Politics Centrelink

• Thread starter Thread starter hamohawk1

You think hard workers like paying taxes to provide an income for people who don't work especially when many of these people choose not to work .
Your average full time worker spensd more than 40 hours a week at work doing a job they hate , on top of this is time spent traveling and getting ready for work .So much of their life is dedicated to doing a job they do not enjoy and the government it taking money out of their pay cheque and giving some of it to people who do not work .
There are jobs out their , problem is we just have way too many job snobs .

Put up the evidence or shut up with this feelgood nonsense for the simple-minded.

No energy policy, no vote on SSM.

Brass bands and marching girls and balloons to announce people on the dole will be drug tested.

Same sex marriage in not an important issue for most people .

With regards to energy this is a clear path too election victory for the collation but Turnbull is not the man to lead the charge . The liberals need a conservative leader who is going destroy labours ideological approach to energy like Abbott did to Gillard .

The reason we have high energy costs are because labour in anti coal , coal is our cheapest and more reliable source of energy .

Liberals must go on and on about how they will invest in coal firepower stations and stop subsiding renewables or setting reductions targets .

Same sex marriage in not an important issue for most people .

With regards to energy this is a clear path too election victory for the collation but Turnbull is not the man to lead the charge . The liberals need a conservative leader who is going destroy labours ideological approach to energy like Abbott did to Gillard .

The reason we have high energy costs are because labour in anti coal , coal is our cheapest and more reliable source of energy .

Liberals must go on and on about how they will invest in coal firepower stations and stop subsiding renewables or setting reductions targets .

You forgot to mention debt & deficit disaster.

that's important but the liberals can not get most of their savings through the senate

Is that because of the high price of power?
Or is it because unemployed people don't accept any job?

Now, kiddies, sing after me

Coal is cheap, coal is reliable, coal kills a million people a year

[Chorus]
One million deaths a year,
But what do I care,
Coal is cheap,
Coal is reliable,
Poor buggers had to die sometime any how.

Would something like a HECS type thing be feasible for tickets and licences do you think? In the grand scheme of things, if it helps get someone into work rather than on newstart and actually paying tax, then surely it's a pittance long term. A few hundred for a fork ticket, a thousand for an HR licence. How much for certificates of some sort in child care, aged care etc etc?

Go for the low hanging fruit first, the recently out of work who are keen, then go to work on the long termers.
Have no great problem with this. Either be billed by the Job Network or a Government run scheme. Good idea

Being tough on the long term unemployed is a vote winner. The reality is a person under 50 without a disability should be able to find a job within 6 months. Today tonight and aca dont run stories every fortnight about people on the dole for no reason.
Lol what happened to a year. 5 more posts and it will be down to a week

Being tough on the long term unemployed is a vote winner. The reality is a person under 50 without a disability should be able to find a job within 6 months. Today tonight and aca dont run stories every fortnight about people on the dole for no reason.

Today Tonight and ACA...did lol

Not sure if you're very naive or if you're just a troll. What is evident, however, is an outrageous disconnect between your ideas and the potential for actual realistic, practical application of said ideas.

Put up the evidence or shut up with this feelgood nonsense for the simple-minded.

Mate just do a quick search yourself

"AROUND a quarter of all dole recipients are skipping job interviews or failing to accept decent work
."

"Data released by the
Departments of Employment has revealed that in just three months — between 1 July and 30 September 2015 — an alarming 276,000 job seekers had their welfare payments suspended"

http://www.news.com.au/finance/work...s/news-story/3fb7d461352ba5f452991972938dfd96

In 2013-2014 31% of scheduled meetings for dole recipients were missed reaching a total of 4.8 million .

http://www.news.com.au/finance/work...s/news-story/0379620c974101309829508c95ca6161

Mate just do a quick search yourself
"AROUND a quarter of all dole recipients are skipping job interviews or failing to accept decent work."
"Data released by the Departments of Employment has revealed that in just three months — between 1 July and 30 September 2015 — an alarming 276,000 job seekers had their welfare payments suspended"

Did you miss that bit?

Or the bit in the article that said only 8000 out of 800,000 actually repeatedly skipped interviews or failed to accept appr4opriate work.

That's right, literally 1 in 1000 - 0.01% - of unemployment benefit recipients are the mythical "dole bludgers" who fester in the imagination of the middle class mothers' meetings who provide your factoids.

Did you miss that bit?

Or the bit in the article that said only 8000 out of 800,000 actually repeatedly skipped interviews or failed to accept appr4opriate work.

That's right, literally 1 in 1000 - 0.01% - of unemployment benefit recipients are the mythical "dole bludgers" who fester in the imagination of the middle class mothers' meetings who provide your factoids.

Sorry but when you say 0.01% of people on the dole are bludgers you are wrong , 31% of all meetings were missed

You can not get a figure that high without so many on the dole being bludgers .

Did you miss that bit?

Literally or figuratively?

Is this why you're no longer a maths teacher Fred :p

Jeebus

8900 repeatedly missed meetings didn't do work for the dole so they got heavily punished I'm guessing welfare card
276000 missed a meeting, didn't do work for the dole but not repeatedly ie. had a sick day or emergency

Edit
http://www.news.com.au/finance/work...s/news-story/0379620c974101309829508c95ca6161

31.5%. Of meetings missed

Wrong.
See above.

The key stat is the 31% of all meetings missed that is massive .

How Centrelink defines repeatedly I don't know , what we do know is that almost 1 in 3 meetings scheduled for job seekers are not being attended .

Literally or figuratively?

Is this why you're no longer a maths teacher Fred :p
Figuratively?
Is that why you're sorting yourself out in a remedial English class?

You're right though, I don't teach maths.

It's hard enough trying to drum kindergarten-level arithmetic into our trolling friend's head.;)

Figuratively?
Is that why you're sorting yourself out in a remedial English class?

You're right though, I don't teach maths.

It's hard enough trying to drum kindergarten-level arithmetic into our trolling friend's head.;)

Kindergarten-level arithmetic where 1 = 0.01?

8,000 out of 800,000 is 1% i.e. 1 in 100.

Also, 1 in 1000 is 0.1%.

The key stat is the 31% of all meetings missed that is massive .

How Centrelink defines repeatedly I don't know , what we do know is that almost 1 in 3 meetings scheduled for job seekers are not being attended .
Do you know 100% per cent of people have missed a day of work at some point in their lives? That means people don't want their jobs. Or you're not interpreting statistics correctly. Probably the latter.

Kindergarten-level arithmetic where 1 = 0.01?

8,000 out of 800,000 is 1% i.e. 1 in 100.

Also, 1 in 1000 is 0.1%.

Correct.
My former boss told me that all lawyers are innumerate.:oops:

So 1% of all unemployment benefit recipients are "dole bludgers" who are prepared to live $100 per week below a decent standard of living.

Do you know 100% per cent of people have missed a day of work at some point in their lives? That means people don't want their jobs. Or you're not interpreting statistics correctly. Probably the latter.

Correct.

So 1% of all unemployment benefit recipients are "dole bludgers" who are prepared to live $100 per week below a decent standard of living.

You are confused .

What they are saying is that 31% of all scheduled meetings are missed by dole recipients , they are not saying that 31% of people on the dole miss scheduled meetings at some stage during the year .

What's happening with people on the dole would be like a company with 100 staff having on average 31 people take the day off every single day of the year .

Lets be honest we have a dole bludger emergency in this country .

You are confused .

What they are saying is that 31% of all scheduled meetings are missed by dole recipients , they are not saying that 31% of people on the dole miss scheduled meetings at some stage during the year .

What's happening with people on the dole would be like a company with 100 staff having on average 31 people take the day off every single day of the year .

Lets be honest we have a dole bludger emergency in this country .

Let's be honest, it doesn't matter how you try to spin it, "dole bludgers" are just figments of your "blue rinser" imagination.

A miniscule 1% of all unemployment benefit recipients are "dole bludgers" who are prepared to live $100 per week below a decent standard of living.

Missing some useless bureaucratic bs meeting with an employment service is not dole bludging, the meetings are merely excuses for those rorting "liberal party mates" to justify their existence and do nothing to reduce unemployment.

Correct.

Dole bludger is an emotive term but I suspect there are quite a lot of young people who are happy to take government benefits rather than work.

The number of young people who are unemployed or underemployed is the highest in 40 years.

That in itself does not make the argument but there are also a couple of recent trends at play, not just here but internationally. Greater numbers of young people are living at home with their parents after leaving school. And we have a generation of young people raised with the internet, some of whom prefer to spend a large proportion of their time online. They don't need much cash to maintain their lifestyle.

My friend's son had a part time job at the local supermarket. But after he left school, with decent grades, he stopped phoning in for shifts, and he registered for government benefits. He treats it like free money. He has no bills and he rarely goes out - so what he receives is more than enough for him to upgrade his computer from time to time or buy the latest Playstation game. He's 22 now and is physically and mentally capable of working. He just doesn't want to. He would not be part of your (cough) 1% because he makes sure he turns up for the required interviews.