Preview Changes: Round 3 v Essendon

Well in defence of may generally he was holding his opponent down waiting for someone to come over the top. Problem is it seems like we've told everyone to back themselves rather than having a designated 3rd man in. That one in the last when Lever and Smith both missed the ball was classic Melbourne.
I thought Smith did some good things and he’s generally good with ball in hand. But a few times he went for mark of the year. And got nowhere near marking it. He’s only reasonably new to the game so he has some learning to do. Good thing is he can play taller and smaller roles.

It’s weird coming into a game against Melbourne where neither of is rated as one of the worst in the comp. Usually at least one of us had resided ourselves to bottom 4 by now.

I personally think we match up pretty well around the ground on you guys but the Gawn/Oliver/Petracca trio could go absolutely nuts

Have to be super physical this week, still waiting for us to start playing like 2017 or the 6 week spell in 2018 when we just bashed teams into submission. We are zero chance if we try play them at their own game, if we bully them and control clearances like we ‘should’ we are in with a shout. We are Melbourne though so we will likely play just like 2019 against the bombers where we decided it was a great idea to challenge them at a game of AFLX.

I actually think it’s gotten to the point where Tmac should go back for a bit, him and May can take the two key forwards and let Lever peel off a bit more. Happy to go smaller up forward and just have Jackson/Weideman be encouraged just to bring it to ground.

No Thanks

Just go to the bank, borrow every penny we possibly can, sack Goodwin and Pert and bring back Roos and Jackson on 10 year contracts.. At least when the footy is shite on the field I'll still have confidence in the direction the club is heading.

It's a lot easier to keep the faith as a supporter when you believe in the people that are in charge.

All the work Roosy and Jacko did feels like it's been such a waste right now. It's ****ing depressing.

Well in defence of may generally he was holding his opponent down waiting for someone to come over the top. Problem is it seems like we've told everyone to back themselves rather than having a designated 3rd man in. That one in the last when Lever and Smith both missed the ball was classic Melbourne.

What annoys me about May is him giving guys bakes on field for doing a shit job. Which would be fine if he had actually done something as a Melbourne player first. How bout instead of pointing the finger all the time you actually play some half decent footy yourself, cause honestly mate, he's been a ****ing disaster so far.

Nothing to do with changes but just on the long bombs inside 50. Forwards in particular Fritsch need to take some responsibility here and now when to lead up the kicker or try and get out the back. The only time fritta leas up was the opening minute of the game the rest of the time her tried to get it out the back.

One instance in the 3rd quarter melksham makes and handballs to Jones (poor choice to start with) but the fritta leads out the back to his left instead of leading on a 45 to allow jones to kick it to advantage. Fritta forced jones to try and impossible 55m hook kick on his left.

TMac is just as bad to.
100% this. Fritsch is usually not bad as a leader to the ball. But our forwards don't make it easy for our mids at all. We need genuine natural forwards.TMac is useless and has been bar a purple patch in 2018 which was clearly a one off.

eth we are ******* shithouse you guys are a middle of the road side and will win by 30+ this week footy is shit
You guys will come good. I have faith. I think last year was an aberration and you'll be back to around the 8 this year

One of these names is not like the other.
Eh Brayshaw was good on Saturday. His pressure was great and he’s more damaging when he’s back on ball.

Nothing to do with changes but just on the long bombs inside 50. Forwards in particular Fritsch need to take some responsibility here and now when to lead up the kicker or try and get out the back. The only time fritta leas up was the opening minute of the game the rest of the time her tried to get it out the back.

One instance in the 3rd quarter melksham makes and handballs to Jones (poor choice to start with) but the fritta leads out the back to his left instead of leading on a 45 to allow jones to kick it to advantage. Fritta forced jones to try and impossible 55m hook kick on his left.

TMac is just as bad to.
If you look at the behind the goals vision of Rivers kick to Hunt, Hunt made 2 pretty poor leads and Rivers held the ball then forced him to come at it. Was ****ing sexy. He refused to kick it over the back instead waiting for Hunt to come at him

If you look at the behind the goals vision of Rivers kick to Hunt, Hunt made 2 pretty poor leads and Rivers held the ball then forced him to come at it. Was ******* sexy. He refused to kick it over the back instead waiting for Hunt to come at him
He will make all of our shit players less shit.

You really would call that a good game?
Thought he was fine. Not every player on the ground is going to be a star every day.

If you look at the behind the goals vision of Rivers kick to Hunt, Hunt made 2 pretty poor leads and Rivers held the ball then forced him to come at it. Was ******* sexy. He refused to kick it over the back instead waiting for Hunt to come at him

i wouldn’t say poor leads, the defender held his position well to protect the space in front of Hunt. But rivers did extremely well for a kid in his first game to hold his nerve and not blast away. Hunt on the third go found the space to move into and rivers kicked truly

AVB, Pickett and an inform Weideman (Kicked 5 goals in the scratchy, no idea if this will translate or not) makes our forward line much better than the Carlton game.

Jackson has had a taste, probably rest him. Jones should go out but probably has credits in the bank. Maybe they wait another week to bring Pickett back as punishment given Hunt and ANB played their roles. Maybe they manage Bennell, as I'm not sure if he can play 50% game time every week when we have so many other passengers.

TMAC is the elephant in the room as someone else mentioned. Hope he gets played into form at some stage.

Thought Brashaw was good, his attack on the ball and man was much better and seemed to have copped the Ed Curnow tag after Q1.

This Essendon game will be weird, we've had so many odd contests over the last 5 years or so. We need our Keys to pull their finger out. May and Lever should eat Mckernan and Townsend for breakfast but you never know. If they don't, we will definitely lose.

Also, Trac looks seriously good.

Kicked a set shot he'd normally miss after a strong grab and kicked essentially the winner right before 3 QTR time with a clutch play.

To go along with shrugging off players at will and using his creativity, movement and vision out of contests really really well. Didn't blaze away much either.

I reckon it's clicked.

Probably any competent coach would find a way to turn the Gawn/Petracca/Oliver/Gus combo into at least one flag.
Was talking to my mate and work who is a swans supporter who said longmire is too defensive and was concerned with him. I said we are almost the opposite we can't defend. He reckons we at least are able to string together a few goals together which I said we haven't been able to do that since 2018. Besides the first quarter we are basically a team that can't defend or attack. (Except in the last 3 minutes when we had to defend). Really we should be able to beat Essendon but the way they take the game on there's no way I trust us to be able to kick a big enough score. I remember in 2011 I was confident of beating the bombers and they were a much better team then that Bailey team. Our only hope is Essendon are just as terrible as we are at defending.

We can't defend because we put ourselves in horrific positions and increase the defensive difficulty by about 200% by repeatedly kicking to outnumbered contests and then getting killed on the rebound where we have no one to compete at ground level. When we were forced to defend at the end of the game we were taking shorter kicks and hitting targets and all of a sudden our defensive structures held up so much better.