to take sickies from my pt job to attend interviews for call centre work.

Take the job, you will learn

You will also find getting another job easier when you have a job

I heard a radical theory to alleviate the stresses of the entire Welfare system on a radio show over the holidays. In a nutshell the host basically said this: The Gov to pay every Australian citizen over the age of 18 - $25k per year for their entire life. Then scrap all of the other benefit schemes (Newstart, Carer's, AuStudy, Parental and so on).

This would (in his opinion) greatly reduce the numbers of people applying for the same vacancies. The genuinely unemployable people would be able to get by without resorting to crime (in most cases). Uni students could afford to contribute more to their fees at the time of their study thus reducing their final debts. People wouldn't be encouraged to have children with the intention of claiming more in benefits because those benefits would no longer exist. If you do lose your job, you have enough to survive on whilst you are looking for another one. Those "bludgers" out there that just simply don;t want to work that much and are happy living with their parents, can do so without clogging up the job seeking facilities because they are forced to look for jobs they don't want and won't stay in if they get them.

There would of course be an "opt out" option and possibly a cut off threshold if say a person began earning over $100k p/a - example only.

When I first heard it I lol'd but then the more I have been thinking about it, the more sense it is begging to make.

BTW, I'm still in High School and plan on going straight to Uni.

I heard a radical theory to alleviate the stresses of the entire Welfare system on a radio show over the holidays. In a nutshell the host basically said this: The Gov to pay every Australian citizen over the age of 18 - $25k per year for their entire life. Then scrap all of the other benefit schemes (Newstart, Carer's, AuStudy, Parental and so on).

This would (in his opinion) greatly reduce the numbers of people applying for the same vacancies. The genuinely unemployable people would be able to get by without resorting to crime (in most cases). Uni students could afford to contribute more to their fees at the time of their study thus reducing their final debts. People wouldn't be encouraged to have children with the intention of claiming more in benefits because those benefits would no longer exist. If you do lose your job, you have enough to survive on whilst you are looking for another one. Those "bludgers" out there that just simply don;t want to work that much and are happy living with their parents, can do so without clogging up the job seeking facilities because they are forced to look for jobs they don't want and won't stay in if they get them.

There would of course be an "opt out" option and possibly a cut off threshold if say a person began earning over $100k p/a - example only.

When I first heard it I lol'd but then the more I have been thinking about it, the more sense it is begging to make.

I think this is based on a Scandinavian program. When written out like this it makes some sense. I guess the biggest barrier is the sociological aspect of where the country will be in 20-50 years. ie how many will just ''opt out'' of working and life. How would this then affect immigration and 457s etc. ''Fruitpicking?? nah let the Muzzies/Kiwis/Backpackers etc do it'' . Would you have to tighten up immigration rules so Kiwis don't flood here? Or eligibility to receive this.

Worth thinking about anyway.

The simplicity of the scheme means it has the potential to decrease administration costs enormously. The number of people employed to entrap people who are overpaid would also decrease significantly.

I think this is based on a Scandinavian program. When written out like this it makes some sense. I guess the biggest barrier is the sociological aspect of where the country will be in 20-50 years. ie how many will just ''opt out'' of working and life. How would this then affect immigration and 457s etc. ''Fruitpicking?? nah let the Muzzies/Kiwis/Backpackers etc do it'' . Would you have to tighten up immigration rules so Kiwis don't flood here? Or eligibility to receive this.

Yeah, absolutely but I think we should do that anyway - sooner rather than later.

Oops, too late. I think there's something like 15-20% of their population already over here.

The simplicity of the scheme means it has the potential to decrease administration costs enormously. The number of people employed to entrap people who are overpaid would also decrease significantly.
Current social security and welfare spending is $150bn a year. Paying every adult citizen $25K a year would cost around half a trillion dollars. Not really a cost saving exercise.

I bow to your superior grasp of mathematics.

And it's not enough anyway. Would need to be around $40k.

Start with $25,000 and have it reduce as you earn more with a cut out figure of $75,000 or something. If you don't earn, you get the base $25k.

No reducing your income with things like negative gearing to get your income below the threshold.

Can't say I've ever looked at the couple of pissheads that walk past my place in the morning to get their beers with the kind of envy that some do. What a grand life it is living on the dole. Right wingers are ****ing weird units.

Start with $25,000 and have it reduce as you earn more with a cut out figure of $75,000 or something. If you don't earn, you get the base $25k.

No reducing your income with things like negative gearing to get your income below the threshold.
If the idea is to ensure everyone has enough to avoid turning to crime etc I don't think 25k is enough. Well not in Melbourne or Sydney anyway.

Also with a Universal Basic Income it needs to simply be every citizen gets it, otherwise you are reintroducing costs in having people manage who gets it etc.

I'd be happy to pay more tax (or better yet, have some of the tax I currently pay redirected from nonsense) for a UBI.

of course it is

they did their business community mates a favour though by adding an extra layer of taxpayer funded handouts in using the privately owned job networks/agencies that do most of the work centrelink once did. Billions of dollars in contracts to have a few people sit around in a dodgy offices and pretend to work. In reality all they do is wait for an employer to put an ad up and then go "hey look a job popped up, you can apply for that"

The job search network is arguably one of the biggest roots in the country.

Had the misfortune of having to go through the system in the mid-2000's when I finished uni and was on the hunt for full time work. The only time the one I was assigned to did anything was when I threatened to switch to another provider, and they only lined up a job for me when I actually did apply to transfer to another provider, and even that was one of those shopping centre marketing roles (and that was even busting my arse looking for work myself). I always thought it was interesting that whenever I wanted to apply for something via Seek their computers would be down.

Ended up doing a couple of months of WFD, which is another sort in itself. First crack they wanted me pissfarting around nursing home keeping the oldies company. When I questioned what job-transferable skills I'd get doing that they offered me something in an op shop, which I quite enjoyed (they were an awesome group to work with, and were so impressed with my work ethic they told me to ease up a bit lol).

Thankfully I found myself a part time job through a mate, which gave me the skills to apply for a full time job elsewhere, and many years later I have 2 fantastic jobs, but I'll never forget the experience I endured that year trying to get a job.

If the idea is to ensure everyone has enough to avoid turning to crime etc I don't think 25k is enough. Well not in Melbourne or Sydney anyway.

Also with a Universal Basic Income it needs to simply be every citizen gets it, otherwise you are reintroducing costs in having people manage who gets it etc.

I'd be happy to pay more tax (or better yet, have some of the tax I currently pay redirected from nonsense) for a UBI.

They can live at home with mum and dad or they can house share and pool their resources.

Just saw turnball quoted as saying 'we want people to see centrelink as an incentive measure to get a job or disincentive to get employment' well f*** me if anybody on centrelink (besides a very very few) do not feel or are not trying their heart out to get employment id be surprised. Its no a sustainable amount to live on, the government is absolutely deluded.

The problem with this idea is that it requires the wealthy and giant corporations to actually pay tax in order to cover the cost.