rgauci

DOCKERS
Easily the toughest decision for weeks. Schofield out is the only thing i think all supporters and selectors are definite about. Medhurst should probably be dropped because his form is pathetic.

I would like to see both Hayden and Gilmore play but i doubt Gilmore will get a game.

So at a wild guess:

OUT: Schofield, Medhurst, Peake,
IN: Hayden, Polak, Johnson,

what i'd like to see:

F: Mundy Pavlich Farmer
HF: Crowley McPharlin M.Carr
C: J.Carr Cook Bell
HB: Black Polak Grover
B: Hayden Parker Dodd
R: Sandilands Schammer Hasleby

Int: Johnson Peake Walker Longmuir

The only big deal in my selection was retaining Peake ahead of Thornton. Honestly out of the Saints fowardline who could Thornton reliably lineup on. I wouldn't feel confident against the talls in Riewoldt, Kosi or Gehrig. I wouldn't feel confident against the smalls in Guerra or Milne. And Hamill would be far too strong for Thornton. I'd retain Mundy ahead of Thornton as an extra defender for flexibility incase someone gets injured. Schammer and Peake to both spend time on the ball, we need pace around the ball.

Alternatively we could go into the game with 1 ruckman and keep Thornton in the 22. Also Murphy may be in better form than Johnson or Polak and could replace either of them. Johnson provides us with another ruckman if we decide to play with only 1 ruckman. There's heaps of reasonable options against the Saints. This is how i think our defence should lineup.

Parker = Gehrig
Hayden = Milne
Black = Guerra
Polak/Johnson (maybe even Murphy??) = Kosi/Riewoldt
Grover = Hamill

Either of Mundy or Thornton should play forward. It may be worth including Polak, Johnson and Murphy, allowing for more flexibility against Kosi/Riewoldt. Allowing the third of the players to push foward. The reason i named Pav at FF is because he should alternate with McPharlin at FF more regularly.

After all that discussion i've confused myself. I'm not sure who to include and i feel the matchups across the ground will decide the 22. In the end my only definites are for Medhurst and Schofield to be dropped. We can't have any passengers against the Saints.

All I know is that the time has come for Medders to be dropped. His efforts at times must demoralise the team.

I really want Hayden in the team. The Saints aren't as fast as West Coast but he's a good matchup for a number of their smalls - Milne, Clarke, maybe Guerra etc.

The need for talls should mean Johnson and Murph getting a look in, so goodbye Schofield and probably Peake.

medhurst and Schofield have to go.

leave peake in the side guys. how else are we going to develop pace in the midfield. i sure hope we dont start trading for it....

he kicked a goal and i thought played well. first season player.

is browne fit yet?! if you want pace give him a run...

i think hayden should come in to...

PS. mutant this is the dockers board. if you want to troll do it on the main board! ;)

With all due respect, how can you drop Medhurst and retain Schammer and Walker? This is just more of the "nail the small forward" syndrome.

As for Mr Gauci's suggestions I just think it's peeing into the wind a bit. Changing the forward/defensive mix won't matter when you get flogged in the midfield. If you think Hasleby, Bell, the Carr's, Black, Schammer and Walker are going to be able to take on Ball, Dal Santo, Hayes, Hammill, Harvey, Powell and Thompson I reckon you're in la-la land. We should be grateful for anything less than a 10-goal pumping.

Last weeks loss was up on the wall in all the previous wins because we played some carp footy against teams who were playing even carper. Especially Carlton and Collingwood. We had some good passages late in the game against Richmond but the rest of it was hard graft with poor skills and a very tired Richmond.

We're a long way off top 4 standard. Expect a belting and enjoy seeing some of the game's best youngsters is my tip.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
With all due respect, how can you drop Medhurst and retain Schammer and Walker? This is just more of the "nail the small forward" syndrome.

As for Mr Gauci's suggestions I just think it's peeing into the wind a bit. Changing the forward/defensive mix won't matter when you get flogged in the midfield. If you think Hasleby, Bell, the Carr's, Black, Schammer and Walker are going to be able to take on Ball, Dal Santo, Hayes, Hammill, Harvey, Powell and Thompson I reckon you're in la-la land. We should be grateful for anything less than a 10-goal pumping.

Last weeks loss was up on the wall in all the previous wins because we played some carp footy against teams who were playing even carper. Especially Carlton and Collingwood. We had some good passages late in the game against Richmond but the rest of it was hard graft with poor skills and a very tired Richmond.

We're a long way off top 4 standard. Expect a belting and enjoy seeing some of the game's best youngsters is my tip.
Medhurst has played one good game in the last twelve Daggs! There is no syndrome, the guy has been poor and should be dropped.
Why single out Schammer and Walker? Schammer has been quiet the last two but his seven before that were great! Worth another chance this week IMO.
Walker has done a good defensive job in all four of his games since coming back into the side. You've got to watch the game Daggs and appreciate the negating he does and the run he gives us.

OUT: Medhurst (I will be gobsmacked if he gets a game this week!)
Schofield (see above)
Peake (Unlucky, as provided some good run. Purely team balance)

IN: Polak (Must play game of his life on Koschitske. A good match up)
Hayden (Must come in for run in backline)
McManus (See below)

The McManus selection for mine, would be purely to fire the team up. If I was CC, I'd parade him around the front of the group & tell him in no uncertain terms that this could be his last game for the club. It'd fire the team up, & McManus. He has been a stalwart for the club with his committment. Sure his kicking has been terrible at times, but he is a club icon. The ultimatum game has worked in the past (eg Hayden). McManus' work rate could not be questioned & his hardness across half fwd (in Headland's absence) will be a HUGE boost.

I think CC may be a bit scared to drop medhurst in case he walks at season end.

I wouldn't be suprised (or opposed to the idea) that the club values medhurst as a long term player, and even though he's not setting the world on fire, don't want to drop him while he's out of contract.

voodoo_86 said:

I wouldn't be suprised (or opposed to the idea) that the club values medhurst as a long term player, and even though he's not setting the world on fire, don't want to drop him while he's out of contract.

This is the kind of mentality that Freo has adopted with far too many players. Fact is, he is forward pocket who has kicked 9 goals - since Round 9. That is terrible. He is easily the worst performed player in the comp, who has played every game this year.

Would trade him, whilst he is still valuable on the trade market. Would take any one of these players or a high draft pick for him...Perrie, Lockyer, Hadley, Damon White, Armstrong (+ pick), Hargrave, Saddington (+ pick), Bateman.

Sorry IMO

Medhurst out.. in Gilmore. Go tall

Scofield out ... in Polak

Peake out ..... in Hayden

Peake/ Hayden is tuff call. If Peake stays then he should learn to be a defensive winger who can peel off get lose and penetrate with his kicking. The back flankers should be looking for him. If they dont use him then we may well have hayden in who can drop down back and release schammer a bit more.

Medhurst may well be part of our long term plans and I for one wouldnt trade him this year but I'd let him rot in the WAFL as a back flanker until he learns to chase.

voodoo_86 said:

A good player takes his dropping on the chin, eg. McManus, Turley, Sandilands, JLo etc. If he sulks after being dropped, stiff cheddar.

A tough stance needs to be taken and show that no player is an automatic selection and show by dropping a player, another player is ready to step up. Keep up the the competiveness for a place in the side.

The suggestion of playing McManus against the Saints is interesting, a fitting farewell game?. I'd fire up for Macca if I was playing.

I am amazed that people are talking about dropping Medhurst.Ok he was not good on Friday night but he has been good for most of the season.
Early people were saying he is a selfish little gnome.He kicks four or five but people are still not happy."DROP HIM FOR BEING HUNGRY"
When he does the team thing and doesn't kick goals but gives away three or four and makes way for another couple of goals but doesn't kick any himself the mob scream for his head.He is not kicking goals."DROP HIM FOR NOT KICKING GOALS'.
How can the kid win.To all you knocker make up youir mind as to what you want from the kid.
I reckon the club are screwing with him and he is not sure of his real role at the club.
There is no way he will be dropped for Friday nights game against the Saints.

Scham said:
Medhurst has played one good game in the last twelve Daggs! There is no syndrome, the guy has been poor and should be dropped.
Why single out Schammer and Walker? Schammer has been quiet the last two but his seven before that were great! Worth another chance this week IMO.

Tht's not true. Medhurst's games since the break have been really good. I watch him like hawk and he's been in and under, feeding out handballs, setting up goals with his long kicking and generally working hard. He lost his bottle on Friday but that's his nature.

While Schammer looks flashy running the ball out of the backline but can't actually kick it to anyone. Schammers disposal is worse than MacManus, and over time supporters will start to notice. As for winning the ball in a contest his size is against him.

Scham said:
Walker has done a good defensive job in all four of his games since coming back into the side. You've got to watch the game Daggs and appreciate the negating he does and the run he gives us.

And Walker -- gimmme a break. The run he provides. Walker can do a pretty good negating job on skinny quick players but he can't tackle to save his life. And his disposal is very dodgy. The point is he is a senior player who in a crunch game couldn't win any ball, and couldn't even lay one freaking tackle. Even Medhurst laid two tackles. And check the stats for the last few games. He wins more contested ball than Walker.

I think a few of you need to get straight that our icons -- the Hasleby's, the Carr's, JLo, and the like are the ones not performing in big games on a regular basis. There isn't anything wrong with out forward line and I wouldn't tinker with it. And neither will the coaching staff. They know the problem is winning contested ball. And that's where changes will need to be made.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
Tht's not true. Medhurst's games since the break have been really good. I watch him like hawk and he's been in and under, feeding out handballs, setting up goals with his long kicking and generally working hard. He lost his bottle on Friday but that's his nature.

While Schammer looks flashy running the ball out of the backline but can't actually kick it to anyone. Schammers disposal is worse than MacManus, and over time supporters will start to notice. As for winning the ball in a contest his size is against him.

And Walker -- gimmme a break. The run he provides. Walker can do a pretty good negating job on skinny quick players but he can't tackle to save his life. And his disposal is very dodgy. The point is he is a senior player who in a crunch game couldn't win any ball, and couldn't even lay one freaking tackle. Even Medhurst laid two tackles. And check the stats for the last few games. He wins more contested ball than Walker.

I think a few of you need to get straight that our icons -- the Hasleby's, the Carr's, JLo, and the like are the ones not performing in big games on a regular basis. There isn't anything wrong with out forward line and I wouldn't tinker with it. And neither will the coaching staff. They know the problem is winning contested ball. And that's where changes will need to be made.

Testify.

Well said on many levels, being harsh on Hasleby (although fit or unfit, Friday wasnt good) but to jump on the 'blame the forward pocket' syndrome is just so predictable and utter garbage.

I'd love to know one game, ever in the history of football, when a non performing forward pocket (and even that term is up for debate re: medders) cost any team the game.

Wise up fellow Fremantle types - it isnt the Fwd half thats the issue - its the fact we lack legspeed and height through the guts - and thats exactly where the West Coast's strenght lies, unfortunately.

Either way, as I drunkenly slurred to my West Coast supporting friend at 3qtr time on Friday night - removing the comments about his mother in the appropriate spots, 'If we win this qtr, we'll beat the saints' - and I stand by that.

Keep the faith.

You are going to need to drop more than a few players to have any hope of beating the saints. With your forward line playing badly and ours playing well i think that you guys can only look forward to a loss coming from the saints. it will all be over out of the midfield, as u guys don't have anyone that can stand up to dalsanto, hayes, harvey or ball. True, pavlich is going to be a handful without hudghton, but mcguire will probably play on him, which will be interesting. can't see a freo win here

anchor man said:
I am amazed that people are talking about dropping Medhurst.Ok he was not good on Friday night but he has been good for most of the season.
Early people were saying he is a selfish little gnome.He kicks four or five but people are still not happy."DROP HIM FOR BEING HUNGRY"
When he does the team thing and doesn't kick goals but gives away three or four and makes way for another couple of goals but doesn't kick any himself the mob scream for his head.He is not kicking goals."DROP HIM FOR NOT KICKING GOALS'.
How can the kid win.To all you knocker make up youir mind as to what you want from the kid.
I reckon the club are screwing with him and he is not sure of his real role at the club.
There is no way he will be dropped for Friday nights game against the Saints.

The only quarters he has been any good in for the last month & a half, has been in the 1st quarter away to Collingwood, then was unsighted, bar a flukey last quarter goal thanks to Pavlich, & his efforts against Melbourne, where he tackled & chased EVERYTIME. Seems to me that he chases very well, 1/2 the time, others he just goes to ground too quickly. I like Medders being hungry, thats what he is paid to do...kick goals & chase hard...he is doing neither at the moment, time for him to play for Claremont.

But I do agree with your last comment...he won't get dropped, CC doesn't have the guts.

dalsanto26 said:
You are going to need to drop more than a few players to have any hope of beating the saints. With your forward line playing badly and ours playing well i think that you guys can only look forward to a loss coming from the saints. it will all be over out of the midfield, as u guys don't have anyone that can stand up to dalsanto, hayes, harvey or ball. True, pavlich is going to be a handful without hudghton, but mcguire will probably play on him, which will be interesting. can't see a freo win here

Remind us, what's your interstate record like?

dalsanto26 said:

If Maguire goes to Pav (whom he accounted for in Rnd 2), Penny takes on McPharlin, who is your next tall to play on Longmuir? Blake (ouch? :o )
Ko********ske is great match up for Polak, Parker will take on gehrig, Mundy on riewoldt, Hayden on Milne. Saints don't have much midfield pace, either, so I think the midfield battle will be closer than your 1-eye sees...Hayes, Ball, Dal Santo, harvey are quality...but don't underestimate hasleby, JCarr, MCarr, Black & Bell after a shocker last week.

I've got a feeling that one of the Saints tall forwards will probably play back. Given Kosi's dominance at CHF and Gehrig's only position is FF i'd imagine that Riewoldt may play back for this game.

Pavlich on Riewoldt. 'drool'.

Grover should be suited to Hamill. Polak will get Koschitzke, the Riewoldt match up is a concern but Thornton will probably get the job, as Mundy isn't tall enough. I'd like to see Cookie given a job this week, possibly on Aussie Jones. He played well on Ablett when we won at Geelong and will make whoever he plays on earn every possession.