Politics Centrelink

• Thread starter Thread starter hamohawk1

Im pretty sure that chart is on your tax assessment the ATO sends out.....if you lodge a tax return that is...

Yep i remember that one time i did tax and it said across the top of the page in big red letters -

REMEMBER , IT'S ONLY 6% TO UNEMPLOYED

Did yours have the same thing ?..........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................( rests finger )................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

iseewotudidtharr , novel approach mate lol

Taking another closer look the Youth Allowance figures are concerning. It looks as if the take up has decreased by 3% since the Abbott led Government came into power. On its own you could suggest those 'Youths' now have become adults and this increase is reflected in that.

BUT

It also means it must be very difficult to receive YA as the take up of fresh people isnt reflected in the figures. Thats disturbing to me.
1. Parents are having to support their children longer which impacts on their choices
2. Jumping through the hoops is taking longer or made more difficult
Or it could mean that more YA recipients are working more to support themselves and claiming less from the government as a result. Youth unemployment peaked around 2014/2015 and has declined since.

Don't you have to somehow prove 'independence' before getting YA? As in having earnt a certain amount of money in a financial year? So kids straight from school to uni have a hard time getting on it?

(though I would be an advocate for not going directly to Uni after high school, but that's another issue)

Yep i remember that one time i did tax and it said across the top of the page in big red letters -

REMEMBER , IT'S ONLY 6% TO UNEMPLOYED

Did yours have the same thing ?..........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................( rests finger )................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

iseewotudidtharr , novel approach mate lol

I think 8 billion dollars is a lot of money, you obviously don't.

While we are at it....how many tax returns have you lodged? If you had you would've seen that pie chart for a few years now.

then how come people try to pretend that unemployment benefits cost the state more than they really do?
Who does and how do they mis-represent it?

Out of all those buckets of people there is one portion of it that have the ability to work, now some of course struggle to find a job, but there are also some who could be doing something who choose not to. Those people who could be working are the ones people have an issue with and they cost us all a crap load of cash.

Saying this number is smaller than that number doesn't make 'dole bludging' right. If it does, let me know how.

I think 8 billion dollars is a lot of money, you obviously don't.

While we are at it....how many tax returns have you lodged? If you had you would've seen that pie chart for a few years now.

And there it is.....

Know how i know you're mad ??.....

;)

Jake asking the real questions and not just throwing daggers like most righties do

Out of all those buckets of people there is one portion of it that have the ability to work, now some of course struggle to find a job, but there are also some who could be doing something who choose not to. Those people who could be working are the ones people have an issue with and they cost us all a crap load of cash.

Saying this number is smaller than that number doesn't make 'dole bludging' right. If it does, let me know how.

I like the part where people imply that the dole is generous or that it's easy to live on

If it was that easy, you'd be stupid not to quit your job and collect the dole too -

And where in my 1st post did i ever claim " dole bludging is right " ???

See that's the issue i'm getting at , righties just see the headline , get all triggered n shit and the debate descends into the usual wankfest.
Then they get REALLY upset when you point out to them that no amount of education will help them when they're as far gone as they are.

Exactly like i said it'd be - " SIX PERCENT ZOMGGGGGGGGG !!!! "
How many of these people know the TRUE figure of how many welfare recipients " bludge "
If you had even a ****teenth of a clue about the situation , you'd know the jobsearch/jobactive/DES program guidelines have been tightened year after year since that coward abbott scrapped the old system so he could sell his mates a new system.

Sakes dunno how many times i've had this same conversation....

I like the part where people imply that the dole is generous or that it's easy to live on

If it was that easy, you'd be stupid not to quit your job and collect the dole too -
Never said it was easy, however if you are choosing to do it then it must be easier to the alternative of getting a job.

Again is it wrong for people to get annoyed with money wasted on people who do not want to work?

Never said it was easy, however if you are choosing to do it then it must be easier to the alternative of getting a job.

Again is it wrong for people to get annoyed with money wasted on people who do not want to work?
Would you prefer to pay someone 12k a year on the dole or pay 60/70k a year to keep them in jail if they have to resort to crime to survive?

it's just such an easy target to pick on the unemployed

Gina Rinehart rips us off more than dole bludgers

Responsibility lies with the liberal govt , Ol Mordecai Murdoche and ch Nein
Rinse-repeat

Big difference nowadays is that the public has access to the internet , can look up the true figures and call bullshit when required.
Was harder back in the day pre-net , how many people saw or read a story about bludgers and thought to themselves " Hmmmm sounds suss , i might go down to parliament house and ask if i can delve into the public records.... "

Easier for people just to sit in their recliner and spit shit at the tv

And where in my 1st post did i ever claim " dole bludging is right " ???

See that's the issue i'm getting at , righties just see the headline , get all triggered n shit and the debate descends into the usual wankfest.
Then they get REALLY upset when you point out to them that no amount of education will help them when they're as far gone as they are.

Exactly like i said it'd be - " SIX PERCENT ZOMGGGGGGGGG !!!! "
How many of these people know the TRUE figure of how many welfare recipients " bludge "
If you had even a ****teenth of a clue about the situation , you'd know the jobsearch/jobactive/DES program guidelines have been tightened year after year since that coward abbott scrapped the old system so he could sell his mates a new system.

Sakes dunno how many times i've had this same conversation....
You are the one who appears triggered with all the spaces, extra letters on words and use of Caps.

I am only talking about people who are choosing not to work, I do not expect the whole amount to be removed/reduced from the budget. Out of all the buckets from your video it is the one that we can truly do something about hence why people get upset about it when it is misused.

Saying the number is only '6%' is not an argument against the misuse of welfare.

You are the one who appears triggered with all the spaces, extra letters on words and use of Caps.

I am only talking about people who are choosing not to work, I do not expect the whole amount to be removed/reduced from the budget. Out of all the buckets from your video it is the one that we can truly do something about hence why people get upset about it when it is misused.

Saying the number is only '6%' is not an argument against the misuse of welfare.

how many people do you know who choose not work?

Yeahnar , you jumped in as soon as you saw it , threw out a " oh you're supporting this so you must be on the dole " assumption - that basically means you got triggered by my 1st post.

And i never said " Misusing welfare is good " , did i ?

Did i ?

See my point now ??
Or go with another mocking implication ?

Yes classic socialism , you look at those at the top and I think its not fair they have all this money and I don't .

What the banks do has nothing to do with dole bludgers , if the banks break the law they should be punished however only socialists like you think banks should not make big profits .

You simply cant stand the thought of the little downtrodden dole bludger having their dole taken away while the big fat cat banks make all this money .

I own 4 houses thanks to the bank , dole bludgers have given me nothing but taken away my hard earned money .
Whilst I don’t have an issue with you owning 4 houses (I owned 3 by 26) I think this is one area where government intervention can help. Housing price increases do little (if anything in real terms) for the productivity of an economy. People having to assign so much of their income to this type of asset prevents that capital being used for innovation or increasing productivity.
I know you can quote that rich investors bring capital to market due to the returns they receive from property pricing increases, but what is that really adding to the well being of the community, compared to say property pricing being more reasonable freeing up community money to invest in start-up companies.

Some sections of the media treat the whole $167 billion welfare budget as if it is solely spent on the unemployed or the disabled, the worst offender is channel nine followed by papers like the Daily Telegraph.

About two years ago I watched Ross Greenwood go on a rant about the welfare budget costing about $150 billion per year thanks to the unemployed and people on disability then after getting all worked up and just at the end he added that some of it was for other payments.

Yes, they do, what did the bank manager actually do other than state, "let interest rates be..."...?

Its a bit more complicated than that, a bank may seek to set a rate but ultimately the market determines what rates of interest will be, if a bank wants to charge 7% in the current market it will quickly lose business to other banks and financial institutions offering a rate closer to the market then there are other factors such as central bank monetary policy which impact on the cost of borrowing.

Only if I can move to a system where median housing prices are commensurate with median salary. Then we have a deal. In fact the two of us, with other Australians who are interested can start a social contract, we all work hard, and all enjoy the fruits of the harvest, with no parasites (top or bottom).

Median property prices is misleading as its just the 50% percentile of properties sold in that location at that point of time, so by extension half the properties sold in that location went for less than the median.

Its a bit more complicated than that, a bank may seek to set a rate but ultimately the market determines what rates of interest will be, if a bank wants to charge 7% in the current market it will quickly lose business to other banks and financial institutions offering a rate closer to the market then there are other factors such as central bank monetary policy which impact on the cost of borrowing.

That’s why banks could theoretically collude, then people don’t have a choice, funny how market value (home loan amount) is cf with poverty rates

Median property prices is misleading as its just the 50% percentile of properties sold in that location at that point of time, so by extension half the properties sold in that location went for less than the median.

Not when comparing median salary with median house price, it makes perfect sense