News & Events CFMEU Protests

I engaged in manual labour and lifted as much and often as i could. I would pump my arms and never use my back.

After a couple of years i had built my frame up bigger than most gym junkies i knew.

Not once did i lift something incorrectly.

Face it garygee, you just a dweeb.

You can tell the boss you cant lift something because some book says its unsafe. I will walk past you with one item in each hand, while pumping my arms up and down. I will not get injured. Who will get paid more?

Some jobs simply require repeatative heavy lifting. Start milking this shit then its not worth staying open amd people lose their jobs. Cranes and forks dont fit every where

I engaged in manual labour and lifted as much and often as i could. I would pump my arms and never use my back.
See, goes to show you know next to nothing. You use your back for everything dumbass. Of course you'd know that if you'd been paying' attention or you had done some of that book learning' you so hate.
After a couple of years i had built my frame up bigger than most gym junkies i knew.
Of course you might know from books or bodybuilders that size is all linked to bio-mechanics and if the initial build is wrong/inadequate you're never going to be able to build much size, win a contest ,etc.

How would you know?
Who will get paid more?
What, you or me?

See, goes to show you know next to nothing. You use your back for everything dumbass. Of course you'd know that if you'd been paying' attention or you had done some of that book learning' you so hate.
Of course you might know from books or bodybuilders that size is all linked to bio-mechanics and if the initial build is wrong/inadequate you're never going to be able to build much size, win a contest ,etc.

How would you know?
What, you or me?

Shows you haven't lifted anything before. I can feel when my back will be under stress. You are arguing just for the sake of it.

I dont hate book learning. I hate book "regulations", "rules", and "guidelines" if they have been written by some "committee", or "department", or "academics".

I dont really give a shit about biomechanics and dont understand the relevance to anything we are talking about here.

All I know is if I lift heavy things correctly, I get bigger and stronger and lifting gets easier. Meanwhile 10 years later and you are sitting at your computer staring at me on my ladder wishing you had guns like mine.

Face it garygee, you just a dweeb.

You can tell the boss you cant lift something because some book says its unsafe. I will walk past you with one item in each hand, while pumping my arms up and down. I will not get injured. Who will get paid more?

Perhaps gary just came from a weak sperm?

Shows you haven't lifted anything before. I can feel when my back will be under stress. You are arguing just for the sake of it.

I dont hate book learning. I hate book "regulations", "rules", and "guidelines" if they have been written by some "committee", or "department", or "academics".

I dont really give a shit about biomechanics and dont understand the relevance to anything we are talking about here.

All I know is if I lift heavy things correctly, I get bigger and stronger and lifting gets easier. Meanwhile 10 years later and you are sitting at your computer staring at me on my ladder wishing you had guns like mine.

Would prefer guns like Alain Delon

big-guns-aka-no-way-out-starring-alain-delon.jpg

If you bend with your knees and lift with your legs you will not do your back. Back issues are not from how much you lift its how you lift. Sitting in a chair all day does your back more harm than lifting 20+ kilos

Staring at you? Ha ha ha ho ho ho you're a ****ing Neanderthal joke. Yeah I'm envious of everything about you. ROFLMAO

I dont hate book learning. I hate book "regulations", "rules", and "guidelines" if they have been written by some "committee", or "department", or "academics"..
Give us the benefit of your gargantuan intellect and tell me what is wrong with "academics"?

Their opinions are spouted like gospel to sheep. I prefer to hear the opinions of ordinary people with experience regarding an issue.

Share your story. Dont link to ridiculous government crap about how strong Im allowed to be. Its clearly bullshit and aimed at the lowest common denominators. Like yourself.

You seem to be under the misapprehension that work injuries only occur in distinct incidents. The accumulative strain of repeatedly lifting heavy objects for 40+ years of a working career will damage your body, no matter how strong you believe yourself to be.

Obviously.

Thats what the body is for though. To be used.

As vealesy has said, a body is going to be used. You can spend 40 years lifting 5kgs all day. If you dont bend with the knees you will be worse off than someone who correctly lifts 20kgs all day for 40 years. Sitting in an office chair for 40 years or having a poor mattress will cause you more harm. It's not what you lift, it's how you lift. And in some jobs it's simply part of the job. Jobs never go as people would like. By the time you are ready for plaster to be delivered there will be no access many times for a crane to drop it on the second level. So you have no choice but to get them there by hand. You don't want to lift, then don't get a job in construction. IT'sd all about time and speed. Piss fart around and refuse to lift, the job takes ages, the builder looses money and people loose jobs. For every person that wont lift someone will. They keep their jobs. So 'education' should not be telling people not to lift, they should be telling how to lift.

No matter what we all do we when we are in our 50's we will be sore, have complications and live with 50 different types of tablets.

OH&S to me is not about telling people how to do their job. That's up to the boss. OH&S is logic. The important aspect of OH&S is about larger companies mainly at start up to ensure dangerous heavy machinery is fitted with appropriate guards etc according to standard and that the work place is kept safe. Not what ladder to use. When a contractor comes to site the site should already be safe. That is where a larger company would hire an advisor, to take the load of them and make sure their 'arse is covered' Meaning he can go and do is job without interruption. IT's about working together to get as much production as quickly and safely as possible. Not be an annoying twat stopping people every 5 minutes to see if a TI has boiler maker papers even though he is only using a grinder. Then be a complete **** and kick people off site for the day.

Their opinions are spouted like gospel to sheep. I prefer to hear the opinions of ordinary people with experience regarding an issue.
So their opinions are no good but we should take everything YOU say as gospel?

Share your story. Dont link to ridiculous government crap about how strong Im allowed to be. Its clearly bullshit and aimed at the lowest common denominators. Like yourself.
Here's a clue, go back and read my previous posts. You should be able to work out what I do. I've written the design you are supposed to follow on your jobs. The funny thing is that if any "tradie" has to be relied upon to make a decision they ALWAYS make the wrong one. It's like they do it on purpose. If something says "DO NOT BEND" they will bend it. They should spend more time thinking about the job and less time thinking about how they look.

Dont link to ridiculous government crap about how strong Im allowed to be. Its clearly bullshit and aimed at the lowest common denominators..
All rules and regulations are written for the lowest common denominator

Dont link to ridiculous government crap about how strong Im allowed to be. Its clearly bullshit and aimed at the lowest common denominators..
Regulations like those ones I quoted are written for people like YOU.

To remind you again as you seem to forget and have trouble understanding my posts.
WHY DOES GROCON WANT TO APPOINT IT'S OWN SAFETY OFFICERS?
Another question that should be asked
WHY DOES THE MEDIA FOCUS ON THE VIOLENCE THAT OCCURS WHEN YOU TRY TO CROSS A DISPUTED PICKET LINE AND NOT ON THE DISPUTED ISSUE?

and more unanswered questions
Why should I risk hurting my back for my job?
Does your hate of safety officer inform you decision makig?
How does a good sense of balance and spatial awareness give you any idea how to lift things?
Does the passing of time make anything less relevant?
Is it your view that anyone with a "safety degree" is usually a laughing stock.
Who is going to get hurt?
So you are saying anyone with a Safety Degree or no site experience is a moron?

Obviously so they dont end up with lazy dickheads like yourself with any kind of power.

WHY DOES THE MEDIA FOCUS ON THE VIOLENCE THAT OCCURS WHEN YOU TRY TO CROSS A DISPUTED PICKET LINE AND NOT ON THE DISPUTED ISSUE?

They do this because they do not want people to band together and rebel. It is terrible and I despise the media for this.

and more unanswered questions

If you are putting your back at risk you are doing it wrong.

what? the safety officer at my current company thinks its all a joke too and does the courses as its paid time off work and his resume looks better because of it.

How does a good sense of balance and spatial awareness give you any idea how to lift things?

It doesn't, the balance/spatial comment was referring to working on ladders.

Yes.

Is it your view that anyone with a "safety degree" is usually a laughing stock.

Yes. It is my view. It is also a lot of other people's view. I dont base this on the fact they have a safety degree. They usually prove they are a joke when they share their opinion on work procedures.

Anyone who's ambition outweighs their talent. Anyone who does something they are not physically capable of doing. Anyone who does something they themselves are not confident of doing.

Not OR, but AND. Anyone with a safety degree AND no site experience is a disliked moron, correct. I am still yet to meet someone who has a safety degree and is currently employed as a tradesman. Most are failed tradesman. Who knows, maybe that will be me one day. Its still an accurate observation.

Obviously so they dont end up with lazy dickheads like yourself with any kind of power.
Anyone that disagrees is in for a personal insult. So far I'm a Lazy dickhead, ignorant and a joke, Do you have any more? My wife is wondering how you know. For me it's like shooting fish in a barrel and it's not much fun anymore.

They do this because they do not want people to band together and rebel. It is terrible and I despise the media for this.
Really? Seriously? Band together? ROFLMAO. Here's a clue, who owns the media? Do they wiegh the same as a duck?

If you are putting your back at risk you are doing it wrong.
That's not really an answer to the question.

what? the safety officer at my current company thinks its all a joke too and does the courses as its paid time off work and his resume looks better because of it.
Bad spelling admittedly but you should be used to it. "the safety officer at my current company thinks its all a joke too" Safety is never a joke. You should get this guy sacked.

Yes.
Really? What about murder? The dead are still dead. What about a bad wiring job? By your reckoning it's not a bad job if a certain amount time has passed.

Anyone who's ambition outweighs their talent. Anyone who does something they are not physically capable of doing. Anyone who does something they themselves are not confident of doing.
I had to cut lots of 90 x 90s into 90 x 45s batons with a circular saw..I was not confident but wasn't hurt at the end of the job.

Not OR, but AND. Anyone with a safety degree AND no site experience is a disliked moron, correct. I am still yet to meet someone who has a safety degree and is currently employed as a tradesman. Most are failed tradesman. Who knows, maybe that will be me one day. Its still an accurate observation.
Someone with a safety degree AND no site experience still know how a ladder should be positioned or how to lift a bag. He'll probably know all about the state regulations too.

Haha this is great!

Vealsey you dinosaur I love your logic but you both have valid points and both are complete ******s!!

Platform ladders are ridiculous agree 100%

Most safety officers are employed by the builder and don't honestly represent the site safety conditions

You cannot learn safety from a book
Yes it should be taught on site Tradies to apprentices

I started on tools and am now in office and still have bigger guns than you vealbrah ;)

Come at me bro

Theyre not guns if you only use them in a gym, brah.

Lol if you are still doing hard labour past the age of 25 you're doing it wrong.

Apprentices/10

Did you say you were a sparky?
The only hard labour you should be doing is opening the switchboard door!

'oh look at me I'm so much better than white collar because I work physically hard'

Nah brah it's cause you're stupid

Not a sparky.

And i dont lift too much these days. Im disabled now. Still lift what i can.

And im not in an office because i never want to be. My job does require a functioning brain.
How did you qualify then? Better be careful your brain cells don't band together.

Good argument in here.

Agree with both sides to a certain extent.

Sometimes site experience is not enough especially if you have been working for shonky tradies your whole career.

I've worked with some shifty people that have done plenty of stupid things on a work site to get the job done faster (eg- stand and reach on the second top rung of a ladder instead of getting the heavier and larger ladder from the van). The key to dealing with them is just standing your ground and not putting yourself at risk in fear of losing your job. You'll cop a bit of flak for it but generally they get over it by days end.