Politics Centrelink

• Thread starter Thread starter hamohawk1

There's no way the numbers of those happy to exist on the dole is as miniscule as many here make it out to be.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Aren’t that the truth and by some of the responses here i think we have found a few of them.

There's no way the numbers of those happy to exist on the dole is as miniscule as many here make it out to be.

No way it could be that low.Couldn't possibly be. Dole bludgers are everywhere.

But let's not let facts get in the way eh.
1662889401489.png

Just to prove that they are bludgers... 35% had to sell their home due to financial difficulty.

Facts, who needs them!

1662889794890.png

Just to prove that they are bludgers... 35% had to sell their home due to financial difficulty.

Facts, who needs them!

View attachment 1505789

I know they used to have a "rent assist" allowance, but if you weren't renting ( ie mortgage ) nothing.
That was a travesty, you could have people with their house 80% paid for having to sell it and pay more to rent.

But that isn't anything to do with Centrelink, they don't decide.

How do people who don't want to work end up with on average 15 years of work experience?

1662891250886.png

Have you ever been on it, or been around a place that has Work for the Dole activites?
Literally grew up on it, mum and dad and older brother.

I am raised by Centrelink, from a Centrelink part of town, with Centrelink people all around me.

Anyone else here?

Facts, who needs them!

View attachment 1505789
How many sold homes due to a relationship breakdown and divorce? Something known to be a cause of financial hardship too?

So not only did they become unemployed they might have faced relationship breakdown as well.
And here you are calling them bludgers.
What purpose does it serve?
You are punching down, based on figments of your imagination, for no reason at all.

How many sold homes due to financial hardship? Something known to be a cause of relationship breakdown and divorce.

<raises hand>

Jesus there's some ****wits around.

Literally grew up on it, mum and dad and older brother.

I am raised by Centrelink, from a Centrelink part of town, with Centrelink people all around me.

Anyone else here?

I spent 3-4 years on the Newstart, from round 2015 to 2019.

I'm not asking because I wanted to compare poverty *****. I was asking because the common thing I saw from every person I did WftD with was despair. I had three agents from two different JSP's; one of them was all about compliance and didn't really care if I found a job or not; one of them was genuinely helpful and caring; one of them actively tried to get me to drop out of my uni degree and ignored her legal requirement to allow me to attend class or exams instead of WftD. The third of that group actively threatened my payment several times should I be unable to meet her demands.

My payment when I lived by myself was $612 a fortnight. My rent was $740 a month. I owned a car, and the expense of it near killed me; petrol or food some weeks. Electricity and internet - because how the **** are you supposed to find work without the internet - were devastating whenever they struck. Car insurance. You know how much living costs.

I'm not going to tell you your experience, nor am I going to tell you that your experience is incorrect or wrong. What I will say is that there was perhaps a single person I met across three different WftD activities that was content staying on the Dole, and even then they were genuinely desperate.

I've not known stress like the cloud I lived under at the time, and it's shaped an awful lot of who I am now.

So not only did they become unemployed they might have faced relationship breakdown as well.
And here you are calling them bludgers.
What purpose does it serve?
You are punching down, based on figments of your imagination, for no reason at all.
I ain't calling anyone a bludger but I believe the number of bludgers is higher than the 0.1% to 5% floated here by some.

I am not punching down. I am the down.

But sure, regale everyone with your experiences in the slums too. Hit us with your reality rather than imagination and theoretical experience.

I spent 3-4 years on the Newstart, from round 2015 to 2019.

I'm not asking because I wanted to compare poverty *****. I was asking because the common thing I saw from every person I did WftD with was despair. I had three agents from two different JSP's; one of them was all about compliance and didn't really care if I found a job or not; one of them was genuinely helpful and caring; one of them actively tried to get me to drop out of my uni degree and ignored her legal requirement to allow me to attend class or exams instead of WftD. The third of that group actively threatened my payment several times should I be unable to meet her demands.

My payment when I lived by myself was $612 a fortnight. My rent was $740 a month. I owned a car, and the expense of it near killed me; petrol or food some weeks. Electricity and internet - because how the * are you supposed to find work without the internet - were devastating whenever they struck. Car insurance. You know how much living costs.

I'm not going to tell you your experience, nor am I going to tell you that your experience is incorrect or wrong. What I will say is that there was perhaps a single person I met across three different WftD activities that was content staying on the Dole, and even then they were genuinely desperate.

I've not known stress like the cloud I lived under at the time, and it's shaped an awful lot of who I am now.
Are you experienced urban or regional?

I ain't calling anyone a bludger but I believe the number of bludgers is higher than the 0.1% to 5% floated here by some.

I am not punching down. I am the down.

But sure, regale everyone with your experiences in the slums too. Hit us with your reality rather than imagination and theoretical experience.

Keep punching down, if it makes you feel better bro.

First two years of that was in Geelong, the rest in SE Melbourne.
In the country it's feasible to live off welfare. As it should be. I don't have a problem with it, but lots of people either have no interest in work or finding a less than ideal job.

And some of those people can afford to drink several hundred dollars worth of premixed Jack Daniels every week, and a TAB, and cars more numerous and newer than many who work. Some of them have 70k twin cabs, 4x4s, or the last series of SS Commodore.

Where does that fit in to old mate's spreadsheets?

In the country it's feasible to live off welfare. As it should be. I don't have a problem with it, but lots of people either have no interest in work or finding a less than ideal job.

And some of those people can afford to drink several hundred dollars worth of premixed Jack Daniels every week, and a TAB, and cars more numerous and newer than many who work. Some of them have 70k twin cabs, 4x4s, or the last series of SS Commodore.

I'm not sure what you mean by 'old mate's spreadsheets', but I drank a hell of a lot when on the Newstart. There's nothing else to do. You're bored, and you're stressed. You've done your washing, mopped the floor, cleaned the bathroom, made your bed, applied for a job or more a day.

I find it interesting how an awful lot of people became massive booze hounds during Covid lockdowns in Melbourne but neglect to extend any of that empathy towards welfare recipients. You deprive people of means or anything to occupy their time, they're going to do whatever they can to gake their minds off what stresses them. And alcohol is addictive; I shouldn't have to acknowledge it here, but I do.

I have no idea how they got those cars, but it kind of weirds me out how definitively you know all these people are on welfare and purchased the most recent ute or commodore. I also don't know how much more feasible it is to live on welfare in the country. In the country distances are greater and you're more likely to need a car, and cars are expensive as hell. Rego, insurance and petrol costs all went up prohibitively while I was on the Newstart.

Society functions on the basis that there will always be unemployed, and that there will always be a percentage of people that are unemployable. The question needs to be, how do we manage those people? Are we going to let them starve, go hungry, wither and die from sickness?

What are we willing to have done by a government we elect and pay taxes to, to compensate for systemic issues that leave other people without a chair when the music stops?

I don't believe for a second that there are people living on Centrelink with $70,000 cars and drinking hundreds of dollars of booze a week. The maths doesn't support it.

I saw a tweet the other day that literally had '' I just had my little baby - long term welfare here I come''

I have had the baby. Little XXXX is born. I’m finally a mother and can now be on long term welfare I had a baby, I had a baby Don’t ask me who the father is #lol