Changes vs Melbourne

Can we drop Chambers for a quick player i wonder, say go with King in the ruck and have Playfair and Mooney helping out during the game.

Hunt will come in maybe for Sanderson, also if its a dry day maybe Byrnes in as well. Melb r a freewheeling side who move it very quickly indeed, i am hoping for a cold wet day myself, bring on the rain.

In - Hunt, Byrnes
Out - Chambers, Sanderson

tough calls to make.

Jack-Packenham said:
Now you can answer my question. If he plays like normal and has 2 kicks and has no influence on the game and we happen to win, would you drop him next week. Or are you happy to keep him there because we can't take a risk and drop him.

"Like normal" = 2 kicks? He actually averages 10 possessions a game this years, so yeah if he only got 2 kicks he'd have to be looked at. Then again, there would have to be a better option to put there which I don't think we have at this point in time. I don't think Haynes at CHF is a viable option. He's a flanker at best.

Ins for the Dees this week will Be Bruce and Miller, taking Neitz and Bell out of the equation.

Rivers is available but may miss considering how well Carrol and Ferguson played last week.

An extra injury would put Rivers into the team with Bruce playing midfield throughout...

Should be a good, hard game of football.

Melbourne's skill level to get them over the line, Travis "finals" Johnstone to singlehandedly run Geelong out of the finals race in the third term.

Ablett's to combine for 10 goals.

********in hope not on that last one rick James.

who takes Robertson? since Neitz is about 60/40 in favour of NOT playing, most likely Scarlett.

Jack-Packenham said:
Playfair is a dud, Playfair is a dud, Playfair is a dud, Playfair is a dud

Just for you Turbo
I'll give to you Jack , at least you have a sense of humour

Egan, Scarlett, Hunt
Milburn, Harley, Mooney
Mackie, Bartel, Tenace
Chapman, Playfair, G.Ablett
S.Johnson, Kingsley, N.Ablett,
King, Ling, Corey

Kelly, Sanderson, Rooke, Riccardi

IN: Hunt
OUT: Chambers

The risk is King but if he needs help then we must call on Mooney and H for relief

Gees its getting might tuff for a gig.Mackie would be not only be disapointed to miss, more than that, its time for him to show us why he was picked.In real terms,he is the highest GFC pick on our list and a Sat arfo in September its time strut.Be disapointed if hes out.
Really Sando and Ricco are really starting to feel the heat.

Milburn, Scarlett, Hunt
Corey, Harley, Mooney
Kelly, Bartel, Riccardi
Chapman, Playfair, Mackie
King, Ling, Ablett

Rooke, Sanderson, Egan, Tenace

When are you boys gonna get fair dinkum... can't even pick your own best team!!!

Kelly starting on the bench??? if he's not fit enough to start then then he shouldn't be in the team.

Good luck... and FFS scarlett on robbo and hunt to step on davey... he needs to be stopped! otherwise u don't win.

BTW if they told you pre-season you would need to beat melbourne, sydney west coast and adelaide??? to win the premiership... you'd take it in a second!

ArjenTheGreat said:
Milburn, Scarlett, Hunt
Corey, Harley, Mooney
Kelly, Bartel, Riccardi
King, Ling, Ablett

When are you boys gonna get fair dinkum... can't even pick your own best team!!!
Kelly starting on the bench??? if he's not fit enough to start then then he shouldn't be in the team.

Good luck... and FFS scarlett on robbo and hunt to step on davey... he needs to be stopped! otherwise u don't win.

BTW if they told you pre-season you would need to beat melbourne, sydney west coast and adelaide??? to win the premiership... you'd take it in a second!

Well if you have watched Geelong at all, you should now be convince Egan is currently in our best 18, theres no way id start him on the pine.
and
Why should a player have to fit enough to start etc.. Ricco has been mainly starting there all year, sombody has to and with the roations etc its not such a big deal.Kellys form and fittness has been questionable for sometime, he goes well for a period then drops off in games. Id start him on the bench and bring him on when needed but make sure he has heaps left for Q3 and Q4

JUBJUB said:
I reckon he's been good in both games.

Great against West Coast, I thought quiet against Richmond. I'm more thinking along the lines of someone will be dropped for Hunt. If not Mackie great, but again I'm worried about physical pressure in finals. He's more than capable on ability.

ArjenTheGreat said:
Milburn, Scarlett, Hunt
Corey, Harley, Mooney
Kelly, Bartel, Riccardi
King, Ling, Ablett

Chambers needs to stay in the team as a support ruckman. Kingy will die if we don't give him any support (ok, perhaps he'll live, but you get the point).

I would like Hunt or DJ in, whoever is fittest, prefereably Hunt due to his kicking in and the job he did on Davey last time.

Not sure who to drop as I would also like to see Byrnes back in as well. We looked a little slow last week and I think we need 2 genuine speedsters. Mackie has been good, but will probably be unlucky and will be dropped this week. I would suggest that Sando or even Egan may be the other to be dropped. Sando lacks pace, and with Hunt coming back in it would be a straight swap. However, Sando is an experienced finals campaigner and would be a handy player when the going gets tough, he has a cool head and is as tough as they come. Egan has been fantastic, but is he really essential? Melbourne's forward line will have Miller and Holland as the key talls as well as Robertson. We have Mooney, Harley and Scarlett already so Egan may not be needed, could be swapped for the speed we need.

I will probably be crucified for suggesting that Egan be dropped, but don't get me wrong, I love the kid and think he is deserving of a spot, the only reason for the suggestion is based on team structure.

Cant agree with Egan getting the chop,Westy. The oly drive we have been recieving of the backline has been thru the run that guys have given us while Egan covers their man.Mooney has shown all that he is a far better player when not restricted to a defensive defenders role.He is far better only worrying about the ball not his man and the ball.
I do know what you mean about Chambers but King is against White. A good ruckman but not a bruiser.We should be able to help him out with Mooney, Chambers and maybe even Egan, whoever it would be it would only be for a breather.King must stand up now, we have protected him earlier in the year Ottens,Blake and Chambers have done the early work but now its Captain time.One way or the other he has to get on top of White, maybe he should give Damien Bourke a ring about options on beating opponents.If he doesnt play well it wont matter about him being sore next week, he will have months to get right.

WestCat said:
I will probably be crucified for suggesting that Egan be dropped, but don't get me wrong, I love the kid and think he is deserving of a spot, the only reason for the suggestion is based on team structure.

You should be crucified for that suggestion.

Turbocat said:
Well if you have watched Geelong at all, you should now be convince Egan is currently in our best 18, theres no way id start him on the pine.

mate... i always watch u boys... when u ahve a couple of Ablett's running around who wouldn't? Re Egan: He's good but how many talls do u need in backline playing against faster more agile opponents????? B4 getting all steamed up at least have a look a the opposition!

Turbocat said:
and Why should a player have to fit enough to start etc..

ummm because it's a knock-out final against a fast skillful team or did you not realise? :rolleyes:

And although he's been a great clubman sando could almost go for byrnes if you are really serious.

ArjenTheGreat said:
mate... i always watch u boys... when u ahve a couple of Ablett's running around who wouldn't? Re Egan: He's good but how many talls do u need in backline playing against faster more agile opponents????? B4 getting all steamed up at least have a look a the opposition!

Scarlett, Harley and Egan on Robertson, Neitz (or his replacement) and Holland. Mooney to play off half back and through the midfield.

ArjenTheGreat said:
ummm because it's a knock-out final against a fast skillful team or did you not realise? :rolleyes:

And although he's been a great clubman sando could almost go for byrnes if you are really serious.

I worry about Byrnes under pressure in a cut throat final. He makes a lot of mistakes as it is. Would much rather a ten year player than someone still finding their way.