Changes V Port

I think we need to leave Laycock in the side as we need 2 rucks for Lade and Brogan. We also probably need to bring some speed into the side so Jetta would be our best bet to come in. I'm struggling to find anyone to drop on top of such a good performance (bar the 1st qtr). While i don't believe Bolton or Campo are in our best 22, they both played well last nite and after a win last nite neither deserve to be dropped.

I think fletcher should be rested this week with the split rd coming up should give him timne to get over his injuries.

Nah give him a few weeks in the two's. he has got his chance at senior footy. He is clearly not in the 22 at the moment...

Why isn't Houli in the 22?

vs. Kangaroos 15 disposals 2 marks 1 goal 3 tackles

vs. Brisbane 14 disposals 8 marks 2 goals

vs. Richmond 11 disposals 6 marks 3 behinds

vs. Sydney 4 disposals 1 mark 1 tackle

He was very good on debut and 2nd up, had a touch of the yips in game 3 but played OK, and struggled against Sydney where most midfielders tend to especially inexperienced ones, even Davey had a shocker vs. Sydney yet no one called for his head. Surely he deserves another chance.

If you think Davey had a shocker against Sydney, got back and watch the game again. Compare his work rate to, not just Houli but the majority of other players on the ground.

I think we need to leave Laycock in the side as we need 2 rucks for Lade and Brogan. We also probably need to bring some speed into the side so Jetta would be our best bet to come in. I'm struggling to find anyone to drop on top of such a good performance (bar the 1st qtr). While i don't believe Bolton or Campo are in our best 22, they both played well last nite and after a win last nite neither deserve to be dropped.

Jetta has missed 7 games with a groin injury I would be extremely surpised if he made an appearance against Port. Young hard running players and groin injuries always concerns me. As much as I want to see him back in, give him another weeks rest and then a few games in Bendigo I reckon.

hey guys good news on stanton...just saw him and he will b out for 1 week MAX but he wants to play this week... nothing serious atm has been found, up 2 him and the club 2 c if he is goin 2 play

Why isn't Houli in the 22?

vs. Kangaroos 15 disposals 2 marks 1 goal 3 tackles

vs. Brisbane 14 disposals 8 marks 2 goals

vs. Richmond 11 disposals 6 marks 3 behinds

vs. Sydney 4 disposals 1 mark 1 tackle

Stats isn't everything mate.

In : Bradley/Nash
Out : Stanton
Is this the game where Bradley gets a chance on the wing ?
Sheeds likes playing young players in their home state which makes me think Nash will get a go. And for that same reason Monfries stays in but only just.

Is Dempsey playing for Bendigo this week ?
Might be a small hope as well.

Out: Stanton, (providing he remains injured) monfries
Ins: Jetta lovett (depending on who is fitter)

i feel lovett and jetta dont need a run in the VFL. jetta would but i feel he would be a straight in due to the need for speed and also to help out davey. (at the momment he is doing pretty much all of the quick chasing, jetta would take the pressure off davey).

lovett aswell would be a straight in..

NLM needs a few VFL games i feel and dempsey isnt in our best 22 yet, needs to prove himself in the VFL first.

Monfries playedvery poorly last night, needs a run in the VFL to get some form up. jetta will take his place and lovett can attempt to fill stantons void on the ball.

other question marks exist over:
Jason Laycock (probably need two ruckman against port) but didnt too too much last night in the ruck, was pretty good down forward but that isnt why he is in the team
Mark Bolton (played well enough to stay in the team last night but only just
Campo (played well last night but one bad game could see him dropped to the VFL, needs to keep form going

You cant have a first year player who has just suffered a bad injury coming straight into the team. Jetta needs to go back to the VFL to find himself again. Lovett is still a while away about 1-2 weeks.

Disagree in the calls to drop Monfries. He struggled to find some form in the first half, but really started getting the ball down to Lucas and got us going in the third.

Bolton did a very good job on Braun last night thats why he will stay in the team. We are seeing are completely new Bolton and McPhee. I am like the new Bolton in his tagging roles, but the new McpHee is struggling in his decision making when he has the football, he also gives stupid freekicks away but is still an important player. Needs to use that agression on the ball.

In: Hislop/Nash

Out: Stanton(my mail says he is in doubt for Port he could be 1 week thats all)

OUT: Stanton, JJ, Bolton

IN: Hislop, Nash, Dyson

- Stants is a big loss. Port's midfielders arent really mature bodies therefore I think we can leave Campo in the side and the game may suit the likes of Dyson, Nash and Hislop

- Monfries hasn't been stellar recently, but he still goes hard and makes a difference, continually presents also. Also think he will rise playing in his home state.

- Think JJ and Bolton have been servicable but JJ gets exposed for lack of pace continually and Im not 100% convinced we need to tag Chad Cornes, but wouldn't be upset if both were left in the side

Yeah lets replace a pacey runner with a slow mover. ;)

Surely your not being serious with that one?

Kepler is not that slow and Stanton is not that quick. Its Stantons engine that is huge.

Most who saw Keps in his younger days thought he'd be best suited to playing as a winger.

Stanton isn't ruled out just yet, unless I've missed something.

OUT - Monfries, Campo
IN - Bradley, Hislop.

If Bradley plays another good game on Monday, he deserves his spot in the side. Angus looks like he could do with a spell, I'd like to see what Kep can do on a HFF.

Disagree about Bradley, doesn't matter how will he's playing in the ressies, he is playing in positions that there are no openings for in the seniors.

Kepler is not that slow and Stanton is not that quick. Its Stantons engine that is huge.

Most who saw Keps in his younger days thought he'd be best suited to playing as a winger.

kepler is very slow, its the one thing that prevents him from being a decent defender. Stanton is a hard runner with good pace. If he is injured then he needs to be replaced with somebody similar, unfortunately we have no other runner like him on our list. Anybody with decent speed should be chosen, kepler would leave us very top heavy against a team that is as quick as any going around.

I expect Essendon to give us an absolute ass kicking. Your boys are playing some great footy right now, and we are playing like absolute crap.

Yeah my a-ss you are. ;)

Dont patronise us, we know dam well whats coming when we play Port no matter what form they're in.

Getting the vasso ready for sheedy and the boys already.

We have had a nasty habit of late of running your blokes into form. Tredrea and his mates have this game marked on the calender no doubt.

Disagree about Bradley, doesn't matter how will he's playing in the ressies, he is playing in positions that there are no openings for in the seniors.

There's no positions across half forward? That's where Monfries has been playing and Houli before that. Monfries is battling.

kepler would leave us very top heavy against a team that is as quick as any going around.

What run does Monfries give us that Kepler couldn't?

I expect Essendon to give us an absolute ass kicking.

And that's exactly why we will get done.

There's no positions across half forward? That's where Monfries has been playing and Houli before that. Monfries is battling.

What run does Monfries give us that Kepler couldn't?

he had some handy touches late in the game giving us another option in a very blue collar midfield rotation. God help us if the burgoynes, pearce etc get goal side of their opponents. Winderlich was the only bloke who ran the lines for us last week(stants was injured). We need a little more balance in that midfield, as much as i'll be howled down for saying it i'd rather see us give ricky another chance rather than adding another tall to a side loaded with them.

When did Angus go into the midfield rotation?

And Kepler does give us another option, an option Port will have difficulty in finding an opponent for.

He can play as a midfielder.

Changes V Port